maybe its too early to think we won’t get visas…i mean INSHALLAH tallah we will…and even if i dont when i apply i hope atleast u do…but still i am scared
Spoc - he took everything, he already has a visitor's visa...but they denied the student visa....he is going to appeal the decision...hope the best for him inshallah...poor guy seemed so sad :(
Mehnaz - I only have one first cousin in Toronto, we don't have any family apart from that in North America...some very distant relatives I haven't ever visited...
But I want to go to the bay area, Cali for grad school, I really want to :( sigh Even if I get into a better ranked school on the East coast, I'll still opt for a lower ranked school in the bay area.
Khayr, I know I'm just being too pessimistic, I haven't even applied to the schools yet, and the visa stuff will all come later, bas Allah behtar karay inshallah...
irem, did they cancel his visitor visa? I have two visas too, a visitor and student, both are valid. The guy said I could continue to travel on the visitor after I graduate.
*Originally posted by irem: *
Spock nai they havent cancelled his visitors visa
but u know that doesnt serve his purpose...coz he cant go to school on that visa...
he should come here on visit visa and have a lawyer help him convert to student visa. I know at least 2 people who have done it but that was pre 9/11.
My visa denial speech …i.e. when they refuse me the visa.
Mr. consulor , I hope u r aware that in the whole of Pakistan there is a very small percentage of people ( by small I mean round about 0.01 %) who like the US for its way of life, its freedom of speech , its living standards , its social values , advocate their cause even when the radicals will condemn and disapprove of it. Well, I belong to that 0.01% , and Sir!!! you r doing a pretty good job in pissing me off too.
Thanks.
he should come here on visit visa and have a lawyer help him convert to student visa. I know at least 2 people who have done it but that was pre 9/11.
Asif really? I'll tell him that :) His sister is in the US so maybe he should check with her about that, ask her to check with lawyers there. Thanks for the suggestion!
Pakora inshallah you will get the visa, like Matsui I too have a feeling you will :)
Irem please don’t scare me
My fiance is awaiting his visa forever and his interview was also only 5 mins long and nobody is giving us any info.!!! Argh! All they say that it is being screened! ARGH!!!
Ok I promised myself I won’t get frustrated and just pray :halo:
PAKORA - plz aap tension na lo…i am feeling guilty now abt opening this thread n for dampening ur spirits
i want to remind u that:
there r so many ppl who r getting visay
and u mashallah have a very strong case
inshallah u will get it :k:
Rukhsar fikar nishta, just pray, inshallah he is surely gona get it may u live happily ever after i dint know u were engaged? belated congrats
I feel sorry for these potential students, but life, as they say is not fair. And, there are wheels within wheels....
Assume you are the boss of the counsellors. Would you really take it well if one of your counsellors' has a low %age of applications that he rejects? You would think that he is not 'applying his mind'. So, what would you do if you are a counsellor? You will ensure that you reject a 'fair proportion' of applicants. You probably have less than 5 minutes to judge an applicant and you are bound to make mistakes. All governments recognise that and that is why they protect themselves with these rules.
I have heard some counsellors advising potential students in some 'camps' that a key factor is 'body language'.
So Irem and others, the only thing we have control on is our body language. Don't get nervous, or at least try not to show it.
it would be awesome yar… pleasee do apply in UPEN… they have the best grad school atleast in Pennsylvania :rotato:
i will pray hard that you will get into UPEN insahllah
pakooora yeah.. inshallah you will get it tooo yar… pareshaan hone say kya hogaa?? inshallah behtri hogi :k:
irem: i soo wanan come to pakistan.. but stupid har koi keh rah ahia nahi jao… cuz shadi july main hia cousin ki aur hamara july main visa khatam hojaye ga aur extention sept tak aay ga.. so we would have to go to embassy tooo to get the visa stamped..
There ya go. Iss ko ratta laga lain. Also throw in a few sentences about how you support the current Iraq and Afghanistan wars and the US operations against enemies of democracy and freedom which Amreeka stands for. Also randomly throw in stuff about America e.g names of past presidents, state capitals etc. Impression daalain immigration aaficer pay, vija mil jaye ga
pp07 thanks yaar so nice of u
hmmm…dekho apply karti hoon ya nai UPENN…i havent heard such great thingz abt that school…but lets c…
hmmm…i know how u feel abt not missing the shaadi, but i dont think u shud take the risk…really…i know a couple ppl who came here and then got stuck…so i would advise against it…
makhanbaazi and being untrue to my conscience for the visa? kadi nai
waise they dont allow u to speak extra or volunteer more info than asked, even if u feel its crucial to ur application…as soon as u talk extra, the interviewer gives a curt gesture with his hand kinda saying BAS
as for daaling impressions…dont know abt Pakora…but i suck at that
believe it or not the immigration aaficer once asked me an open ended question “Why do you want to go to America”. Mannay uss ko kuj eho ji speech ditti si. He said come back after lunch. I knew meray harray harray passport pay thappa lagg gya