I can forgive, but I don’t forget. Once someone breaks your trust, it’s really hard to trust them again. With family, it’s different. We say things we don’t mean. But with everyone else, you can only give people another chance so many times. =)
Yes, I agree with you wholeheartedly that we shouldn’t dwell on negativity. Constructive criticism can be good, but if someone is just trying to bring you down, it’s up to you how seriously you take that person’s opinion.
and yes the best thing someone said to me was that when god wants to take you to a high level he throws you down like a ball so that you can gain the maximum height
back in high school, i asked for letter of recommendation from mathematic teacher and told her I will be applying to premed schools and interested in medicine/healthcare. She told me I cannot get into medical school etc. and none would ever take me and then gave me this weird look lol … jeebus .. talk about being supportive to your student
This reminds me, once I had to go to a walk-in clinic. I was still in high school. The doc examining me asked me what I wanted to do. I told him I was looking to get into med school. He basically then told me not to do it, as it’s not a good career for a female, and I should look into something else. This is a white doctor btw. At this point I had really made up my mind to get into medicine. Anyways, x amount of years later, IN YO FACE DOC!!
My father just said I need to do my masters or else I’ll be stuck in front of the stove forever. Jeez way to be supportive dad. I have a small infant to take care do right now and my husband and I agree we don’t want her to be in a day care etc all day right now. Sometimes desi parents freak out too much and try to control your lives even after you are married.
He has also said my future will be very dark.
I feel like you get more hurt when you hear your loved ones making such comments.
During the first month of my Internship, Registrar of the unit told me, you will not be able to finish post grad, you will drop out. I finish my post grad a year after he did, I really wanted to beat him to it, but it was not meant to be. I still sent him a message on FB.
One of my aunts is really pretty mA and I look somewhat like her. During summer vacations a couple years back, we were visitingmy aunt and someone came by to see her. Aunt want around but this person said to me that I am a carbon copy of my aunt’s younger version. I got very happy cuz I took that as a major compliment.
Later when we were alone, my mom told my aunt what the visitor had said. My aunt goes, oh you shouldve told her dur fitteh muh meri aunt tu itni pyaari hain. And then she laughed out loud at her joke.
Mom and I didn’t find that funny. In fact, it hurt a lot. I am not sure if she said that cuz she doesn’t get along with my mom very well or if she actually took offense that I was being compared to her.
Anyhow when we came back, mom told her that I was upset my her comment. She talked to me and said ok next time you can tell people that you are much prettier than your aunt.
I was mad at my mom for telling her how I felt.
Ok there are lots of disgusting things which have been said to me regarding my personality.. ive always been fat and had to put up with so many wierd comments about my weight (not anymore cause ive lost 35 kgs and ive got myself in the best shape of my life) anyway so the most disgusting thing which has ever been said to me is by my cousin, Once my family was having a discussion about my marriage and my cousin said " iss say kon karay ga shaadi kabhi kisi ko dekha hai itni overweight larki se shaadi kartay hue this is almost impossible for her to find a guy" yes!! He actually said that!
That disgusted me.. I was hurt there was nothing new in it, I had had experienced such behaviours but nobody said something so openly like he did.