Videocon Cup in Holland

afridi can play at#6 instead of younis khan and that will give us an extra bowling option as well.. but that will mean malik will have to continue batting at #3... afridi for younis kha will make batting weaker though but thats another option woolmer/inzama can go with..

If all we need is another medicore all rounder than surely Azhar Mehmood is far far better than afridi. OK, he is a medium pacer rather than a spinner but he would do a better job than Afridi.

^^ I think Azhar is better than Afridi and Younis any given day.

In subcontinent pitches Azhar gets no movement in the air but he could be a good option in Holland/England since the ball moves quite a bit. In subcontinent pitches he just throw the ball too short of lenght or over pitch and gets beaten all over the park. I remember in England99 WC match against West Indies him and Razzler were just impossible to play cauz of the ball was doing allsorts of things left and right. So Azhar definitely would have been a good option but since he's not selected I shouldn't waste your time with my opinion.

You guys have to recognize one thing about Afridi. When Afridi performs(which i wish was more often) we probably win 75-80% of those matches. He is the perfect opener for us because he attacks the batsmen in the first 15 overs and if he performs with his head straight and puts up 30-40 runs in 5-6 overs that gives batsmen some room to breath and takes the pressure off of them.

The second match in Pindi against India, he was one of the reasons we won the match because of the start he gave to our team. Without his 80 some runs in the first 10overs allowed the team to build a big score patiently.

Anyone know how Afridi performs against Australia? I hope he has performed against them, because if he gives us a fast start then the biggest problem in beating Aus. will be solved and thats mental.

lest hope the team does well

I'm more pissed at the selection of Rana than of Afridi. Ok this is his one day records:

O M R W Econ I R Match
10 0 55 2 5.50 SL 2002/03

6 1 32 1 5.33 Ken 2002/03

10 0 73 3 7.30 Ind 2003/04

8 0 45 0 5.62 HK 2004

Do these figures merit his selection??????????
If he freaking gave away 45 runs against HK, god know what the aussies will do to him.
What happened to Irshad, Raouf, etc??? Why arent they being looked at??

azhar mahmood should have been in for rana. No questions there. Rana is probably in coz someone up there likes him, and i recall rameez once saying in his commentary that he is a top-class batsman; so there is an impression in the selectors etc. that he can bat well. His bowling is mediocre at best.

Rightly said Ehsan Bhai. He should be sent to Nairobi with A team.

abhi PP007 ayegi aur Afridi bashing per :mad2: hogi …lol…

*Originally posted by ameena81: *
In subcontinent pitches Azhar gets no movement in the air but he could be a good option in Holland/England since the ball moves quite a bit. In subcontinent pitches he just throw the ball too short of lenght or over pitch and gets beaten all over the park. I remember in England99 WC match against West Indies him and Razzler were just impossible to play cauz of the ball was doing allsorts of things left and right. So Azhar definitely would have been a good option but since he's not selected I shouldn't waste your time with my opinion.

Did you miss Pakistan's last visit to England where Azhar Mehmood was "wreaking havoc" in county games? How did he perform when he joined Pakistan against NZ? below par.

Captain1 would you rather have Rana who is inexperienced and hasn't shown any signs of talent than having Azhar who's a decent batting and bowling option in case injury strikes our players (God Forbid). Well everyone is entitled to have their own opinions and I am more worried about our top order clicking than Azhar/Rana/Afridi in the team. Yasir Hameed has lost his touch and mind and Farhat doesn't seem to stick around long enough to let us enjoy his Anwar-like drives. I am really loosing my sleep over this tournament and I hope we make it to the finals.

what you guys think?

01 Imran Farhat
02 Yasir Hameed
03 Shoaib Malik
04 Inzamam-ul Haq
05 Yousuf Youhana
06 Younis Khan
07 Moin Khan
08 Abdul Razzaq
09 Rana Naveedul Hassan
10 Mohammad Sami
11 Shoaib Akhtar

or

01 Yasir Hameed
02 Shahid Afridi
03 Shoaib Malik
04 Inzamam-ul Haq
05 Yousuf Youhana
06 Younis Khan
07 Moin Khan
08 Abdul Razzaq
09 Rana Naveedul Hassan
10 Mohammad Sami
11 Shoaib Akhtar

Captain1 would you rather have Rana who is inexperienced and hasn't shown any signs of talent than having Azhar who's a decent batting and bowling option in case injury strikes our players (God Forbid). Well everyone is entitled to have their own opinions and I am more worried about our top order clicking than Azhar/Rana/Afridi in the team. Yasir Hameed has lost his touch and mind and Farhat doesn't seem to stick around long enough to let us enjoy his Anwar-like drives. I am really loosing my sleep over this tournament and I hope we make it to the finals.

Ameena I dont think Yasir has lost his touch. He is too young to accomplish that :D Insha'allah he will do well. I agree with you on that Farhat bit. Thats why Salman Butt is in the team because he is one aggressive player.

I'll put my money on Rana instead of Azhar, really. Don't worry about Yasir, there are more players to worry about.

*Originally posted by Captain1: *
watchout this space for the historical beating of Aussies at the hands of Pakistan and India (no no, not together, in separate matches, you can remove India from the list if you want) :D

After inclusion of Sahibzada Shahid Afridi, I'm having second thoughts... sigh

YES…this is the time for pigs to fly :hehe: - COME ON Faisal you can say better than that…

Yeah.. umeed pe duniya qaim hai. :)

The three squads:

Australia Squad

*Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Jason Gillespie, Ian Harvey, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, Michael Kasprowicz, Brett Lee, Darren Lehmann, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (W/K)

Pakistani squad

Inzamam-ul Haq (captain), Yousuf Youhana (vice captain), Imran Farhat, Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Moin Khan (wicket-keeper), Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir Ahmed, Rana Naveedul Hassan.

Indian squad

Sourav Ganguly (capt), Rahul Dravid (vice-capt), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Venkatsai Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan, Laxmipathy Balaji, Ashish Nehra, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh.

i think the squad picked will make a very gud team!
how did you guys work out afridis an incompetent playa
hes a great all rounder,,,far more experienced than imran nazir and more talented than danish kaneira
youll see his luck is goin to change!give the guy a break!

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Australia Squad

*Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Jason Gillespie, Ian Harvey, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, Michael Kasprowicz, Brett Lee, Darren Lehmann, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (W/K)

Adam Gilchrist is rested and that confirms his interview a while back that he is considering retirement from ODIs. Gilchrist IMO is one of the reasons of consistent Australian domination. Brad Haddin would find it hard to consistently fill in Adam's shoes which are quite big and it doesnt matter how talented is he.

Pakistan and india must be happier because he is one of the biggest tormentors of bowlign these days.