Texan Dulhans

Ok so obviously our salons are not as great as things overseas and sometimes families opt for indian gowns instead of pakistani ones. At the end of the day I thought it would be nice to have some Texan pride but also mention vendors, photography blogs and stuff to help girls plan their own wedding. I’ll try to keep an eye out for desi dulhans be them indian, pakistani or bengali.

The last time I posted texas brides yall saw this batch in the main bridal topic:

I was a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding and Karishma and her parents took such good care of not only the wedding I was in but a lot of my friends. They own Mandap Creations and by far they have the best wedding decor in north america hands down. I have seen what they do in other cities and I love this company the most and Karishma is young, great at what she does and can bring in great modern touches her father has acquired amazing mandaps and stage decor through the years and is like a father figure when helping you and your family plan your big day(s). I highly recommend the company and stumbled across her pics: [http://www.mandapcreations.com/sound_frame/soundFRAME-AUTOSTART.htm

the first couple to get married at the westin memorial in houston

O](http://www.mandapcreations.com/sound_frame/soundFRAME-AUTOSTART.htm)K and this couple Arooj and Fawad had a really interesting theme for the nikkah and look really happy together and i liked what the photographer did http://yasindusoruth.com/2010/09/arooj-and-fawad’s-walima/

Also in the past we had a few topics about houston wedding vendors and makeup artist and such i’ll try to link those in here. maybe this could be a useful go to spot for other girls and families. at least that’s my intention.
[http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/405516-help-houston-wedding-vendors.html
[URL=“http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/386836-any-stage-decorator-in-houston-2.html”]http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/386836-any-stage-decorator-in-houston-2.html

I](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/405516-help-houston-wedding-vendors.html) just recently were talking to a few other members about halls we liked in houston, catering and such. I will eventually add the vendors I mentioned to a fellow guppan on here. For now I hope the other girls that were married in houston or engaged that can provide useful info regarding vendors they like for weddings and such, maybe bridal package prices and stuff to come in here and mention it. I also welcome any vendor or makeup artist and such to advertise their own business on here.

Re: Texan Dulhans

A lot of pictures in this topic are from Lynette J Photography:
http://www.lynettej.com
Austin wedding: Shaista and Jason

SEPTEMBER 27, 2011

This was one of those weddings that really meant so much to me…I have known Shaista and Jason since the VERY FIRST Pakistani wedding I shot (and in reality, I met Shaista a year before during Saima & Imran’s engagement ceremony festivities!), I had since shot several of her friends weddings and she was always there, sweet as ever. So when Shaista told me that it was her turn to get married and that she would love for me to come down to Austin, I didn’t hesitate to say “yes!”. It was like a little family reunion since I had quite a few past brides (and grooms!) in attendance.

http://www.lynettej.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

It was an absolutely gorgeous event (I would expect nothing less from a true fashionista like Shaista!) and they were surrounded by their closest friends and family…just the way it should be. Here are some of my favorite images:

Vendors
Ceremony Location: Umlauf Sculpture Garden; Austin, TX
Reception Location: Laguna Gloria AMOA; Austin, TX
Floral: Verbena Floral; Austin, TX
Make-up: Rae Cosmetics, April Monroe; Austin, TX
Catering: Mezban; Houston, TX
Shoes: Manolo Blahnik and Guiseppe Zanotti

SLH’s thoughts, obviously beautiful bride mashallah, very pretty mother mashallah and I like how the venue was very unique and not the typical desi thing. Also to do something outdoors is gutsy for a summer event in texas it’s way too hot out here. I like how the photographer already knew the bride due to client referrals. This may not be a desi wedding photographer but this company does an amazing job capturing precious moments in a wedding and have a lot of south asian clients in general.

from August 2011 Sanober weds Tim:

Sheraton Dallas Wedding - Kiran weds Raheel:

this is from Lynette J’s blog:
Kiran and Raheel’s wedding was extra special to me since it started in the last days of 2010 and culminated with the shaadi on the first day of 2011. They had their gorgeous wedding at Sheraton Dallas (one of Dallas’ venues that easily accommodates 800+ guests) and everything turned out flawlessly. It’s always a treat when I show up at a wedding and see 2 of my past brides and a couple of future ones.

http://www.lynettej.com/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif

The details
Hair and Make-up: Alex Dixon
Bride’s Shoes: Aldo
Henna: Kiran Meghani
Decor: [Prashe Decor

](http://prashedecor.com/)

Thank you sooooooo much for these pics! It certainly can be overwhelming when trying to plan a wedding.....some of these pics definitely gave me ideas.... :)

Eventually I'll try to update this with links to MUA, photographers, catering options etc...

after a bunch of referrals and shopping for photography, we chose vekphoto.com for our wedding photographer...and we are 1000% satisfied. we still get tons of compliments.

our video guy (from another company) wasn't as creative or unique.

arent you available here?

Nice to see some Texas representation in the forum! We do everything bigger and better in Texas ;)

wait a minute, are you: [Facebook

i](Facebook)f so holy heck, I think everyone loves your work and the houston girls in particular keep saying how we wish we all knew of you while you were at UT because your eye for photography is AMAZING mashallah. If it’s not you well then lol yup HOOK EM!

Ok so here are some makeup options for yall aside from the typical “Aisha’s Salon” stuff…

This Nov. my friend is getting married and I joined her for some of the appointments. After looking at a lot of makeup artist in houston for the price and quality she decided to go with Huma Aunty. I don’t want to post any full pictures but if you’d like Huma Aunty’s info please let me know I don’t mind passing her number to you. She’s a mother and treats every bride as if they were her own daughters. Very loving, caring, knows her stuff and goes to Pakistan every year to take more courses and keep up to date with wedding looks. She also does hair and I think she’s like $100 per event (makeup and hair) if you get ready at her house/studio area. She is willing to travel and I don’t recall how much that is. I will also say I went to a wedding in houston and the bride cried during her nikkah (happy tears) and her makeup stayed in place, lashes also stayed in place. Same goes for the valima the bride was stunning and makeup stayed in place. That’s pretty important for your wedding day. She does not use airbrushed makeup so if that’s what you are looking for maybe you should check out the next vendor. Also if Aunty thinks you want something tacky she will just call you out on it and let you know that’s probably not a road you want to take. I think her dupatta settings are some of the best in town.

Sarah Ali of the Transformation Studio is very popular among younger brides that want a bollywood dramatic touch to their look. Sarah can do it all, including airbrush makeup. She can go all out bollywood with lots of gold glitter and dramatic eyeliner, or she can go simpler, softer, with details to contouring of the face and what not. However I think sometimes the clients want things that maybe they shouldn’t have asked for and so some simple girls took their makeup look too far and didn’t look so great on their big day. They looked beautiful but it was a bit over the top. As the MUA I’m sure Sarah wanted to please her clients but to be honest maybe she should have told these girls they needed to scale back some of the looks. So please do keep an open mind when looking at her album of pictures and focus on the awesome brides, not so much the few overdone ones. My friend that’s getting married next month would have booked sarah but the price was a bit more expensive than Huma Aunty. However prices in the package includes facials and stuff to help prep your skin, I think overall it’s a good value and I do like Sarah’s makeup styles. She’s also great at calming down people, very caring and when you meet her right away you will feel like old friends. When your wedding day is hectic maybe that is someone you would want to get done up by. Also Sarah has people that do bridal mehendi so that’s something to consider.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Transformation-Studio/209202515787175
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=51660653900

If you just want makeup then I highly recommend Anam Gul and she doesn’t have a page with her makeup but if you’d like to contact her message me and I’ll give out her info. Or maybe you can search for her on fb in houston. She does the best smokey eye. Works at an Ulta here in town and does freelance makeup on the side.

Vogue Makeup by Malika Ali - I don’t know anyone that has been to her but I sure do like what I see. She also does bridal mehendi from $260 and up. I really love her hairstyles and I think that gives her an advantage:
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=136467000303

Fashion Face, again I don’t know any brides that went there but the girl looks like she knows what she’s doing: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Fashion-Face/128201840541942

Makeup by Shazia Kazi - don’t know any brides that went there but her album is full of great stuff so maybe you should inquire about her services: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Make-Up-by-Shazia-Kazi/112314825799

An old friend made a stunning bride, she’s an arab; hence the traditional white wedding dress. Her friend Jessica did her makeup for her engagement and wedding and I have her number but i’m not willing to put that publicly out here. So with that if you like what you see feel free to PM me. I’m not up for putting more pics of my friend’d makeup on here but there’s a peak.

**I’m not sure what the next post will be, maybe it’ll be video/photo people, dhol players and djs, list of catering options and halls, decor, or henna artist but I’d like some feedback from the rest of yall that are reading this and using this to help plan your own functions.

Also I haven’t been to a houston or san antonio wedding in years, never went to one in dallas so if anyone else can add some makeup artist around texas not just houston I would really appreciate it. **

do you know any good photographer like you in houston,.

I'm glad you were able to pursue your art and still get your education, your pictures inspire so many other photoshoots, shares fashion with us american girls and you capture a family's most precious moments. I wish you lots of luck with your career and I really do hope you consider coming back to texas for shoots in the future. :)

I have to say mozart's coffee and cakes during sunset overlooking lake travis was one of my favorite ways to end my little weekend trips to austin.

sLH. I m looking for dhol players in Houston area Do u have any names? And for photo video. A&A and Nico photography is the best
I have seen many brides by Fashion Face (Berkha) and they all looked beautiful

Oh and for decorators Saidas decoration is very reasonable and good

I’m like 95% sure all of these ppl travel

Best has to be Dholi Raja (chris) and Dj Impact (Bj) for dj-ing. Their DBI CDS (dance radio asia, absolute punjabi) are epic and a lot of the north american Djs use their mixes to keep the dance floor going so that too is something to consider.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/DBI-DHOL-BEAT-INTERNATIONAL/22526801155

Jupji is houston and recently rocked a few wedding I’ve been to in houston:
http://www.facebook.com/JupMasterGDholi Prince is in Austin and I went to school with him and have seen his talent grow in the past few years, he also djs so if you book him you may want to keep his dj skills in mind. His remix cd from a couple years ago was great, I haven’t kept up with his newer stuff.

Jason aka DJ Indo (does great bollywood but also can throw a carib/west indian thing if any westindians are reading this) and he too works with the DBI family

Dj Scoop is like Dj Impact in the sense that they have been in this business for a lot more years in comparison to the younger guys, he is great at mixing american songs into bollywood stuff and is good with keeping a crowd hype. He has some dhol players he works with so you can contact him about that.
http://www.facebook.com/djscoop
Ever listen to Generasian Radio in houston? Then Devan and Yogi are great options:
http://yogi-g.com/
I will say that some of these ppl like indo, and yogi really know their stuff when it comes to lighting and stuff to help make the reception fun and so if you want things like monogrammed initials on your dance floors and such they are great options and all of these dj and dhol people kinda work together so they can inquire who is free given your dates and talk to you about prices and packages that work for your needs.

I know we have plenty of other djs and stuff but I’m just posting the people i’m familiar with and can recommend…

You guys talking about Mozarts and Lake Travis is bringing tons of memories back...I didn't go to UT, but tons of my friends did so I would visit often. I'm actually from the rival school, Texas A&M. Gig 'Em Ags! Whoop! ;) sorry to get off topic....Anyway, sweetlilhunnie, kudos to you for providing such awesome info. for all us Texans.

I read something up there about about a makeup artist one of you mentioned...Huma Aunty?
If it's the same one I know then she's a really good friend of my Mom's and she did my Khala's bridal makeup 17 years ago! Back then she would work from home, not sure if she still does, so she's been around for a while. For all you considering going to her give it a shot b/c she's one of the coolest aunties I know...really friendly and happy-go-lucky. Nothing fake about her, she's open and honest too. Couldn't resist putting in a good word for her since I know her and respect her a lot :)

:wub:*** You are the best SLH! Thanks for putting up this thread.***

I live in the DFW area and my BIL will be getting married soon (IA). I had/have no idea about vendors or anything else. So, this thread is an excellent starting point. Thank you so much!

BTW, do you know of any good MUAs in the DFW area?