Violence in Karachi [all threads merged]

re: Violence in Karachi [all threads merged]

For the last few days MQM has been trying very hard to control the violence that ANP is igniting. Last week a huge massacre planned by ANP's followers was about to take place, thankfully it was controlled. These tribal monsters also tried to preach to their followers in Pashto that urdu speakers are of the jew race and need to exterminated at all costs, this sparked the deaths of many innocents a few days after this video came out. ANP's main goal right now is to somehow make Karachi a city like Kabul, ANP already promised that numerous times. After the situation becomes unstoppable Army will come in kill innocents, cause chaos in Karachi and Karachi would be divided into smaller divisions. Some divisions like the poorest and crime infested ones filled with TTP and AQ members will be in ANP's control.

Re: Karachi problem is bw Taliban and Muslims. It is not bw Urdu speakers and Pashtun

yeah the blame goes on them becoz they make it karachiets an easy prey for zombies.

Re: Karachi problem is bw Taliban and Muslims. It is not bw Urdu speakers and Pashtun

Why isn't govt doing anything? Where is army, Zardari, Gilani? Or are they too busy looting the country?

this is the one of wrost problem nation facing, ladao aur hakoomat karo.

*ISLAMABAD: President of Pakistan, Asif Ali Zardari ordered Sindh government on Friday to ensure people’s safety in violence-hit Karachi, DawnNews reported.

Zardari gave these orders while attending a high level meeting called upon to discuss the current chaotic law and order situation of Karachi, the largest city and economical hub of the country.
The meeting was attended by the Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, Chief Minister Sindh Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Federal Home Minister Rehman Malik, Agha Siraj Durrani and Nadir Magsi.
An ‘important report’ on Karachi was being presented by the interior minister during the meeting. Rehman Malik also told about locating important ‘hide-outs’ of terrorists and said actions were being taken against the same.
President Zardari directed the chief minister to ensure protection of precious human lives in Karachi, and ensured him of every possible help from the federal government in this regard.

Re: ANP demands army operation in Karachi

pehlay army ko FATA se to farigh honay do yaar :smack:

Re: ANP demands army operation in Karachi

ANP is the biggest supporter of terrorists in Karachi. They have given them safe houses in Orangi and Sohrab Goth. Not to mention every violent act is ignited by ANP and its supporters.
Had these animals not called for jihad on innocent urdu speakers the situation would have been calm.

if you are calling city by "majority" people then that is different from calling it by its geographic location (which is the norm). BTW Quetta was not part of Baluchistan always while Karachi was always part of Sindh, check out the map posted by Anwer Pasha sahib in other thread.

I am saying that has to do with Taliban extremism. So you think I am lying? Won't you even consider that I might be wrong? Instead you are calling me a liar?
Take it easy. Don't be emotional.

I gave the reasons in the first post why it is about Taliban and their "jihad". Here is some more:

Target killing has been going on since long. But when things were between ANP, PPP, and MQM members then they were targeting each other's party members, but common people were not being killed indiscriminately.
But now there are houses of common people being burnt and anyone who comes out is being killed. That's a lot uglier than just the political violence.
The extremist imams in Pashtun population are now calling Urdu speakers "jews" and issuing fatwas to kill all Urdu speakers indiscriminately.
That's not political violence.

That is true. It's not like it's something new. It has been brewing since long. And now Rehman Malik is pretending like Maula Jatt.

"majority people" are from all over South Asia, including Sindhis, Balochs, Punjabis, Gilgitis, muhajirs, Bengalis, etc.
Karachi is a mixed city. No one community can call it exclusively theirs.

BTW Quetta was not part of Baluchistan always while Karachi was always part of Sindh, check out the map posted by Anwer Pasha sahib in other thread.

Please spare me with this "always" stuff. History is all relative. America was also "always" an Indian continent but not anymore. Iran was also not "always" an Iranian country. It was ELAM before Iranians arrived from North.

This is disgusting. God help Karachi, and God help Pakistan

its totally crazy. looks like a war zone. if reporters can reach the shooters then why cant police go there and arrest the shooters?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5pqVqmTyvo

dont u guys miss the good old days of mafia gang wars.

Just talked to my cousin who lives in Gulshan-e-Iqbal (near Hasan Square) and he is saying Hasan Square has turned into a battle ground. Scenes are no different than Afghanistan or Iraq's war scenes....

This is the first time that rocket launchers and hand grenades are used ...

It just boggles the mind, where is our beghairat government right now? Where are the authorities? Just sitting around twiddling their thumbs??

And what has been the PPP governments doing?

How sad, Our children are being killed, Every one dead is our brother ,son,sister or daughter.
How fool we are ?
We are now nothing more than tools of our opportunist, greedy incompetent bosses. They are killing us by our own hands.

Ya Allah ... 88 ppl died in just four days!

**okay so … Mr.Zardari orders to revive commisoner system in karachi!

ISLAMABAD: In a meeting held at the Presidency on Friday to review the situation in Karachi, it was decided that while pursuing the policy of reconciliation with all political forces in the province, the provincial government will urgently revive commissioner system in the city.
The Provincial government will also take steps to make suitable amendments in law relating to the local government system to make local administration more responsive to the emerging challenges to law and order situations in the city and in the province.

**President Asif Ali Zardari and Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani chaired the meeting, which was attended among others by Chief Minister Sindh Syed Qaim Ali Shah, Pir Mazhr-ul-Haq, Syed Murad Ali Shah, Manzoor Hussain Wasan, Nawab Mir Nadir Ali Khan Magsi, Agha Siraj Durrani and Zulfiqar Ali Mirza.
Madam Faryal Talpur, Rehman Malik, Federal Minister for Interior, Syed Naveed Qamar, Syed Khursheed Shah and Dr Babar Awan were also present during the meeting besides Spokesperson to the President Farhatullah Babar.
Briefing the media Spokesperson to the President Farhatullah Babar said that the Sindh chief minister and the interior minister briefed the meeting about the situation in Karachi and the decisions about Karachi were taken in the light of the briefings.

It was also decided that peace and law and order in Karachi would be maintained at all costs, he said.
He said that it was decided during the meeting that judges will be appointed to the vacant posts of anti-terror courts and prosecution branch would be beefed up to provide an effective legal framework for dealing with the criminals and lawless elements.
Farhatullah Babar said that the President while taking notice of the recent wave of killings in Karachi
had directed the interior minister to proceed to Karachi and to coordinate with the provincial authorities on the issues relating to law and order.**
Rehman Malik briefed the meeting about situation in Karachi and his meetings with the law enforcing agencies.
Farhatullah Babar said that meeting discussed deteriorating law and order situation in Karachi and expressed concerns over the recent spate of killings.

The President directed the provincial authorities to take necessary steps for restoring peace in the city and to bring the culprits to book regardless of their political affiliations.
**The president said government would not allow anyone to take law into its own hands and would use all possible means to ensure safety and security of the people.
The President also called upon political leadership of Karachi to complement government’s efforts in restoring peace in the city and bringing miscreants to the book.
The meeting also expressed grief and sympathies with the victims of recent killings and condoled with the families of the victims.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/07/09/zardari-orders-to-revive-commissioner-system-in-karachi.html

rangers are given shoot on sight orders!

Yes I think you push your favoured political parties point of view here, and if that means massaging the truth, so be it. If you were merely wrong, you would have to have serious reading disabilities, given that virtually every reporter on scene is saying its ANP/MQM fighting it out. For you to then say its not bw urdu speakers and pashtuns but about taleban.. i give your intelligence a bit more credit than that.

I gave the reasons in the first post why it is about Taliban and their "jihad". Here is some more:

Target killing has been going on since long. But when things were between ANP, PPP, and MQM members then they were targeting each other's party members, but common people were not being killed indiscriminately.
But now there are houses of common people being burnt and anyone who comes out is being killed. That's a lot uglier than just the political violence.
The extremist imams in Pashtun population are now calling Urdu speakers "jews" and issuing fatwas to kill all Urdu speakers indiscriminately.
That's not political violence.

So, people motivated by these extremist imams in pashtun population are going into their own homes and killing and burning? Because you realise that NOBODY except MQM is saying that it is pathans alone doing the killing. Every reporter I've seen, and I've been reading this pretty closely, has been saying it is MQM and ANP activists today. It is along ethnic lines, religious lines is a distraction.

What you have done is posted articles talking about a new dimension of Karachi's multifaceted violence, and claimed that this means that the people fighting today are these people. No proof for that in those articles, and no proof for that on the ground.

And by the way, I can personally say that common people ARE killed indiscriminately. Violence is typically the worst in areas where there are muhajir and pathan areas in close proximity. While party members may be targeted I know of several cases, personally, because I live in one such area, where the response of killing a pathan or muhajir is to go into the others area and kill someone randomly. It is this disgusting mentality, that MQM and ANP both have, that is on exhibit in its full glory today.