To be, or not to be, that is the question

Mostly People engage themselves doing different chores with a single ambition in mind and that is .. to outshine others by the work they do ….

They want to Come, knit hands, and beat the ground ,in a light fantastic round … And getting an authority on the route of achieving their emulation is something directly proportional to this very fine itch …

Same as it may goes for other Business organizations … People do join Gupshup / other online forums or communities with that hidden desire .. I call ‘appetite for becoming a moderator’

Some play fair while others do yokes to the nth degree ……. It an long discussion .. so we will leave it here

Lets say here is a chance for you to impress the Twelve good men … A thing of beauty is a joy for ever

What all you have to do is ……….

Tell us five good reasons.. Why you should become a moderator of an online forum … on the same hand if you think you aint an appropriate candidate for the job. Let us know why you think so ….

For myself .. I opt no to be a Moderator of any online forum .. and I have my reason … Later , I will sharing with you fellas …. But right now I m interested to listen you ……

Let it be a hairy eyeball or full blow .. am all eyes to read it ….

P.s: Current moderators can also participate by telling us why do they think that they are fit for the job …

C’mon kiss me hardy .. don’t keep your powder dry ….

Re: To be, or not to be, that is the question

i will say, please B focused, hardworking & ethical.

I want to know the reason why you should /shouldn’t be the moderator of an online forum ..

What is there , which appeals you ….. if there is something which might stops you for going for the job …

You not keeping a stiff upper lip here …. Speak your mind ma mate …..

you should be when you are credible enough to make sound mod decision and are elected fairly. & you should not be when you are dealt with unfairly or you yourself are unfair.

best,
Dushwari

I am not fit for a moderators job. I dont have the time to do justice to what I think a moderator should be, when i was a mod I helped build two dead forums, because I had the time and the energy, I think some of my best work is from that era, if you look up old culture and general threads you may see.

If i was picking mods today and I saw my own request to be a mod, i would say no.

so truly candid, Fraudia bhai. :>

Dush push … Not You should … Not such a namby pamby reply :pcg:

As you are one of the senior members here … You are indeed .. a strong contender for many forums where ya heavily contribute …

So why should/shant we make you a moderate ….

Am looking for atleast five solid reasons …. :asa:

Better

Aliyish

yaar kidhar phaNsaa rahai ho :hehe: good thing for a mod is that he should not really ask to be a moderator but is ‘picked’…

Having said that, let me write a short true story (I might miss the fine details but story will be intact Insha Allah), I think documented in Kashf-ul-Mahjoob (I may be wrong about the source/reference but I did read it in different books) … If you believe in Sufism, you might have heard it.

**Khwaja Hasan Basri :rahm: **and Rabia Basri:rahm: have been two sufi saints from the same time period.

One day, Rabia Basri:rahm: was walking down the river-side (I think it was Euphrates) when she saw Hasan Basri:rahm: offering salah right on top of river with his praying rug smoothly calm. When he finished the prayer, Rabia Basri:rahm: spreaded her prayer rug in the air and offered the salah.

When finished, she turned towards Hasan Basri:rahm: and said, meaning of which is:

"Hasan! You prayed on the water of river, in which fish also swim and I prayed in the air where even a house-fly flies and roam around. The powers that we are given are subjective. For me, even a smallest of the creatures with no value, a fly can do the same what I did…

Hasan! we are supposed to call people towards enjoining good and towards the guided path. We are from them. If we show something that they can not do, they will go away from us. They would not listen to us. We are given these powers to serve people, not to show it off and make them feel inferior. Remember! this power belongs to Allah and He can provide this to anyone He wishes. It’s nothing for us to be proud of it. Responsibilities that come with this power are far greater and more sensitive."

I think I have explained my point for you Aliyish bhai :slight_smile: Did I?

mh, solid reasons, Alyish.

areye kabhe solid ka dictionary meye meaning perhah heye?
i dont want to moderate.

what people cant moderate their own, themselves, han?

Okay … so lack of time on your hands is one of your five reasons … what about other four ?

Well said Anu bhai .. Ya indeed … very well explained your point of view ….

Specially those Bold quoted words .. I wish GS moderators and on a large scale our Pakistani leaders take oath on them …

You reply leads us toward a very sensitive issue ‘ The dismal miss use of given powers and responsibilities ;

Which is very evident on every layer of our society . Let be it be a politician or a teacher … we all are doing it and we feel proud playing with them … we use them as our God Given rights…. And we feel envy towards others if they achieve the same thing by the virtue of God…

What we should be exactly doing to overcome such ' To feel envy towards' sentiments?

1) lack of time
2) lack of patience with idiots (oh btw ppl- I know exactly what you kids are up to..grow up)
3) dont have time/energy/patience to deal with complaints which suck up my personal time
4) erratic schedule which means my presence is off and on
5) I personally dont find being a mod exciting, i guess burhapa

btw, the time that I was niether a mod, nor active in GS from some sort of tactical daily admin work was the best for me.

Pir sahab was a happy go lucky chilled out person. sadly I had to step in to help and things have justy not been the same for me since then.

In my case . I will opt not to be a moderator of any online forum …. And my reasons are blow

Lets go for first one … I will be doing them in instalments :devil:

Been there , done it ….

we had our own forum , which was small though but it was just a family forum … few old mates ……..

Experience… it wasn’t good as I ended up losing many friends because I don’t compromise on my values and principles …

In a case where a friend hopes that you will be taking his/her side , I go for the things I feel right … And some how yr mates they don’t acknowledge it ….

And you know the result .. don’t ya ?

Muarfat ky jis darjy ty tusi hu Modrating ty buhat pichy reh jandi ay:D

that is the biggest issue, you are always in the danger fo upsetting friends because your good enough may not meet their expectations. You may get upset at being pressured and be upset at a mod role and friendhsip being mixed, and your pal may get upset that you are trying to keep the two things seperate and are not being a pal.

sucks ya know.

ji salees urdu please

Inna Lilahy wa inna ilahy rajyoon

she meant admins do not need to be a mod :smiley:

I know she is very moonh pha’T :halo:

i am not an admin :halo:

Is bat per tu munh phaat sir phat ho gai:sadaf: