Using toothpaste when fasting?

Re: Using toothpaste when fasting?

tou phir aap thooktee phiraa karaian rozay main.

^:D hahaha

Fairy :emmy:

Tlk bhai…aur koi solution nahi ? :snooty:

Using toothpaste when fasting?

The hadith about smell of mouth is not about the smell due to unclean mouth/teeth. It is about the smell that comes out of stomach via mouth due to hunger.

Fairy nahi FA :slight_smile:

How smell comes from an empty stomach or due to hunger? One can smell when he/she burp :smiley:

Peace All,

Its about raw garlic and onion.

Toothpaste meant for what? just cleaning of mouth or removing the smell of breath.

siwak is also Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad :saw2: . I used siwak and i never felt that its actually removed the smell of breath. That is my experience.

Peace All,

One thing I would like to share which I think is important that the enemies of Islam trying their best to keep us Muslims fighting with each others on every single issues. Usage of Siwak is recommended by Prophet Muhammad :saw2: as it is Sunnah. But nowadays we prefer to use other than Sunnah things and that is just for worldly affairs. Why enemies are doing this because they are followers of Iblees who keep trying to astray from the right path.

its true, smell can come from stomach even if you are not fasting, that why people with breath problems are also asked to see what it is that they are eating, even if they keep mouth and teeth clean. read up on it.

qibla, aap acchi miswaal liya karain na.. :slight_smile:

hey man, tell it to the scholars who wrote it, i just did a cut and paste.
I used miswak too and always felt that it had a deodorizing effect as well.

Okay, Copy cat...? Hmph

Assalamoalaikum, i think you all should use Maswak. man made things cant be compared with natural. Allah Love's us. and HE knows better for us. i should tell a story of Muslim Mujahids that will help you :)

**ایک جنگ میں مسلمانوں کو کامیابی نہیں مل رہی تھی۔ سب نے مل کر مشورہ کیا کہ کون سی سنت ہم سے چھوٹ رہی ہے ۔ پھر انہیں یاد آیا کہ انہوں نے مسواق نہیں کی۔ لہٰذا سب مسواک کرنے لگے۔ دشمن کے ایک آدمی نے دیکھا تو جا کر خبر دی کہ مسلمان تو بہت غصے میں ہیں وہ اپنے دانت تیز کر رہے ہیں تمھارا کچہ چبا جائیں گے

**Every single Sunnah of Prophet Salallaho Alayhe Wasalam is important.

sure. another solution is that dont get too much into doubts.

If your saliva is heavy with the taste of something then I can imagine that it could nullify your fast. Lingering flavor in your mouth does not break your fast. As I hinted earlier, lots of people keep eating till the last minute (in fact its recommended to keep eating till very late). Now if you keep eating till the last minute, how the heck will you be able to get rid of all the taste from your mouth before sehri ends. Does that mean that your fast is gone within first minute of it getting started?

...maybe for other reasons

I think we are really splitting hair. :hehe:

To be safe and completely hygienic, always clean the tongue along with teeth with a brush. Even when it s not ramadan or fasting.

In ramadan, rinse mouth before end of sahoor thoroughly after brushing.

No taste of food will be left then.

No need to be so obsessive that one keeps spitting everywhere.

Some people may be so cautious that they try to spit every drop of water after wudoo and keep sniffing the nose to get rid of every molecule of H2O! So much noise in some masjid bathrooms from it. :smiley:

Just use common sense and have clear intention. That’s all.

I beg your pardon?

I just stated what I have learnt over the years related to the particular hadith being quoted here. Yes, in a way I may be a copycat and may be presenting the views of scholars I follow but I've presented it with full conviction and understanding.

My two pence!

It is about good adab. If your in a work environment and obviously the mouth odour will leave others with a negative impression of your deen then by all means use miswak or toothpaste. Your not eating the toothpaste.

However, as others have pointed out, if it can be avoided, its better not to.

In the Prophet's time it was not available, so apparently people struggle with understanding its usage while fasting.
but I think if we use a little common sense then the matter should get clear. the main reason why people use tooth paste is self evident: it is Paste used for (cleaning ) the teeth.
No one eats it. no one drinks it. I doubt anyone's niyat when putting the toothpaste in his mouth is other than cleaning their teeth with it. So there should be no problem with its usage. it is just like the modern form of miswak.
and if people say that toothpaste has a taste. well guess what? miswak also has a taste.
can't we do a bit of Qiyas here? why cant we muslims use some common sense?
For some reasons mullahs have come up with hadiths in which the bad odor coming out of the mouth of a rozadar is glorified, supposedly the angels like the bad odor. In my view, those angels really have a bad taste.

whether bad breath due to unclean teeth or stomach, it is still bad breath. and it smells bad and is repulsive, no matter how many angels like it.

I have heard this story before. this is one of the most bizzarre one ever. i even received a text message today according to which the loadshedding was happening because we were not doing too much astghfar.

Letter of the law vs spirit of the law.

angels dont like bad breath. The hadith about not eating garlic and onion when coming to Masjid has the pretext that angels get disturbed when one comes to mosque with bad breath of garlic and onion coming from his mouth