Re: Tell us the story of your bridal jora!
gone
gone
Which one is the valima one? I like them both, very pretty mA!
the light mauve one was the walima one...
Aw thank you for very much, ladies. I agree, I think it looked really nice.
Nikki, they sound so pretty! I love that you're keeping them for your daughters to wear! Can't wait to see pics!
Sara: That color is so lovely on you!
chipsy, I love them both! Wish we had a better sense of the colors. The baraat design is especially pretty. So nice!
aww lovely stories and pretty pics...mashAllah...keep them coming :)
I am loving this thread. ![]()
Lovely stories! I can't wait to come back and share mine inshallah. Even though these dresses are from couple years ago, they look so classic and good. I really hope this new trend of long shirts with lehnga doesn't start to look tacky later lol
I like that pillowcase ![]()
Ditto!
What are the styles and colors?
It was a deep red lehnga with antique gold kaam. I LOVED the colour, although I hadn’t intended to wear red on my wedding. The kaam was perfect, since I didn’t want an OTT lehnga with heavy kaam.
Who got and designed it?
snickers @ designed. I had a pretty ‘rush’ wedding. We basically had a month to plan, so there was no time to go shopping in Pakistan, nor custom design my outfit. I had to settle for a readymade lehnga from a desi boutique in Toronto.
**What year was it made?
**What was your reaction when you first saw it? How did you feel in it on your wedding day? How do you feel about it now?
When I first saw it, I wasn’t wow’ed by it. It seemed kinda traditional/typical, although the shade of red was really pretty, and I loved the antique copper/gold kaam on it. My mom was hell bent on me wearing red on the wedding, so she made me try it on. That’s when I was wow’ed. It was a perfect fit, and I fell in love with it. I loved it even more on the wedding day with jewellery and all. Now when I look at the pictures, a part of me still adores it, but a part of me also finds it a little old fashioned, especially compared to all the designer stuff out there now. In a way, it worked out for the best in the end because there was no way I was going to dish out a million bucks for a dress I was going to wear ONCE (or twice).
Where is it now?
It’s sitting in a suitcase in my parents’ house. I wore it at my sister’s mehndi but didn’t enjoy much. It was too much to handle, although it wasn’t a heavy lehnga. Plus some kid spilled juice on it. ![]()
pic removed
The colour looks kinda bright red in the picture, but it was a really pretty deep red shade.
pic removed
Ceebs, I remember your wedding pics. You looked STUNNING!! Your jewelry had complimented your outfit so well. ![]()
Sahar - that’s a very pretty, very delicate outfit!
lol Sara ![]()
Thanks, Sehar!
Seabs, I’ve seen that and it still hits me anew how lovely it is!! The red is so rich and the kaam is very nice! Who spilled juice on it? ![]()
awwww look at the beautiful joras.. sooo lovely!!
Ceebs.. I remember your pics and man you looked beautiful and elegant!!!
Sahar... LOVE it... I had seen it all packed up before but first time the full view!!!
Sahar - it’s 2 shades darker than what it looks like in the picture. I wanted something I could wear again and again without trying to look like i was upstaging the bride.
loving this thread :) :)
*What are the styles and colors?
*Who got and designed it?
mehndi = since we give off the jora in charity right away, it was not very heavy. it was a simple shalwar qameez with my mom’s jahaiz dupatta which i got dyed (it was actually offwhite) and extended with aqua green chiffon with gota borders. I stitched the dupatta myself
rukhsati = it was a lehnga in deep red baanrsi with self emboss jamaver shirt and american chiffon dupatta. I had seen a karma dress in a magazine and LOVED the shade so I personally went to karma with an appointment and found out it was actually maroon that looked red in pictures..so I chose that shade for myself. For kaam, it was pretty expensive in liberty and I got a border+motif (both from separate shops :D) I loved made on sleeves,got all the fabric from al-fajar,cavalry, and went to rang mahal and dropped the border sample (which were actually sleeves for a jahaiz dress) and got it made in half the price !
Walima dress = My mil had sensed during the engagement period that I never wore what they gave me as presents
our choices never matched !! so she called me one day and picked me and took to a shop ina uriga where they had got a bridal for her niece few weeks back. I didnt like the work there much but I was happy that atleast I can get to CHOOSE colours of my choice. it is aqua blue and light green gharara and i LOVE it. not too heavy but i loved it.
*What year was it made?
*What was your reaction when you first saw it? How did you feel in it on your wedding day?
LOVED the feeling..but HATED myself on walima because of the worst ever makeup in sargodha :-/ I dont have any pictures from the actual walima either for the same reason .. yuck..i hate to even think how i looked like
luckily i had a mini-walima a week later hosted my my eldest SIL in sheikhupura and I got a chance to wear it again..not professional makeup, but still i felt great !
How do you feel about it now?
lol.this thread reminded it of the joras..though I wore the red one on my sister’s mehndi (she got married two months after me, so I still fitted in it
) and I wore the walima gharara to my sister’s and my best friend’s wedding again
so..i think paisay halal ho gaye dono kay ![]()
*Where is it now?
sitting in a suitcase now !
this thread is so interesting!!! too bad Im not married yet! :(