Re: split-- from- Men read this..
Why do we have to pick sides? Were you personally involved in the conflict? Were you harmed by this conflict? Leave it as history and use it as lessons learned.
Re: Men Read this -Marrying more than once
HAdrat Muaweya aur tareekhi haqiqh----Justice taqi usmani(Former chief justice shareah court, mufti e azam pakistan )
Kaleem, I don't curse Muawiyah. I let history do that for me. Why do we have to pick sides when it comes to Moses vs. Pharoah or David vs. Goliath, or the countless other examples in history?
Because those are Islam Vs non-believers. In the case of Muawiyah, you have conflicting statements to say the least. Besides to me, it is not an issue we should concern ourselves with. We need to come together, rather than try to pick differences and fight over them. Lets join hands in understanding teh Quran. Get our guidance from Quran and than from life of Prophet:saw:. That is all we need my brother, nothing else.
The fact still remains that Muawiyah hated Ali. No matter how to try to dissect the issue, Muawiyah held a grudge against Ali and as Muslims we need to pick a side. Either Ali or Muawiyah, you cannot have it both ways.
Why do you have to pick sides? The sahabah were not completely fault-proof, so both sides made mistakes. Arguably, Ali warred against Aisha. One could criticize him for that as well.
I dont think that in order to be a good muslim, one must pick sides. There is always the objective viewpoint - that each person did what they thought was right, and whether there was some greed or suspicioun or whatever that was swaying their thoughts - who cares?
How many sins have you committed - what position are you in to demand that muslims take sides?
Its an attitude like that which divides people. Discussing the history and evaluating it is one thing, but picking sides?
^ OMG, I cannot believe that a feminist has the same ideas as mine. :)
Mind you, I dont believe in blindly praising a historical figure on the basis that he was a sahabah, or that he knew the prophet. ![]()
So much for ‘only Allah is the judge’ ![]()
PCG..it was aisha who came against Imam Ali (a.s.) and fought a battle that killed many muslims..please read history..every shia sunni scholer believes this to be true...Imam Ali (a.s.) never wanted to fight her but it did not stop her
Allah will be the judge for sure..but Allah also gave you aql...we are not chosing an individual over another..we are chosing Haq over Baatil
Ali (a.s.) Haq hai!
Ali still put his soldiers against her army. Thaali do haath se baj thi hai.
He could have refrained from fighting her and negotiated with her instead.
^ Thaali nahi muhterma, Taali.
pcg..i asked you to do some research because it does not seem like you know much about this one issue..instead you came back saying taali dono haatho say bajti hai...Imam Ali (a.s.) said many times that He does not want to fight...aisha fought anyway and lost...it is in sunni history that she regreted her decision as well..so please read before coming here and making false accusations against Imam Ali (a.s.)
please this time do some research and see that Imam Ali (a.s.) wrote letters to aisha that it would be unwise to fight him
Doesn't matter, he still fought. I dont think the Prophet would have done the same.
^ So you would have prefered Ali to run away like a coward?
No, I would have preferred that he not have fought. See, you ignore one major thing. He did communicate with Aisha, but comon - both of them were connected by such a power personality. Something went wrong in their relationship as fellow believers in Islam. Otherwise, Aisha wouldn't have led an army against Ali over a difference in opinion.
Secondly, you don't FIGHT with ARMIES unless you meet the conditions of Jihaad. So in this, they were both wrong. Fighting because they differ in opinion?
Please. Islamic hisotry is full of problems like this. Because even the Sahabah were not immune from basic temptations of power.
That's why I dont understand why everyone gets so gung ho about their personalities.
This whole "Oh-I-love-Ali" thing just doens't make any sense IMHO. I mean, evaluate these people for who they were and by their actions.
So, when I say that Taali Do Haath Se Bajti Hai - I mean that both Aisha and Ali made a grave mistake in their approach to this problem. Why take sides, and say Ali was wronged against? Why take sides and say Aisha was totally right and Ali was wrong? Why take sides and say Muawiyah was the right one?
Like I said, these historical issues have led muslims to become divided. I dont think there would be any Islamic sects if this were the case. Furthermore, I dont think even Ali or Aisha (dunno about Muawiyah, I still think that guy is a bit shady) would have liked the idea of a Sunni-Shia split and Sunni-Shia violence.
Which happens when we're talking about expanding an empire and conquering other nations. People are bound to power-trip.
What you prefer does not matter. Ali was much wiser than all of us, as he was raised by the Prophet and he acted in the correct and just manner
re-read my post, please - I made some adjustments there that answers this above comment of yours.
Likewise, Aisha was the Prophet's wife, and probably way more closer to him than Ali and she was one of the best muslim women out there.
Now what?
OOOOOOOOhhhhhhhh,
I know what this is. Aisha was a female and hence she is wrong. Ali is a male and hence he was right.
There we go. Makes so much more sense now. Thank you masterofall for showing me the light. Now I can be on my merry way and be a better muslim now because I now realize that Aisha was a woman and hence she is wrong. I'm going to go to class now and tell myself that "my opinion in this discussion is wrong, because I'm a woman". And then I'll end the night with some studying after which I'll tell myself "I'm wrong in doing this, I'm a woman".
The world makes sense again.
its not about male vs female....there is a hadith by Holy Prophet (pbuh&up) that I am city of Knowledge and Ali (a.s.) is its gate......there are numerious hadiths in sunnis books that talk about the wisdom of Imam Ali (a.s.)..she had 30 000 army ready to fight Imam Ali (a.s.) and what was he suppose to do? just sit there and get killed ? thats really immature to say he still shouldnt have fought....shia sunni both say aisha made a mistake and she even regretted making that mistake...who really cares if one person is still confused about the whole thing