Re: Tell us the story of your bridal jora!
@ Proto - Loved reading how creative you got with the designing of your joray - and they looked lovely on you mA
Sahar :k:
Loving the thread ![]()
I’ll be back with my pics very soon InshaaAllah.
love this thread :)
there should also be one on jewelery and people should share pictures. I would LOVE to see pictures of heirloom jewelery people wore at their weddings
excellent thread, miss sahar! **
What are the styles and colors?*
its a very pale tan, almost ivory-coloured lehenga. the bottom is heavily embroidered in shades of brown, ivory, khaki green and very little bits of maroon. the kameez is a darker shade of tan/brown. the dupatta is tan on the edges with similar kaam to the lehenga and ivory net in the center with booties.
*Who got and designed it?
i saw the design for the bottom on benzerworld.com and then i saw the fabric with the perfect embroidery/colours i was looking for in an upholstery shop, of all places, and i put the two together. the lady i had it made from had a different lehenga with a dupatta style that i loved so i requested the same. it was a very heavy dupatta though! since then, i’ve learned dupattas really need to be lighter with thinner borders so they drape well and don’t end up pulling down your hairstyle entirely.
*What year was it made?
*What was your reaction when you first saw it? How did you feel in it on your wedding day? How do you feel about it now?
i cried when i saw it because it was gorgeous. up until then, i’d seen some badly taken phone pictures and i’m sure some of the guppans remember that stress lol. i cried because it was nothing like the photos and i was SO relieved. the kaam was heavy and intricate and beautifully done and the colours were exactly what i had envisioned and asked for (yay, karachi dyers!). i felt excellent on my wedding day AH. in the dress, the day, the weather, my hair and makeup, my nani’s jewellery… all of it. i was just SO HAPPY to be marrying my husband and with all my family around me that it could have rained frogs and toads and i don’t think it would have ruined my day. the photographers have this amazing shot of when i walked into where my mom was getting dressed and her expression when she saw me and it makes me tear up, without fail, every single time. it makes me so happy that i could make her so happy! despite marrying outside our culture, when she saw me, she still saw her little girl all dolled up as a dulhan should be and as she had envisioned (see? getting all sentimental now!)
the only thing i would change from the original outfit now is the kameez. it could have been made of a slightly different silk- something heavier. it was very lightweight silk and on the short side so it needed some work in the dupatta setting and doing it in such a way that it weighed it down from the front, but i found that on the day of, i didn’t really care. its only since then when you sit down and review things with family that it occurred to me that possibly something different could have been done. i’m planning on wearing it again at my cousin’s shaadi this summer iA with a slightly longer, plain rawsilk shirt-- of course thatl depends on where i am with the baby weight! ![]()
*What does it say about you, your family, etc?
its just perfectly me and our wedding. we were having a fusion desi/gora affair, it was going to be outdoors in the gardens of this lovely private estate, it was a long weekend in the summertime and everything came together so perfectly AH.
also that i’m completely anal when it comes to kaam, colours, etc. i wrote out a 2-page Word document with very specific instructions for the lady making the lehenga in karachi. on the upside, she found it super helpful because she didn’t have to guess at anything. on the downside, i was a complete wreck until it arrived because i had given her such specific instructions.
*Where is it now?
at mum and dad’s, all nicely packed up in plastic and tissue and preserved for its next outing.
^ We need an image of the bottom of the lengha too!
proto – I like that tradition of giving away the jora. I was thinking about that with my pre-mehndi joras (the mayyun yellow ones). Such pretty outfits! Love all the colors.
njgal – the contrast is so pretty!
Just love the thread...i will be back soon with details and pictures :D
At the nikaah
At the shaadi
At the walima
See previous post for details!
Masha Allah nice pics everyone .
why cant i insert the image ? ![]()
^ Are you using the image uploader tool? See the link on the right.
Somebody enable my image uploading option please…mods :halo:
oh ok got it.....i will first upload the images and then the story in detail...thanks :)
^ I don't think they are restricted.
^ OMG AE those are some GORGEOUS outfits!
Mehndi
What are the styles and colors?
It was a frock with body in hot pinkish maroon shade and rest was olive green. Dopatta was yellow with patti of the body wala kapra. The frock was short in the front and long on the back and had gota kaam all around its border. Chooridaar was also green and sleeves were puff sleeves ![]()
Who got and designed it?
Me
What year was it made?
What was your reaction when you first saw it? How did you feel in it on your wedding day? How do you feel about it now?
I liked it and it looked good too. But now i feel the front of the frock should have been a bit longer (it was darzi’s fault though and i didnot had time for alterations)
What does it say about you, your family, etc?
I dont get this question exactly but i will answer it with question “What did ur friend/family thought about it?”
Everyone else liked it!
Where is it now?
Mom’s place back home.
Barat
It was a long open shirt in deep red and had silver, gold and champagne color kaam all over, with purple banarsi patti. Shirt and dopatta was crincle chiffon and lehnga was printed banarsi.
Who got and designed it?
I was in multan at that time. I browsed all the shops in the area but couldnot find the one that i wanted. Then one of my aunty’s friend’s nephew had just come to multan and was looking forward to open his couture. He had done the dress designing degree from iqra islamabad and had worked with nilopher shahid. I went to meet him with my mom and her friend. He showed us his work, it was really impressive. He had never made a bridal before that, although he had lots of formals. So it was kind of risky but the kaam was too good so i took it. I told him what i wanted, we worked out the details and taaraaaan it was done ![]()
What year was it made?
What was your reaction when you first saw it? How did you feel in it on your wedding day? How do you feel about it now?
Oh i just loved it. Everyone loved it. The kaam, fitting, lehnga’s shape and phailaao, everything was very graceful. I still love it ![]()
They loved it.
Where is it now?
Back home.
Walima
It was light sea green in color with brown border and dull gold, silver kaam. Shirt was medium in length,
Who got and designed it?
I chose it with my inlaws from bahawalpur as my inlaws live there. It was originally in white, we changed the color to light sea green.
What year was it made?
I liked it, though i felt the sleeves were a little wide but no biggie
I might want the shirt a little longer or shorter now but nothing desperately, it was good!
Everyone liked it!
Where is it now?
Back home.
what a lovely thread!
Prettyyy and sophisticated work ![]()
Thankyou ![]()
My fav colors ![]()