To set the record straight: the wife must obey her husband

Re: To set the record straight: the wife must obey her husband

and for the record, you should be very careful in giving out your own "fatwas" by just looking at the translation of theQur'an.

'audhubillah, did you know that it can be an act of kufr misinterpreting any part of the Qur'an? whether it be intentional or unintentional. It is not your job or my job to look at the translation ofONE ayah and derive a fatwa from it. Especially if you are non arabic speaking.

I'm sure you know that the arabic language is SO vast and there is NEVER an english equivalent to an arabic word. so deriving a statement based on YOUR knowledge of just what the english says is absolutely ridiculous. I'm saying this for your own benefit, go study ulum-ul-qur'an PLEASE before you look too much into things. This is the problem with so many internet scholars. they think they just refer anything to Shaykh Google or Shaykh Youtube and they become a shaykh internet scholar themselves. so sad. SO sad. People don't understand how insanely wrong this is.

And you know what, it needs only a LITTLE care, love and consideration on your part to win your wife all over and she will literally treat you as a master and serve you. We have this in our knowledge that if sajda was allowed to someone after Allah i would have to be our husbands and thats why you are called our Majazi Khuda BUT you have to prove it to deserve it too. Fair and square?

I don't know what you're talking about. I have maintained from the begining and still do that wife must obey her husband as per Islam. Now you can't force her to. But that would mean that she is derelict in her duties and not fullfining this important part of her faith even though she might be a hijaban (:D).

With power comes great responsibility. If YOU believe Allah swt gives you a certain amount of power, then you need to learn how to respect it so people respect you. You cant fight or change human nature...a woman might end up fearing you if you force yourself on her but she wont respect or love you. She wont care for you, she will simply do her job and punch out at the end of the day. The more you push people, the more they push you away. If thats the kind of life you want, go for it.

Most of us like to view marriage as a partnership where there is give and take from both sides. You want your wife to "obey" you...most women these days have enough free will where they can obey or disobey...you couldnt do anything about it. You could parade around with this Ayat on a poster board but where will that get you? Nowhere.

With power comes great responsibility. You want respect, you better give it.

The thing is, the wife can put you in your place as well. "Go get me a Louis Vuitton and we shall talk about obedience and until then I better not hear a peep out of you" or "make your own damn food until you learn how to address me with respect" or "hire me a maid and then we can discuss what I will do for you" or "I dont like the color of your mother's outfit today...I want another house of my own NOW and until I get one dont touch me since you're not fulfilling your Islamic duty towards me" or "oh you want obedience? hire a nanny because your kids are too bratty and I dont care if you cant afford one since its your Islamic duty" or "rob a bank if you have to but I think I want a salary now to take care of your brats because that is your Islamic duty and I can milk it since I just felt like it this morning"

Dont go there buddy...your place is to make sure there is enough for wifey to live in whatever way she wants. If you abuse Islam then be prepared to be abused as well. Marry an educated woman and she wont stand for any of this nonsense.

Then what will you do? How many times will you get married? How many women will you go through until you're too old to be wanted by one?

Calm down. I'm just quoting the quran - if you have to be upset at anything be upset at that ayat. Dont shoot the messenger here.

You are just regurgitating what I have already said. As for the ayat, yeh women are free to not obey it. But then they are also disobeying Allah as well. Which may or may not bother some people.

The thing is, the wife can put you in your place as well. "Go get me a Louis Vuitton and we shall talk about obedience and until then I better not hear a peep out of you" or "make your own damn food until you learn how to address me with respect" or "hire me a maid and then we can discuss what I will do for you" or "I dont like the color of your mother's outfit today...I want another house of my own NOW and until I get one dont touch me since you're not fulfilling your Islamic duty towards me" or "oh you want obedience? hire a nanny because your kids are too bratty and I dont care if you cant afford one since its your Islamic duty" or "rob a bank if you have to but I think I want a salary now to take care of your brats because that is your Islamic duty and I can milk it since I just felt like it this morning"

Dont go there buddy...your place is to make sure there is enough for wifey to live in whatever way she wants. If you abuse Islam then be prepared to be abused as well. Marry an educated woman and she wont stand for any of this nonsense.

Then what will you do? How many times will you get married? How many women will you go through until you're too old to be wanted by one?
LOL, nice. LLouis Vuitten bags, lavish houses? you're making a wife sound more like a hooker.

You make a husband sound like a pimp buddy...whats the difference?

way to ignore my second post

All I am saying is if you walk into a relationship with expectations of obedience...you will not get it.

If you respect and love her, she will naturally want to do everything to make you happy which is what you want.

You dont want obedience.

now 5 pages over a simple matter of translation…:nahi:

i know. making it funny.

acha ab jao aur chai laiker aao. :chai:

The word "bima" is translated as "because" or "since" but it can also mean "with what"

The two places that we read in English as "obedience" are actually two different words in Arabic "Qanitat" and "Ata'nakum"

Qanitat - takes the meaning Obedient to the Will of God, it can mean to stand for a long time and honouring. When applied to humans it should take the recessive meaning since obedience is to Allah (SWT) and by honouring the husband Allah (SWT) is being obeyed.

In fact a better understanding can come from the reflex condition stated in the same ayat (it is often the way of the Qur'an to explain or contextualise itself often in the same or next ayat) - here we are asked "but if the women inspire fear of disloyalty and ill-conduct" - so we clear that the word for obedience must be to Allah (SWT) and it is meant as honouring to their men, for the ayat does not say that we fear disobedience in them, but fear the opposite of honour from them which is dishonour - i.e. ill-conduct and disloyalty.

The second time the word "obey" comes is as the term "Ata'nakum' which means to concede admit fault and return to honouring you. This word is mistranslated in many mushafs .... Check it yourself the root word is T' 'A NA.

The essence of this ayat is that men are carers for their wives and in return for that care receive honour, for those men who fear that their wives are dishonouring them then they have to follow a set procedure to rectify that situation. It is obedience to Allah for a man to care for his wife with what is within his means and a wife should respect and honour him in that situation.

you're still at work. nice

I love how the troll ignored inspiron’s post about his mind being in the gutter:hoonh:

what does dishonouring here mean??

i think, extra marital affairs...

This was a very deliberately provoked thread.....

Thank you. You have just set the record straight.

oh my…oh my..OMG OMG OMG OMG…:eek: :eek: :eek: