Sustained democracy is the only way to go

[Views in this article are entirely mine, and are not cut-paste, hence no link]

Today, there is another bomb blast in Rawalpinidi. Many more lives are lost. Since 2001, battle lines are now properly drawn and Pakistan, in my mind, is no longer just in the cross fire, but is unfortunately a full-fledged battlezone.

I like(d) Musharaf, but I have come to the painful conclusion that it is his continued military rule that is contributing to the increased violence in our motherland. There are several factors that help me get to this opinion. His desire to make Pakistan a progressive country is just one. Its not that he is wrong, its just that one needs support of the people when steering a whole nation in a new direction. Turning against the Taliban government in Afghanistan, just overnight, was a major policy decision. I am not saying it was a wrong decision, just that since our nation wasn’t behind the decision, it contributed enormously to where we are now. And most importantly, our military’s relentless efforts to fight our own people at our Eastern borders is perhaps the most telling issue facing our country. Our government is operating in a political vacuum.

I’d hate to put such comparisons here. But what have we learnt from the experience of Israel in Palestine and US in Iraq? Why are we bent upon making the same mistakes? Brutal state force can not fight home-grown insurgencies. Don’t we know that already? Haven’t we spent long hours to convince others of that? We support Palestinians’ cause, and waste no opportunity to remind others that unless Israel gives Palestinians their due rights, just using brutal force of the state is not going to win that conflict. We also tirelessly campaign that unless US leaves Iraq, there is no way to purge that country of insurgency. Unfortunately Pakistan is also at the wrong end of a similar battle.

I believe the issues facing our country, require a serious political solution. Quite frankly, there is no military solution here. No army can succeed unless there is political victory. They can bomb Waziristan all they want. They can kill as many people as they can bomb. But army can not purge the rampant violent extremists who are now in all our major cities and are willing to blow themselves up for their misguided cause.

We need sustained democracy. We need a smooth and quick transfer of power to people elected by people - no matter how shabby the elections are or how corrupt (or perceived corrupt) the elected officials are. In the future, if any military dictator tries to take over the country, no matter how naik his iraaday (good intentions) are and no matter how smart and intelligent he is, he should be instantly shot and killed. There should be zero tolerance, from now on towards military rule and dictatorships. Let the political system flush itself out. Whether it takes 10 years or 20 or how ever long. Let the system run. Lets have trust in our people. Because if we don’t, we’ll end up where we are now. A few people do NOT know best. Our nation should speak and decide the direction they want to take. Lets have an independent judiciary in our country to keep a check on the executive branch. Our country can not afford more experiments. Enough is enough!

4 Likes

Re: Sustained democracy is the only way to go

Great post Faisal Bhai!! Let me highlight the part I really I agree with:
There should be zero tolerance, from now on towards military rule and dictatorships. Let the political system flush itself out. Whether it takes 10 years or 20 or how ever long. Let the system run. Lets have trust in our people.**

Very well said :k:
couldn’t have said better.

sadly our govt doesn’t see the facts…

^ Faisal bhai, glad to see you forming/coming-to-this conclusion. I opposed Musharraf taking over, but had my support for "accountability" but he lost that support when he let Nawaz Sharif go out of that country. To me that was indicative of what Musharraf is. Now he is constitutionally adding provisions to support future army take overs there are many more blunders that just keep popping up. I fully agree with you that we need democratic setup, let it flourish, it will be painful for a decade or 2 but eventually things will converge. By letting army continue/manipulate political affairs there is no way democracy will prosper, any policy doled out will be one-sided (told and understood), it will not have public support.

They should make this a sticky...

Agree with Faisal. Unfortunately Musharraf has taken military rule and dictatorship to a new level. Democracy is the only way out, but true democracy not one manufactured in the GHQ. So long as elections are manipulated and the ruling party "wins" overwhelming mandates every time, true democracy will remain a joke in our country.

Part of the problem is that every ruler thinks he is indispensable for the country. We need to strengthen our institutions in order that the military cannot takeover again.

Who will be elected in a sustained democracy without any army interference?

^ I can see how thats sending shivers up your spine :hehe:

If 55% of the population voted today and there is a REAL transparent election with equal oppertunity for everyone, I would say the following will be the break down of popular votes.

PPP 20% 60-65 seats
PML(N) 25% 95-100 seats
MMA 20% 80-85 seats
PML(Q) 7% 15 seats
PML(others) 3% 4-7 seats
PTI 15% 25-40 seats
MQM 2% 7-11 seats
NA 4% 9-14 seats
Other Taanga parties and Ind 4% 3-10 seats

Well written piece faisal.

Sad fact is that army has been entrenched in political affairs and/or ruling of the country since 60s, and days of ayub khan. Some habits are hard to get rid of.

Also our elected politicians need to stop asking our army to interfere and take over the reigns as well. I rememeber a few instances where in the past our president or someone did that and dissolved the elected parliament.

:salam:

Some points made in Faisals post are spot on and to add Pakistan itself propped the Afghani insurgency to oust the soviets, a lesson they planned but did not bother to re-visit now or currently understand. The government has become too centralized and needs democratic fervour to drive their policies.

But honestly the even if a another civilian government sits in still following the policies dictated through foreign interference, the backlash would be no different. Democracy can be put on a back burner if we can operate as an independent country who does not at least appear to take orders from US. Pakistani government is playing the front line casualty in the role of US foreign policy. If Musharraf stiffed up a little to outside interference in the country, people would forget the woes about his dictatorship.

The majority of the Pakistani awaam are too lame to understand dictatorships and democracies, they just see the broad headlines and the price controls on their basic life amenities. What is needed is a change in their perception that Pakistani government does not always dance to the tunes of US or even if it does then it does so on its own conditions. Democracy is not going to assuage the public and political unrest if the perception of who runs the government does not change. People do not give a rats arse whether a military ruler or a democratically elected ruler sits atop as long as he does not run their lives and ruin their lives based on the whims of outside powers such as US.

military ko power ke chaskay lug chukay hain. mushkil hai military kabhi bhi pakistan main democracy anay de.

its in military's best interests to not let democracy take roots in pakistan. otherwise they too will be marginalized which obviously they don't want. and now with military holding every powerful post in government i don't see any democracy coming anytime sooner. musharaf will go to any lengths to keep HIMSELF in power even if that means making deals with corrupt leaders and destabilizing already dwindling pakistan.

Great post Faisal. My only hope is that we get a "self-sustaining" system. Because heavens forbid if we have to sustain something, we surely would mess it up. Then off course our people will be clamoring for another fauji hakoomat (military rule) sadly!

Trust me, democracy is not the be-all and end-all solution to all our problems. In addition, the current situation facing our country has no effective short-term solution either.

Some deem democracy to be a luxury. But what we are seeing now is enough to convince everyone, that this is what we certainly can not afford at all. While Mohtaram Zia ul Haq Shaheed blessed our country with heroine and Kalashnikov culture, Mushy uncle has gifted us with previously-unheard-of almost daily bomb blasts and assassination attempts at regular intervals.

We are talking about long term solutions. People resort to violence when they are disenfranchised. Right now, people don't believe their voices are heard or their opinions are valued. Democracy won't solve all problems (God knows how flawed our democracy is, at least in the beginning), but it gives people a chance (or hope) to flush out bad apples every now and then.

I was of the opinion once that Musharaf is better, hence he should stay. But this is a very short-term and extremely narrow-minded (if not pompous) thinking that is creating far bigger problems elsewhere in Pakistani society. It is pompous because it assumes that "I" know best. "I" think Musharraf is better, "I" think Musharraf is lesser eveil, so "I" think Musharraf should stay. This is wrong on multiple levels. Why should "my" opinion matter more than the guy next door? It essentially kicks out our entire nation from decision-making. This breeds a definite feeling of disenfranchisement. When people think that the only way they can make a statement is when they have a suicide belt around their chest, then its not a good sign. I don't care who wins the election. Really. Musharaf can win, for all I care. But we should now embark on a road to sustained democracy, where even the fringe elements have a feeling that they can communicate to the people and may be, if their message goes through, they have a chance. I don't believe you, me or select members of our so-called intelligensia (so-called educated Pakistanis) should be the only ones deciding who rules a country of 150 million people. Its the people who should decide. They will stumble, and they will make wrong choices - just as we all do when we are young and inexperienced. But eventually they will begin to get it right. It always happens. It will take time. Thats my whole point.

What we should have is a system where everyone participates in elections that are held every few years. Be it your usual PPP chor or your friendly neighborhood PML goon. Be it the maulana from Swat or be it the lefty from ANP. They all should get their message out and compete on equal footing. The ones who lose, still know that they can try 4 years later. The process should not stop. This is the only way our people can flush the crap out. All glories of economic superstardome aside, Pakistan is stumbling along in an extremely dangeorous and fatally explosive route.

Agree with Faisal totally....

I am curious to see Aalsi, Harris and Reza comments on these views....I just can not imagine the words in which these guys will justify the military rule apart on the pretext of some fake economic development....

Anyway Faisal great post reflecting patriotic Pakistani sentiments and glad to see such a huge support and consensus on real solution to our problems in our beloved country...

My personal opinion.

Before Pakistan expirements with BB or NS style democracy, I would like to see Ashfaq Kiani lead the country if and when President Musharaf gives up the post. :slight_smile:

The suicide bombing in Pakistan that we are seeing now is not created by Musharaf. These desperate terrorists would ofcourse carry out these acts of desperation if they know there is someone there trying to defeat them.

God Bless President Musharaf and President Bush for fighting against the terrorists that have made Pakistan a hub for their activities, and the terrorists that are giving Pakistan such a bad name across the globe.

:jhanda:

Aalsi

General Musharaf then General Kiani and then General Ainda Khan and then General Aindaa Aindaa Khan and so on and on and on....

Is this your idea the future of our country and you think we can move forward like this....I am afraid taking this route we'll be permenantly lost...

i agree with the idea of sustained democracy in pakistan but sadly our history shows that democracy doesn't seem to be a system for pakistan. After the first martial law the democratically elected representatives gave us a gift in the form of a broken pakistan. after the second martial law, we had a cat and mouse game for the top job. I'm afraid it would be no better this time around. The politicians' greed for power outweighs any principle or love of the country.

What we need is government accountability to the masses. If that is not there, it matters not how many times the elections are held or who is ruling. People need to be aware of wot their elected representatives do in their term and have the ability to hold them to account at election time. For this free media and free elections are required. As far as the media is concerned, musharraf has made it more independent than it has ever been in the history of pakistan and it would continue to be more open and responding to people's concerns.

Now wots left is free and fair elections. I'm not aware of how elections are conducted in big cities but voting in rural areas is anything but fair. I come from a village and in our village and those around us, the most powerful person in the village decides who is goin to be winning there. These people have their affiliations with the political parties and they make sure their party wins in return for favors later on. A majority of pakistan's population lives in rural areas, and unless they are able to vote according to their will, any supposedly democratic government is anything but democratic.

Don’t forget it was President Musharaf that had saved Pakistan from collapse through his timely intervention, and stupidity of NS.

Thank god someone is smiling on Pakistan from up above. :slight_smile:

We now see unprecedented economic growth, free media and Free Judiciary like Pakistan has never seen before.

Democracy is taking shape in Pakistan, ironically under a military person. We all know what NS, BB and ZAB had done in destruction of Pakistan and its economy.

The foundation stones have been laid for Pakistan’s future development. Let give it a fair whip before we destroy everytyhing Pakistan has achieved for the sake of change.

God Bless President Musharaf and his vision for taking Pakistan out of dire straites.

:jhanda:

Aalsi that’s where you are wrong…

American CIA and Pakistani agencies are exactly the one’s who have created suicide bombers and they are directly benefitting from these incidents…Just imagine hundreds of billions of dollars are available to these guys without any audit…Do you think they are intrested in solving the problem of terrorism in the world…My personal opinion these people are themselves the problem and you think they are the solution…Real solution is long term and sustained democracy…It will be a long and painful path but is the only path…the sooner we start this journey the better…