US Visa Rejection

what…, u havent heard much about UPEN???

anwaysy irem i thought u were gonan go to business school..

anwyays check this website yaraa.. University of Pennsylvania(UPEN) is on top 3.. their MBA program is the best in east coast yar.. dun know much about computer science…

http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/grad/rankings/mba/brief/mbarank_brief.php

JaGGa i c :smiley: some parts r correct n fine to say…i mean the stuff abt americans being friendly and it being a free society n american unis being the best…
lekin:
i support the iraq/afghan wars? …george bush zindabad!!!
nah never cudnt say that for anything :nono4:

pp07, im not gona apply for MBA yaar..i’m applying for some other programs inshallah…chek this thread
http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=146372
i’ve met some Pakistani alums from UPENN, and without exception all were snobs te burgers, it seems like the atmosphere there is not that homely and where i’ll be comfy yaar…i dont know if i’ll be happy in such an environment? i wana go to a school with a good MSA and PSA atleast, thats really important for me…

well yeah that is true as well… the studies is great but the people are very rude… i didnt hear it from any pakistanis but their own american students… cuz my college is like 5 mins drive from UPEn.. so alot of my friends went thr… anyways u r rigth it isnt very healthy specially when you are living without the damily… i like it because its close to my home as well as it has a big name… cuz i knoww how my friends walk n talk.. kiis ko pata chal jaye ke they are from UPEN.. itni respect itni izzat… upen ke graduate hawaon main urh rahya hotayhian :rolleyes:

kahir not to forget you went to stanford :love:

it might be offtopic because I am gonna say about UPenn rather than the US visa.
Proudpakistani Indeed UPenn is a good choice if you dun have to deal with living in dorms, otherwise I must say take this college out of your list.. everyone is nerd and snobby there.. yes EVERYONE..Even the MSA and PSA got the most snobby presidents that won't encourage you to be a part of it anywayz.. I know this because one of my very good friends is going to UPenn.. got admission and was very proud of being a part of UPenn, and the next thing we know is my friend visits us at UMass for every single event because UMass got the most lively and active desi community around including, MSA and SASA.

** Irem** If you think you do wanna enjoy sometimes along with studying, then UPenn isn't the best choice..just my two cents, there must be people around who might have loved being a part of UPenn.

Rukhsar bitwa,

Agar tumhara mehboob wahan amereeki visa ki raah dekh raha hain, to meri salha hain ki tum wahan jaake uski thodi sewa kar ke aa jao taaki woh kisi dusri ka na soche!

bare bare loog online aay hian aaj :p

thanks gtg... i guesss mujhe bhi UPEN ke khawaab dekhne chorne paraingay :( i am hearin this from everything since lately.. didnt know it was that worst....

irem.. as far as your friend is concerned then i think try doing some wazeefa.. i heard its very effective... may be inshallah appeal manzoor hojayeee

^lol

PP007: larki you will be commuting so UPenn is good for studies anyhow.. dun be discouraged and you should apply there as well as other colleges.. inshallah you will achieve whats best for you. :-)

hmm wazeefa and next thing someone will be suggesting is visit some peer sahib and get the black magic done on the American embassy.. it might work ;)

Thanks Irem!!! :hug: Hum engaged shuda hain hehe

Arvind - agar uss ne kisi aur ke baray mein socha tow meray haath se bohat maar khaaye ga :smiley:

what am i reading.. all these nice Pakistani bhai behen loag pining to visit the evil kaafir US of A.. ab saaree burayaaN aur badduaiN kahaan gayeeN amreeka kay liyay??

are you serious? :frowning:

We were planning on asking my aunt to come to america to visit …:teary1:

*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
what am i reading.. all these nice Pakistani bhai behen loag pining to visit the evil kaafir US of A.. ab saaree burayaaN aur badduaiN kahaan gayeeN amreeka kay liyay??

Hypocrites. :)

well u think osama is an extremist person and we think osama is our hero.,...he is the only man who challenges the terrisot americans....who has given america authority to put other countries on right track...1 care abt jews who have been controlling ur whole thingy.....osama rocks....jews destroyed ur WTC. and u say osama did tht huh....dude i m telling u 1 thing the day in middle east just 1 people representative government establishes tht day will be the last day of americans and jews in middle east...insalah timE will come tht all the jews will be kick out of palestine area..may ALLAH supports mujaddins and these "extremists" to put jews and americans out of middle east

Irem,

Thank knuckleheads like the one above for your predicament. (I lifted that little ditty from WA).

I suspect that things are particularly tough at this very moment. We have two very large political conventions this summer, and they may want to hold down visas ahead of that. Second, make sure your visa application is perfect, absolutely perfect. What may have happened with your friend is that a computer may have caught a discrepancy from his application against a data base that the US refrenced. It sounds like the Immigration officer had his mind made up before the interview, so something may have seemed funny to the computer.

Good luck to you.

right, this visa rejection thing is going out of hand and not to mention the way they treat you at the american embassies world wide.

can one apeal or reapply or do something instead of just being brushed off and getting sh## for going through all the hastle of admissions, i20s, toefl scores and all that????

*Originally posted by lethal: *
right, this visa rejection thing is going out of hand and not to mention the way they treat you at the american embassies world wide.

can one apeal or reapply or do something instead of just being brushed off and getting sh## for going through all the hastle of admissions, i20s, toefl scores and all that????

Amreeka itna bura muluk hain, wahanke log itne badmaas hain, yeh sab hote hue bhi kyon itne Pakistani wahan jana chahte hain? Aray bhai apne dost chieen me jao. Jao beijing me, ya shanghai me. Chod do amerika ko apne haal par.

Originally posted by Ohioguy: *
*well u think osama is an extremist person and we think osama is our hero.,...he is the only man who challenges the terrisot americans....who has given america authority to put other countries on right track...1 care abt jews who have been controlling ur whole thingy.....osama rocks....jews destroyed ur WTC. and u say osama did tht huh....dude i m telling u 1 thing the day in middle east just 1 people representative government establishes tht day will be the last day of americans and jews in middle east...insalah timE will come tht all the jews will be kick out of palestine area..may ALLAH supports mujaddins and these "extremists" to put jews and americans out of middle east

Irem,

Thank knuckleheads like the one above for your predicament. (I lifted that little ditty from WA).

I suspect that things are particularly tough at this very moment. We have two very large political conventions this summer, and they may want to hold down visas ahead of that. Second, make sure your visa application is perfect, absolutely perfect. What may have happened with your friend is that a computer may have caught a discrepancy from his application against a data base that the US refrenced. It sounds like the Immigration officer had his mind made up before the interview, so something may have seemed funny to the computer.

Good luck to you.

sigh

thanks Ohioguy :)

I haven't applied to schools yet, I'll be applying for fall '05 and I'll be applying for my visa then too. Let's see what happens. I'll be praying.

Irem:
If the government denies you a RIGHT, they are obligated to explain and justify the reasons for their actions. You don’t have a RIGHT to be a GUEST in our country. As a US Governmental policy (and at no small cost to the US taxpayer), we extend to some people the PRIVILEGE of obtaining an education from our fine universities and colleges.

In the thread on your phone being bugged, we saw that you were extended this privilege once and many of us felt that you weren’t very appreciative of the privilege and opportunity you were given. Now, you want to come back and feed a little more from the American public trough. :eek: And a year in advance of trying to return to the country you were so glad to be leaving, you are criticizing the process by which that PRIVILEGE is bestowed.

I sure don’t get a warm and fuzzy feeling that you will be a better, more appreciative guest the second time around. Perhaps your absence from the US has made you more appreciative of the things that we, as a nation and a people, willingly offer to foreign students. I hope so.

ook

*Originally posted by Arvind: *

Amreeka itna bura muluk hain, wahanke log itne badmaas hain, yeh sab hote hue bhi kyon itne Pakistani wahan jana chahte hain? Aray bhai apne dost chieen me jao. Jao beijing me, ya shanghai me. Chod do amerika ko apne haal par.

whos talking about american PUBLIC? its just the immigration that sucks!

Irrespective of the 57 replies so far, remember so far!!!

I have been in this country since 1997, and honest to god, I have never once experienced any rasicsm (may be coz I am residing in the Tri State area)

But believe me I have travelled all over the states of USA, and again have never found any Racism.

The above is just my opinion, based on my experience, yes there may be and I am sure there are cases of discrimination.

But let me tell you this, if your documents are in order, and you are a genuine candidate for a visa, you WILL NOT BE DENIED!!!!

Now with the 9/11 incident, can you honestly blame the USA for looking out for their own intrests, its a no win situation for USA, they are blamed if they allow ( and one of them turns out to be a terrrorist) and they are doomed if they dissallow (They will be called racist).

What would you do?????

Screw that..call me whatever you want..but why would want a person in my country who only wants to mooch off the things created by Americans considering they are constantly blaming America for the ills of the world. I would rather give that opportunity to someone from Ethiopia, I like Ethiopian jews. Theya re more worthy of visas than those from Karachi in my opinion, because our embassy rarely gets a car loaded with explosives as a chrismas present over there.