UK - Mcdonalds/ KFC halal or not?

Re: UK - Mcdonalds/ KFC halal or not?

i dont care if its halal or not … i have stopped eating fast food :snooty:

did u know the good old fish n chips is also fried in beef dripping n lard to give it that extra kick n crunch, we stopped eating fish n chips 5 yrs ago n oly get them from muslim fast food oulets if we have too. Even though some goray may use veg oil to fry them, they also fry sausages in the same oil puke i saw this myself personally it put me off big time!

just thought i would let u know :)

Thanks.

This is a concern of mine - the fact that many establishments have these dual uses for oil and other cooking materials. I try to mention that I am a vegetarian but still I don't know what's going on in the kitchen.

I don't do KFC/McD so no worries there.

i think every franchise has different halal meat availability requirement since some areas are heavily muslim populated (who want to served halal) and some are not. so you gotta ask em about the meat, about the oil about the frier.

I'm not going to comment on the fastfood halal/haraam debate, but i just want to say one thing:

Some of you are seriously naive.

"i'd rather buy food from a desi fast food place where i know it's halal..."

Really?....I mean REALLY?! How do you know it's halal and WHY do you trust them so readily? Oh i know:
The "786" sign above the entrance door?
The actual word "halal" in Arabic on the shop sign?
Or is it the desi faces working behind the shop counter?

Do you go out of your way to find out where THEIR meat is sourced from? How it's slaughtered? Whether it is certified by the HFA/HMC?

Food for thought.

^good point, with Halal food joints We usually ask our local Masjid and they recommend the local halal places in the area.

this might sound stupid but I was told if another Muslim tells u their food is Halal then its Halal for u. is tht true?

Oh, and lets not just stop at desi food joints, lets go one step back...

New Zealand is the worlds largest exporter of halal slaughtered sheep meat. According to their laws and legislations, animals must be stunned prior to slaughter, therefore sheep are given a head-only electrical stun. A huge percentage of this meat is exported to the Middle East. Oh, and Brazil export a large number of "halal meat" as well...i have no clue about their meat laws and legislations...:)

Hmmm no.

KFC and McDonald's rock.

Point noted.

This is exactly what i say to my paranoid friend who reckons that the halal nandos near us is not actually halal. How can anyone ever be sure that the meat they are eating, even from halal butchers is actually halal?

i wudnt trust NANDOS sum say there halal sum say there not…i personally think there not…wat bout SUBWAY??? we hav 1 open near us and it says on the shop window halal…mmm..:hmmm:

Yaar jinko khaana hota hai unnkey liye the sign “HALAL” is enough and they eat it without questioning aur jinnko meen maikh nikaalney hotay hain woh har cheez mein nikaaltey hain, meree soch yeh hai key jis cheez ko dil maaney woh khaao aur agar koi bhi doubt hai to bilkul mat karo, issi liye i dont eat MCDONALDS and i am not a big fan of fried chicken so i dont eat KFC or POPEYES (since it is officially halal in toronto).

merey hisaab sey to zyaada bahar khaana hee nahi chahiye, but thats me :k:

Apparently all KFC's in UK are becoming halaal. Not sure about McD's. I doubt the chips are cooked in pig fat. KFC is not all that anyway, Infact i find it vile. Just going inside there makes me gag! The only thing i heard was the strawberry milkshake wasnt halaal, Maybe thats why its *so *yummy??

Maroush-: I totally agree with you, I've always said that, Just because its from A desi shop doesnt make it Halaal. However its all about Intentions in Islam you had the right intentions to eat halaal by seeing the sign etc. If it happens not to be halaal, What can you do? This isnt a Muslim country after all. I wouldnt question it, If i see halaal or not, Its only meat people do worst things!!

Even If the meat is "Zabiha", it wouldn't change the fact that the animal has been fed with Haram things before it got slaughtered. Which would pretty much make the meat Haram for us Muslims, yeah?

We all know how the mad cow disease came into life, don't we?

The governments of the countries where most of the cow meat comes from allow the industries to feed their cows with fodder made out of PORK, cow fat, blood, and sometimes even waste of other animals. So yeah, bon appétit.

If you want to eat Halal Zabiha meat, get it from your local Muslim butcher.

wow in a country like UK u guys have problems? that's sad really.. with a muslim population like yours i would think there would be no problems in telling halal from haram.. usually before consuming any halal meat u can ask the restaurant owner where he gets the meat and u can verify from local masjids and people who are in the know. keep in touch with the community guys, there's always a group or person that you can go to...!now if u live in a place where no muslims then that's ur own choice, don't complain.

and eating such garbage(kfc,mcd,bk etc..) WHAT R U SMOKING? R U CRAZY?

^Or zabihah.com - your guide to halal eating

I would trust meat from a desi shop which would have come straight from a local butchers rather than KFC or other “big branded” meat which comes from maybe hundreds of miles away or other countries.

When a Muslim states something is Halal of course you hsould accept it to be but if there is any doubt about it then you should follow it up. When a large brand starts advertising a Halal product then because of their media campaign we begin to accept it. KFC admit to stunning their chickens and quite a lot of scholars say that is wrong.

As for Subway you can read about Subway here:-

SUBWAY - Eat Fresh | Menu | Halal

Subway is certified by the Islamic Foundation Ireland (IFI) and here is what they state on the issue of being Halal

islaminireland.com

They are AGAINST stunning. So if stunning is not allowed in Islam then Subway is Halal and KFC in fact Haram even though it advertises itself as Halal.

It should be borne in mind that electricity is widely used around the world for torturing human beings (in prisons and detention centres), so how can we say with certainty that an animal stunned using electricity feels no pain?
In fact, the Farm Animal Welfare Council (FAWC) in the U.K. in its June 2003 report stated clearly: “IT IS DIFFICULT TO MEASURE PAIN AND DISTRESS DURING THE SLAUGHTER PROCESS IN AN OBJECTIVE SCIENTIFIC MANNER.” (No. 194, Page 34)
So why then religious slaughter is criticised as painful and cruel to animals, when the FAWC itself has got no objective scientific evidence to prove its assumption that the animal in religious slaughter “Feels significant pain and distress”?
The fact is that there is little or no pain in the religious slaughter (Schulze, Horder, Hill, Sir Evans, Burrow, Levinger, Bell, Openshaw, Hayhurst, etc).
Some of the inhumane effects of pre-stunning include:
Many animals die before they are cut (Hillman, Lawton, Glen, Gregory). According to FAWC, one third of chicken die before slaughter. The new method of stunning today is: STUN TO KILL before slaughter, which means the food is less healthy for us, as more blood stays inside the carcass.
Causes blood splash into muscles and more harmful blood stays inside the meat (Gilbert, Blackmore). Retained blood in meat is a major cause of food poisoning & infections. “Captive bolts should be discontinued in view of their detrimental effect on meat quality.” (Marple, 1977.)
Changes in the natural chemical constituents of the meat (Marple, Biala.)
Spread of BSE, especially when the captive bolt pistol is used in cows (European Commission Study, 2002)
Fails in at least 15% of cases, so repeated stunning is necessary, resulting in repeated torture and cruelty.
Causes stress to the animal in at least 7 research studies.
Islam prohibits Muslims from eating any meat coming from an animal that is dead before the religious slaughter can take place, as well as the consumption of any blood in any amount. These two prohibitions may occur during stunning. Muslims are also advised to avoid eating anything doubtful. Furthermore, meat for human consumption should be natural wholesome and undamaged.
As it is Muslims hold the view that stunning is not only unnecessary but is cruel and painful to the animal, and moreover affects the draining of blood from the carcass thereby producing inferior quality meat.
According to animal physiology, the direct religious method of slaying animals for food is painless at the time of death and after the cut, because of the huge haemorrhage induced by cutting the jugular veins in the neck. As the cut is made, blood pressure drops considerably and so the brain is instantaneously deprived of its normal blood supply - this ANAESTHETISES the animal immediately.
For people of faith, especially Muslims, religious prescriptions are far more trustworthy than the declarations of the farm animal welfare groups. There is, after all, far more pressing issues that animal welfare organisations should be concentrating on, wherein the real cruelty to animals lies. For example:

Battery Cage Factory farming (especially chickens.)
Drugging (hormones and antibiotics.)
Fox hunting, bull fighting, dog fighting, cock fighting etc.
Cruel transportation.
Commercial drug testing and experiments on animals.
Torture, blindness, bruises, injuries, daily physiological abuse, torture and discomfort: including castration, maternal deprivation, interference with sexuality and fertility, cloning, tail docking, embryotomy, and hysterectomy.
According to Islam, all these horrific types of animal cruelty are forbidden. The Qur’an and Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) are full of instructions and guidance on the welfare and the rights of animals. These teachings were introduced before animal welfare or rights organisations were established!