Two Pak Hockey players are barred from playing final over the obscene signal row.

These players have accepted their mistake .

FIH ban two Pakistani hockey players from Champions trophy final - Rediff.com Sports

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) suspended two Pakistani players Amjad Ali and Mohammad Tousiq from playing in the Champions Trophy final after they were found guilty of making obscene gestures towards spectators following their semi-final win against India.
Hockey India’s imminent threat of boycotting all FIH events scheduled to be held in India during the next few calender years made the world hockey’s governing body reverse their earlier decision of just letting the players with official reprimand.
According to the release issued by FIH, a third Pakistani player Shafaqt Rasool, got away with official reprimand. All the three players have accepted their guilt.
Amjad and Tousiq were guilty of making obscene gestures with their middle fingers towards a packed gallery, an action that has been photographed and is now documented.
“After the conclusion of the semi-final match between India and Pakistan, Amjad Ali was seen making obscene body gestures that are considered to be obscene, the evidence of which surfaced after the initial statement was issued on 14 December at midnight,” the FIH said in a statement.
"Amjad Ali accepts the breach of the code of conduct. The attitude of the team member at the hearing was good, with Pakistan tendering a written apology to the community of hockey.

Pakistani players celebrate after winning the Champions Trophy semi-final game against India. Photograph: PTI
The seriousness of the offence falls within Level 1 of FIH rules and regulations and according to the Code of Conduct of Level 1 offence one match suspension is imposed on Ali Amjad.
“He is suspended for the next match that Pakistan will play in the relevant tournament,” the statement further read.
The FIH further said that Tousiq committed the same offence and has been handed out the same punishment as Ali.
“Tousiq was seen making gestures that are considered to be obscene (raising the middle finger to spectators on the stands) whose evidence surfaced after the initial statement was issued on 14 December at midnight,” it stated.

Re: Two Pak Hockey players are barred from playing final over the obscene signal row.

Silly boys! 100s of pak teams have won in India including 1982 Asian games final (7 to 1 ) in front of IG. None of the teams behaved like these boys.

Re: Two Pak Hockey players are barred from playing final over the obscene signal row.

Ghair mohazzab aur Ghair iKhlaaqii Harkat par to umr BAN lagaanaa chaahiye thaa. aise naa-ma'qooloN kii khel kood meN koii jagah nahiiN honii chaahiye. unko sharma nahiiN aayii yeh soch kar ke unkii maaN bahnoN [Haqeeqii] ne bhii unko aisaa karte huye dekhaa hogaa...aise log apne hone waale bachchoN ko kaisii tarbiyat deNge...no wonder if his own children will show the middle fingers to him OR even worse he may show it to his mom, dad and sisters. shame on such men and for their obscene gestures.

So much for sportsmanship :smack:

Now please ban the German Players...

Also the Indian players who misbehaved with the Australian team today where they lost to them as well.

yup...sure! but, according to Pak media, India CAN dictate IHF...bhai, hamaaraa bhii koii maqaam hai...baqaul 'allaamah Iqbal:
chaahte sab haiN k hoN auj-e-suraiyaa pe muqeem
pahle vaisaa koii paidaa to kare qalb-e-saleem!** :)

I don't really follow hockey so I am not sure of what is considered normal celebrations. Do hockey players take their shirts off on routine basis like in soccer?
Do they get aggressive like cricket players and do gestures like Kohli? Can we compare celebrations across sports and make judgements?

I think the Indian hockey board was too heavy handed and should have resolved it without going to the international hockey board. Or just forgiven them. I don't get why rivalry between India and Pakistan somehow becomes a war. I know there was a time when great Pakistani players like Imran Khan, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis were cheered by crowds and supported. Not sure when this extra animosity happend. Games happen. People win and lose.

If the sporting organisations find Indian players acting like that they should complain as well. If Australian team finds Indian players guilty they can complain as well. They might not though since they do sledging.

What are Indian hockey celebrations like? I have no idea.

But KKF bhai don’t you think they went overboard with the complaining. As desis we should support Pakistan team in final. If the crowd is being antagonistic one can win them over with good behaviour.
I looked up Indian hockey team’s celebrations after asian game India vs Pakistan final. No one took off their shirt. No one in German team took off their shirts either. But I think the Indian hockey league should have just moved on. Be the bigger person.

Apparently taking shirt off is a bookable offence in football/soccer but not sure about the rules in hockey. Football fans are known to be rowdier. whys removal of shirt a bookable offence?

Exactly. People keep mentioning the cricket world cup record but Pakistanis have better record than India when it comes to champions trophy and hockey matches overall. I don't think India has ever won a game against Pakistan in Champions trophy.
I feel like quality of Indian and Pakistani players responses is getting worse. No one is humble anymore. There's Kohli on our side but no more Tendulkar, Laxmann and Dravid. Then you've got players who are similar. Why can't matches between India and Pakistan be normal? People win and lose in games and i don't know why crowds/media put so much pressure on players.

Indian crowd also abused them so why expect any good gestures from Pakistani players

A crowd of thousands can be hidden because of their number but actions of players on a ground when they have cameras on them cannot. I think the indian hockey organisation is being too sensitive but knowing indian sports organisations i felt they would overreact.
They should reply verbally if crowd says things and complain about it so crowd members can get punished if they do anything obscene. They will then have moral high ground. But why act in same manner. If you know later that taking off shirt and doing gestures will cause issues and be on camera why do it. You don't have to do good gesture but why do a negative one. I know Kohli has used his middle finger so i mentioned him before. I don't know much about Indian hockey players to know if they behave like that.

you can NOT blame the crowd for their indecent and provocative gestures. there is no excuse for such behaviors. period!

We beat the hell out of your team in your home ground now stop whining lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Lulz)

#RoIndiaRo](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=RoIndiaRo)

lolz…agar baRaa dil dikhaate to Shahid Afridi kii baat jhooTii saabit ho jaatii…aur koii hotaa tro chaltaa magar vo to maulana Afridi haiN vo to jhooT bol hii nahiiN sakte! :slight_smile:

Someone is really obsessed with Afridi haha

From where did Lala came into this thread

Afridi was right why indians are whining after the loss because they have small hearts

India- Australia Bhai Bhai :hehe: So they will not complaint. :slight_smile:

They are professionals representing Pakistan with spotlights on them. They should have behaved. Winning against India was enough response to the crowd.

agar kutta aap pe bhonkay tau jawab mein bhonkna bewakoofi hai.

:cobra:

Interesting one from a DAWN blogger.

How to spoil a hockey victory - Blogs - DAWN.COM

[TABLE=“class: media one-whole palm–one-whole”]

Hockey player Shakeep Butt  Ammad gestures to spectators to keep quiet as he and teammates celebrate  their victory over India during their Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014  semi final match in Bhubaneswar. —AFP

All the Pakistan hockey team had to do, was smirk and walk away, letting the scoreboard do the talking for them. Instead, [they sent the world a reminder](http://www.dawn.com/news/1150803/fih-bans-two-pakistani-players-for-misconduct) that the principle of ‘sportsmanship’ isn't a prescription for the losing team alone.

Through the course of this article, my signature snark will be delivered in strictly metered doses; so as to not fan disproportional outrage against the players, nor appease those who laugh it off as a complete non-issue.
Beginning with the fact that the athletes were provoked by unruly groups among the Indian spectators who were catcalling the players, the young athletes whipped off their shirts and responded fittingly. Note, “fittingly” does not make it decent or professional.

In pictures: Pakistan vs India: When the shirts came off

I admit, even I spilled my cup of Earl Grey all over my well-starched shirt, at the sight of that dreadful rudeness. I politely asked my maid, Mrs. Judgington, to turn off the telly until the athletes had composed themselves.
There was nothing politically incorrect about the behavior, as far as I can tell; it was not offensive to black people; it did not belittle the tragedy of 9/11; no one suffered head injury or had a concussion; and it did not propagate a ‘deadly’ culture of crude gesturing that paves way to a grotesquely dystopian future.
It’s important to keep the indignation within reasonable bounds. Coach Sheikh Shahnaz, after all, officially apologised for his team’s behavior, and the International Hockey Federation (FIH) examined the incident, arriving at a conclusion that “no further action is warranted”.
The apology wasn’t enough for Hockey India’s furious chief, Narinder Batra, who threatened to suspend playing ties with Pakistan and boycott all future FIH events, demanding that they punish the Pakistani players for their conduct. Some may argue that only half that rage is attributable to the actual misconduct; the other half displaced after losing the match.
Ultimately, FIH rescued its twisted arm by banning two Pakistani players, Amjad Hussain and Tauseeq Ahmed, for one match each.
Here’s the thing, though. The Indian side may be accused of overreacting to this peccadillo, but the Pakistani hockey team did hand them a perfectly legitimate cause for anger.
Seriously, boys. Even if you were being catcalled by the Indian spectators as you allege, all you had to was flutter away with a victor’s contented grin. If you wanted to make a gesture, you ought to have pointed to the scoreboard, upon which a ready-made “booyah!” flashed on your behalf.
Instead, you’ve rewritten the headlines on many Indian newspapers from a humble, “Pakistan defeats India 4-3” to an outraged “Pakistani players hurl obscene gestures at home crowd”.
Today, we should’ve been celebrating your hockey skills. Instead, we’re managing a diplomatic mayhem because you thought your exuberant victory dance was worth tossing the code of ethical conduct out of the window.
Next time, please just make a V-sign with your fingers. It’s easier for everybody.