Re: To the Doctor's Wife...just wondering
a doctor's life isn't all that relaxed and straightforward. Especially, financially: by the time you earn enough to fulfill all your desires, you're so old that you don't have any desires left... sigh
Re: To the Doctor’s Wife…just wondering
^ could it be that even in the field of medicine, there are “classes” of doctors?
What I mean is - some doctors are simply smart and genuine. Could it be that the “c” and “d” grade doctors be struggling?
I mean I see one of my doctor and I totally envy his lifestyle! His office is upscale, just makes me wonder how his home would be.
Sure he is now in his 50s… but just makes me wonder if the “struggling” doctors are the ones rating “low” in grades?
At one point in my life - like when I was about 10 to 15 I use to think ALL doctors were just at the same “wavelenght” in smartness.
It’s only when I attended Organic Chem class - did I realize that I could be one of the worst dr’s…
and thus making me a not so smart Dr. SO I am positive that there are students who “just pass” too and become doctors. ![]()
Could this lot be the “struggling” ones?
^ uhhhhh and a full stop.
I don’t think there is a correlation between struggling doctors and grades. If anything, it will probably be the other way around.
And as your example shows, the doctor was around 50. You’ll never see a doctor in his 30s who will be happy about his financial situation
In any case, a doctor starts to make good money only after his 35th brithday. And really good money after his 40th. By comparison, someone who majored in a business/commercial field has much brighter chances of making good money around his 27th and really good money around his 32nd
^I think it varies. My cousin just got done with his fellowship, got an amazing job at yale and is making close to 250k, all his loans (about 150,000) are paid off by the hospital along with the hundreds of other perks he has. And he's only 28, mashallah :)
I think loans are a major part of the financial struggle, almost every doctor is stuck paying atleast 100,000 unless you can strike a deal with your practice/hospital and have them pay it off for you, which most of them do. I have seen quite a few doctors in their late 20s, done with everything and living a pretty lavish life. My husband's uncle recently hired a doctor at his hospital, a guy from JHU, around 27-28 but really smart, and since he knew they wanted to hire him really bad, he was literally dictating everything and got a stellar benefit package.
Unless of course you're training 7 years in residency to be a surgeon, you will start off by making a hell lot of money but chances are, you will be in your mid-late 30s.
I tell my parents/in-laws I'm a CPA. they can pass this information on to anyone/everyone. It's not like they'll be donig a background check on me na ;)
haha.. one of my friends is a doctor but everytime he's introduced to someone by his parents, he says, oh im just a male nurse.. i lied to my parents to make them happy.
^I think it varies. My cousin just got done with his fellowship, got an amazing job at yale and is making close to 250k, all his loans (about 150,000) are paid off by the hospital along with the hundreds of other perks he has. And he's only 28, mashallah :)
I think loans are a major part of the financial struggle, almost every doctor is stuck paying atleast 100,000 unless you can strike a deal with your practice/hospital and have them pay it off for you, which most of them do. I have seen quite a few doctors in their late 20s, done with everything and living a pretty lavish life. My husband's uncle recently hired a doctor at his hospital, a guy from JHU, around 27-28 but really smart, and since he knew they wanted to hire him really bad, he was literally dictating everything and got a stellar benefit package.
Unless of course you're training 7 years in residency to be a surgeon, you will start off by making a hell lot of money but chances are, you will be in your mid-late 30s.
I think here's where the difference sets in. If you finish med school and go straight into clinical practice you can have a good salary by your 30th. E.g. in Holland you finish med school on your 24th and residency takes typically 3-6 years.
However (and this is where the difference regarding the bright students sets in), if you first do research in order to obtain a PhD -like I did- you can add 4 years to this time schedule. In that way you will start earning only at your 34th.
Moreover, the medical structure here in Holland is such that at your 34th (or 30th) you have to buy yourself into a practice. Paying off the loan for that takes an additional 2-3 years...
and only after that you start earning 200-300k euros
Can we discuss job situations in pakistan for doctors too? :halo: 10000rs per month after graduation for housejob,and most of them dont get a paid rotation..15000rs per month for a resident for 4 years, 25000rs per month for a senior registerar who is a specialist actually after finishing his residency and postgrad exams..and all of them donot get a paid seat for residency due to saturation.i know many collegues who have done 4 year training on an ‘honorary’ basis..no chances of promotion either. My husband passed his postgrad exam back in 2005,he’s done with his 3 year requirement of being a senior registerar and doesn’t even dream of being promoted in next 10 years since there are a lot of them in the waiting list already. The service structure is really bad.
^so it also depends where a doctor is working !
I think here's where the difference sets in. If you finish med school and go straight into clinical practice you can have a good salary by your 30th. E.g. in Holland you finish med school on your 24th and residency takes typically 3-6 years.
However (and this is where the difference regarding the bright students sets in), if you first do research in order to obtain a PhD -like I did- you can add 4 years to this time schedule. In that way you will start earning only at your 34th.
Moreover, the medical structure here in Holland is such that at your 34th (or 30th) you have to buy yourself into a practice. Paying off the loan for that takes an additional 2-3 years...
and only after that you start earning 200-300k euros
wow, that sounds pretty tough. are you from holland? (im asking because i know you were in states recently).
well here you have to do 3-4 years of residency after medical school, you can't get out of that. then if you want to do specialization, you need to do your fellowship for another 2- whatever number of years depending on your choice.
there are some who don't go straight into med school after their bachelors, they get a masters or do research or something. some of them do it to take a break, some do it because they cannot get into med school. so by then, you're 24-25 as it is.
then there are the accelerated programs which let you get your bachelors and medical degree in 6-7 years without taking a break. i did that (but changed majors after a couple of years), and so did my husband, and quite a few of his friends. their age at their grad time is 24-25. do 4 more years of residency and you're done.. unless of course you're really ambitious and want to go for some hot shot specialty.
with surgeons, 7 years of residency is a killer. they make barely anything until they are in their mid 30's, however, after they are done, their payscale is up there for sure.
Fellowship by age 28?
He must have been a baby doc. AND skipped some grades in high school.
^Yep, skipped a grade- he's really smart and very hardworking. He started the 6 year bs/md program when he was 16 after graduating high school, he even took additional HS courses during night at community college so he could graduate earlier. 3 years of residency and 3 years of his fellowship. Noone was surprised that he ended up at Yale for his fellowship and permanent job, mA.
Two of my husband's best friends are 21 and 22, super smart and in their fourth year of med school. But that's only because they are genius and did the 6 year program and will finish everything way before.
I know this debate is about doctors/doctors wives but like some people have mentioned there are other demanding careers which have a similar impact.
I come from a family of lawyers, and I have to say it is a lot of hard work and many people suffer. The hours are exhausting and unpredictable. My aunty has two young children but she has a very high profile and demanding job. A job which takes her abroad at the top of a hat and if a client needs her at a specific time she has to be there. The pay is good but it outweighs the time she is missing out on her childrens growing up and even spending time with other family. I know she wishes it was different at times but even if she reduced her hours, the profession is such that she will be still doing the same amount of work on a lower salary.
My dad was an academic/lecturer and I don't remember spending much time with him for the first 16 years of my life. He worked in a different city and was up at 6, out of the house at 7 and home by 8pm, by which time I was doing homework and getting ready for bed. This may sound bad but it felt as if he was some aunthoritarian figure who I should be scared of and not a father. We had everything we could wish for alahmdulilah but he was never there for Sports Days, Parents Evenings etc. I don't blame him. He was the sole breadwinner and since he had to retire he has had much more involvement in mine and my siblings lives; something which would never have happened had he not given up work.
I think most professions these days are demanding. There are few 9-5 jobs and whereas before your work could be left at home there is much more work to do hence why it ends up coming home with you.
I am a law graduate but pursuing a career in law may pay well but when it comes to having a home life, one thing has to give. Which has made me contemplate a career change.
Great post pakifairy! Your husband's career sound so impressive! What cable tv show did he write for?? I would love to know!!
Thanks augustsunshine :)
He wrote for Aliens in America and now is writing for Modern Family. Premieres September 23rd on abc! its awesome!
Again moving the topic away from a doc's wife's life...my husband is a drilling supervisor. his work is on site which can be practically anywhere around canada. So he stays away from home for as min as 20 days to max of 3 months continuously. now due to recession work got quite slow but still catching up. atleast a doc's wife sees her husband everyday ,me n my kids don't see him that often. money wise its gr8 Alhumdullilah humain kisi cheez k liay tarasna nahin parta but lonliness wise it sucks. n responsibility wise i often feel like a single mom. gher k kaam, baher k kaam, bachchon k schedules work has no end. when he gets back i become extremely possesive ...lol
he now wishes to expose himself internationally. so many of his co-workers r going abroad on projects So far he hasn't got that opportunity but if he gets it then we won't be even in the same country.
omg 20 days to 3 monthss.... r too much ...
kisi cheez k liay tarasna nahin parta but lonliness wise it sucks
MashALlah
n responsibility wise i often feel like a single mom. gher k kaam, baher k kaam, bachchon k schedules work has no end.
acha hai na kids will b more close to u ....:p
nope they r still more close to him. "dore k dhole suhanay" ;)
Oooh … app mommies loog bacho koo bhoot dratai hoo na .. i knw or marah b tora kam karai …then U will b the center of attraction for themmm …![]()
So males married to female docs have it way better than females married to male docs...
So why is it so much easier for a male doc to find a wife, than a female doc to find a husband?
And once again, desi culture makes sense. sarcasm
I think what PCG is saying is not that people reject girls for being docs, but rather, often times girls that are docs can't find a guy that matches up to their education level that is willing to marry them. I think most female docs want to marry male docs*, but a lot of male docs want a beautiful wife with an easy career(if any) so their life is easier. In addition, for male docs, since they are thought of so highly in our community, they are able to find someone as soon as they're done w/ their education, while a female doc at that age would be considered older, and so she would be searching for a male doc older than herself, which since they are in such high demand, are already married. Also, unfortunately, med school is hard and can take a physical toll on the student, and since girls are judged more harshly for their appearance, this can be a negative aspect.
in desi culture, for girls, lots of beauty + some brain > lots of brain + some beauty
*I know 5 desi girls in the med/dental field, 4 of them only want to marry a doc.