Urdu (Language)

Re: Urdu (Language)

My ancestral identity is first and foremost over everything else because it is the most ancient and profound and has proper cultural, social, historic, and geographic basis unlike artificial political identities. My mother tongue is a vital component of this identity. Besides, there are 45 million people using it for social and cultural communication.

We should learn Urdu-Hindi and Dari but voluntarily and for pragmatic purposes. And the neighbours should also learn our mother-tongue to interact with us....it should be on reciprocal basis and not one-way imposition...And then can our friendhip last long!

And this Faruk Khan has changed many faces.previously, he was chal chabela babu on this board, pretending to be someone from Punjab, then he became Prince or Persia, pretending to be someone from Persia but settled in Pakistan, and now Faruk Khan...One should be stable.

mashallah, exactly my thoughts:)!

deera kha day:blush:!

if you wait for pakhtunwa to be made a nation to teach your kids pashto it means you have no pride in your pashto identity...

It's not that, it's just that when I find a girl and have kids I want them to have the best chance in life and not be held back by an idenitity which has no future and nobody else cares for, I want them to feel a part of a group which has some standing in the world and can earn them respect. It's not like being Pashtun or not being Pashtun is the difference between Behesht and Dozakh.

I'm not thinking of marrying an Urdu speaking gal but I find them verrry attractive, so hot and mystical, Pashtun women are so so.

I agree with that.

Over here studying at least one Modern Foreign language (usually German or French) is compulsory at GCSE level, if that's what you mnean then there is nothing wrong with that.

And this Faruk Khan has changed many faces.previously, he was chal chabela babu on this board, pretending to be someone from Punjab, then he became Prince or Persia, pretending to be someone from Persia but settled in Pakistan, and now Faruk Khan...One should be stable.

I am not chal chabila babu.

The bit about stable is fuynny coming from you, you use to advocate Pashtuns marrying Hindu women and now you condemn any Indc influences on our culture, from what I've seen at school kids born to Pashtun fathers and Hindustani mothers have almost completely lost their Pashtun identity and follow their mothers culture, the only thing they retain is the secondname "Khan" which is not even Pashtun in origin.

No harm in learning any language...you know the great Pashtu poet Ghani Khan had an urdu speaking wife from bhopal.
Pashtu is a beautiful language.so is hindi,persian and urdu and other languages.
Zaban e yar turkey..mann turkey na danam.

This is such an un-informed debate and clearly started out of malice to raise regional issues and tension on this board. First of all, does the initiator of the thread even understands what constitutes a language, let alone a national language. For everyone's information, punjabi cannot be not classified as a complete language. Mainly because it does not fulfill one of the most important pre-requisites, the script. Punjabi uses a borrowed script, yes urdu's. Other regional languages, like sindhi and pushto, have their own script, punjabi doesnt.

Chutiapa dikhane se pehle soch tou liya karo. aa jaunde ne moo chuk ke.

Well for your information punjabi has a script developed in indian sikhs most probably its known as Gormukhi.Yes Pakistani punjabi does not have a script it copies the persian script as do the urdu.
Haan urdu mein nafasat aour tameez hai likin qumi zabaan nahi :punjabi,pathaan,sindhi,baluch,aour deegar issay sahih nahi bolsaktay.Nia khan tum say panga nahi laina chahta likin yeh haqeeqat hai piyari Nia_khan.

Samjh gai ji.

When did pashto have its own script?

The only language I know in Pakistan that has its own script is sindhi.

I agree with you soomro pashtu script is a variety of persian/arabic script and so is sindhi.If not trace the origin of sindhi script for our benefit please.
Thank you.

The arbic script that we know today has been influenced by the avestan script I believe. However, I don't think we had our own script per say. Maybe another pashtun(afghan) or anyone who knows about iranian languages can shed some light on this. What I do remember is that Byazid pir Roshan added 13 letters to the pashtu script when it adopted the arabian script.

Urdu has it’s own script? What a joker!!! Urdu got its script from Persian and the Persians got it from Arabic.

Like someone already mentioned Punjabi does have it’s own script, it’s called Gurmukhi and is used by Indian Punjabis, it existed long before Sikhism but it had become out of use so the Sikhs brought it back and named it Gurmukhi, it is derived from the Brahmi script, and so is related to the scripts which are used to write Hindi, Nepali, Bengali etc. that are also derived from the Brahmi script.

Today Muslim Punjabis use Shahmukhi, which is derived from the Arabic script and is related to the scripts used for other Muslim peoples languages such as Urdu, Persian, Pashto, Kurdish, Turkish (before Atta Turk) etc.

It is not the first time a Semitic script was used for Punjabi, in the 5th century BCE Punjabi dialects such as Hindko and Potohari (of course these names didn’t exist back then) spoken in northwestern parts of presentday Pakistan and eastern Afghanistan (yeah we Pashtuns came later, these regions were originally Hindko speaking and are mentioned in the Hindu scriptures) also used a Semitic script called the Kharoshti script for a period of time till about century 305 C.E.

Getting back to the topic, Urdu is better suited to being the national and offcial language of Pakistan.

I'm not being funny but let's be relaistic, languages like Pashto and Punjabi are fine to speak with your friends and family but they are just not languages of courts, academics, careers, media etc.

History shows us that languages like Pashto or Punjabi have never been given that status because they weren't suited for it, even the Pashtun rulers who our people are so proud of used Persian, not only as an official language of the state but they even spoke it amongst themselves to show they were creme de la creme. Same way Ranjit Singh the only modernday Punjabi ruler used Persian as the official language of his state, not Punjabi.

Urdu is more suited to our people than Persian because most our people wont understand Persian, and Urdu is just as refined and sweet as Persian if not more, and it is definately more relevant to our country's Desi heritage and culture.

Thank you..I think as peer roshan added 13 letters to pashtu so did some other peer to sindhi..sindhi script very much looks like arabi/persian script.

Can you prove to me that sindhi script came from arabic or even persian? :-|

Arabic script (as also seen in urdu) is more roundish (like the "yays" in urdu are round compared to similar alphabets in sindhi which are more flat). I am not denying that sindhi might have been arabicinized due to islam but the fact is that sindhi can still survive without arabic script while urdu might not.

It is interesting that persian was the "language of power" when Persians weren't the majority ever in India !

LOL, I wouldn't expect that from a five year old.

The script used for Sindhi in Pakistan is definately derived from the Arabic script, a few centuries ago it was Devanagari script.

Urdu already survives without the Arabic-derived script, in India it's wrote with Devanagri script and is called Hindi, infact even the Persianised Urdu is wrote with the Devanagri script in India in some places, sameway Sindhi was a century or so ago.

The Mughal rulers of India were Persian (racially they were mongol/persian mixed) so they used their language as the language of power, during the short Pashtun rule Persian was also the language, then Ranjit Singh just kept it because Punjabi isn't the most royal of languages.

Mughals weren't Persian but perhaps the exile of humayun to persia played a huge role in the subsequent mughal rule.

Urdu was used as a court language and an official language by the British throughout India. But after 1947 its use diminished and was overtaken by English in both India and Pakistan.

So you are saying english speakers brits used urdu to communicate while indopak hindoomuslims who actually speak urdu chose to speak english?

Something is not right here.. :omg: