Waqar SACKED, Rashid new Captain, TEAM FOR SHARJAH ANNOUNCED (Merged)

Pybus is supporting Waqar because they are very good friends and I think Mr. Pybus wasn't very honest in his own report to PCB.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Pybus is supporting Waqar because they are very good friends and I think Mr. Pybus wasn't very honest in his own report to PCB.

Maybe he wants the job back. Heavens forbid.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
why did they get rid of the former manaager? I thought he did a very good job.

the previuos manager Shshryar khan only agreed to manage the team for the WC. He already has other commitments totake care of.

Samb, there are two aspects to Waqar.

Waqar - the bowler. No doubt about it he is one of the best in the world. He is up there with Akram and Imran. At his peak he terrorized batsmen all over the world and was one of the best around. Even now he is still quite an effective bowler and without the burden of captaincy he might perform even better.

Waqar - The captain. A faliure, especially during the last year. After June last year when he defeated Australia the team performance took a nose dive and he did not help with his bad decision starting with sending of Youhanna home from Nairobi. Saying that he was not being supported by the remainder of the team, well that is where I think his biggest failure came. If he had lost confidence of the team members he should have come back to the PCB and told them either to get rid of these guys or he would resign. But he loved being captain so much that he could not bring himself to take such a step. That means he went into the world cup with a team wihich was not supportive of him. To make matters worse his on field decisions especially during the match against Australia and England were a major reason why we lost those matches. Should he have stayed after that? Furthermore, when you are the cpatain the buck stops there. You take the glory you take the s*** as well, and he should have been man enough to resign after the debacle.

Just my thoughts. I have the highest regard for him as a bowler, one of the best in the world, but as a captain :nook:

I think the fact that Younis Khan wasn't considered is because his place in the side is not certain. I heard somewhere that he's not scored a hundred in 75 ODI's and that's a record of a mediocre player.

• Pybus is history. Bull crap. No need for his comments. Saala baat karta hai. Younis Khan is a rookie, lacks experience. If South Africa made youngster a Captain that doesn't mean we should follow the same route. Waqar as a bowler has been successive but as a Captain complete failure. The guy needs a break desparately. He has been pullin' his legs off and nothin' worked out for him and Pakistan. Senior players doesn't have much faith left in Waqar. The guy will end his career unless he takes break but kahan bhai? He didn't even resign as a Captain. Sukar hai Inzi had guts and stepped down as a Vice Captain.

• Aamir Sohail as a selector. Two reasons: Good one and Bad one. Bad one, he's too emotional and had tough time dealin' with senior players. Good one, he's our former batsman, therefore, he knows better how could Pakistan go back to the same flyin' start given by the openers, which Saeed and Aamir used to give.

• Though, Rashid hasn't been successive as a Captain but Miandad as a Coach has been. Latif is an experienced player. Both men gets along well, therefore, we can expect good results in upcomin' Sharjah tournament if the whole team sticks together.

great news. Miandad is new coach, Thanks to Allah.:mash:
Amir Sohail head of selection co. :confused:
Thanks God no more military persons in cricket. :jhanda:

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
I think the fact that Younis Khan wasn't considered is because his place in the side is not certain. I heard somewhere that he's not scored a hundred in 75 ODI's and that's a record of a mediocre player.

Well coming in at position 5 and below, I don't expect a batsman to have scored too many centuries. Let's take the benchmark example of Sachin. He scored his first ODI hundred in the 79th match. So, making a century is not a measure of success in ODI.

Younis Khan is a committed, talented and enthusiastic young player and needs proper opportunities.

Fair point fg, then maybe he should bat at number 3, something I suggested before the WC?

yeah, that's one thing that I don't get. Why doesn't anyone want to bat at no 3?

Inzi doesn't want to, Youhana refuses to as well and then Khan is shuffled up and down as desired. Is there something that I'm missing? It is only a batting position, no?

Ehsan bhai, I pretty much agree with you on Waqar. He had to go. You make a good point that he should've talked to Gen. Zia about the attitude of some players. He didn't and paid the price.

I love the guy so it's hard to see him treated this shabbily. Waqar and Wasim have a special place in every Pakistani fan's heart (I'm sure people will agree). This is why my view of the guy flipflops sometimes.

However, I think appointing Latif as the captain over other seniors is not a good decision. The only positives that Latif brings to the table are his clean past and the ability to get along with Miandad which is an accomplishment in itself. It's quite sad for Pak cricket if captains are appointed on the basis of their relationship with the coach.

Samb bhai, my own personal preference would have been Akram as the stopgap captain.

I suppose we should now close ranks behind these guys and give them a chance to perform.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
I suppose we should now close ranks behind these guys and give them a chance to perform.

agreed. Inshallah they'll do us proud.

Originally posted by saby: *
... were in **advisory council

more like Tauqeer Zia's harem.

:hehe: :k:

Miandad and Aamir Sohail are both spiky characters who can easily create disharmony in a team. Still as Sohail is only a selector that's not really an issue. Miandad himself has gone on record as saying he will be looking at players in the 23-25 age group so with a fresh team he will probably be able to mould them with less problems so it might not be so bad. Whether he's a qualified coach or not I have no idea. I think we still need to implement new ideas and I'm interested to hear who's going to take responsibilty for this now.

Waqar is still in the team right?

I know he aint a captain no more is he still in the team or kicked out?

^ dude, you need to read Asif Iqbal's article posted by Mr Xtreme.

agreed. I would also ave liked to see Akram holding reins once again. Or Moin wouldnt be a bad choice either. But the Fact is, Rashid commands more respect in the team unlike 1998 when he captained previuosly. Those days Moin was in peak form and thus Rashid was misfit in the team, also he was brought out of th blue to be made captain. But now the situation is differen. He is playing very well since last two years and thus team members will surely respect hi,m barring senior or junior.

Wasim’s case would have been ideal, Moin case would have meant that PCB took a complete cycle from 2000. This does sound like a good team with Rashid, Miandad, Haroon, Aamir Sohail , Saleem yousuf :k:. Only spot debatable is Mister Shafiq Ahmad papa, the guy has only played three tests and he already has been selector for a number of occassions, dont know what he does to win selector spot everytime.

I believe Rashid’s appintment is a stopgap one (at the most one year )and they want youhana to groom as a more responsible and thiinking cricketer!