often a times, a 9-5 to job really isnt a 9-5 job either.
I cant compare my life to a doctor and his/her wife/hubby… but i can certainly say that even with my boring 9-5 job, its more of a 6-7 job…
i think having any type of career and trying to manage a family, can be hard. Especialy when u have two people working. I know for us, every now and then, we are exhausted from all the running around we do..
in your case dildirani, ur dad was the soul breadwinner.. so i can understand his point of view as well. My dads a lecturer too, but his work has always been within the state, and he was always able to take time out when we needed him. It was a government job back then, and here governement jobs are known for people who have families. Mum however, was always out before we got up… but back by 5ish…
Thankfully, ive never had to deal with parents not being around, even though they both worked… and i wish to provide the same for my bache laug, Inshallah.
Thanks augustsunshine :)
He wrote for Aliens in America and now is writing for Modern Family. Premieres September 23rd on abc! its awesome!
Good stuff! I'll definitely catch it! It's so nice to see Muslims be daring and take the path less trodden instead of the usual doctor, engineer! Little do people realize that we need more Muslims in the media to actually help our people.
Oh and NJ Masti, doctors are definitely not at the top of the pyramid when it comes to high salaries. Desi people often mistake doctors as earning a LOT. Of course they are well-paid but if you really want to see wives living a luxurious life with plenty of help from maids, look at the successful business men, directors of investment banks, big financial gurus and partners at law firms. They all work really really hard as well and easily bring in around 500K to 1 million every year! Doctors are just considered a glamorized profession in the desi world but I have been seeing a trend amongst desis especially in metropolitan cities like NYC and chicago to go for more lucrative careers that don't involve such long years in training. Guys these days are less likely to go for it coz of the long years involved and the late return in investment. That's why these days business schools and law schools are more male dominated and med schools usually have a female majority.
So many more professions that have long work hours and that are extremely demanding.. my entire family is in the Aviation industry.. during Hajj operations and flights I wouldn't see my father for days. It's still the same now.. I hardly get to see him or my brother (also in the same industry).
he now wishes to expose himself internationally. so many of his co-workers r going abroad on projects So far he hasn't got that opportunity but if he gets it then we won't be even in the same country.
Mehnaz these oil n gas ppl work outside city limits in deserted areas mostly. So no matter where u live they still stay away from home evn in Pak its same. So moving with him to another country will be packing every thing here, adjusting to a new country, disturbing kid's edu everything n still living alone at home. unless he works in an office or goes to middle east where we both hav family there's no point moving with him to China or Libya etc. but since theres no such thing right now i'm not really worried abt it at present.
And yes you do get a more comfortable life than some, but that isn't all there is to life. If money ends up being the focus of the couple or the family you are losing the most significant focus, being a family.
Any person who is hard working, will find themselves working long hours. I have a family of engineers, accountants and doctors and all the wives have the same complaints..our hubbies are never home!
Its not what the husband does that should matter. It should be what the persons personality is like. An average salary guy could potentially keep you happier than a rich one can. He has more time to give you and where he lacks in money, he may make up in gifting you with lots of love.
The only thing that being a doctors wife seems to have, in the eyes of parents anyway, is prestige. Parents want to be able to say..."Hamara damaad doctor hai!"
I hope you find a wonderful loving, caring guy...doctor or not!!
very true...i totally agree...as i hav also seen 1 of my cousin's hubby spending more time @ work instead of giving attention to wife n her family..
well dis is nt d case with every1.. BUT yes the bottom line is
LOVE ,Sacrifice,RRESPECT AND patience MATTERS ..IT'S NOT d MONEY dat makes SUCCESFUL MARRIED LIFE..
n being a doctor i totally assume dat BEING A DOCTOR gives u prestige n honour...but it is not the thing u can live satisfatorily with..
Good stuff! I'll definitely catch it! It's so nice to see Muslims be daring and take the path less trodden instead of the usual doctor, engineer! Little do people realize that we need more Muslims in the media to actually help our people.
Oh and NJ Masti, doctors are definitely not at the top of the pyramid when it comes to high salaries. Desi people often mistake doctors as earning a LOT. Of course they are well-paid but if you really want to see wives living a luxurious life with plenty of help from maids, look at the successful business men, directors of investment banks, big financial gurus and partners at law firms. They all work really really hard as well and easily bring in around 500K to 1 million every year! Doctors are just considered a glamorized profession in the desi world but I have been seeing a trend amongst desis especially in metropolitan cities like NYC and chicago to go for more lucrative careers that don't involve such long years in training. Guys these days are less likely to go for it coz of the long years involved and the late return in investment. That's why these days business schools and law schools are more male dominated and med schools usually have a female majority.
thanks! yeah im excited the pilot for it is awesome :)
I think this thread is a bit off topic now. I suppose the thread starter was just wondering what kinda lavish life do doc's wives live ( or any high earning profession). I think people are comparing professions in this thread now, and some even criticizing others.
Every profession is demanding in its own way. Of course some professions pay more than others, so the lavish life is bound to happen.
chanda- omg i saw the pilot a few days ago my husband bought it home I LOVE IT! im sure you will too im getting excited as well :) thanks so much for the support you're awesome.
My parents always told me the attraction with doctors was job security rather than just the amount of money they earn. Like has already been pointed out there are other much more well paid jobs such as a stockbroker or property developer that can make wayyyyy more but of course it's so much more risky. Unless ur a complete moron as a doctor ur practically guaranteed work (on the NHS at least) all thru ur working life as well as a decent pension.
Well,
I am 26, engineer, and earn at least ten times a doctor does.
greets
faisal
Is luck by your side? :) Or is it the profession? :)
It's really great to have a secured well paying job at an early age! Glad to know that you can be considered "well settled" at an early age. Usually we are all struggling at 26 since we have about 2 or 3 years of work experience after college.