Umera Ahmed's "Meri Zaat Zarra-e-Benishaan"

Re: Umera Ahmed's "Meri Zaat Zarra-e-Benishaan"

i'm watching it cuz its novel based and thts umera's novel...lakin jab writer ko khud apnay novels ki perwa nahi to hum kia ker saktay hain...

I read this novel long time ago and now watching drama. lovely creaion by umera ahmed. waise OST is amazing :)

well if you put yourself in commercial writers chair then you know it is not easy to dramatize every imaginary pleasure of the book.

not only it cost time (to find the appropriate characters), but also even if you find one, it takes time to train em. besides it costs money on all the resources from find the cast, to make the team, and then promote it.

and in the current situation, these production have to keep one after the other production in the pipeline...why...cuz there are so many people getting paid from these dramas...from camera man to safai wala, to actors to directors.

...it aint an easy job to make drama and also then to make people like it (so then they can get the sponsors). :)

sorry not really a moon wala scene but their very first dialogue (Arfeen and Saba's) where she is gazing at the stars and asking questions. I thought that scene really defined her character and unfortunately it was missing from the drama. They sort of replaced it w/ the rabbit wala scene with Adnan Siddiqui.

I probably would not have been completely interested in watching this play and would have set it aside as another Geo/Humayun Saeed production with a lot of pointless rona dhona. So you are right, having Umera's name attached to it makes a difference. Esp. since I don't really watch Geo dramas anyways.

To respond to Zobia - I understand that a lot of marketing and money goes into creating a drama. But I think if they realize that they are actually working on a creative project and not just a marketing product, you end up with gems like Doraha. I think MZZB could have been in the same league.

you are so right rukhar about zobia's comment, i couldn't have said it better.

what ever you do in life, it has to be planned accordingly, for example if i am opening a shoe shop i need employer who can take care of the cash register, they have to be good in math, some sales people who knows about shoes, who can deal with people blah blah blah, electricity, food, furniture etc. so it's not just drama that required all that, it's everything.

there are some people like mehreen jabbas, who does a very good job, they have an eye to find perfect people according to the characterr, and manage to do everything perfectly, and there are also some people who rely on bare minimal, and after watching many of babar javaid's drama, i think he is one of them who rely of bare minimal he doesn't waste his time to find the perfection.

i think its a good drama, the two characters this story revolves around are the main focus so far, even though saba's character is dead, i feel her presence very strongly in every scene so far, i'm sure it wasn't an easy tast to accomplish.

a big difference between 'malal' and 'meri zaat...' is that malal is not based off a novel but an original screenplay by umera, so no pre-conceived notions there whereas mzzbn is an adaptation and ppl will have various scenarios in their minds about it. i think its better for umera to write screenplays for tv separately and not do anymore adaptaions since ppl will always compare and find it lacking.

I agree with you. Esp. since they make quite a few changes to the original novels which fans have a hard time accepting. Umera should have gotten a Ron Howard to produce MZZB :) hehe Now that would have been COOL!

OHHHH. ok then they have messed this up big time. and im sorry but her hair styles really just put me off too. the characters look and appearance matter =\ sarwat gillani is sarwat gillani in the drama, not sara.

hehe trust me even ron howard wouldn't handle an umera novel, because the audience he is dealing with is very picky, we would still find something to complain about :D

guys, i am a full time college student. i am taking more credit hours than i should :( and my stupid major is beyond my mental capabilities, it means i have to basically kill my self for studies. and tv drama is my ONLY source of entertainment right now. (reading used to be my source of entertainment too, but stupid desi store uncle stop bringing urdu digest sad face) so if i am being picky about the dramatization of one of my fav. novel by my most fav. author i think i am quite justified.

it's not a bad drama, but IT ANNOY THE HELL OUT OF ME WHEN THEY RUIN SOMETHING I LIKED.

Re: Umera Ahmed’s “Meri Zaat Zarra-e-Benishaan”

^ aww sorry, don’t take it personally, i was speaking generally. i know what you mean. these dramas are the only source of entertainment for me these days too and i get way too much into the story too :bummer:

hey you don’t have to say sorry, i was just having a discussion. even though your screen name si dramaybazz, i was the one being the drama queen lol

LOL you're right. that's the inherent problem with dramatizing a novel where the novel writer either doesn't know how to write a proper script or hands it over to someone who does a shoddy job of it.

what time does this thing come on?

................i just watched another one of umera ahmed's novel's drama amar bail and it's so bad, its beyond pathetic.

now i feel like i am being punished for criticizing mairi zaat zarra-e-baynishan :( because amar bail is so bad it made me thankful for MZZBN.

and i know i am being a drama queen :D how else would you react when after 5 months of jaan torh parhai you are all of sudden free and stuck at home because of a snow storm. he he dramas are taking over my life :(

^lol same here! having 3 weeks off, so im watching several dramas together :D

i cannt wait until next episode, im going crazy!!

i hope writer,director and producer read this thread :D

yaar even if they do read it they won't care. (apart from the writer) i don't think the director and the producer cares. as long as they have big bucks in their pocket from their products, who cares what people think about it.

yaayyy! its finally starting tonight (sat) in USA 8 pm ET, good news for Sajalina who's been asking for a while :)

my family hates me :(

i was keep telling them whats gonna be coming up in the drama. now i am not allow to watch it with them he he