Texan Dulhans

Re: Texan Dulhans

I haven't ever attended a wedding in the DFW area but I'm sure if I ask some of my friends maybe I can compile a list that would help you out. Sorry!

*​Just a heads up the next post will be about houston photographers (will try to get dallas and austin ones too) and henna artists. *

Recently when my friend took me at Agha juice at Voss road and Highway 6, I was amazed by desi shops there.

I saw wedding decor shop.
http://www.jubileedecor.com/www.jubileedecor.com/HOME.html

they do a great job, and the store Sarina’s right next to it has great pakistani wear, the owner is a friend and she can make custom bridal dresses and has lots of paki bridal magazines for a girl to sit down and go through, even has some knock offs in the back.

Okay so I found a couple websites that list a few photographers, one of the websites you have to sign up for to get the vendor’s info. Here are those websites:
http://indianweddingsite.com/local_vendor_result/223/43/texas/16/photography/0/0/1/3http://houston.localfiles.com/indian/houston/yellow_pages/photography/list_1.htmhttp://www.dallasindianweddings.com/vendors

I’m going to start off with one of my favorite houston photographers (he also travels) named Zia of Aventography they also do video and have done a few of the recent weddings I have attended and each family was very pleased with the results. His studio is located in town square sugarland.
http://aventography.com/http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000880006938&ref=ts

Midnight chai photography
](http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000880006938&ref=ts)http://www.facebook.com/MidnightChai[http://www.facebook.com/MidnightChai](http://www.facebook.com/MidnightChai)[TABLE=“class: uiInfoTable profileInfoTable noBorder, width: 0”]

[email protected]

1 281.826.2424

http://www.MidnightChai.com

HAK photography is Himmad’s company, young guy with a fresh outlook on the desi wedding scene, I like his work and I checked in with him back in April and he didn’t have a studio, I’m hoping he does by now but even if he doesn’t he’s worth booking a consultation with because his work speaks for itself.
[TABLE=“class: uiInfoTable profileInfoTable noBorder, width: 0”]

[email protected]

1 71358144425

http://www.hakphotography.com

pics removed by request

mashallah what a pretty bride and dress, sorry I had to throw that in here!

MnM Photo, Don’t know much about them but I do know a couple people that recently had their weddings done by them and engagement shoots so houston people may want to check them out. I’m not sure if they travel or not:
http://mnmfoto.smugmug.com/[http://www.facebook.com/pages/MnMFoto-Wedding-Photography/114551348621236

b](http://www.facebook.com/pages/MnMFoto-Wedding-Photography/114551348621236)tw this first bride used Sarah Ali from the transformation studio for her makeup:

Lomesh Photography -** DALLAS
http://www.lomeshphotography.com/http://www.facebook.com/lomeshphotography[TABLE=“class: uiInfoTable profileInfoTable noBorder, width: 0”]

[email protected]

http://www.lomeshphotography.com

](http://www.facebook.com/lomeshphotography)

A&A video is probably the best company to get your video done from, it’s run by a pair of brothers that graduated from UT and are based out of houston. I will say that I have attended 2 weddings in austin that they covered and in one of them I was a bridesmaid literally running through a courtyard with our bride and doing silly things they asked of us. I remember we felt awkward about poses and things they asked us to do but the end result was totally worth it. They are the best video people hands down. A Photography company they work closely with is Nico and below is the information for both companies. I will point out in the past I’ve had friends use Ashok Bhai (houston) for a photography and A&A for video so you dont’ have to book Nico and A&A together. Again this company is the best at video and worth the price.
http://www.facebook.com/ananicostudio[TABLE=“class: uiInfoTable mts profileInfoTable pageInfoTable noBorder, width: 0”]

10101 Southwest Freeway #574, Houston, TX 77074 · Get Directions

1 713.772.6899

http://www.ana-nico.com

](http://www.facebook.com/ananicostudio)

O](http://www.facebook.com/ananicostudio)kay so there are wedding clips you can view but they are not allowed to be embedded on another website so please do check this link out and consider them for your special occasion.
**http://vimeo.com/29498030](http://vimeo.com/24286532)http://vimeo.com/24286532
http://vimeo.com/26734797

Touch of color - again i’m not familiar with their work:

[http://www.touchofcolorstudio.com/

[TABLE=“width: 100%”]

Address
6666 Harwin Dr Suite 290 Houston 77036
Houstont texes 77036 [URL=“http://maps.yahoo.com/maps_result?addr=6666%20Harwin%20Dr%20Suite%20290%20Houston%2077036%20&csz=Houstont%2C+texes+77036&country=&new=1&name=&qty=”] [Map]](http://www.touchofcolorstudio.com/) [Directions]

Phone
281-701-7141

Vibrant Moments - Houston
[http://www.vibrantmoments.com/

Paul Ernest - DALLAS](http://www.vibrantmoments.com/)http://www.dallasindianweddings.com/vendors?vendor_id=107[http://www.dallasindianweddings.com/vendors?vendor_id=107](http://www.dallasindianweddings.com/vendors?vendor_id=107)[http://paulernestphotography.com/](http://paulernestphotography.com/)

Dreams Innovations - Stafford, TX
Dreams Innovations
323 N. Marathon WayStafford, TX 77477
[ul]
[li]p: (713) 5882833[/li][/ul][http://www.photoreflect.com/pr3/store.aspx?p=30284

Open Windows - Dallas
](http://www.photoreflect.com/pr3/store.aspx?p=30284)http://www.openwindowphotography.com/#

Alex Ham -
[ul]
[li]100 Parkhouse Street Dallas 75207[/li][li]214-534-7646[/li][/ul][http://www.alexhamphoto.com/

](http://www.alexhamphoto.com/)
[ul][li]Bombay Photography[/li][li]320 Decker Drive Irving, 75062[/li][li]972.679.7921[/li][li]Aftab Chagani[/li][li][URL=“http://www.dallasindianweddings.com/redirect.php?vendor_id=73&url=http://www.bombayphotography.com”]http://www.bombayphotography.com[/li][li][EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected][/li][li][/li]

[/ul]Also I can highly recommend Ashok Patel (aka Ashok Bhai) he lives in houston and has done amazing work for my friends Reena and Hiren and Millie and Chirag’s wedding a few years ago, both were austin weddings and A&A did the video for both ceremonies. I don’t know why he doesn’t have a website but his prices are affordable he makes amazing wedding books for your coffee table that company would love to flip through. he truly does amazing work and retouches and everything really nicely and it boggles my mind as to why he doesn’t have a website anyhow here’s his contact info:
Ashok PatelCherrybark Oak Drive
Houston, 77082
Phone - (281) 793-4760

v nice pics all.....I miss Dallas!!! - anyone from there?

Ha…fiance & I know this couple very well. Had a blast at their wedding a few months ago. Where did you get these pics? I didn’t see it on A&A site (unless I missed it?).

Great thread SLH!..wish i had this thread when i was wedding planning :frowning: …we wanted paul ernest from dallas to do our wedding but was a bit out of our budget…we picked www.vekphoto.com to do ours and the pics were amazing to say the least…worth mentioning

ME!!!!!

all of the pics in this topic will be from the vendor’s website or facebook pages here is the link to their wedding and reception pics: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.220192498036304.74844.158929330829288&type=1

Thanks for posting their link. for the GS girls planning a wedding here are a few samples from vekphoto.com (DALLAS)

Nadia if you don’t mind do you think you could add a pic or two of your wedding decor or something more desi than this couple that’s featured on their website so that texan brides get an idea of what they can do with our cultural weddings?

Also curious did you order one of those coffee table wedding books? if so do you mind letting us know if you were happy with the quality and about how long it took to come in? It’s one thing for me to list vendors but this topic would be a lot more helpful if brides could comment here and there about vendors they used, photographers, catering, halls/hotels etc…

Ankita Mehndi Designs - HOUSTON
[email protected] OR [email protected]
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=21151603267&v=info

http://mehnditime.com/default.aspx](http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=21151603267&v=info)
Mehndi Time ***
** c- 512-535-2208
*](http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=21151603267&v=info)*e- [EMAIL=“hennaartist@mehndi[/MENTION]time.com”]hennaartist[MENTION=1759]mehnditime.com](http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=21151603267&v=info) ](http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=21151603267&v=info)[size=2]p- austin, TX 78749
[/size]Mehndi Time offers quality mehndi /henna tattoo services serving AUSTIN, SAN ANTONIO, DALLAS, and HOUSTON in TEXAS AREA. Anju Garg, the mehndi artist at Mehndi Time is the fastest mehndi artist in Texas. [size=4][size=2]You are welcome to browse through my [/size][/size][size=4][size=2][size=2]work[/size][/size][/size][size=4][size=2], mehndi books and [/size][/size][size=4][size=2]supplies.
[/size][/size]

Anju’s gallery:

Seema Doshi of Houston Henna:
http://houstonhenna.com/aboutus.shtml

](http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=mehndi+in+austin&fb=1&gl=us&hq=mehndi&hnear=Austin,+TX&cid=12399878375657649216&z=14)****Mehndi by Aliya:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Incredible-Mehndi-by-Aliya/227952710574768

[TABLE=“class: uiInfoTable profileInfoTable noBorder, width: 0”]

(http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=mehndi+in+austin&fb=1&gl=us&hq=mehndi&hnear=Austin,+TX&cid=12399878375657649216&z=14)[email protected]

Phone1 713.530.7399](http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=mehndi+in+austin&fb=1&gl=us&hq=mehndi&hnear=Austin,+TX&cid=12399878375657649216&z=14)

H](http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=mehndi+in+austin&fb=1&gl=us&hq=mehndi&hnear=Austin,+TX&cid=12399878375657649216&z=14)ooked on Henna: **

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000691740876
Z
ohra of hooked on henna also does makeup and I think hair…not too sure anyhow here’s some sample pics of makeup and henna:

Finally comes The Original Henna Company and I’ve had friends use them years ago, don’t have any upclose pics of the mehndi but the color was dark the designs were very intricate and the price was over $300 and this was years ago so i’m not sure how much that has changed. I was very impressed by the overall look.
http://www.hennacompany.com/Studio Location1130 Yale St. **
Houston TX 77008](http://www.hennacompany.com/)
[281.630.8389

](http://www.hennacompany.com/)**

*](http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&ie=UTF8&q=mehndi+in+austin&fb=1&gl=us&hq=mehndi&hnear=Austin,+TX&cid=12399878375657649216&z=14)

Venues:

Houstons Ballrooms
Ph: (281) 893-5146
www.‎houstonsballrooms.com](http://maps.google.com/local_url?q=www.houstonsballrooms.com/&dq=&cid=8711948007723510034&ved=0CDsQ5AQ&sa=X&ei=hGGpTvSGMMib8gaG0dDTBA&s=ANYYN7mQDPfmOZg8hnf-jkwK0VEalb5kkA)

Ashelynn Manor
Ph: 281-252-3355
www.ashelynnmanor.com

Sam Houston Ballroom and Conference Center
713-270-6100
www.samhoustonballroom.com

Chateau Crystale Ballroom
832-460-1587
www.receptionhallhouston.com

yea sure…

We did order one album that came with our package and it is very chic. It is not leather, but really good quality and has a very modern look to it…i was told that the albums won some kind of award. After we selected the pics we wanted, he showed us the design he created for us for approval…it took about 2-3weeks after we approved it. They are desi, so they understand our ceremonies very well and didn’t miss a beat. Hands down, the best vendor at my wedding.
My mendhi was done by a lady named sharmeen…she was great!..don’t think she has a website…her direct number is..972.594.4548..she was referred to me by a few friends.
Both vekphoto.com and sharmeen were spectacular on my day:)

I’ve been super busy lately so I’m sorry that I haven’t updated for awhile but there are a few eid events happening in houston to get some mehndi done at and to shop at here are the links:

Sat Nov. 5th: [http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=206648286068022
[TABLE=“class: uiInfoTable mvm profileInfoTable, width: 0”]

TimeSaturday, November 5 · 5:00pm - 11:00pm

[TR=“class: spacer”]
[HR][/HR]
[/TR]

LocationMarriott Sugar Land Town Square16090 City Walk

EID BAZAAR.

The 5th EID BAZAAR will take place on Saturday, November 5th at Marriott Sugar Land Town Square. A festive mehendi night will also take place. Come with family and friends and enjoy a night filled with fun on Chaand Raat!

VENDOR LIST WILL BE UPDATED SHORTLY!

Designer Clothes by:
Desi Couture
Tasneem (dallas)
Kraze Boutique
Dee Dee’s Fashion
Sha’s Moda …

basically click the link to find out more

There’s another chand raat mela at bbq tonight on Friday Nov 4th
Hooked On Henna
searching for more henna artists to join our booth at friday 11/4 chand raat mela at bbq tonite banquet hall (sugarland) between 11am -11 pm!!! interested local artists, please inbox me!!! thanks!

Not sure who is selling what there but i’m posting this for yall to get an idea on more clothing vendors in texas.

](“http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000691740876”)

I haven’t been to a wedding at the Hilton Post Oak in a few years but I will say that and Intercontinental -Galleria houston and Omni the galleria location are some of my favorite venues. I’ll add the double tree downtown houston to that list… anyhow I found a wedding blog website that shows a lot of texan weddings and found this desi couple’s story nice and loved the pics. Here are their vendors list:

Vendors:
Venue: Hilton Post Oak in Houston, TX
Dress: Bawree in Santacruz, Mumbai, India
Cake: We opted out of a cake and used that money to make our wedding even more special to us.
Floral: I ordered them from Sam’s Club and my sisters and cousins made my and my bridesmaids bouquets.
Linens: Mandap Creations for ALL of our decorations
Catering: Bombay Brasserie
DJ/Band: DJ Yogi Goyal
Videographer:* A&A Video*
Invitations/Wedding Stationery: *I bought them from a small invitation shop in Mumbai. I cannot remember the name!

*http://www.groomsoldseparately.com/weddings/gss-featured-wedding-akata-avaneeshs-extravagant-indian-wedding-sassani-photography/
Today’s featured wedding comes from Ben Sassani of [COLOR=#f293bf]Sassani Photography. He is a Houston, Texas based wedding photographer. Ben has been so accommodating to GSS on this feature. Thank you! We also want to give a shout out to the AH-Mazing Amber Strickler of Zasey Photography for second shooting on this gorgeous wedding! This wedding is so awesome and so full of details that we decided to break this feature up into two posts. Today we will cover all of the pre-ceremony images. Next week, we’ll cover all of the ceremony and the reception images.
Akata and Avaneesh were married at [COLOR=#f293bf]The Hilton Post Oak in Houston, Texas on May 28, 2011. Akata and Avanessh were kind enough to answer a few questions for us:[http://www.sassaniphotography.com/index2.php#/home/

**How did Avaneesh propose? *Avaneesh surprised me with a trip to Nassau, Bahamas. He rented a private boat and had the captain take us to the uninhabited Rose Island (named for the color of its sand-pink, aka my favorite color!). As the sun was setting, he got down on one knee and proposed!

](http://www.sassaniphotography.com/index2.php#/home/)Akata, your dress is gorgeous, where did you get it and how did you know it was “the one”? *Well we were having a traditional Indian wedding with all the pre-wedding events and the wedding and reception. I needed to buy 5 Indian outfits. My family and I traveled to India for 2 weeks and purchase all of my outfits in Mumbai. I knew my wedding outfit was the “one” because when I saw it, I immediately pictured myself walking down the aisle in it. I hadn’t felt that way about any other outfit I had seen.

](http://www.sassaniphotography.com/index2.php#/home/)Akata, what was your “something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue”? *Because I had so many events for my wedding, I spread them out throughout the 3 days. My something old was a necklace my grandmother left me; I wore it to my first event, the Mehndi. For my something new, I had all my new outfits from India. My something borrowed was the necklace my grandmother gave to my mother to wear at her wedding. I wore the same necklace for my wedding. My something blue was Avaneesh! His outfit for our reception was an elegant blue Indian outfit.

](http://www.sassaniphotography.com/index2.php#/home/)](http://www.sassaniphotography.com/index2.php#/home/)[http://www.groomsoldseparately.com/weddings/gss-featured-wedding-akata-avaneeshs-lavish-indian-wedding-sassani-photography-part-2/

Do you have any advice for bride and grooms that are in the planning process? ](http://www.groomsoldseparately.com/weddings/gss-featured-wedding-akata-avaneeshs-lavish-indian-wedding-sassani-photography-part-2/)*[Plan ahead! Regardless of how much time you have (or don’t have), it’s important to move quickly on the decisions you have made and make a timely, sound decisions on those you haven’t. In a city the size of Houston, there are hundreds (possibly thousands) of weddings year-round, so if you have a particular venue, photographer, make-up artist, etc. in-mind, then book them quickly because if you wait too long, you’re most likely going to be searching for the next-best option. Also, most vendors require non-refundable deposits, so make sure you are completely sold on the vendor before signing any contract or paying any deposit because that money is not coming back. I feel that some couples make decisions too quickly without having done the proper research and end up regretting it. Some even take the loss (which can be in the thousands) and sign with another vendor they liked better. Take your time in making decisions but make sure they are YOUR decisions. It is okay to include family members and/or friends in the process but keep in mind that this is your wedding and you make the decisions! Also, be as organized as possible. We used Google applications (email, calendar, documents) to stay organized and to collaborate with our family members who were helping us. If you have a large family, use them

http://www.groomsoldseparately.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

Assign roles and responsibilities early on so everyone knows what’s expected of them on the Big Day.](http://www.groomsoldseparately.com/weddings/gss-featured-wedding-akata-avaneeshs-lavish-indian-wedding-sassani-photography-part-2/)*

](http://www.sassaniphotography.com/index2.php#/home/)

Beautiful pics and thank you for listing sharmeen aunty’s contact info and what not, congrats on your wedding!

This is a Dallas Ft. Worth photographer and I just really liked this NON DESI wedding. The hotel venue makes it seem like a houston area wedding and The Houstonian Hotel looks like an amazing venue.

This isn’t a dulhan but she had a very nice decor and gorgeous dress and was a texan bride. I think girls planning a valima with ligher colors could get some ideas from this couple’s wedding and reception. here’s the blog post taken from:
http://www.groomsoldseparately.com/weddings/real-weddings/gss-featured-wedding-professional-heather-essian-portrait-arts/

Today we have a wedding from Heather Essian Portrait Arts and we are thrilled to share it with you. If you want to see her post, be sure to tell her we sent you. You can check it out here. Enjoy this GSS readers, we sure did!
What do you get when you add the following ingredients to a wedding :: Vera Wang Wedding Dress, Christian Louboutin Shoes, The Houstonian Hotel, the ultra fabulous duo, Heather Essian and Kari Crowe, and a ridiculously gorgeous bride and groom named Cindy and Peter? You get a wedding that was so uber-incredible you will want to come back to see it again and again!

http://heatheressian.com/

Pics from the asian celebration were taken from the photographer’s blog
http://heatheressian.com/2010/04/28/cindy-and-peter-tea-ceremony/cindy and peter {tea ceremony}

this is cindy and peter’s traditional tea ceremony…the colors are just gorgeous! i really enjoyed documenting this ceremony. traditionally the grooms family comes bearing gifts and food including a roasted pig for the bride to show that they can provide for the bride. (hope i got this right cindy

http://heatheressian.com/wp-includes/images/smilies/icon_smile.gif

)Receiving Bride at Her HouseOn the day of the wedding, the procession of the groom’s family is led in specific order. The first person would be the representative of the groom’s house followed by the groom’s father, the groom, then the rest of his family and close friendsIn the procession, the groom, his family and friends bear elaborately decorated lacquer boxes, covered in red cloth. Inside these boxes are gifts representing the wealth that the groom’s family will bring to the bride’s family. Gifts are betel, fruit, cakes, a roast pig, fabric, and an abundance of jewelry for the bride. Usually, the number of gift boxes varies between 6 or 8, but never 7 or 9 since it is seen as bad luck. However, it depends on personal view and might be reduced to 2-3 boxes.Upon arriving at the bride’s home, the procession lights fireworks to alert the bride’s family, who then lights its own round of firecrackers to welcome the groom’s procession. Members of the procession are introduced to the bride’s family, and the bride’s family introduces its members to the procession. The groom presents his gifts to the bride’s family, and he is given permission to greet the bride, who is finally brought out.The permission ceremony begins in front of the bride’s ancestor altar. The bride and groom burn incense sticks, asking for permission from the ancestors to bless them. The couple turns and bows to their parents, gives thanks for raising and protecting them. The bride and groom then bow to each other.A formal tea, candle ceremony and speeches follow. While tea has always been an essential part of Vietnamese life, Vietnamese tea culture is not as complex or ritually rigid as its counterparts in China, Japan or Korea. Nevertheless, a traditional wedding is about the only time in a Vietnamese person’s life that a formal tea ceremony is essential.The bride and groom, in front of all their guests, will serve tea (or wine) to their parents. Each parent will then give advice about marriage and family to the couple. A candle ceremony will follow, symbolizing the joining of the bride and groom and the joining of the two families. The groom’s gift boxes filled with jewelry will be opened by the groom’s mother, who will then put each piece on the bride for good fortune.

How have you ladies been doing? I just want to say I know it's been awhile but my friend's wedding is next week and I have been busy with eid and her stuff. Anyhow tonight i'll let yall know about some of the vendors I saw at Sugarland's Eid Fashion mela thing. Also my bride wanted me to check prices for waxing and stuff and spa days I'll update this with some new good stuff. I hope I get some feedback or testimonials for vendors from some of the girls that are reading this and were texas dulhans. I need more of yall to post to make this topic work and to help other brides and families.

^ Thanks for posting so many pics and all the info on vendors. Seems like you know a lot about all of this stuff so when my time comes closer I'll be coming to you.

I wanted to ask you a question about the finance aspect of Houston weddings since you may know more. A lot of these high end hotels charge a per head cost(which also consists of tax and service charge) and there's an additional food and beverage minimum for the hotel rental that has to be met. The problem I have is that these food/beverage minimums work for couples who cater 'American' food from the hotel so the hall rental is essentially almost free in the end, but someone like me would be catering from a desi restaurant so not a penny of the money I spend on catered food would go towards the 'food and beverage minimum' for hotel rental. Some of these hotels have $20,000 food&beverage minimum so I find it excessive to have to pay that much just to rent the hotel space for tables and chairs and then to pay an additional 10-15K for catering from a desi restaurant. How have desi couples dealt with this issue in the past? Or does everyone pay for desi catering + the 'food&beverage minimum' for rental at these hotels? I'm sure there's a way to negotiate. It would be awesome if some of these hotels teamed up with the desi restaurants to include the food we cater to be included in their 'food/beverage minimum.' Do you know anything about this or what couples have done as alternatives?

Intercontinental-Houston as well as the Hyatt Regency-Houston are two of my favs. I've been to two weddings at the Hyatt, but not any at the Intercontinental. We spoke to Hyatt to get rough figures on their pricing, but since we have a long way to go we haven't spoken to Intercontinental and I wonder if they're about the same as far as price...?
We contacted the Four Seasons and they were charging $25,000 food/beverage minimum for the largest 4,800 sq ft ballroom that can only hold 320 guests with a dance floor and stage. That is 'small' for your average desi Houston wedding and I don't the 25K price tag is worth the room rental. No wonder I've never seen a single video or picture of a desi wedding at the Four Seasons-Houston.
I think the Omni quoted us with a $20K food/beverage minimum ballroom rental, but I believe it's much larger and newly renovated...