Re: Urdu (Language)
You are an exception.:)
Just reading the posts of Syed gives me a picture of man (syed) trying to tame a wild mindless horse.:)
i fall into category (ii), i.e. people who earn their living from Urdu. For me, the ideal scenario would be where the whole of Pakistan spoke Urdu as their mother tongue.
yes, they are all puppets. They don’t have any independent say. They’re controlled by the ISI.
btw, i have lived in kashmir for 14 years.
in your dreams.
Then what are you doing on a paki forum?
Shouldn’t you be visiting your bharat mata forums???
Considering you are from srinagar or kashmir valley.. ![]()
jo nafasat aur tameez urdu zubaan mein hai woh kisi bhi aur zubaan mein nahe. Yeh hamari komi zubaan hai.
Punjabi vi changi hai par har pakistani punjabi nahe. Jitho takar mera kiyaal heyaa jere looog jithey jithey rende ney oh apni zubaan bol lende ney.
Urdu and English should remain the main languages of Pakistan. Rest each province can teach in their schools their own language.
What i dont understand is the amount of hatred towards hindus. I dont know if islam teaches us to Hate other human beings.
^^ So you do agree partition was wrong (a farce?).
^ no, all she's asking you is to recognise Hindus as human beings with feelings, not objects of hatred.
Wasn’t partition based in part due to hatred and dislike of hindus and muslims supposedly?
If all are human beings then why the partition?
You see them all flocking together to watch bollywood flicks everywhere anyway.. ![]()
That is the most superficial, irrational, and non-sensical observation from a linguist's point of view.
Languages are artificial creation and meanings are subjectively and arbitrarely assinged to words. For example, 'cock" may carry one (obsene) meaning in one context and another in a different context (used for a bird). Similarly, when you utter "AAP" and "THUM" to a Chinese, he cannot make out what the hell are you talking about until he knows what meanings are associated with "AAP" and "THUM". You can even tell him/her that "AAP" (AAP Kia kar rahain hain) is colloquial and "THUM" (Thum kia kar rahai hu ) literary and the words would have the corresponding psychological impact on him when he/she hears the words.
Language is just a concatenation of symbols/sounds. "Nafast" is not the inherent property of language...it is a social attitude developed by humans and so is a property of humans instead of a language.
This "nafasat" thing about Urdu/Hindi is just a propaganda to glamourize it and make it acceptable to people...
Urdu and English should remain the main languages of Pakistan. Rest each province can teach in their schools their own language.
Urdu-Hindi is a "Hindustani" language, so why impose it on natives and "Hindustanize" them? OK make it one of the national languages along with Punjabi, Baluchi, Sindhi, Pashto, etc. but make it the sole national language...
What i dont understand is the amount of hatred towards hindus. I dont know if islam teaches us to Hate other human beings.
But in 1947, they said Islam teaches us that and that "yahood" wa "hanood" wa "nasaras" are enemies. And Pakistani education system and media is flaring the intolerance and hostility the most.
ThankGod you said horse and not some other animal.But I dont think this horse has Horse Sense.I think now its all fine and mr moderator has done a good job in controlling all this.
LAND OF THE DINOSAURS
But what quiad e azam said on 11th august in his speech to the constituent assembly of pakistan was some like that:
You are free; you are free to go to your temples, you are free to go to your mosques or to any other place of worship in this State of Pakistan. You may belong to any religion or caste or creed — that has nothing to do with the fundamental principle that we are all citizens and equal citizens of one State. Now I think we should keep that in front of us as an ideal, and you will find that in course of time, Hindus will cease to be Hindus, and Muslims will cease to be Muslims, not in the religious sense, because that is the personal faith of each individual, but in the political sense as citizens of the State.”
I think not only quaid but other leaders shared the same view.I think you are right about our education system which starts our history from binqasim and no one knows what happened before that .even what happened in the initial 24 years upto 1971 we dont know that either.
I think no language has superiority over the other language.How can we prove If urdu has ghalib and meer pashto literature has poets like rehman baba and khushal khan khattak.
I had a temptation but the I thought otherwise!:)
why are some educated NWFP migrating to Kabul for WORK??
…cause there are more nice jobs opportunities there than in peshawar right now!:halo:…so stop being slave to the english durand line…pashtoon are pashtoon first no matter if they were born in afghanistan or pakistan…
and dari or urdu is and should remain a sencond language ![]()
:Dit happened long time ago…i mean most of us were not born at the time of partition…why not forget the bad obscur reasons why it happened (greed of muslim lanlords from india who needed power in a all muslim country, muslim / hindu hate promoted by english to help them rule hindustan), and move on:)…i mean look around in the big world hat’s going on and catch the train of modernity, wwithout loosing roots:
the trend in our globalised world, is the gradual loss of power of nation…and the increasing transnational cooperation…international trades and agreements…mixed cultures and unions…
and on the opposite direction at the local level, an increasing feeling of regional identities, such as punjabis, pashtoon, kashmiris…
so i think there are three levels:
-international: english is the international language, that all educated people must master
if pashtuns are so proud and i'd be happy if they were, why do we need urdu or dari at all? i can tolerate english because the whole world has done but if we accept urdu as our lingua franca (whilst not adopting it as our tongue) is that not proof enough of the superiority of urdu over the language we speak as mother tongue? at least if we speak urdu ourselves we can say it's our own language, but if we accpet that pakistani nationalism is a fake and urdu is only a mohajir language yet we still use it in our schools, media and jobs then that is shameful because we are admitting to giving importance to somebody elses language over the one we ourselves speak.
i know it's shameful to give up the language and culture of your forefathers for no reason but what's more shameful is accepting and using the language of another ethnicity and culture which you cannot call ur own.
the ideal situation would be that all pashtun regions be made a pashtun province where there is no cultural influence from the indic side of pakistan, where urdu is not taught at school rather pashto is, all of media is in pashto, news is in pashto, newspapers are in pashto, tv/radio is in pashto, more websites are made in pashto, there is no desi influence on our clothing, foods or music. and i'd like that to happen in every province and karachi made into a seperate urdu province, english should be used as a official language of the state and of intercomunication because it is a global language or arabic because it is the language of islam and islam is the only thing we have in common and the only reason why pakistan was made.
but are these things i wish for realistic? is it worth all the stress thinking about them because chances are they'll never happen?
as i explained in the above post, we need dari and urdu to communicate with our neighbors india and iran...they are priviledge trade partners as rich powerfull neighbors...hence speaking their language is an asset to build an intergrated south asian market (u can see i'm maybe too much inspired by european union, lol....to promote peace, promote free trade and politics cooperation first! lol)
furthermore all indic/iranian langages have a lot in common, and culturally also...there are of course differences which make the rich and interesting diversity of the south asia...but we should also concentrate of finding the common grounds to promote peace and tolerance, urdu and dari are gates to farsi and hindi...hance the help bridge the gap with neighbors;)
why can't we just use english for that like the rest of the world?
if pashtuns are made into a nation i'd want my children (when i have some in the far far future) to only learn three languages pashto (to communicate to their people), english (to communicate with the rest of the world) and koranic arabic (soleley for worship).
for now im only thinking of teaching them urdu, english and koranic arabic and trying to make the paki identity work for me.
if you wait for pakhtunwa to be made a nation to teach your kids pashto it means you have no pride in your pashto identity…fair enough leave it and marry an urdu speaking gal
you’re an ABCD:D
most english speaking people think like u…their language is enough cause everyone know it:D
BUT that is plainly WRONG! cause a language is the vector of cultural identiy and there are lots of subtilities in intercultural communication which requires at least basic language knowledge to be fully understood…that’s why learning ones neighbor language is important!
for example here in europe, where i live, in most countries schoolchildren learn some of the other european languages, and culture…it is promoting peace and understanding…though most of us end up speaking only english together:D