Using toothpaste when fasting?

Re: Using toothpaste when fasting?

I’ll help out.
Here’s your ref :slight_smile:

Hadith - Sahih Muslim, Volume 4 - FORBIDDANCE TO EAT GARLIC, ONIONS, AND ANYTHING OF OFFENSIVE SMELL WHILE COMING TO THE MOSQUE

Undesirability of Entering the Mosque after Eating raw Onion or Garlic

1702. Anas (May Allah be pleased with him) said: The Prophet (sallallaahu ’alayhi wa sallam) said, "He who has eaten from this plant (i.e., garlic) should not approach us and should not offer Salat (prayer) along with us.‘’
[Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

It’s common sense. You’re going there to pray and worship. You don’t want to be distracted or disturbed by horrible smells.

stop making stuff up. don't you have any fear in you?

My point exactly. Namazi standing next to me does not care whether the smell from my mouth is because of garlic, or because of fasting. Its going to distract him other way.

toothpaste is NOT food. unless someone goes out of their way to taste and swallow it, i dont see the issue. and if people are doing that, they can do the same with food.

Yea I get what you’re saying.

I think the concern isn’t (always) with toothpaste.
People prefer not to brush their teeth during roza because they’re afraid they might accidentally swallow water. :bummer:

He's actually right. He didn't make that up.

"..... the smell coming out from the mouth of a fasting person is better in the sight of Allah than the smell of musk. (Allah says about the fasting person), 'He has left his food, drink and desires for My sake. The fast is for Me. So I will reward (the fasting person) for it and the reward of good deeds is multiplied ten times." [al-Bukhari,Volume 3, Book 31, Number 118]

But again, like TLK said, Allah likes it, and yes we are fasting for Him, but no one else likes it.

^no where does it state Allah likes bad breath.

Bad breath or not. He says that He likes the smell from the mouth of His followers who have not altered the smell (by food or drink, or any other matter.)

we do wudu still, right?

he likes the smell of the mouth----of people who fast

not people who don't brush their teeth.

i get what youre saying.

so who shall we care about? Allah or people??

I care that Allah (swt) allows me to live my life comfortably and leave everyone around me comfortable, as well, all while maintaining imaan in Him and His word.

. the smell coming out from the mouth of a fasting person is better in the sight of Allah than the smell of musk.

You know, this hadees is taken in wrong context. It only means that given a choice, allah would pick smell of a fasting person (because he is fasting for allah), than smell of musk. This is not an endorsement of bad breath.

Its like you go and hug your kid even he is stinking, rather than hugging neighbors kid just because he is clean. That does not mean you are saying that you love stink - rather you are saying that I love my kid over other kids even if he stinks. iss ka matlab yeah nahi ke bachchay sahab nahanaa hee chor dain because amma loves stinky kid than a clean kid.

I am very impressed by this argument Philo

:blush:

But there are thousands of things that people like but Allah doesn't. What shall we do in that manner?

We are not talking about people. we are talking about namazi. those are special people.

But Queen, we all are discussing here, no one is trying to convince anyone. Fasting is a very personal thing and you do what satisfies your heart. Its like some people haste in breaking the fast cause its a hadees, while other wait for 3-5 extra minutes cause they want to make sure that its really the time of iftaar.

I won't use toothpaste just to be on the safer side....I brush my teeth at suhur and iftaar and don't really need to brush during fasting anyway.

I understand. We cant go close to our spouse anyway. Aur kis ke liye mounh saaf karain.

ea

Peace TLK Bhai,

There is no direct sayings of Prophet Muhammad :saw2: about usage of toothpaste but if you read 2nd para of post#11 than we observe that the bad breath is liked by Almighty Allah and if we use toothpaste than we are doing something opposite of what Almighty Allah liked.

Moreover the first toothpaste was invented in 9th centuray. 9th century BC started the first day of 900 BC and ended the last day of 801 BC.Prophet Muhammad :saw2: was born 570 CE. I think the toothpaste wasn’t exist at that time.

I might be wrong (what I underlined aboved) b’coz the AD, BC, BCE, CE are confusing me. :insh: will post about these date in details.

Peace philosophy,

What about Cigarettte? That is also NOT food. No one sawallow it than why its forbidden?