The longest post ever seen on GS-

Hi guys, i dont know if this post even has a point but im so sad right now and i have a huge headache from being upset…just wanted to share my feelings.

HOW WE MET/HOW IT PROGRESSED (you can skip this and go down to the ‘Problem’, these are just extra details)

ok i started college in 2002. i used to have a big group of desi friends. among these, was a guy ‘Q’. he was a quiet sort so i didn’t really talk to him that much. but we had a common friend (zareen) who was always having problems. so q and i always ended up discussing how to cover for her. for example, one time she took a trip to another city, and her parents decided to visit our college that very weekend. they kept on calling both of us..and we were stuck between their concern and our loyalty to her.

ANyway, zareen moved away, but we got together i guess…like he admitted how he felt, etc. I told him i can’t date and stuff, so to show he was serious he talked to his parents and even my mom. he said he couldn’t get married right then but he wanted to assure them of his commitment. i was really embarrassed but it was a nice gesture i guess.

ok…time went by…he moved to another city…but we kept in touch. not daily phone calls, but just once in a while, like “hey how’s it going”. when he visited dubai, he brought baklava for my dad…when his parents came to my city, they dropped by for dinner. his sister also visited my work. so obviously both parents knew everything. my parents had a reservation that they are indian and so far away, but when they saw how sincere he was, they were placated.

in 2007, he moved from US to dubai. at that time we weren’t talking much (i had told him that i don’t want to keep you on hold, so im okay if you find someone else) but still, out of politeness he called my mom to say salaam. my mom said that we had recently had a car accident. he told us he had just had a buyer come and see his car, and that buyer was gone to get the deposit. Q told my mom that she could have the car (he also gave the buyer $100 for his inconvenience).

So right now, it’s 2009. he’s been gone abroad for 2 years. and my dad drives his car. i really appreciate Q a lot more since his absence. in august 2008, his dad called my dad and said that he knows that Q and I have been friends for a long time, and his son feels that it’s time to take this friendship to its ‘natural conclusion’ and that he agrees with Q, but we would like to have your support in achieving this…etc..

So my dad said that I am not really settled with my life, and he wanted me to be employable and have some skills before I got married. Also this would give Q some time to get established in Dubai.

In 2008, my mom visited Pakistan and had a layover in Dubai. He was so nice, instead of letting my mom sit in the airport overnight, he picked her up, let her rest in his room, and also his mom cooked a persian dinner. they were very hospitable.

Now it’s June 2009. I didn’t increase my ‘employability’ or ‘skill level’ at all this year, because I was not able to secure a job. I am trying again for teaching positions. I also applied to med school in Dubai. I figured I could start med school in Aug 2009, and if things worked out inshAllah, I could get married by my second year of med school. ANd in the worst case scenario (not getting married), i would still be pursuing something i liked. i shared all this with my parents.

THE PROBLEM

last week, Q called my mom and they discussed everything in detail re: marriage…my mom had a lot of questions but he answered them all. my mom was concerned about my education and he promised my mom he would support me in it.

mom also said i would prefer to talk to parents so he said he just wanted to make sure before his dad called.he called me and said he was so happy and relieved that this was going somewhere, and his sisters are happy too.

meanwhile thinking about an impending shaadi made my parents freak out about my career. my mom was like “oh so you’d rather get married than pursue your education” and “you’re so desperate bc u want to go on a honeymoon.” :expressionless: My mom also said that his family really didn’t like me, but they were just doing this rishta bc of their son’s pressure. my dad said that school in dubai was “third class” and refused to let me go for my interview. so i cancelled it with a heavy heart.

Anyway Q called me yesterday and asked if 12 pm today was a good time. i asked my mom and she said yes. she also said “don’t worry beta, i will explain your dad everything.” so i gave Q the ok.

Today i woke up in the morning and BOTH my mom and dad were not home. i was really perplexed, i had told mom the time very clearly. meanwhile Q’s dad called the home and my brother didn’t pick up. when i came out of the shower, and saw the number, my heart sank. i quickly ran online and he said that he had collected his whole family to be there at that moment…even his grandma and visiting sister were in the living room. He asked “what happened”. When i told him no one was home, he was understandably very upset. He said ‘what should i tell everyone sitting here?’. i was like “i don’t know, i’m so sorry”. he’s like “i don’t think you even told them” and i was promising him that i did.

My sister called both mom and dad, and they were totally nonchalant about it. then mom came home and called dad and it was almost like an argument…they were talking and talking about how this is bad, how they don’t like me, etc. I was thinking, shouldn’t this have been done earlier??

I was so mad at my mom. I said even if you had to say no, you could have talked to them. But doing this thing where you aren’t even home is so rude! Even if you have to reject someone, you have to respect their feelings, right? I said, he made that time according to your preference and i asked your permission! My mom was just like “ehmm ah,shayed misunderstanding ho gayi”

Anyway i called him at 3. he said his entire family had gathered together at 12, to be there after the phone call and now no one was talking because they felt embarrassed and confused. I was so so sorry, really from the bottom of my heart. But he said,"you know, I did my part, I talked to my parents, I talked to your parents, etc. " The only ONE thing I had to do was have my parents at home at a certain time and I couldn’t even do that. i was in tears, apologizing, but he said my dad is not calling your father again. he already called twice and you guys did this. he talked for maybe 1 minute max and was just silent…i was like…um hello, listen please understand etc…but it was just silence and at the end, i said “so you’re not going to talk to me?” and he said “well there’s nothing to say anymore, i did everything i could.”

anyway i went to my babysitting gig and then at 9 i came home. dad was home too and my mom was just saying “look at her, she is mad at me because she is desperate for marriage.” I was like "IT’S NOTHING TO DO ABOUT BEING DESPERATE FOR MARRIAGE!! EVEN IF YOU WANT TO REJECT HIM, IT’S UP TO YOU. BUT IT’S A MATTER OF COMMON COURTESY TO AT LEAST TALK TO THE PERSON,NOT AVOID THEM!! I WAS LIKE, IF YOU NEVER INTENDED TO TALK TO HIS DAD, FINE…BUT AT LEAST YOU GUYS COULD’VE BEEN HONEST WITH ME SO I WOULDN’T HAVE CONVEYED WRONG INFORMATION! I said, “imagine his old grandma, sitting there and waiting.”

THen my mom was like “fine if they want to call again, we will pick up.”

I was like “well obviously they aren’t going to call again!!” i said, “he doesn’t even want to talk to me anymore, so just forget it.”

then dad was really pissed and said why am i making a “hue and cry” aur iska dimagh kharab hai

at 10 pm mom called their house. i was like, “ok dont just call their house and create a drama. whatever happened already happened” but she insisted.

anyway Q’s dad was polite but distant…he said due to ‘recent developments’, this topic is best solved by Q and me and that no matter what the decision, his blessings are always there. it really shows he is a mature guy to not lose his cool. he did not say anything about a rishta , and also he said perhaps we will visit in 6 months. before Q was saying we want to ask to get married in 6 months! so i think Q’s dad maybe is having second thoughts but he just wanted to let us off nice.

On top of that, my dad is like “Iss ne to itna shore machaya hua tha. he wasn’t saying anything much. the way she was talking, it sounded like she lost a big proposal.”

for the last 2 hours, my dad just berated me to my mom. He said he really resents being called a liar by me (i just said it was misleading to keep someone hanging) and he said from now on, my mom and him will not talk to me. and that let me do what i want with my life. of course i really can’t do anything because i don’t have any money. and the one option i had in dubai, i rejected bc of him.

I am just really heartbroken. This was a nice shareef guy, and my mom always used to say, “if you like a guy, do everything through proper channels”…so I did, I had his dad call my dad. But instead they are picking flaws like he is indian, or he lives far away, but the thing is, they knew all these things 5 years ago. the thing i feel most guilty about is that i wasted an innocent guy’s time and nothing can bring it back. he liked me from ages 23-28; that is a long time and i don’t know anyone who will wait that long. and a few people who know about me and him, always remark how lucky i am to have him, because he is so much better looking than me and he is also very nice. but my parents just find out random flaws which don’t even make sense. i am so sad for us breaking apart.

even if the rishta goes through now, i feel like their parents will remember my parents attitude forever and maybe they will treat me adversely because of this. if it doesn’t go through, well, i will always regret ruining an innocent guy’s first love and also i don’t think i could commit wholeheartedly to someone else.

I am so hurt right now. If my parents didn’t like him, they could have at least been honest with me. But I had their tacit approval all along, which just confuses me. And the thing is, my parents say I have free choice in marriage, but i really don’t because even if i 100% agree to a rishta, if my dad says no, then no matter what, it’s not going to happen.

Idk…should i call Q? I don’t know how things can progress from here. His dad is obviously not going to call again, and my dad is saying now that indians are too different from pakistanis.

I can’t believe something so perfect built up for years and years got ruined in one day…

Re: The longest post ever seen on GS-

I read the whole thing. Its really sad what you're going through. I don't know what advice to give you. You seem like a good girl that respects her parents wishes, even if they seem unreasonable. No one can make the decision for you, all you can do is pray that Allah swt gives you guidance in this ordeal. Good luck.

whooo that was long
all i can say is i'm very sorry for all wat happened.were i u i would hav still let his family come n in parent's absence n attend them with siblings. but seems like ur parents r not interested in getting u married at all, atleast not at this point n both r on same page.. So now its totally upto u either pursue it further n take ur stand.
or let go n hav faith that Allah will lead u to something even better.

Awww jalebi, I actually had tears reading this. One thing perplexed me, why is your mom continously saying you are desperate for marriage? I think if you really liked Q and still do and want to get married to him you should at least call him once and try to work things out. I am sure with time Q's family will forget about this incident. I have heard from many other people how their parents did not go along but now that they are married with kids etc all the parents get along together fairly well. Just think about it and not loose a good thing which developed over years so easily.

hmmmm thats really strange. For the sake of career rejecting a good proposal when the boy n gal both are agreed and want to tie the knot. Really strange… but well i really dont know what to suggest but may be u can talk to the guy once again. Tell him the whole story. if he had waited for you for so long, give it atleast one last try so u do not repent that u didnt try ur best.

In my home its opposite… If any good proposal comes and suppose I say , No i dont like him or let me do that course etc.. my mom says ..“Shadi karni hai ke nahin? Kahin se shehzada dhoond kar laain ??? shadi karlo phir PhD kar laina.” This makes me… arrrrrrrrghhhhhhhhh… :grumpy:

Aww jalebi…you could certainly use a :hugz: at this moment..I promise, I can totally completely understand what you must be going through and how it feels..I went through almost exactly the same dilemma in 2007 as you are now…

You know what else I did to sort of rectify what was not even my own mistake, I insisted him to get married because I knew he would remain single if I hadn’t pushed him to get married…He got married this past january…

I can’t tell you how mad I was at SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many things but in the end, I ended up doing what I was “supposed” to do, give in to my parents and leave what was the happiest phase of my life behind… But to this date, I can’t think of getting married to someone else..even the thought makes me uncomfortable and restless…I am sorry I can’t help you in this situation but I will surely pray for you…may you get the best of what this world has to offer and find peace, happiness, and contentment in it, ameen!

One more thing that I wanna add…Please don’t give up on everything so easily..try to give this whole thing one more chance…I didn’t and I still regret it…All the best!

Parents are parents...eventually they give in to their childrens' wishes.

Go and find Q...a man who will wait 5 years for you is a keeper.

Dont let him get away...make it happen.

Hi Jalebi,

Forgive me, but reading about your parent's behavior made me angry. I can only imagine how you feel. You are absolutely right that if your parents were so against this guy, they should have put an end to this rishta YEARS AGO. Instead they chose to lead this guy on and toy with his feelings by giving him the impression that they are interested. That's wrong......and what's even more wrong is how your parents don't even realize their mistake and are using emotional blackmail to make YOU feel guilty for their mistakes. Rejection is never easy but at least one can do it respectfully. When you have cooled down, try to explain to your parents that they should imagine putting themselves in the guy's parents' shoes. Ask them nicely, how would you like it if a family that you were interested in for rishta treated me (your daughter) or your son like this?

I'm trying to understand why your parents are acting like this. Is it a fear of losing control? A fear of you leaving the nest? Do they feel you have replaced them with this guy and will love them less? Or have they placed more emphasis on education than other things? Education is important, however too much of anything is not good. Here are my suggestions:

1) You need to try and calm down. Because if you try to have a discussion with your parents when you're feeling angry and defensive, it will only backfire. So with a cool mind, plan out how you will approach this discussion because it needs to take place in an orderly fashion.

2) Talk to your parents and start off by telling them that you love them.......that this rishta doesn't mean that you love them any less or that this guy is replacing your parents. Start it off in a positive way by telling your parents this.....and say that you appreciate all that they've done for you. And then proceed to discuss your concerns. Try to placate them by telling them that you do value your education and that you're not putting those plans on hold. And give your mom examples of how you plan to meet your educational goals. And tell your mom that you feel hurt by her false accusation of you being "desperate for a honeymoon" because such a statement/accusation does carry a rather inappropriate connotation. And then try to address their concerns that his parents don't like you by giving positive examples that show his parents DO like you. You're basically asking your parents to explain the reservations that they have about his guy........and after listening to what they are......you will try to mitigate their fears. Open communication needs to take place without emotional blackmail.

3) If you're still keen on this guy, you can attempt to discuss with him the fears your parents have. I don't know if this will make the guy angry or if he'll try to support you. You know him better than I do. Once he knows about your parents' fears (him living far away, education, difference of nationality etc)............he might discuss this with his parents in a tactful way. And then a meeting can be arranged where BOTH families can discuss these concerns. And I think that YOU AND GUY should be present during this meeting between families. Perhaps in the process, your parents will feel more relaxed when he can explain to them how he plans to support you with education/distance, etc. And maybe he can even encourage his parents to tell your parents how much they like you. Basically the families need to talk........because this can't just be settled by the two of you.

PS: Ur post may not be the longest, ;)

Ditto!

Jalebi, it seems like you really like this guy........so give this your BEST shot. I don't agree with your statement of leaving the whole decision to your parents. That's not practical. I understand that parents try to do what's best for their children. But i have ALSO seen parents make decisions that turned out to be not so great for their kids. Marriage also involves YOU and YOUR input. A marriage contract needs a guardian's permission but it's invalid if it doesn't have the CONSENT of the bride and groom. Your input matters in decisions that deal with your ENTIRE LIFE. So.......give this your best shot.......and pray/make dua to Allah. Don't underestimate the power of prayer. Best wishes.

Your Story is really very Sad ,

I donot think that you people will not get married , as you people have interacted in a Mature stage of Life.
a day will come your Parants will come to your point , Insh Allah.
The event that took place is really unpleasant.

My Personal Suggestion is That You should Do KEEP CONTACT with Him(Q) and Tell Him the Real Story and nature of Your Mom(Parants).

I think Your Parants have Hinted their Disapproval when they empassised on your Career.
But , still they are your Parants , they WILL come to your point.

PRAY FROM ALL MIGHTY ALLAH COULD GIVE YOU SUFFICIENT SATISFATCTION.

^ Parents should look at their daughter too. She was enough obedient that she didnt like a guy n had an affair with him out of their knowledge. She told them five yrs back , they liked the guy too. If her parents didnt like him, should have told that five yrs back and not now when both boy n gal had planned and prepared theirselves to live together.

GO and call Q.....How old are you..if your 12, then yes your desperate for marriage...if you over 20+. then why is your mother saying that to you....its her job to marry you off.....esp if hes a decent respectable man which he is.....at the end of the day, you cant live at home all your life. i think your parents are deliberatly making it difficult. go find Q talk to him, talk to him talk to him talk to him.....undo any damage your parents have done. marry the guy. keep trying. its the least you can do...

i read the whole thing!

That sounds really sad :( and i am very confused about your parents response/attitude to the whole thing.

Did they suddenly change their minds or was it building up. Its understandable why you are hurt.

I think you need to tell your parents that its not fair that they are making you feel bad about the whole thing and i think you need to ask them what happened to make them so against the rishta.

You could call Q but make sure you know what to say, i dont think its a good idea to call and cry/feel sorry for yourself. If you want to still marry him then discuss options with him does he still want it? what do his parents say? If you dont want to marry him and just tell him your sorry then do that.

But i think that the real thing that needs sorting out here is your relationship with your parents. They control every tthing in your life forever such as education, they keep saying you are desperate for marriage then they didnt let you take the interview!

How old are you btw? are you the youngest sibling?

^ I think she mentioned in her post she is 27.

We're always told we should defer to our parent's wishes because they know best and act in our best interest, but there are always exceptions to the rule and your parents seem to be the exception.

My folks are all for studying - my sisters and I all have graduate degrees because my parents wanted us to be financially independent. That being said - they always told us "agar acha rishta ayega, phir shaadi key baad bhi parhai ho sakti hai". One of the measures of a good rishta is finding out if he will support your getting your further education after marriage.

You have to look at your situation, namely how old are you, do you believe that someone as nice as this fellow who can make you as happy or happier will come along, what are your realistic professional/educational prospect, and how supportive/proactive will your parents be in finding another rishta for you?

If the answer is that he is your best shot at happiness - then make it happen with him, otherwise you will always regret letting him go. While I don't usually advocate opposing our parents' wishes - you have to objectively consider how concerned and supportive your parents are about your future happiness and then act accordingly.

:hugz::hugz::hugz:

Hun, NEVER let him go, he’s s great guy!

I never have said that but this is the kind of behavior on the part of parents which drives kids to elope and then the kids and the parents both regret all their lives .

Let the things cool down with Q . He is POed , I would be too, if I had done all my homework and the parents of the girl are behaving like jerks.

Do you have a brother or sister ? If you do not have any other sibling , the thoughts of losing you by way of marriage is driving your parents crazy , that is why they are behaving this way. I guess you need to address this issue of their thought to lose you after 27 years of your life with them. 27 years of age for a desi girl without a career is old enough to be too late for getting married.

You are the only one now who can make it happen. I will think about some plan to help you out if I get answers to questions I raised.

Wow, your mom & dad seem pretty laid back about your marriage, considering they are Pakistanis.. :eek:

I read the whole thing.. he seems like such a great guy, who really respects you and cares for you! Especially the whole idea of not dating and going to your parents first.. obviously, credit for that goes to you as well MashAllah :). I hope you will call him and try and sort everything out.. I’ll keep you in my prayers. Insh’Allah, everything will work out the way you want it to and for the best!

:hugz: