Not only he but also Punter, Matty, Simmo, Harvey must retire so the rest of the wold gets a fair amout of chance to beat them
^ yeah but it is Adam Gilchrist who gives such a great balance to aussie side. Yes Punter, Simmo and co are equally dangerous but exclusion of Gilchrist will be a crucial factor. Haddin is a good batsman but he is not as genuine or dangerous as Gilchrist.
*Originally posted by saby: *
Pakistan and india must be happier because he is one of the biggest tormentors of bowlign these days.
India may be but not Pakistan. I am yet to see Gilli really fire up agianst us. May be I am wrong but seriously, I can't think of any of his innings where he tormented our fasties. Actually, I remember him getting out to Akram in the initial overs many many times.
But nevertheless, he is an awesome batsman. He is one cricketer I would pay to go watch at the grounds. A true entertainer.
*Originally posted by funguy: *
India may be but not Pakistan. I am yet to see Gilli really fire up agianst us. May be I am wrong but seriously, I can't think of any of his innings where he tormented our fasties. Actually, I remember him getting out to Akram in the initial overs many many times.
But nevertheless, he is an awesome batsman. He is one cricketer I would pay to go watch at the grounds. A true entertainer.
Arey bhai have you forgotton how he led Australia to victory over Pakistan during the last Tour of Australia by Pakistan. Pakistan was on the verge of winning that test.
^ Thats what i was gonna say.His test record against us is much better than his oneday record. But we dont have akram anymore and Sami is yet to perform in a pressure situation, so its a good omen for me at least.
OK, I thought we were talking One-Dayers.
Test match has a different field set. It's totally different cricket.
i think the selection committee shouldve gone for a full time batsman rather than afridi in the squad. Besides all the chances that afridi's squandered over the last so many years, pakistan i feel have got too many allrounders in their squad. Ok the bowling looks very weak, but with shoaib malik, abdur razzaq & rana naveed...already there in the squad i think, they should probably have gone for a full time batsman in mizbah ul haq or asim kamal.
^ Team Management asked for another all rounder in the team with a bit of variety and as stated it came down to a choice between Mohammad Hafeez and Afridi and afridi was chosen in the end. Rana Naveed ul Hasan is a filler for the time being. Against Australia, a sixth bowler would be a bonus. I just hope Razzaq continues the good bowling form he displayed in asia cup. That will solve our sixth bowler dilemma.
FG-- yes Test match is a totally different thing altogether, but remember we dont have Akram anymore and Gilchrist could have cashed in big time against Sami and Shoaib.
*Originally posted by orignal: *
i think the squad picked will make a very gud team!
how did you guys work out afridis an incompetent playa
hes a great all rounder,,,far more experienced than imran nazir and more talented than danish kaneira
youll see his luck is goin to change!give the guy a break!
khatoon, did you follow his career?
yeh captain1 i have
ure forgetting this guy is the one who made the fastest 100 it may have been a while ago but it shows he can do it!
u know dat if he stays in hes a very dangerous playa! he can smack any bowler whether it be mulitharan or pathan out of the ground for a six! i reakon its about time hes bck into the team ,,,its wot pakistan was missing inshallah now we shud be on fire!
youll be surprised ! trust me!
he can smack any bowler whether it be mulitharan or pathan out of the ground for a six!
Well that doesn't do the team much good if he gets out in the same over (usually the case).
yeh captain1 i have
ure forgetting this guy is the one who made the fastest 100 it may have been a while ago but it shows he can do it!
u know dat if he stays in hes a very dangerous playa! he can smack any bowler whether it be mulitharan or pathan out of the ground for a six! i reakon its about time hes bck into the team ,,,its wot pakistan was missing inshallah now we shud be on fire!
I nominate this post for 'post of the week, month or year' :D
^^ I 2nd that, any thing with Captain1 in it is for top shelve ![]()
ps; wayyy top shelve ![]()
yeh captain1 i have
can you tell me how many ODIs has he played after that "fastest century"?
Thank you :)
controversy over afridi’s inclusion
salam guys!
first of all i have neva been an afridi fan but i wud luv to watch him play under woolmer, he sure has talent and may be woolmer can help him, i would personally have liked hafeez or azhar, and importantly there is a very good site i recently discovered, you guys should read this article, it has woolmer’s comments as well in bold
ooh come on wots the amount of ODIs got to do with anything wot difference does dat make the guys got talent dats wot counts he has the skill to win us a game and u know it!
so what if hes had a rough patch! every playa goes through it not everyones perfect like you Captain1
im all up for him playing and wish him all the best!
orignal, in your opinion, how many ODIs should Afridi play to improve his batting?
I cannot believe it...that looser Wasim Bari is back, and repeating the same mistakes again. I do not understand how Afridi is going to fit in the top 11. You have leg spinner like Danish Kaneria sitting in pavillion, you have an offspinner already in the playing 11 , Shoaib Malik, 3 quickies....Shoaib, Sami and Shabbir. Thats 5 bowlers who truly deserve to be in the playing 11. Tell me how would Afridi fit in as a bowler.
Dont ever start with his batting capabilities. Gives me the creeps...when i see true batsman like Asim Kamal are'nt even considered and people like Afridi are given countless chances...
Wasim Bari.....why would'nt he just leave Pakistan Cricket.
smoothy: aap donooo os ka peechay kyon paray rehtay ho
i know i know he got so many chance but he didnt perform in all the matches… but still whenever he score big runs then we win.. yeh nahi ke dua karain os ke laiy… aap loog ho ke…
jealousss loog ![]()
you gooo girllll.. inshallah he willl… i wanna seee ehsan bhia and smoothy guy realize how good he is for the team ![]()
enough bashin already ![]()