Havnt seen this being covered anywhere although have seen people ask!! so once and for all .. all pro ladies and sit at homies … what kind of Kaam do these designers use!!! they always have this unique style which have shown in all their work throughout the years respectively …
Re: Types of Kaam - HSY, Sana Safinaz and Elan
yesss plz i would also like to kno the type of work sana safinaz and elan use on their bridals and is there anyone in lahore that can make good replicas of their work??
this is an excellent thread - I am curious as to what kind of kaam is used as well - specifically for: HSY, Bunto Kazmi/Dr. Haroon and Sana Safinaz.
Any detailed information (ie: type of fabric, kaam) is extremely helpful - just what kaam generally speaking is used by the respective designers might allow some of us to have an easier time when trying to replicate some of their work.
Ladies,
This is a good starting point:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/bazaar-talk/349803-types-of-kaam.html
tells us which type of kaam. Now we gotta identify which designers use which for the majority of their kaprey…or mixtures of which types of kaam…
My friend got her bridals from Mrs. Kazmi and she uses ACTUAL pearls on her bridal! All her kaam was done by hand, it looked like dabka.
heyy guys !!
my designer sort of identified elan and sana safinaz kaam for me ... she said its fine dabka with a french knot - hence more expensive!!! now dig up karigars who can do that :D
hsy is so difficult to identify!! dont know how he gets those fine finished looks with golden thread type embroidery !
this is an excellent thread - I am curious as to what kind of kaam is used as well - specifically for: HSY, Bunto Kazmi/Dr. Haroon and Sana Safinaz. Any detailed information (ie: type of fabric, kaam) is extremely helpful - just what kaam generally speaking is used by the respective designers might allow some of us to have an easier time when trying to replicate some of their work.
designers will be designers hun :) .......... but yes it might be EASIER to create replicas then .. especially for more of the expensive ones .. like bunto and all ..
fabrics are generally chiffon and there are many kinds of chiffons .. pure... kadar ..etc ... even if its jamawaar its normally jamawar silk which is finer than other jamawars .. the more finer and expensive the material the finer a bridal looks!
when i get to pk i am so experimenting making a high-end outfit by myself :D
designers will be designers hun :) .......... but yes it might be EASIER to create replicas then .. especially for more of the expensive ones .. like bunto and all ..
fabrics are generally chiffon and there are many kinds of chiffons .. pure... kadar ..etc ... even if its jamawaar its normally jamawar silk which is finer than other jamawars .. the more finer and expensive the material the finer a bridal looks!
when i get to pk i am so experimenting making a high-end outfit by myself :D
obsession99, you are So right about that :) and that's a great point that the fabric involved matters just as much (or more?) as the kaam put on it. I'm in the process of having my bridal made through my cousin who lives in Karachi - trying to go the less expensive route and see if I can get copies made. On that note, anyone who has had a copy of a bridal made based on a picture, post here or pm me and tell me your story about the process! It'll def help
gosh .. i can totally imagine your concern … i am getting made a bridal long distance and the process was soo hectic that i put together an entire checklist on my blog which are concerns that can be raised with the designer .. local or not local ..
http://obsession99.com/2012/01/15/my-bridal-dress-brainstorming/
see if this helps you ![]()
secondly … whoever you are going for .. do make sure you have other clients of theirs who you can ask for reviews .. i think we have a lot of ladies here on gupshup who can help you out like that …
i have gotten in touch with a lot of designers from all price ranges … and got to knw the good and the bad .. plus i also have a friend in karachi who is doing her own bridal so she has an idea about karachi shops .. feel free to get in touch if you need any advice !!
[EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
Obession99, THANK YOU!
I"m sending you a pm since my posting would have been off topic!![]()
something else off the topic ....
i just emailed dr. haroon for his work and some designs, etc ... he replies with two words
"google dr.haroon"
waat daaa :@ ....... is this normal ladies ? since I had heard he's nice and very cooperative and patient ... ? just curious what happened here .. i replied asking him if he's offended with me asking for his work ? sorry but if ima pay u 5+ lacs id like a lil attentiion ?
u peesed me aawf Dr. H
Thats just stupid. I would want to see his current work as well. And you shld never trust online stuff...what if ppl just label it with his name but it really isn't by him.
ps...nice blog.
Thats just stupid. I would want to see his current work as well. And you shld never trust online stuff...what if ppl just label it with his name but it really isn't by him.
ps...nice blog.
thanks rabia :)
i knww right ? i wanted to see the same thing .. i emailed him on the email provided here on one of his threads from a bride who got one made from him and went to meet him .. might be an assistant ?
anyways .. BAD impression ... -_-
lol that seems like the norm. I sent him a regret email letting him know that unfortunately 3 lakh is out of budget and his repsonse was "beta...extremely sorry"
Also asked him about his own designs and he told me to google it.
Two worded responses are my experience as well. Wonder if he's diff on the phone?
I think he lost his patience with ladies LOL
bridals are a women's world :P
Dr. Haroon is extremely nice.. i met him a few back and he gave me 100% attention. He is def. one of the nicest designers i know (along with Zainab Sajid).
He gets these kind of emails everyday, people asking for samples ect. He'll show you anything you want to see if you go and meet him, these designers know they are famouse, so he knows that googling him should be enough for someone to get an idea, if they are intrested they will contact him and book and appointment.. You should be happy that he replied, not many designers do that! :S
Dr. Haroon is extremely nice.. i met him a few back and he gave me 100% attention. He is def. one of the nicest designers i know (along with Zainab Sajid).
He gets these kind of emails everyday, people asking for samples ect. He'll show you anything you want to see if you go and meet him, these designers know they are famouse, so he knows that googling him should be enough for someone to get an idea, if they are intrested they will contact him and book and appointment.. You should be happy that he replied, not many designers do that! :S
im long distance .. i mentioned .. -_- .. if i cud meet him i wudnt be emailing him .. id call !!
anyways .... sighes!!
^ yeah, its a shame for the overseas brides - understand that he gets a zillion inquiries - must be tough.
Would have loved to work with him if I could fly out to pak
Hey Ladies-
I'm not sure what state you live in. If you are in southern California, the person who is listed on the facebook page for Sana Safina US contact -- also works with Dr. Haroon. In fact she has many of his pieces as well as Bunto pieces, rizwan beyg, Sana Safina bridals (she is main supplier for them in states bridals/pret line/party wear), Karma, HSY, etc. HIS WORK IS MA PERFECTION when you see it in person. (Bunto- I was drooling, had me at hello) .
She will be leaving for Pakistan in 2 weeks. It is not cheap, she does deal with the higher end folks, so keep that in mind. if you know Haroon price range (and he is reasonable vs some of these others), then that is what you can expect from the rest of these designers as well as others.
I have yet to see anything both online, or in person that hasn't had a WOW factor. My friend bought her mehendi outfit from him several years ago (her mom also one to wear at the wedding too). My friend wishes she had bought her wedding from him as well. His work is flawless, intricate and stands out.
We said, bismillah, :) inshallah, it'll be beautiful.. can't wait for everything to get back!
Good Luck Ladies! Inshallah, may all of you have the Marriage of your dreams.
^ Gigabyte do you have any pictures of his work?