Re: Taweez culture
i dont believe in taweez for the same reason i do not believe in going to dargaz. we should ask Allah talaah directly for protection, read the ayats etc dil se.. it doesnt have to be on our body for protection.
I know many people even in my family who used to wear Taweez for some reason. One of my friend here in Canada wears one and asked why because he got scared while sleeping when he was on his trip in Pakistan and got scared so badly that he started crying and started reciting Ayat ul Kursi in-deliberately and he's a mature married guy. He became fine after few days but happened once again he's back in Canada so one of his friend referred him to any buzurg back in Pakistan who gave him some Quranic ayats to recite and blow on the water and drink and sent a taweez and now he's fine, so I can't any thing about these because I saw people ignorant to these practices but changed completely after some incidents.
Going to dargaz doesn’t that you’re asking from them and that’s the misconception most of people have. Yes there are some people who asks who doesn’t have enough knowledge and it’s not right. Speaking about myself, never went to mazarat in my life but wanted to go. Same thing when I make dua and what I learned that " Jo bhi hai humare pass woh Allah k karam se aur humare Huzoor Hazrat Muhammad
k sadqe k nateeje mein hai warna hum gunahgaroon ki kya auqat k kuch upar se mile" and same way I ask for forgiveness.
I remember, those *mirchian *put on flame and then *ghumaing *on ill person head..... nazar bad say bacho......
What I know is to use these mirchis to find out if you have a nazar or not and to take it off and for me it makes sense because after flaming up mirchis my mother used to recite some verses along whirling around the person head and if he has a nazar the mirchis don't discharge any smell but if he has not then it smells. Kind a weird but makes sense.
This imam zamin thing that is used in marriage is called gaana, more of a cultural thing.
It is same in sindhi 'gaano/gaana'.
^ that is still very common in Punjab. I don't know the significance of it, I think no one knows.
Objects (especially those used as zewar like chooRi, haar, bracelet, etc) all are symbols of bonding. Its upto us how we interpret that bonding. slavery or relationship. :halo:
^ i hate nathli on brides, for me it seems as if the girl is symbolising a cow. I don't have problem if others prefer to do it or not.
I keep telling that to my friend that it does not look good
My saas has one tied on her arm, to protect from evils :)
interesting!...does the ta'veez have Qur'aanic inscriptions? is it against her religion to wear text of the scripture from another religion?
What is that called in Hindus? is this taweez thing also common in Sikhs? I never heard any Sikh involved in Jotish, Jaadu, taweez, etc.
interesting!...does the ta'veez have Qur'aanic inscriptions? is it against her religion to wear text of the scripture from another religion?
I don't know, she is madrasa educated, can read arabic and persian. Has problems with Kashmiri Muslims, not with Islam. So her brahmin orthodoxy and idea of Aryan supremacy of race is more out of Syed, bhukharis and Gilanis claiming to be of kashmiri origin and denouncing her variety, which she claims is the first one, after all Kashmir is named after her forefather, Mahrishi Kashyap :)
What is that called in Hindus? is this taweez thing also common in Sikhs? I never heard any Sikh involved in Jotish, Jaadu, taweez, etc.
its taveez, called Tabeej in UP area, since muslims generally are considered good in nazar utarna and dusre ko apne control mein karna, called vashikaran(KKF can translate that in Urdu) as most of the ad by muslims in UP are in Hindi where miyan saheb claims big things :)
Hindustan was named after Sindh ![]()
its taveez, called Tabeej in UP area, since muslims generally are considered good in nazar utarna and dusre ko apne control mein karna, called vashikaran(KKF can translate that in Urdu) as most of the ad by muslims in UP are in Hindi where miyan saheb claims big things :)
yeah, taabeej is the mispronunciation of the word ta'veez.
Whats vashikaran? have you ever seen Sikh aamil / Jotishi?
Its because Arabs cannot pronounce river sindhu and pronounced it hindu, it was Bharat much before arabs and Islam came in.
I don't know, she is madrasa educated, can read arabic and persian. Has problems with Kashmiri Muslims, not with Islam. So her brahmin orthodoxy and idea of Aryan supremacy of race is more out of Syed, bhukharis and Gilanis claiming to be of kashmiri origin and denouncing her variety, which she claims is the first one, after all Kashmir is named after her forefather, Mahrishi Kashyap :)
oh i see. wow! she knows quite a few languages. good for her! :)
vaise, i have seen, with my own eyes, that women used to line up with their ailing babies in their arms after maGhrib prayers [sunset prayer] outside my village mosque and asking the Muslims coming out of the Masjid after the prayer to blow [dam] on their babies ... they believe that the words of God helps to cure the diseases.
i would call it a 'blind faith'.