What you can do is split up how/where u get ur food. u can maybe get the basic per person package and hten to meet the room min get a few items from them, like ur dessert or a live cooking station, or appetizers and then get the rest catered from ur desi restaurant of choice. For example Sohail from Mezbaan will work with you to come up with a special package so u can offset some of the costs associated with the room minimum. He is very familiar with the items that most major hotels in houston offer and was very helpful in overcoming this issue. In the end it worked out cheaper to get food catered from outside even with a room minimum then had i had the hotel provide halal food not too mention i'm not stressed if desi aunties and uncles will like the food selection.
^ Thanks for posting so many pics and all the info on vendors. Seems like you know a lot about all of this stuff so when my time comes closer I'll be coming to you.
I wanted to ask you a question about the finance aspect of Houston weddings since you may know more. A lot of these high end hotels charge a per head cost(which also consists of tax and service charge) and there's an additional food and beverage minimum for the hotel rental that has to be met. The problem I have is that these food/beverage minimums work for couples who cater 'American' food from the hotel so the hall rental is essentially almost free in the end, but someone like me would be catering from a desi restaurant so not a penny of the money I spend on catered food would go towards the 'food and beverage minimum' for hotel rental. Some of these hotels have $20,000 food&beverage minimum so I find it excessive to have to pay that much just to rent the hotel space for tables and chairs and then to pay an additional 10-15K for catering from a desi restaurant. How have desi couples dealt with this issue in the past? Or does everyone pay for desi catering + the 'food&beverage minimum' for rental at these hotels? I'm sure there's a way to negotiate. It would be awesome if some of these hotels teamed up with the desi restaurants to include the food we cater to be included in their 'food/beverage minimum.' Do you know anything about this or what couples have done as alternatives?
Intercontinental-Houston as well as the Hyatt Regency-Houston are two of my favs. I've been to two weddings at the Hyatt, but not any at the Intercontinental. We spoke to Hyatt to get rough figures on their pricing, but since we have a long way to go we haven't spoken to Intercontinental and I wonder if they're about the same as far as price...?
We contacted the Four Seasons and they were charging $25,000 food/beverage minimum for the largest 4,800 sq ft ballroom that can only hold 320 guests with a dance floor and stage. That is 'small' for your average desi Houston wedding and I don't the 25K price tag is worth the room rental. No wonder I've never seen a single video or picture of a desi wedding at the Four Seasons-Houston.
I think the Omni quoted us with a $20K food/beverage minimum ballroom rental, but I believe it's much larger and newly renovated...
Thanks for the info., it really helps to know we have options like the ones you mentioned. I was also thinking that it would be wise to get your appetizers, dessert, other stations from the hotel catering and combine that with the desi food you’re getting from outside. It’s great to know that Sohail actually works with you to set up packages that help balance everything financially. I’m surprised that it ended up being cheaper for you to cater from outside + the hotel minimum, that’s good news to me!
Speaking of Sohail from Mezban Restaurant, I’d have to recommend him for catering for Houston couples.
He seems to have a lot of knowledge about the wedding catering business and works with almost every hotel in Houston, especially all the higher end ones that usually don’t allow outside catering from desi restaurants b/c of their strict certification standards. He also has connections with lots of private venues and halls that are much cheaper than your average hotel and can work out deals for you. I was corresponding with him a while back for another event and he was really good about emailing and calling me with updates and details with accurate lists of items and pricing. I think he’s a smart businessman and that can be intimidating b/c we know how sometimes desis can be known for ‘ripping you off’ for their own profit, but it’s good to hear that people like mirage have had good experiences with a wedding. I think he’s more professional than any other Pakistani restaurant owner I’ve dealt with in Houston and he definitely has tons of experience and lots of connections. He’s younger so he can understand the needs of our generation a little better than some of the older typical restaurant owners.
I haven’t had Mezban food at a wedding, I think every wedding I’ve been to has been catered from Shahnai(which is sometimes really amazing and sometimes very average), King’s Chicken(most of the Hyderabadi families I know cater from here), and Lazeeza. I think Lazeeza used to be owned and managed by Sohail and then he sold it. Anyway, I heard wedding food from Mezban is really good from most people so when my time comes I think Mezban will be on the top of my list. http://www.mezban.biz/index.html
All desi catering is kinda hit or miss...you never know what you will get. My best friend and my best family friend got married on all the same days. Both used Mehzban for their valimas and this was a few years ago. At one the food was great, especially loved that they got saag paneer right where as shahnai added tofu to theirs at a recent wedding I attended. However shahnai did over 30 dishes of chinese, arabic/persian, hyderbadi, pakistani, mexican food and overall everyone was more than pleased with that.
Anyhow enough about food I'm limited for time today. I don't know much about the hotel process bc parents always settle that stuff I haven't been too involved but I can ask recent couples what they did and how they met their price minimums.
Hi, I went to this eid mela recently and I wanted to quickly give info as I’m really busy with a friend’s wedding this week and wrapping up things at the office. (it’s an indian gujuratii wedding bhojan is catering all events and lunches aat the house and fully decorating the house, it’s a great and affordable bridal package they offered the couple).
The eid fashion thing I went to near willowbrook mall in northside for the first eid a few months ago was a disaster. I honestly had a hard time getting vendors to talk to me, show me outfits, discuss prices and materials and such. I don’t mean to knock the people that sold outfits but maybe by the time I showed up they were worn out or something. It was not my cup of tea and not worth the drive to north. I decided to venture to sugarland’s bc it’s close by and I wanted to get some info for friends that are getting married and need outfits. As my friends get married I too need outfits and sometimes ordering something back home takes too long.
Anyhow the store Bridals N’ More came out, and the Aunty is really nice. I guess everyone was really nice, and they engaged customers. That was something the fashion mela in northside around ramadan lacked. Then again most ppl were fasting so maybe that altered moods. Anyhow I like her clothing, her boutique is in the heart of hilcroft above agha’s juice. Her material is very good quality but I do think that prices are a bit steep. I went by their shop some time ago and the owner wasn’t there so there wasn’t much haggling I could do. However this was not the case with the Aunty/owner that I met at this eid mela thing. She let me know she’s giving certain dresses a 15% off deal and that helps bc let’s face it desi outfits are pricey. Anyhow here’s her link:
Now here are some older pics but she had full maxi dresses. lots of sheer churidaar sleeves and churidar pants. There was a gorgeous one that was red with green and yellow ribbons making a scoop neck at the top and was very mehndi friendly. So her fb doesn’t show some of her latest and more stylish designs…
Kraze by Beena Khan. She was very helpful and is also a young designer. She’ll be in pak for a few month and can personally oversee any order and is more than happy to bring the stuff back with her in early Jan. **Girls, if you are doing anything bridal or a cousin is getting married and you and your group needs more heavy outfits and prefer using someone in houston this girl is the designer you want to contact. **She had a lovely emerald green maxi gown that was fitted through the waist and then flared out with gold and reds it was sooo nice. Too bad it didn’t come with sleeves. I don’t have any pics to show you bc I just wanted to add her group but by far I think she had the best material + Kaam + Price of all the vendors i’ve met in houston. Sometimes these people in town don’t design or sew and can’t give you proper feedback and with her that wasn’t the case. Another reason I urge yall to get in touch with her.
](http://www.facebook.com/bridalsnmore)http://www.facebook.com/groups/shaz.modaincasso/
I added Iffe Aunty’s card because she’s my go to wax and hair color lady. I have been with ehr for years. She has a small salon but she takes care of her clients, is kind and does amazing up-do hairstyles and what not that stay all night long. I have very heavy and long hair. The few times I have had my hair professionally styled by her I was more than pleased with my results and the next day I can still rock the same harido. She also applies henna. ](“http://www.facebook.com/pages/Showoff/154135564663217?sk=info”)
Regarding the F&B minimum....mirage is right...the best thing to do is "combine". For my wedding....we're doing the religious ceremony in the morning followed by a "brunch". And then on the same day, evening we're doing the civil ceremony followed by cocktail hour and then reception. The food for our brunch, cocktail our (appetizers) will come from the hotel. We also plan on getting a fancy dessert station. Main dinner during reception will come from desi restaurant.
If your wedding date happens to fall on holiday weekend, you can negotiate a lower F&B minimum. My date is on a holiday weekend and every single hotel I contacted, once I told asked them if they could help me out since its a holiday weekend etc.....every single hotel lowered their F&B. Four Seasons also originally quoted me $25K. After I asked for "help"....they lowered it to $18,000. But since my wedding is only about 140 people....it's still too much for us.
Stay the heck away from Hotel Derek. Their catering people are horrible to deal with.
Omni on the Westside (off I-10) is really nice. We really liked the venue. We've been to 2 weddings there and a close friend is also getting married there next May. Unfortunately they didn't have my date open. From what I've been told, Micah, their wedding person is great to work with.
Intercontinental at the Galleria is nice...been to 3 weddings there. The couples I know that got married there didn't have any complaints.
Sweetwater Country Club in Sugarland: Their prices are reasonable. My fiance went to a engagement party there last year and really liked it. From what I saw online, it looks nice. The only reason we didn't choose it is b/c of the location. We wanted something in the city.
Marriott at the Medical Center looks nice too and has good pricing for a "regular" size desi wedding. It just doesn't work for me b/c my wedding is small. But their outside food policy is weird....they will not "mix" their food with outside food. So if you bring outside food...then you can't get food from them.
Woodlands Resort is also another really nice venue.
Renaissance (off 59/Greenway) is also a hotel with a large room and great prices. Their catering person, Jan, is nice and very "to the point". She won't waste your time.
When calling hotels to find out info., I always asked them if they have a "outside" catering package and if they've done Indian weddings. Every venue that has done Indian wedding knows we want outside food....and they will work with you if you tell them it's not in your budget to pay $20,000K just for "rental". But they'll be much more willing to "work with you" if you tell them that you're willing to get appetizers/dessert from them....but that due to cultural/religious reasons (no one will argue with this!), the main dinner needs to be from outside. I will mention once again....if you already have not set a date....try to do it on a holiday weekend as this will help with $$$. And stay away from doing it during "busy" time such as December or May(graduation/prom). The big ballrooms gets booked easily during that time so the hotels are less willing to negotiate.
Also see what the "hotel" package actually includes. Most of the time...the package includes a wedding cake, chair covers/sashes, linens, dance floor etc. If it does not include the wedding cake(and if you want a cake), negotiate the "cutting fee" (ask them to waive it).
I don't know anything about Pakistani restaurant catering price but 10-15K seems a lot. India's at the Galleria quoted me $12-$15/person for a buffet with 6-7 entrees. Even at $15/person.....for 500 ppl. that's $7500.
*A&A video is probably the best company to get your video done from, it's run by a pair of brothers that graduated from UT and are based out of houston. I will say that I have attended 2 weddings in austin that they covered and in one of them I was a bridesmaid literally running through a courtyard with our bride and doing silly things they asked of us. I remember we felt awkward about poses and things they asked us to do but the end result was totally worth it. They are the best video people hands down. A Photography company they work closely with is Nico and below is the information for both companies. I will point out in the past I've had friends use Ashok Bhai (houston) for a photography and A&A for video so you dont' have to book Nico and A&A together. Again this company is the best at video and worth the price. *
Very dissappointed in A&A's customer service. I contact them to get information on pricing for photo & video. Below was my experience:
1) Called & receptionist told me I "must" set up a appointment with one of their "sales managers" to get details on pricing. So I set up a phone appointment for the next day at noon and was told someone would call me.
2) No one calls. So 2 days later I call again and was transferred to someone named Sonya. Told her what we were looking for, we talked, and she told me she would e-mail me pricing info. that same day.
3) 1 week goes by and I get nothing. So I call back and talk to Sonya again. She apologizes, said she has been busy, and promised to send it to me as soon as we hung up. Of course....I never received the e-mail.
4) Fiance & I have brunch with a couple who got married in June and had used A&A. The bride said they used A&A for her sister's wedding too. She told me to specially get a hold of someone named Imran and tell him that I was referred by the bride/her sister.
5) I call A&A again....Imran was not there. I was told if I send an e-mail to their general e-mail, it will get forwarded to Imran. So I immediately send a e-mail and asked him to e-mail/call me to I can get pricing. I never heard from him.
6) Almost 3 WEEKS later......2 days ago....I get a call from Sonya. She asked if I was stilling looking for a photographer. I told her no. I told her we already booked someone since they never bothered to contact me with pricing. She claimed that she was "sure" that she did send me an e-mail. She also said that Imran did get my e-mail and had asked her to contact me (I'm assuming Imran was too busy to be bothered with new potential clients looking for pricing info). I told her that's all great.....but the fact is Imran never wrote me back or called me to folllow-up. I told Sonya we had already booked someone.
7) The very next day....someone named Shannon calls and asks if I'm still looking for pricing! WTH! Told her the same thing.
So yea.....at this point....I personally have no interest in dealing with them. I'm sure their work is good....and they're not the cheapest vendors in town....but their lack of attention for a potential new client looking for pricing is horrible (at least it was for me).
I agree that A&A work is nice. We know 2 very close friends who have used them (one of them being the bride that told me to call Imran). I was very dissappointed in their customer service.
Things are going good. I finally have a venue! We signed the contract yesterday!!! We’re meeting with the DJ on Monday and expect to have that contract signed by Tuesday. And next Thusday we’re meeting with the photographer. And I checked in with the place where I ordered my reception outfit and the lady told me I should have it by Christmas (if not sooner!). I’m hoping to order invitation samples by Monday too. So yea…its finally coming together.
^Sorry to hear your experience with A&A was bad. I love their work and have them at the top of my list for video vendors.
I actually had a really good experience with them in the past. When I contacted them for my sister's wedding Imran replied to my email the same day. Then a few days later I sent him another email and he replied the very next day. I asked him specific questions about pricing and events and he gave me details and price quotes right then and there in the email. He then asked me to come visit their studio to see samples and meet with them in person. This was also in December(which is a busy time for them), but my experience was great with him. Let's hope your experience was rare, because if I experience the same thing you did I will be disappointed as well. Customer service is HUGE for me.
GroomDoc:
I'm glad Imran thought you were worthy of responding...lol. As I said earlier....I have no issues with their work. Heck after talking to Sonya TWICE and still not receiving a proposal.....the only reason I wrote to Imran is b/c a friend who used them gave me his name specifically. I mention 2 brides in my e-mail who referred me to him. He still didn't bother to reply or call me.
Although since then....I've spoken with the bride again and found out exactly how much A&A charged them for her wedding....and her sister's wedding last year. And to be honest....I believe they're overpriced. I think there are plenty of other people who can take good pics and videos and will be A LOT cheaper. But if A&A's price is within your budget....and if they're actually bothering to return your calls.....and I'd say go for them. :)
Hello Guys, I am a Dallas based photographer. I do one or two Indian, Pakistani weddings every other month in Dallas Area. I travel to Houston as well. Please PM me for more info.
So my bbf is getting quotes for her wedding as well and told me that A&A just increased their prices. Her cousin used them last year and they quoted my bbf double what they charged her cousin. BUT after talking to them frm went frm $8500 to $4500. Thought i wuld share this here.
was that for classic or cinematic? How many hours?
I know last year when i booked them they drastically cut down their prices from 2010 to 2011 but also reduced a few services. Their cinematic in 2010 was close to 9.5k, then in 2011 dropped to 6k but that only include 10 hrs filiming, one highlite reel and one blue ray dvd
^ A&A is over priced and not worth the money in my humble opinion. And I know 2 couples who had bad experiences with them. I myself received bad customer service when trying to get a quote from them several months ago.
Someone else I know contacted them for a quote and on January, they were sent these prices for video/cinema. Keep in mind these prices don’t include photography!
Rabia: If you BBF is still looking…then PM me and I’ll send you info/details of the person I’m using.
aventography did a really great job recently with a few weddings i have attended. Zia promised me this way back like last summer and I think his quality turned out really nice. Rabia if anything I can show you a link to A&H's wedding that aventography took care of and that turned out really well.
Gosh I forgot about this topic. Do people still want this to keep going or should I just let it die?
After getting pms and fb messages i'm going to try and re-vamp this.
i'd like to update this with the fact that there's something wrong with one of the vendors i have praised. Also if you texan girls know anything I should know about the scene in your area and your vendors please holler :)
Saw the very first post with pics. I know some of the brides and grooms through family/friends. Sadly, a few of the couples are separated or divorced or in the process of having their divorces finalised.
Gosh I forgot about this topic. Do people still want this to keep going or should I just let it die?
keep it going, please! there's lots of info here for texas dulhans! have you come across any new vendors that you think are fab? lets make this a fully-rounded texas wedding mini-forum!