Texan Dulhans

Re: Texan Dulhans

at the moment i'm planning my own wedding but I have been to the bibi bridal show in houston back in oct. which was the worst most pathetic bridal show i have ever seen in my life, the fashion show was atrocious as well. Sorry for being harsh but bibi i expected more and the list of vendors to what really showed up was laughable. I think the only plus was that i got a bibi magazine that had lots of helpful hints and tips for me to apply to my own shaadi. I'm swamped with wedding stuff at the moment but i'll try to scan some of my price sheets and so forth.

also aventography I don't know if I can recommend them anymore because i know multiple couples where brides were crying when they got their full video so i think I learned before i give my deposit to any company i want to see their full videos and hopefully get positive testimonials from friends. This is not to say i have't heard positive things from the aventography crew either but I would be cautious.

Another makeup artist really has improved her skills and a little known Aunty I know really works her magic with hair and dupatta settings. I don't know about her makeup but that info could be beneficial to girls.

I'm shopping for cakes and photo and video ppl as of right now, I have information on rates like safari ranch on fridays or sundays can give you a price anywhere between $18 to $15, rates for hilton sw, westchase mariott was like $23 I think on fridays and sundays, (sat weddings are very expensive), doubletree downtown was like $24 + service charges and Capril is used to working with desi weddings and a lot of the decor and catering vendors I have looked at had a good relationship with her. I can go on and on but i'm at work and ought to be working :)

I'll do my best to update this properly and inshallah help out other families that may find this useful. I do wish other texans in other cities would speak up about their vendors.

Dallas area photographers that I know of, not used personally but family and friends have:

Nida Rehman Photography (up and coming female photogapher)
(214) 708 7341

Nida Rehman | Photography | Facebook

Texpertz..(also love their work)
(214) 288-0106
Texpertz Wedding Photography especializing in Indian & Pakistani weddings and events
Texpertz Films’s Videos on Vimeo

Armale Studio Photo/Video
(214) 676-7531
Frisco Professional Wedding Photographer, Videographer in Dallas, Photographer in Plano Texas, www.armalephoto.com
Armale Photo Studio : Weddings

Prince Photography
972-904-4120
Desi Photographer in dallas, indian photographer in dallas, ismaili photographer , pakistani photographer , gujrati photographer, Hindu photographer dallas, best best quinceanera photographer

Bombay Photography
(972)679-7921
Bombay photography-The best photographer in DFW metroplex.
BOMBAYFILMS 3D’s Videos on Vimeo

Brellow Productions (Canada based)
(778) 686-0689

Brellow Productions - home

Example: Henna and Omar wedding @ Henna & Omar on Vimeo
Example Photography:
@ blombergweddings.com «

Lynette J Photography
(972)265-9651
Dallas Wedding Photographer – Lynette J » Specializing in South Asian wedding photography

I have lived in Houston all my life and have been to too many weddings to count! I am SO glad this thread was started! I feel like the wedding industry in Houston is booming with new vendors, and alot of them seem to charge an arm and a leg for services. This is a great way to talk about what they REALLY charge and what their customer service is REALLY like. With my wedding in the near future, I have done some research online and have been keenly observing and following these vendors on Facebook etc. Here is my take on venue, food, make up & hair etc. My apologies if any of these are repeated - I got too excited when I saw this thread and just had to word vomit all the knowledge I have accumulated in the past years!

As far as venue goes, Hilton Post Oak (my personal favorite), Westin Galleria, Hilton Westchase, Omni West, Hilton Americas, Hyatt Downtown, and Royal Sonesta (formerly known as Intercontinental) seem like popular desi venues. My sister got married at the Renaissance, and they were SO easy to work with. I would think that these venues do not uphold desi parties to the Food and Beverage minimum. Renaissance was between 18-24 dollars a person - we were able to substitute and deduct many items i.e the cake which we wanted to get on our own rather than through the hotel, deduct cheese/fruit appetizers since we were catering a great deal of food already. I am a little surprised and taken a back by these Food and Bev minimums as I did not know they existed at locations where desi weddings seem to be taking place quite frequently. I was positive they would work with you. I guess the only drawback would be that they would prefer to take an event that was using their catering, thus not locking in your date/reservation until 3-4 months prior? Is that how it works? eek..that makes me nervous.

Some venues I have been to fewer weddings at that are great locations are the Crowne Plaza by the airport - nice interior, Omni in Galleria area (I didn’t even know there was an Omni there but its really pretty on the inside and is a hidden gem) and Enchanted Cypress - this independent ballroom looks beautiful! Also, I am sure everyone in Houston knows that everyone and their mom has their mehndi at Chateau Crystale Ballroom. Its a nice venue with lots of space so I definitely see why people like to use it. I personally had my mind set on somewhere in the Galleria area - either Royal Sonesta or Hilton Post Oak - it has these cute chandeliers and mirrors on the site of the banquet hall which I think just look so elegant (coincidentally where I also had my high school prom!) I myself would like to do my mehndi at home, so my research mainly focuses on venues appropriate for weddings, receptions, etc. I am a little out of the loop as far as banquet halls go so if anyone knows of others please let us know!

Make Up - Look up Infinite Perfection on Facebook. This girl is awesome - she does make up, mehndi, and hair all of which are stellar. She has hundreds of pictures so you can see her work for mehndi looks, engagement shoots, wedding ceremonies, and receptions. She did my friend’s wedding in July over a scorchingly hot weekend and her make up endured the heat and sweat of the weekend. Make Up By Shazia Kazi is also a great artist, Make up by Shazia (another Shazia), Fashion Face, all look like great artists. Not sure if they all do hair though but Infinite Perfection does.

Photography - SB Image Studio seems to be used ALOT by desi ppl lately. She should also have a facebook group but here is her site: SB Image Studios wedding photography Houston Theres also Touch of Color studios. NICO photography over processes and photoshops their photos which I am not a fan of.

Videography - really it seems like A&A dominates here. I haven’t been able to find another vendor that does video like them - if there are any in Houston please let me know. The last time i heard their charges were close to 10 k, so I am surprised that someone was quoted 4-5k for their videography services. Nice to know they come down on their prices - 10K is SO EXPENSIVE!!!

DJ’s : Desi junction looks awesome. They do lighting packages as well and are ALWAYS booked. I have heard nothing but great things about them and they make your event look gorgeous. DJ Chani is awesome!

Food - Bombay Brasserie, Lazeeza, Mezban, India’s, Gourmet India are great options, although Lazeeza can really be hit or miss. I went to a wedding catered by Lazeeza recently and was so impressed. It was also a wedding with a large budget so maybe thats why - but they had fresh bbq beef and chicken cuts along with regular food which was just amazing - especially in the winter time. It was the first time I enjoyed the food thoroughly at a wedding and actually ate til I was full.

Decor: Prashe Decor, Decor One by Nalini seem to dominate here. I’ve heard Prashe is overpriced and her customer service is not the best but her designs are amazing. I have heard nothing but great things about Decor One. I am not sure on the price range for either vendor, but it seems like every other wedding is decorated by these two. They do lovely work and you can definitely find them on Facebook and online. If anyone knows how much they charge please share!

Wedding Planners - Electric Karma Events - I’ve been to a number of weddings organized by Therese at Electric Karma. I hear shes wonderful and the events I went to were flawless.

Clothes/Jewelery - this is where I am completely clueless. I went to UT Austin for college and then moved to Dallas for work, so I really don’t have a pulse on where to go for great jewelry and clothes and if there are any boutiques that custom make bridals and have great customer service while doing so. I hear Poshak is a great place to start but I am not sure on price ranges. If anyone knows anything about clothes and jewelry then please let us know!

ok whew thats all i have for now…gotta get back to work. yay for a Texas thread!

Lynette J & Texpertz dominate the photography scene in Dallas!

As far as clothes go, honesty, most people I know (and I’m born and raised in Dallas!) do end up going back to Pakistan for their bridal wear ( or at least order the tough somewhere there). What little decent bridals who see here in the local stores are crap.

Jewelry, on the other hand, is amazing! Govindjis, Tilak & Malani Jewelers have amazing designs!

For decor: Suman Pai w/An Elegant Affair is the leader, with Prashe coming in second.

DJ’s are a dime a dozen…many to choose from!

Vendors I used for my wedding earlier this year:

1) Make-up: I used Fashion Face. Berkha for MU / Tatiyana for hair. Very professional experience. Got tons of compliment. Mu/Hair lasted the entire time. MU brands used on me were MAC, Kryolan, and Laura Mercier. I hired them to come to my hotel since I didn't have time to travel. They showed up on time and did a great job. They also did hair and MU for my sisters and mom.

2) Food: My appetizers during cocktail hour and desserts came from the hotel, but dinner was catered by Bombay Brasserie. They cooked naan on site. Food was great. Desi and non-desi....all the guests loved it.

3) Decor: Decor to Remember. I worked with Valerie Rooney from beginning to end. She has tons of experience decorating/planning events, and was my favorite vendor during the process. It was easy to negotiate prices with her, and she worked within my budget.

4) Clothing: I didn't have the time or patience to do extensive research on this. Going overseas was no an option. I ordered my outfit at Dolly's Boutique on Hillcroft. Hubby and I saw another outfit there and customized the kameez style and colors. The outfit exceeded my expectations.

5) DJ/Lighting/Dhol: DJ Impact did my music and lights. Highly recommend him. Very nice, laid back guy. I gave him very specific instructions on what to play during our entrance, performances (we had belly dancers), slide show etc., and he got everything perfect. There was not 1 single technical glitch during the night. Played a great mixture of American and desi (old school and new) music.

For dhol, we had Dholi JupMasterG for the reception. When people were dancing, he was actually on floor interacting with the crowd. Instead of beating the drum randomly, he actually coordinated with the music. His dhol has LED lights and people thought that was super cool too.

i'm so happy to see that more girls have been involved in keeping this thread going.

I am in the process of getting my own shaadi together and so far I love my photo/video team. They aren't well known but have done amazing work so far and I don't know any of their previous clients. They have a very very unique and fresh approach to wedding shoots and I can highly recommend them but I don't want to advertise their name until my wedding is over with if you don't mind.

As for makeup I think i'm leaning towards Saniya Momin but i'm having my makeup done by Farhana this weekend, let's see how that goes. She's doing it for free because her husband is one of the photographers we are shooting with. Inshallah I like the look because I haven't booked my MUA as of yet so it may just be her. I have also contacted Hooked On Henna and I wish I had time to do bridal trials but I really don't the wedding is 16 days away YIKES! Henna by Shehzlan is also an option for my bridal henna and I may ask her to apply henna for guests at the mehndi function.

I have to say I was a really let down when I heard makeup artist in town quote prices for party makeup and hair and when they heard I was doing a photoshoot the price jumped like at least $75. That's ridiculous to spend $200 on one makeup and hair look for a few hours. You could buy a heavy suit to wear after your wedding with that lol go to prototype she can make it for you!

Some desi makeup artist were charging $75 for makeup, not even hair and would charge more if they had to drive to me. Ladies listen to me now, go to MAC at first colony mall or the galleria and let them do your makeup (if your shoot is taking place during normal hours). Mine was in the morning so I couldn't do that but I have sent plenty of brides down that path for garba, sangeet, mehndi makeup. Buy $50 worth of makeup and your makeup application is free and they do an amazing job with desi faces. Feel free to tell your MUA that you want to go a shade or two lighter bc culturaly girls want that gori dulhan thing most of the time. Now we aren't asking to be white as a wall like say 80s brides were but you get what I mean. Last year for my gujurati friend we got her taken care of the day of her pithi and the next morning was her garashanti pooja at home. Pithi is like a mayyoun btw.. anyhow when she woke up her makeup was still flawless we just had to re-do her foundation bc her eyes were exactly the same and luckily both outfits were similar in color. Oh but I stress please don't be a desi and buy $50 worth of makeup and then return it the next week, that's cheating a pretty great system and kinda low. Please don't go there.

I don't know if all girls are okay with a $200+ pricetag for photoshoot hair and makeup but I definitely wasn't. I went with a makeup artist a friend recommended named Viviana who ended up standing me up that morning. I was so upset my cheeks got all red but my gf and I pulled it together and luckily I can do pretty good makeup (mA) so all was well. I have seen that Viviana does great makeup on my friends, she's an African American girl my friend found through craigslist but warning is she comes late, she also does hair and charges a great/affordable fee with eyelashes included. that's another thing a lot of MUA charge extra for lash application. Luckily things got done. however I have seen Miss V's work and she does nice makeup application. I can't share those pics with yall but it is what it is.

I wish Huma Aunty wasn't in pakistan bc she'd be my go-to person for everything her brides look the best in town in my opinion. Hair wise and dupatta setting Iffie's is the best and I have a hair appt. with her today actually... 281.564.4333. My hair is long and very heavy and when she gives me a hairstyle I swear to you it stays perfect for even the day after. Most people suck, such as the people at Ather Shahzad in Lahore for example and they were doing Iman's hair and makeup that day so wth. I just figure I have really heavy hair so that's it but Iffie Aunty does an amazing job. She's located in alief near hwy 6 and bellaire. She also does makeup and did a great job with a trial we had recently but i'm still trying to make time to check out other people's work.

If anyone wants to see footage of my first photoshoot let me know I don't mind sharing pics/video with women i'm comfortable with I just don't want to put it out here.

Prototype is making the outfits for my sister to wear at the shaadi and valima inshallah, and will make a few of my jahez. I was also going to get a few outfits from cyma bc her stuff is great as well. Unfortunately while I was in pak I didn't get much shopping done due to blasts and shootings. I did order my bridal from MAB Bridal across from the Dolmen mall on Tariq Rd. I did buy a lot of really nice cotton ready to wear stuff from typical places like khaadi and generation. I learned how much work it takes to make cute kurtis and salwar kameez but heading to the Plaza in Clifton. That's no easy task. My respect for all these back home designers was highly raised. Also when I share the mehndi pics i'll let you know the designer I opted for. :)

Getting married is an extremely stressful time. I can't wait to accomplish my to-do list and just sit back and enjoy the wedding inshallah. Please keep me in your duas because lord knows i need them! :)

Dallas Makeup Artists:

Makeup by Shilpa -I’m using her for my wedding, Inshallah!

Khattichic- are Govindjis/Tilak any good for artificial jewelry?

Hello guys!

I'm from Houston and this thread is so helpful! Thanks to all the info!

I got engaged this summer and finding clothes for the engagement was really hard! All of my family and my fiancee's family are in the US (my fam is in Houston, his is in Dallas) so there's no going back to Paki to do shopping for us. Our wedding will hopefully be in July 2014 and I wanted to get started early with clothes.

Soooo, any boutiques that anyone would recommend for the shaadi/valima outfits? I got my engagement clothes from Bridals N' More and although it was nice, it was pretty pricey for a simple outfit. I've also heard Rani Emaan in DC is good, but she seems exorbitantly expensive. Has anyone used/been to other places for clothes? This would be massively helpful!!

Also, just FYI, I went to Fashion Face for a trial for the engagement and they were AWFUL. I mean, really, really, really bad. I looked scary and my mom actually screamed a little when I came back from the trial. I didn't have the main girl there do the trial, but for $50, I was expecting more. The lady there kept commenting on how my skin wasn't perfect (yeah, I had a couple of pimples--that's why I'm coming to a professional place to get my makeup done!!), she put on the most uncomfortable & cheap pair of lashes, and just made me feel horrible about my skin.

Texan Dulhans

Hi everyone! I'm from Houston as well so this thread it helpful . Thank you! I am getting married at the end of the year and am looking for boutiques as well- maybe in house? As the people on him rift are outrageous in pricing! Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!!

I’d love to hear any updates from you ladies here! It looks like my wedding might be in May 2015 so I am definitely getting more serious about the research. Lets bring this thread back!! Share your experiences with photo, video, venue, make up, food, etc!

Has anyone worked with Samira Faridi at Poshak? I am curious how she is to work with and her range.

The only thing i can say about Samira Faridi is $$$ i went to see some of her stuff just to get an idea. An outfit that might cost $300-400 in pakistan…she is charging close to $1500-2000 for it. Happygirl and Punjabikudi…if you two are interested i can give you contact information for a very good boutique in lahore…who can show you the work over skype and modify it and custome make it for you.

Absolutely! Can you PM the details? Thank you!

Texan Dulhans

Yes please!!that would really help. Thank you rabia3983.

Also poshak is outrageous in their prices and not even worth it..definitely would not go there

Adding two more vendors on this list from the Dallas Area. I highly recommend them!

1. Saima Siddiqui, Jasmine Dew (Flower Garlands)
    Facebook

2. Faiza Rehman, Wedding Decor by Faiza
    Facebook

Thanks for the information cutiepi!

One of my favorite photographers is from Texas, Mir Anwar! Just love his stuff but I have never heard of what his customer service is like!

I just spoke with an event planner in Houston yesterday and they asked me questions regarding various vendors I would like to work with. When I said I was interested in A&A, they kindly informed me that their prices have sky rocketed in the last 1.5 years. They said for a full coverage package – both photo and video and all the bells and whistles, they now charge $25,000. That’s right, twenty-five thousand.

I was shell shocked. I know they are pricey but I was thinking around the 10K mark. And I realize the average wedding may not need the full shabang package – (We are not having any pre-wedding events in a hall, everything is at home with ceremony and reception being at a hotel) but how much would they even come down from that INSANE price? I am all about pomp and circumstance and go all out for your big day, but when the wedding industry starts charging such insanely high prices it makes me sad that so much extravagance is considered a norm at weddings now. Maybe because I don’t have the budget I feel this way, but even if I did have a 100K budget, I would be surprised that I am spending 25,000 DOLLARS on photo and video….wow! I guess its good for the wedding business…maybe I need to quit my job and go into wedding photo/video!

I am contacting A&A directly now to see what options they have. I know they are not the end all be all of wedding photo/video in Houston, but I don’t think many can argue they are the best. If it won’t work for the budget, it won’t work and I will move on. Thankfully there are some other good ones out there like Aventography and Blink Films and Images. If anyone has any other photo/video folks I should contact please let me know!

Texan Dulhans

Yeah A&A is outrageous but the quality of work is phenomenal . Look into their sister company 1cinema and their quality is great as well and more cost efficient.

I agree the quality of work as far as videography is concerned is unmatchable. But close to 10K for photography from them is not worth it in my opinion. There is such a wide variety of talented photographers to choose from that charge in the 3500-5K range in the city its so hard to make a decision! Its exciting and overwhelming at the same time.

In my opinion 1cinema productions isn’t THAT cost efficient, but it is a bit cheaper. The quality is the same as far as video goes but the major difference I see is in editing. A&A is more cinematic and 1 Cinema Productions is more modern in style, but the cool editing and music effects are completely lost with 1CP. Its basic editing which to me is not worth what they charge. I hope they work with their customers to create packages that are at least tad more reasonable.