US Visa Rejection

This thread served as a timeline for me. Application, refusal and every thing that happened afterwards. The main reason that I shared everything here is (even though the letter is quite personal) that I don’t want other Pakistanis to go through the same difficulties if they are in the same situation as I am.

So anyone applying for a visa ,read through and enjoy.

OG: Thank You for your support, Even If one American acknowledges my letter I believe the effort of writing the letter has not gone to waste.

You will mock me if I tell u the number of people I have sent this letter to…

President George W. Bush.
Vice president Dick Cheney.
Ambassador of United States of America to Pakistan, Nancy Powell.
State Department.
Department of Homeland security.
INS.
Human rights watch , Washington DC
The New Yorker
CNN open forum
Dawn Newspaper (Pakistan)

Possible response to letter by GW Bush:

Dear Mr. Pakora:

Thank you for writing me. I am always pleased to receive mail from my supporters.

Although I was touched by some of the matters expressed therein, it seemed to me that parts of it were intentionally exaggerated. I’m quite sure you did so to gather sympathy thinking that your exaggerations might force the authorities to take some action on your behalf.

As a whole, I find the letter quite childish and can’t believe that you thought it would produce realistic results. Instead of writing me a letter, might I suggest that you protest by some other means, maybe holding placards or something like that. It would be refreshing to see a Muslim holding something other than a Kalashnikov once in a while.

Enjoy your vacation in Peshawar. Have a nice day.

Sincerely,

G.W. Bush

MV,

Don’t mean to disagree with you, but I have been at the receiving end of a number of letters on various issues that have been written from the heart. Actually it is sort of refreshing to have something other than a form letter written by some lobbyist cross your desk.

Pakora, odds are that you will receive a note thanking you for your letter, but the emotion in the letter was interesting enough that you might just catch somebodies attention. Realize however that by flipping off the consulate worker, you have probably sunk your own ship. A notation will probably go in your file that you responded with an obsecene gesture, and while this is acceptable by our vice president on the floor of the Senate, the immigration authorities may not find it very funny.

I would suggest one other form of communication if you are really serious. Contact a number of reporters who deal with human interest stories abroad. I had a very good correspondence going with Preston Mendenhall from MSNBC. He has written some very interesting pieces, and he is a very interesting reporter. He does not travel with an entourage, he does all of the camera work, sound and video himself. He wrote a series on Afghanistan long before 9/11.
http://msnbc.msn.com/id/3071826/

You may want to give it one more try, using the media to create some leverage. Realize that by making a big public stink, you may make things somewhat more dangerous for yourself…

Good Luck.

so the person i was talking abt in my original post reapplied for the visa immediately, got a walk in interview, and ended up getting the visa. i havent had a chance to speak to him yet abt the process he went thru in detail but just found out that he's gotten the visa now.

irem,

Do have any idea what happened during the second interview after he was given the 214(b) refusal? I would really like to know since someone I know also had a 214(b) last December, with the consul giving all kinds of varying explanations. He even carried out tons of Google searches about 214(b), and is very concerned.

Regards.

proactive, hey, i'm not sure...i'll ask him what the detailed process he went thru was and then inshallah post in this thread...if i forget, plz send me PM as a reminder

Re: US Visa Rejection

1st JUNE 2005 , another day, another interview, Probably another rejection .

PS: GTG, what was the result?

If I may ask Pakora,

Can you please tell me how many times and why you have been rejected so far??? with best wishes for June 1st 2005

Pakora,

what questions were you asked last time? Do you think your responses made a difference one way or another?

Aejaz
yaar I think ( I cant think straight right now...grrr...whatever) you ahve participated in this thread before , so u would know....but I w ill answer once again

214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),

yahhh...ONE MORE TIME 214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),

Life is like desi ghee...Yaaay and I will be rejected by 214(B)

I can no longer pee Because of 214(B)

yaaay....yaaay...yaaaaaaaaaay

They will give a visa to arshad Lee
But will reject me for 214(B)

Bush will get stung by a bee
because he rejected me for 214(B)

Never will people unite in my family tree
because they rejected me for 214(B)

micky mouse , minni, and suzie dee
will never see me because of 214(B)

214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),214(B),

A one minute interview last time, makes me think the person may have made up his/her mind even before you showed up at the window. You should attempt to do something different this time with your application. May be a letter of endorsement from the congressman from your sister's home town.

OG: last time I was candid, but this time I am going to pour my heart out...

btw: last time I was a bit arrogant too...and did not say "good morning" :(

faisal: r u joking? This time I am going to wear a T shirt saying...."Keep starring, I might do a Trick"

By the time, you (and your t-shirt) shows up, it may already be too late. So... anyway, good luck! :)

Actually, u missed a para here:

“If you pakistani guys contribute to my and my brother’s campaigns, we might bring u to another programs like we do for Cubans. Don’t be like loser Haitis trying to get in Florida. Be much like Cubans. We r even letting one cuban terrorist stay in USA, until Cuban dictator Castro made a big fuss about it. So u see, the more you gives us vote and money, the more we twist laws and constitution around it.”

PKC,

After about 30 years of dealing with US Government Bureaucrats, I have a couple rules.

1. Be nice. The poor Ba$tard sitting across the table has nothing against you. He is a civil servant, trying to feed his family.

2. Ask questions, and ask his advice. Before he has made his decision, ask him:

A) Why was I rejected last time?
B) Was it something that I said on the application?
C) Is there some negative information on me?
D) Is everybody being rejected?
E) Can I appeal, and if so, to whom?
F) Am I doing something wrong?

1. Have a discussion with him, as if you are both together going to solve this problem. Flatter his knowledge. Believe me, he knows the secrets to getting in, you just need him to tell you. Your mission in the meeting is to gain his cooperation.

2. If he has personal latitude to say yes or no, then your attitude in the interview is essential. Stay calm, cool, and collected, never emotional. Be friendly but not fake. Watch your body language, Americans are different, they want a firm handshake, eye contact for a second or two, and a fairly large personal distance space. If you are going to speak passionately, lower your voice a notch. If you become loud and shrill, it will be intrpreted as angry despite what your words are. And this poor guy probably gets angry people shouting at him all day long. By talking softer, it forces him to listen harder, and distinguishes you from the ranters he probably sees constantly.

3. Be emotionally mature, and stick to your plan. Ranting and raving may be noted in your file, and would be a black mark should you try again. You have nothing to gain by dumping on a low level bureaucrat, he may actually agree with you, but he is hamstrung by rules. Find out what the barrier is, and enlist his help to surmount it.

By the way, have you read this web site? It says that the consular officer “has a very short time to decide”. Meaning that they may not have made up their minds, but had only one minute allotted to decide. It sounds like their big worry is that you will go to America and never leave. Think about how you would answer that concern.
http://law.freeadvice.com/resources/gov_material/state_visa_denials_214(b)_refusal.htm

You know, I went back and reread the “interview”, I think it is all in the job. You may want to take some “show and tell” too of all the wonderful things about Peshawar that will keep you coming back… Pictures of Family, Girlfriend, Car, Your Job (hope that you have one now), are you taking classes?, pictures with friends (not crazy looking Mullah types). Perhaps powerpoint…never mind…

-delete-

OhioGuy: :eek:

What the heck are you thinking? You’re providing a Primer for fanatics to evade our visa procedures.

My advise is as follows:

1. Why do I want to come to America? To learn how to fly, of course.

2. Will I return to Pakistan? I’d like to return to Pakistan for a martyrs funeral if you can identify my remains.

3. Where do I plan on living? I haven’t been told what city yet but in an apartment near some federal government building.

4. Job? What job? I’ve got all the money I’m told I will need right here in this envelope.

5. No, I don’t have any family or friends in Amrekkka. But I’m supposed to meet five guys with beards in Las Vegas three days after I enter the country.

Except for the bit about handshake, the rest is good stuff for Pakora.

PKC, if you need an invitation or something, let me know. A hindu inviting a sunni would lessen their reservations quite a bit. Who knows, they might even upgrade your seat on the plane.

A brown inviting a brown is really no big deal for US Consulate folks in Isloo. Pakoray, seriously, get an invitation from myvoice.