To the Sons n Husbands!

Aapki post parh ke hum kuch badal se gaye, sher parhnay lagaye gungunna ne laggay..pehlay mashoor thi apni sanjeedgi ab toh jab dikhiye muskuranay lagaye..

What about just wanting your own place and your own space where you can get to know your partner and vice versa without other people interfering? Especially in those first years of marriage.

My parents never lived in a joint family system neither did my grandparents. So for me it's something that I'm just not accustomed to. Also, a lot of guys live away from their parent's house nowadays due to jobs etc. So more often than not he already has his own place. That doesn't mean he doesn't have respect for his parents though.

Personally, although I can see the advantages of a joint family system it just isn't for me, I'd prefer to have my own home. That being said if I was required to live in a joint family system I'm pretty sure I could get used to it.

We might wont' realize it but financial reasons are reality of our poor Pakistani society . Even our parents were not as well off when they go married and they been through all those tough times . But they still stick together as a team . If they can do it , then why can't us .

But that's my point na, why don't u want yr own place and space when ur living with yr family?!

And like i said in my earlier post, In-laws have to give their bahu that love n space she needs to be comfortable with them. So there is no questioning that she should get that but don't come into the new family, the new home with preconceived ideas that come what may, i just can't adjust with them.

Ya they sticked together as a team cuz of love, care and respect for each other. That's what i had like to believe and not so that they can work less hard but live comfortably.

Completely agree!

Maham, she obviously meant before marriage our life revolves around our parents right? Marriage is growing up, agar marriage kay baad hur cheez pe maa baap ki dictation leni hai wouldn’t you say thats highly immature?

And I already mentioned about care, parents’ have jobs e.g. mine, they don’t need care, most of the time they’re self-sufficient and independent. Also I think maa baap spend all their £££££££ all their life for their children so to let them live in sakoon for a few years with each other without them having to worry about children wouldn’t be bad no? And as I said if they needed help, mine or her parents’ then taking care of them would be common sense.

I disagree and these four posts really sum up my view too :slight_smile:

Each to their own, all the answers are above and in this thread, I have seen it work and I have seen it not work in my family. But I doubt I’d prefer it for Mrs Shak, getting to know her better would be by living alone. And thankfully my parents agree with me so no hassle :slight_smile:

Gina :omg:

Ash cloud is done by the way, aur badalna hai cupcakes penkh do. They have feelings too

Re: To the Sons n Husbands!

Dang.

I definitely agree with that, entering a marriage with those negative preconceptions will get you nowhere.

Every family is different, some people want there sons to have their own place while others prefer that their sons lived with them. Basically, there's nothing wrong with a joint family system and there's nothing wrong with living separately either.

Like I said before: Too many women are against women these days.

And …there is no need to go in to marriage with preconcieved idea that in-laws are evil.

Surprisingly, girls are taught or are given the ideas these days by their moms, girl friends to somehow hate in-laws…another women. :hehe:

And then they blame men for not supporting them if problem comes. :snooty:

Her parents are HER parents. They gave birth to her, gave her life, raised her, educated her, etc. No one can compare themselves to the status one's own parents have...MIL did none of that so please dont ask for the same place as her parents.

WHy does anyone need to have a good reason? WHo does this good reason need to be given to? THe MIL? You?

No, the only advantage to living with inlaws is free babysitting. Thats it.

In the beginning, no one will be interested in joint family system. Thats life and a couple in love.

Hmmmmmmmmmm..........I think this post is about your bhabi if you have one. Or a cousin bhabi if thats the case. She can be the Lady of the House...its her God given right and there is nothing you can do or say about it that will change that. It is as simple as that.

Her parents is just as deserving as your parents of care and concern. You are a female fighting for your parents and she is a female fighting for hers. VO larki kisi ke beti ha...why do inlaws forget that? As for the laws of nature....well I think you're talking about Pakistani nature...not human nature. :)

If you have someone to look after them physically, there should be no reason for any guy to hold back in helping his inlaws.

Apne parents APNE parents hote hein. Ye KHUDA ka banaya huwa rishta hai...insaan ka nahin. Thats it. No one can replace or take the place of your mother or father no matter how nice they are. If I had to choose between donating a lung (Allah na karay) to my mother or angelic MIL...it would be my mother I would choose because she gave me the life I am living today. Not my MIL. My MIL deserves utmost respect and care and concern lekin when it comes down to it, I will of course want to care for my parents before anyone else's. THAT is a law of nature.

Bottom line: she deserves space for herself if her husband can give it to her. She also deserves to care for her parents. She also deserves to have a good relationship with her inlaws because she hasnt done anything wrong by wanting the above things.

Wow! That's it? Free babysitting? And how about being the parents of the man they married or love?

What about just being elders and needing help themselves?

What about if they actually love the woman who married their son?

How about if DIL one day becomes a MIL herself?

How long this nonsense will go on?

And no one expect or should force these women to replace their love and be directed to in-laws only. It is just in the heads of women/girls to be negative about in-laws.

The lung donation is voluantary by the way. No one can force anyone for it and to whom it be given.

I think before you ever go into a joint family you should fix your attitude. My opinion. :)

Absolutely!

Too much negativity does not help anyone.

ALL of my points are IF and ONLY IF inlaws are already being taken care of physically and/or financially by an elder sibling or another sibling.

AND one more thing. There ARE families that DO NOT have sons to take care of them. If a woman gets married, sees that her inlaws are provided for and dont direly need their other son, there is NOTHING wrong with her wanting to support her parents or be there for them ALONG WITH her HUSBAND.

By NO MEANS am I saying its okay for any woman to walk out on her inlaws when they are in need of help and support from their kids. She should be there for them because one day she will need the same from her son and/or daughter.

Lekin saying that she is not entitled to her own living arrangements, freedom, space or even to support her own parents is 100000000% wrong. If I get married and my husband okay’s it I will give all of my earnings to my parents…kaun rokega? They’re also OUR responsibility just like HIS parents are OUR resposibility.

WHY DO OUR PAKISTANI PEOPLE FORGET KE LARKI BHI KISI KI AULAD HOTI HAI? IT TAKES 9 MONTHS TO POP OUT A BABY BOY AND BABY GIRL. COLLEGE TUITION DOESNT CHANGE ACCORDING TO GENDER. I KNOW IT ISNT CHEAPER TO RAISE A GIRL. SO WHY DONT HER PARENTS COUNT ANYMORE AFTER SHE GETS MARRIED? LARKI PARAI HOGAYI HAI IS A HINDU CONCEPT AND WE NEED TO GET IT OUT OF SKULLS. LARKON KE MAAN BAAP DONT DESERVE ANYMORE THAN LARKI KE MAAN BAAP.

Dont make me ghussa :naraz:

Too emotional Reha! :slight_smile:

I agree with all your points in this post.

But What you wrote above that they are good only for free babysitting was not good. Also there is no need to shift love on to MIL only. Your post suggested it.

And I have mentioned that there should not be a reason force anyone to do anything unless his parents are in need.

There are bad in laws and there are bad real parents too.

Yes, I get emotional about this topic because I am one of 4 girls with no brothers. If someone told me apne maan baap ko bhool jao...mein sabse pehle use bhula dungi.

The free baby-stting part was sarcasm and a joke. Most of the time, they can guide you and help you become better people. Yes. Lekin, I dont see any issues with living separately either. If my husband and I live across the street even, it gives me some privacy so we can at least fight sukoon se (as ironic as that might sound). What if I want to cook for just the two of us one day? Husband and wife I believe should live alone for a little while so they can sort out their differences, if any.

As far as bad inlaws and bad parents. Well, if I was living with the bad inlaws...Im sure the husband would say "bardasht karo, vo mere maa baap hein, they raised me, etc." Mein kya asmaan se tapki thi? :)

Sure, there are bad parents too lekin we dont walk away from them do we? If I started a thread on how horrible my MIL is, I would get 50+ responses saying "nahinnnnnnnnnnnnnnn...do sabr" because she is his mother and she is old and etc. So, what about my mama? She isnt old? If she is mean, I should leave her?

No. No one should leave his or parent despite they may not be ideal or good.

There is no compulsion for women to live with MIL ....unless they are not able to live independently.

Just as girls have their obligation to their parents, son has probably more since his sisters leave house too.

What I am for is to accept each other parents as YOURS from day one.
Most of the problems will be solved.

His mother also suffered 9 months just like her mother. And both are women. :)

I do not understand how women including MIL and DIL can be so hateful of each others?

Easier said than done :slight_smile:

There will be lots of respect obviously but accepting the magnitude of thing you’re saying would only come after getting to know them more. Its human nature.

Reha. your caps locks post is edited, batao batao origninal waali may kya type kiya tha :faizy:

Not difficult** if one loves his or her spouse** and nothing bad they have done.

It is the predetermined thought process which is bad.

Don’t you think it would hurt your spouse if you love more your own parents and show it too, than his or her parents?

Why does my respect/love for her parents has to be compared with respect and love to my own parents? :aq:

Er don’t you think it would be a bit selfish of me to expect her to love my parents’ (who she wouldn’t know much about) to her own parents’ who had brought her up?

Its like her asking me to love her brother the same as I do mine or me asking her to love my sister/cousin same as she does her sister. Not happening, there will be respect love no doubt about it. But noone can subsitute my parents’ for anyone and same would go for her. Doesn’t make sense.

Read Reha’s post again mate.

For the counter argument: Is it not considered ‘selfish’ to expect man to love a woman who he just got married more than his relatives. Just to make a point here bro. His relatives had more time spent with him than her right?

I don’t think anyone should be considered selfish here since loving and respecting someone is not a bad thing and no one is asked to jump over the bridge for that.

This mindset is the root cause of all the MIL/DIL or any in-laws problems in families.

I did read Reha’s post.

Come on why use the word selfish… just to repeat my point here. :slight_smile: