Both by top of the line brands.
Which cooking set do you prefer?
Any pros and cons?
Both by top of the line brands.
Which cooking set do you prefer?
Any pros and cons?
Re: Stainless Steel or Non-Stick?
I don't like top of line brands - they are heavy to wash and expensive.
I get new pots and pans out every 2 years or so.
I like both. Stainless for heavy duty desi cooking and non stick for everyday cooking (omelette, soups, rice etc).
cast iron all the way..
^too heavy for nazuk
Cast iron kia hai?
I found both of them quite light so no weight issues there.
what types of food do you typically cook?
The stainless steel provides even amount of heat to all the pan. It makes cooking with less oil (PAM etc) a bit harder - things like fish, chicken might stick to the bottom.
Cast irons are heavy, I change nan-stick frequently so I buy from macys when they have deal:D.
Never in my life Non-Stick or Teflon. There was a study saying some chemicals used to make the pans Non-Stick might cause brain abnormalities and illnesses. At temperatures those chemicals break down and release odourless gases etc which cause those illnesses. Better safe than sorry. Stopped using Teflon etc in our house ages ago.
I use non stick by prestige
Depends upon what you are cooking... but I've noticed non-stick makes life easier if you have an electric stove. I use steel for desi dishes that require slow-long cooking like haleem, nihari ,etc..
Well, I don't cook often yet but sometimes when I do at home, it's in non-stick, and when it's at inlaws, it's stainless steel. So i have used and found them both good. I usually cook desi stuff- biryani, karahi, daal, chawal, vegetables, and non desi stuff like pastas, chinese, etc. The thing is, my mom just bought me a set of each kind to use after my rukhsati, and I want to return one of them because they are useless since it's just myself and hubby who I'll be cooking for. The two of us don't need such expensive cookware. Maybe I'll cook occasionally for a few more people when I host dawats but I don't see that happening very often. Now I need to decide which one I should keep.. my mom uses both so she's like, your choice. Help!
let me make your life easier.... I have my pots in stainless steel...and my frying pan kind of things in non-stick.... The stainless steel one I got was from Tefal and it uses induction technology (it was written in bold on the box) for even distribution...and it has worked out great for the past 2+ years and I bet I will be using them for a very long time to come inshAllah
^Tefals are the ones I got for steel.
no need to return them...just get a karhai in non-stick...and some different sizes of frying pan in non-stick...keep plastic covered spoons (ladle, for flipping and so on) for them and for the steel ones I use wooden spoons...and your kitchen is not only ready for you and ur hubby but also for entertaining...
Awww, that's great- thanks!
I'll be cooking alot of chicken, etc.. no problems with that, right? Or would nonstick be better for meat?
If you must return one..then keep the non-stick ware set and separately buy a good sized pot for boiling pasta/rice etc..
I have this one too..it’s pretty good .. :k:
Awww, that's great- thanks! I'll be cooking alot of chicken, etc.. no problems with that, right? Or would nonstick be better for meat?
I use stainless steel for all my cooking meat, pasta.... Dr. Agha a well known herbalist said that in the coming years the developed countries would ban non-stick ware becoz of its carcigon causing chemicals....so I figure a little on the bottom is waaaayy better than having cancer in a couple of years...
btw pareezay this stainless steel is not the kind our mothers used to use...stuff comes off it real easy once you soak it in water. ... and it is a breeze cooking in it... heck I liked it soo much I bought two more one for my sister and the other for my mother...
^awesome!!! thanks so much! ![]()
yeah non stick all the way ... cooking is just a alot more easier plus i feel that oil doesnt get as absorbed in the food when cooking in non stick ...