Using toothpaste when fasting?

Re: Using toothpaste when fasting?

we should do more phitkaar, instead

Peace Jaanaan,

My comman sense says that if that time toothpaste wasn’t available and Prophet :saw2: and Companions r.a. were using siwak than there is no harm if we use it nowadays too. And its is more rewarding b’coz its a Sunnah hence siwak and toothpaste meants for same purpose (as claimed). So without getting into any argue, or brining angels in discussion I prefer to use siwak rather than toothpaste.

and how do you know that whether angels like or dislike? any references?

What loadshedding has to do with this discussion? Is that msg from authentic source?

The Messenger of Allah (sal Allahu alaihi wa sallam) said: “Anyone who eats garlic and onions or leeks should not come near our Masjid. The angels are harmed by what harms the sons of Adam.” [Sahih Muslim]

Its simple really, a religion that puts much emphasis on cleanliness won’t ask its follower to go out in public with stinky breath.

Peace TLK,

This hadith is related to Prophet Muhammad :saw2: because He :saw2: disliked because He PBUH converse directly with angel. Another thing is that if such were eaten in raw condition.

I wonder why it is related to the discussion of usage of toothpaste/siwak. :hmmm:

You should use camels for your ride too because the Prophet never used any cars either.

:smack2:

I gave up dude.

Peace TLK

I apologize for inconvenience caused to you. Hope you didn't minded at all.

First of all, the so-called mullahs did not come up with the hadith as you have put it in your obvious hatred against the scholars. It is an actual saying of the Prophet of Allah (SAW) recorded over a thousand years ago.

Secondly, the hadith is about Allah Himself liking the smell of breath coming out of the mouth of the person who is fasting ( and I have explained it's not about the smell of unclean mouth). No where in the hadith, it talks about angels liking it. Don't just make up things and start bashing mullahs for your own satisfaction.

Nahi Tlk bhai abhi se haar Gaye ? :frowning:

Ps…:rotfl: :rotfl:

Jazak Allah to both of you for making me laugh today :omg:

Buri baat :emmy:

According to a hadith,

A’mir Bin Rabiah (R.A) said: “I saw the Holy Prophet (SAW) using a miswaak while he was fasting more often than I can count.” (Tirmizi)

so the holy prophet(pbuh) used to clean his teeth while fasting. It is his sunnah. Please note that we lay too much emphasis on the use of miswak yet the sunnah is not just using miswak but the habit of keeping mouth and teeth clean.
Miswak has also some sort of taste depending on which tree you got it from.
As far the hadith pertaining to smell from the mouth of a rozedaar is concerned, you should be able to note that the emphasis is on how much Allah is pleased with a person who has left the permissibles (eating, drinking etc.) just in compliance with His commands. The expression of liking the smell of a rozedaar's mouth is an expression of affection of Allah(swt) for the rozedaar. It is not the bad breadth that counts lest the holy prophet(pbuh) would not have been doing miswak.
So there should not be any objection in cleaning your teeth using a paste/tooth brush or a miswak. of course you should rinse clean your mouth afterwards.