US Visa Rejection

**so the person i was talking abt in my original post reapplied for the visa immediately, got a walk in interview, and ended up getting the visa. i havent had a chance to speak to him yet abt the process he went thru in detail but just found out that he's gotten the visa now.

he has to undergo further background checks tho that might take a month to one yr. i heard that basically in this they check his record of whether his last name matches that of any terrorist and if so if they r related.**

His wish to come to Amreeka could still be fulfilled after they take the Gitmo prisoners to prisons inside US :>

*Originally posted by irem: *
**so the person i was talking abt in my original post reapplied for the visa immediately, got a walk in interview, and ended up getting the visa. i havent had a chance to speak to him yet abt the process he went thru in detail but just found out that he's gotten the visa now.

he has to undergo further background checks tho that might take a month to one yr. i heard that basically in this they check his record of whether his last name matches that of any terrorist and if so if they r related.**

The process is that for certain nationalities even if the Visa Officer is satisfied that you meet all other requirements he has to refuse the visa on a technicality (ie background check).

Your details are then sent to the State Dept which exchanges files twice a week with FBI to see if your name appears on any of the agencies databases of known terrorists or other generally undesirable characters. There is some scope for mistaken identities here but they must take into account other factors eg admission in top 10 B school.

The process can take anything from 2 weeks to a number of months (depenfin on where you are, backlog etc).

They then can ask for your pasport back and issue the visa if all is well.

Congrats to your mate and ask him if he would like to get in touch with another Pakistani. I am off to Columbia and there seems to be a real shortage of Pakistani in most of M7/top 10/whatever type b-schools.

AH

Out of depression….Life goes on….

I waited in a kacha nala (as you are not supposed to stand and wait in front of the US embassy ) besides the US embassy , then waited in a queue for 2 hours 45 minutes and approximately 47 seconds , then waited inside the embassy for 1 hour, and then I was called for the interview…..

Whether it was the valium I had taken in the morning or the beer I had the night before or the lengthy discussions I had with Faisal , some sort of arrogance crept over me while walking towards the window.

As I reached the window……

Councilor: with a angry and disgusted look (instinctive analysis) ….humm.
Pakora : ……humm..( I dint say Hi cause he dint say)

Councilor: Why do u want to go to the US …
Pakora : For a visit!

Councilor: U were working in England?
Pakora: Yes

Councilor: from when to when?
Pakora: Dec … to April…

Councilor: Where are you working now?
Pakora : I am not working.

Councilor: Were u in the air force.
Pakora: Yes

Councilor: Why did u leave it?
Pakora: I wanted to do my masters.

Councilor: why did u visit USA in 1993?
Pakora : for a vacation.

Councilor: Where are u planning to stay.
Pakora: with my sister.

Councilor: Sorry ur visa is refused under section 214B
Pakora : (while moving away) BULL! When I had a job you all said I should apply from my native country , Now that I am in my native country I don’t have a job and hence no visa!!!

Councilor: EXCUSE ME!! While getting up from his chair.
Pakora: I repeat……….

Councilor: You don’t have a RIGHT to visit USA..
Pakora : I turn around and walk away while showing him my middle finger.

I make my way out of the embassy quickly so that he does not send guard’s …..

Now my sister has to wait for another year if she wants to see her parents >>>:devil:

And my dear American brethren a dumb fag of a councilor stopped me to come to USA and meet u wonderful people, American babes I hope I am not very old when I finally receive a visa (if that’s ever possible)

And Yes “ A very happy belated independence day to all of you”

In retrospect…I think I had an attitude problem ….:mad:

I wish I was a contortionist so that I could kick my Ar$e for my attitude with the councilor.

PS: I am leaving for murree on Sunday :blush:

>>>>>THE END<<<<<<<

what happened Pakora? did you get it?

Awww Pakora. So sorry. Glad the wait is over though. Maybe next time.

With your aviation past and out-of-work present, it was always going to be a long shot. It's OK, don't worry. There is always some good in the long run. Hang in there and start looking for some mashghala.

Tough luck, there are always genuine cases that get rejected.

You showed the finger and just walked out? If I remember correctly, the place is loaded with guards and check points everywhere! I mean you cant just show him the finger, sprint outside the office. I heard now they dont even let cars park outside, and you have to commute from the check post next to Standard Chartered Bank.

Wesay, I have seen a guy totally losing it back in 1988 and cursing out loudly at the visa officer, and he had to be escorted out.

the process needs to be changed. We have naive ehsan faramosh kids coming here to go to schools and then complain about America left and right and then we have genuine articles like Pakora here, who are denied.

I am gonna have to speak to the senator about this, next time I see him.

hmmm Pakora im sorry to hear that :bummer: that sucks :frowning:

hmmm…do u wana reapply? the guy i knew abt whom i opened the thread reapplied and he got it the second time..the procedure is not even that lengthy…they have a walk in interview when u reapply

*Originally posted by Spock: *
You showed the finger and just walked out?
Aray bhai, Pakora zara ghussay mein hai, iss liyay ho sakta hai kuch mirch masala laga diya ho.

Anyway, Pakoray, no offence, but what you just described, imaan say, Matsui bhi betha hota na visa officer ki kursi pe... woh bhi middle finger hi dikhata.

Attitude problem huh! You should be proud of yourself. Middle finger was never put to a better use.

Faisal to tell u the truth in YOUR last couple of posts before my interview, I was sure (instinctively speaking) that you are not convinced that I am going to return to Pakistan, even though your opinion doesn’t matter, I don’t blame the councillor for rejecting my plea as he knew me for just 2 minutes where as you psuedo-know me for 2 years.

Yes I did show the finger, no mirch masala here. It was just an outburst of anger because of the rude attitude of the councillor. I dint turn back to see what he was saying, it was a split second thing and I timed it just right.:slight_smile:

PS: I blame stu, myvoice (OG is not mentioned intentionally) for my bitter and twisted attitude with the councillor. On reaching the window I was totally convinced that the person behind the window is either myvoice or the others…:hehe:

why our pakis jump so hi to get to usa

i have different problems i want to settle down in pakistan , i have been living in canada for very long times i have been to usa saveral times but recently i hate to go to usa because they can insult me or put me in prision because canada & usa govts are anti muslims , i have some relatives in usa they want me to visit them but i feel very scared to get in usa types of countries where in the name of terrorism they can make troubles . i think all pakistanis would move to usa if usa open their doors!!!!! because indo pakis are stupids , they have one thing that they are better than others , what a stupid ideas ! our pakis have ! specially our punjabis whose moral values never existed & never will .

WOW. Was that really YOU who I denied the visa for? Talk aboout a small world. You should have said: “Hey. It’s me…Pakora.” That particular day I was thinking about all the things irem has written about the US of A and just had a real bug up my butt. I would have denied a visa for Mother Theresa too. Sorry. :bummer:

Disclaimer: This is an open letter to President George W. Bush, Parts of the letter have been intentionally exaggerated to gather sympathy and force the authorities in taking action, The author acknowledges that the letter is quite childish and far from producing realistic results but the audience should keep in mind that there are Muslims who protest by holding placards rather then Klashnikov’s.

Mr. President,

Sir.
I went on a vacation with my parents to United states of America in 1993, I was 17 year old then, whether it was the open roads, the sky scrappers of New York, the friendliness of people, the grandeur of the city or the big smile on Mickey mouse ‘s face in Disney world. I fell in love with the country.

Since then many things have happened, I completed my studies, Lived and worked in United Kingdom for 5 years in an American firm called ******. My sister and her husband moved to USA. I lost my job, as I am the only son I returned home (Pakistan) to my parents. Now I look after my father’s property and land.

Nowadays my parents and me are spending a happy and fulfilling life in Pakistan. We are a very close-knit family a month ago my sister invited us over to USA for a months vacation. As I haven’t seen my sister for a long time it sounded as a splendid idea. My parents have a five year multiple entry visa to USA, where as I don’t. I applied to US embassy in Islamabad, and thought I had a pretty good chance to be granted a visa.
Reasons were…
1. I was well educated and belonged to a very affluent and well respected family of Pakistan.
2. I had visited more then 14 countries of the world and had never overstayed my visa restrictions.
3. I had a valid UK visa but I choose to remain in Pakistan with my parents.
4. I have property worth ** ******* Pakistani Rupees in my name.
5. I had an invitation letter from my sister in USA, my brother-in-law had provided full guarantee that he will be responsible for me and I will leave the country after a month’s time.
6. Last but not the least, I had visited USA before and had returned to Pakistan.

My sister kept pestering us with telephone calls from USA about the plans she had made for us, the places we will visit, how we will spend the summers as a family.
To my disbelief after being interviewed for approximately 1 minute >the councilor refused me a visa. I was quite devastated and baffled.
My parents are in the age group of 60-65; both of them suffer from hypertension. Will I ever get a chance to accompany them when they visit my sister or will they ever visit my sister leaving me behind? It is an awkward situation indeed. We had all sorts of plans, what gifts we would take for my sister, we would sit in her patio and discuss the family gossip, I shall make fun of her driving, and I shall stay in her newly refurbished basement with a fridge full of beer.

Well all these plans came to a crashing end within a minute, as the councilor refused me a visa

When The September 11th attacks happened I was in the UK, While putting a wreath in front of the US embassy London me and my colleagues could feel the anger and the sorrow, how violated a person feels when his freedom is infringed. I hope you are aware that in the whole of Pakistan there is a very small percentage of people who like the US for its way of life, its freedom of speech, its living standards, its social values. Since I have come back to Pakistan I have been advocating USA’s cause even when the radicals condemn and disapprove of it. I don’t hold any grudge I think the USA has the best living standards in the world and is a nation that is proud and relentless in the cause of progress. Ironically people whose hearts and minds are full of malice receive visas, and people like me are refused.

However this episode has caused me and my family allot of pain. My sister keeps on talking on the phone, she wants to see her parents and brother .My parents don’t want to leave me behind, A vacation is most enjoyed when a family is together not when its split.

Sir! Your speech in Turkey included….
“…Fairness to all, Compassion to strangers…”

You talk of freedom of humanity, you talk about winning hearts and minds, you talk about happiness and peace, it can be all achieved with a little compassion. I know some people will suffer due to the mistakes of others; some will suffer due to legal connotations of certain laws, but let me be the stranger who receives some compassion and in return you will not only win my heart but every other person I can influence. My plan was not only to have a great vacation but also to feel and understand the emotions and sentiments of people who are greatly misunderstood in the east.

The bottom line is, that in this world full of hate , discrimination , religious righteousness , terrorism , there is a simple man who wants to accompany his parents to visit his sister and have a ball of a time in a land called US of A.

Sir! I appeal to you, Try building bridges from the grass root level You have and will always have my support regardless of the outcome of this email, Please show some empathy towards me and my family. I am just asking for a simple 1.5-month vacation with my parents, sister, nephew and nieces and seeing your beautiful country I don’t think I am asking for too much. I have extended my hand in friendship and I hope the gesture is reciprocated.

I would end this letter by a quote from your speech, at the department of Homeland security…

I quote …
America is not a fortress; no, we never want to be a fortress. We're a free country; we're an open society. And we must always protect the rights of our law -- of law-abiding citizens from **around the world* who come here to conduct business or to study or to spend time with their family”*

Your sincerely

Pakora,

A very well written letter, perhaps you should send a copy to the US Ambassador to Pakistan, with a request to reconsider your application. (flashing the finger may have killed this though). Undoubtedly you are an unwitting casualty of this conflict.

Please put this in perspective though. It is only a vacation, and certainly you could meet your family elsewhere. Undoubtedly you are angry, but these things pass. Don't fall into the easy trap of becoming bitter. My country views this time as essentially a period of war. And war has always meant the separation of families.

The letter is a good though, and certainly some perseverence at this point might pay off. Perhaps there is some appeal mechanism, or a chance to reapply.

Good Luck and best wishes.