Re: Suicide attack at CJ address venue in Islamabad
The terrorist can blow themselves and go to hell but as far as Pakistan is concerned:
Phoonkon say yeh chiragh bujaya na jaye ga.
The terrorist can blow themselves and go to hell but as far as Pakistan is concerned:
Phoonkon say yeh chiragh bujaya na jaye ga.
abay if u were born and raised in islamabad, then why dont u know where the district courts r ![]()
Its on the backside of Ayub Market. Have u seen SZABIST campus in F-8? us say thora saa aagay hai. Second left turn.
Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad all on high alert.
They were already on red alert after red mosque crisis. I dont what color the alert is now..maroon?
^ Sometimes we need only what media can provide us. Thanks for the update.
Interesting Analysis.
Blast in Islamabad **
Pakistan: The Blast in Islamabad
Jul 17, 2007: STRATFOR
Summary
A large explosion took place July 17 in Islamabad, Pakistan, at the site of rally where the country’s suspended chief justice, Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry, was supposed to deliver a speech. While the details are still murky, it appears that jihadists trying to exacerbate a crisis of governance in the aftermath of the Red Mosque operation could be behind the blast. Regardless of who was behind the attack, it will lead to unrest from the legal community as well the opposition parties.
Analysis
At least 12 people are dead and some 50 wounded following a blast in an upscale area of the Pakistani capital of Islamabad. The explosion occurred near the stage where the country’s suspended chief justice, Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry, was scheduled to speak at a rally. The procession bringing the top jurist to the venue of the rally near the District Bar Association was rerouted to the Supreme Court building. Eyewitnesses are reporting that the attack was a suicide bombing.
Jihadists who have been staging attacks in the North-West Frontier Province and Federally Administrated Tribal Areas in retaliation for the security operation against the Red Mosque likely are behind this blast. **By staging an attack on the legal community, the jihadists want to escalate the unrest in the country in order to stave off the military operations the government has begun in the northwest. The jihadists saw that the government was moving to defuse the legal crisis by having the Supreme Court reinstate Chaudhry, and this attack was meant to torpedo that move. Launching an attack where Chaudhry was supposed to speak also serves the jihadists’ purpose of arousing suspicions among the legal community and political opposition forces that the government was behind the attack, thereby further crippling Pakistani President Gen. Pervez Musharraf’s control at home. **
The identity of the actual perpetrators notwithstanding, many will blame the government – and greater unrest from Pakistan’s legal and political forces will result. This could add to the militancy in the country, which could then lead the government to impose emergency rule. This, in turn, would create even higher tensions and anti-Musharraf sentiments in the country. Events are rapidly moving to a point where Musharraf’s grip on power is slipping, and he could be forced to step down ahead of his plans for parliamentary and presidential polls.
I know kachehri very well, lekin I wasnt sure of the exact location. I just opened your picture and damn I played so many night tournaments at that spot.
Nahi Szabist ka tou exact pata nahi as it was not there when i left Pakistan, lekin I now know this place very well. Bachpan se jawani khuaar ki hai inhi galiyoN mai. So did the take the injured to Ali Medical center?
I spent some time at the kachehri last month to get some PoA’s made. I also took an A/C technician from the basement of the building south of where you have written explosion spot.
Where you have written Police Office is actually where the A/C Islamabad sits.
This is what the BBC is saying.
Ali Med. doesn’t have the capacity to cope with such large scale causalities. They were taken to PIMS and Poly clinic.
Edit:
Shareef khandaan kay lagtay ho ![]()
I dont understand how Pakistan Zindabad can work here. People are really in panic, it has become so difficult to go out to market. While going out of your home, you are not sure whether you are going to come back or not.
Something need to be done, I mean not an offensive but some political decisions must be taken to avert further losses and bring nomality in situation.
I agree, I have seen the poiticians exploiting the sitation to their benefit by blaming everything on the government.
khabar rakhni perti hai yaar, lekin meray zamanay wali tou abb ammiaN bun gaye haiN bohat se bachoN ki. sigh.
HaaN PIMS is not too far, G-8 ki taraf se seedhi road cause faisal chowk side was all dug up last month.
I dont understand how Pakistan Zindabad can work here. People are really in panic, it has become so difficult to go out to market. While going out of your home, you are not sure whether you are going to come back or not.
Oh come on, do you even live in Pakistan? Nothing ever stops, people will be at work again tomorrow, zindagi chalti rahay gi.
*By staging an attack on the legal community, the jihadists want to escalate the unrest in the country in order to stave off the military operations the government has begun in the northwest. The jihadists saw that the government was moving to defuse the legal crisis by having the Supreme Court reinstate Chaudhry, and this attack was meant to torpedo that move. Launching an attack where Chaudhry was supposed to speak also serves the jihadists' purpose of arousing suspicions among the legal community and political opposition forces that the government was behind the attack, thereby further crippling Pakistani President Gen. Pervez Musharraf's control at home. *
I believe that above theory could well be correct.
I don't think mullahs are the sophisticated. They just saw PPP agreeing with the operation so one of their suiciders decided to blow himself up near people holding PPP flags.
Oh come on, do you even live in Pakistan? Nothing ever stops, people will be at work again tomorrow, zindagi chalti rahay gi.
Such attacks have severe effects on the nation. I see Pakistan going deep into paranoia and fear.
BB is saying her party workers were targeted because of their support for Lal Masjid operation.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20070717/wl_asia_afp/pakistanjusticeattacks
both the buildings where i worked and my sister worked in karachi were targetted by suicide bombers. yet life was back to normal one week later. pakistani qaum is much too dheeth and zinda dil to be intimidated by terrorists. the fact that enemies of pakistan have to resort to suicide bombing shows the level of their desperation and how little support these groups have in pak. i hope the govt shows full resolve in fighting the terrorists and does not listen to khussies who want the govt to back off. problem is not as intimidating as it seems right now.
oh i miss me khi city !
*Bomber Kills 15 in Pakistan Capital *
A suicide bomber blew himself up Tuesday before a rally supporting Pakistan's chief justice against the president, killing 15 people in the latest attack in a spate of violence since the army stormed a mosque held by Islamic extremists. The bloodshed has heightened tensions, with religious radicals calling for more revenge attacks on the government and troops moving into militant strongholds on the border with Afghanistan - a move welcomed by Washington as a help in the fight against terror groups. The bombing in Islamabad underlined the antagonism as various parties sought to place blame. President Gen. Pervez Musharraf condemned the blast as a "terrorist act," and officials said they were trying to determine responsibility. A security official said the bomber's severed head had been found. Supporters of judge Iftikhar Mohammed Chaudhry accused the government of being behind the mayhem, while an opposition party thought to be considering joining a coalition government with Musharraf after year-end elections said the attack was aimed at its loyalists. Chaudhry, whose fight against Musharraf's effort to oust him has fueled opposition to the president extending his rule, was a few miles away when the attacker struck about 8:30 p.m. outside the Islamabad district court building. The judge arrived a short time later and police ushered him into a tent set up for a rally by lawyers who have led frequent protests against his suspension. He spoke briefly with the lawyers, who said he offered prayers for the victims, but canceled his speech and left.
Kamal Shah, a top Interior Ministry official, said the explosion killed 15 people and wounded 44. Opposition party activists, police officers and bystanders were believed to be among the victims. The attacker blew himself up on a tree-lined street leading to the large tent just as hundreds of people converged on the area, which was also busy with evening shoppers. Pools of blood, pieces of flesh and scattered shoes lay on the asphalt next to a blood-spattered car. "I was not far away from the stage set up for the chief justice when I heard a big bang," said Tahir Abbas, a lawyer at the rally. Three security officials, speaking on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to speak on the record, called it a suicide attack and said the severed head of the bomber had been recovered. The bomb went off next to stalls set up by Pakistan's two main opposition parties, led by exiled former prime ministers Benazir Bhutto and Nawaz Sharif. Shah said it was too early to "raise a finger at someone" in connection with the attack. One of Chaudhry's attorneys, Munir Malik, accused Pakistani intelligence agencies. "This was an attack on the chief justice," he said. However, Raja Pervez Ashraf, a leader of Bhutto's Pakistan People's Party, said the attacker targeted her activists. "Most among the dead and injured are our supporters," Ashraf said. Musharraf "condemned in the strongest terms the latest terrorist act which took place in Islamabad," the state-run Associated Press of Pakistan said.
The president ordered an immediate inquiry and appealed to the public "to remain calm, vigilant and assist the authorities in unearthing the culprits and bringing them to justice," the report said. Some analysts and diplomats expect Bhutto to team with Musharraf in a power-sharing government after elections due late this year. She was the only opposition leader to voice strong support for the crackdown on the Red Mosque, which caused more than 100 deaths during eight days of fighting. Taliban and al-Qaida leaders and other militants have called for attacks to avenge the mosque's defenders, and a suicide blast killed three soldiers in the volatile North Waziristan region Tuesday. Bombings and suicide attacks have killed more than 100 people in the northwest since the mosque battle. Government officials continued their effort to salvage a 10-month-old peace accord in North Waziristan, a hotbed of Taliban and al-Qaida militancy on the Afghan frontier where some leaders renounced the deal after the Red Mosque fighting. Musharraf argues it is important to retain the accord, which saw the army scale back military operations in return for pledges from tribal elders to expel foreign fighters and prevent cross-border attacks on U.S. troops in Afghanistan. Washington pledged $750 million over five years to help develop the impoverished region and dry up support for Islamic extremism as part of the accord. But U.S. officials are pressing for more military strikes on extremists. "Now, having dealt with the mosque, it's pretty much crossing a line and there's no going back," Assistant Secretary of State Richard Boucher said Tuesday. While a civilian "hearts and minds campaign" may offer the best long-term solution to combating militants in the region, "some elements have to be dealt with militarily," he said. Musharraf, who seized power in a 1999 coup, became a key U.S. ally after the Sept. 11 attacks in the U.S. and has said he will ask lawmakers for another five-year term this fall. But his domestic standing has been damaged by the fight over ousting the top judge. The president suspended Chaudhry in March, accusing him of nepotism and other abuses of his post, charges the judge denies. Musharraf insists he has no political motive, but opponents accuse him of trying to remove an independent-minded judge who might uphold legal challenges to the president's plan for extending his rule. The Supreme Court, which has been hearing an appeal by Chaudhry, is expected to announce a verdict soon, perhaps by Friday.
Inallah e wa inallah e rajeon.
http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/july-2007/18/index1.php
Islamabad suicide bombing kills 16
Sequential suicide blasts, triggered right with the start of Operation Silence against Lal Masjid Administration Tuesday reached the federal capital leaving 16 dead while injuring more than 40 people. **The explosion which took place at 8:29pm some 50 yards away from the stage prepared for the CJ’s address to lawyers convention at District Courts Islamabad, occurred in a reception camp set up by PPP-P workers to welcome CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry. And consequently, most of the injured and dead belong to Pakistan People’s Party. Nargis Faiz Malik, President PPP-P Women Wing Islamabad, Ismat Jabin of PPP-P and other local PPP-P leaders were among the dead. Until filing of this story, the death toll has reached 16 people, which included three women and 13 men. **
According to the eyewitnesses, the intensity of blast was so powerful that it broke the glasses of nearby shops and also injured the persons standing at a distance of 15 feet from the place of explosion. The injured and the dead were immediately rushed to Polyclinic and PIMS hospitals, while the law enforcing officials already deployed there for the security arrangements of the Lawyers Convention stopped people from going near the place of blast, fearing that another blast could take place. After the incident, police cordoned off the affected area and state of emergency was declared in the hospitals. Ambulances rushed to the scene taking the wounded people to hospitals. Blood and human organs were scattered all over the place of explosion. Also, the PIMS officials have stated the condition of 14 wounded as critical. Meanwhile, Minister for Interior Aftab Sherpao while talking to newsmen said that the evidences collected so far from the site of explosion suggested that it was a suicide blast. “However, it has not been confirmed yet,” he added. It is important to note that the incident has taken place in the PPP-P camp few days after fuming statements by PPP-P Chairperson Benazir Bhutto who supported Lal Masjid operation and urged President Musharraf to crush the religio-extremists in the country. Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, who on Tuesday was to address the lawyers convention on the invitation of Islamabad Bar Association came out of his official residence at 6:00pm when the large number of lawyers and political workers welcomed him and chanted anti-government slogans.