Re: Split debate-Spending thousands on a wedding dress
i just want to know where people are getting these 20,000 rupee bridal joras from! my God, i was in pakistan just this december and i'm sorry girls, but even the plainest gharara with not kaam but a kaam wali *beyl *on it will run you 30,000 AT LEAST. and even those beyl's are going for 400-500 rupees per metre. its ludicrous how pricey it is there! karachi is no longer cheap- we bought pure silk jamavar from gulf to make a gharara -- it was 5000 rupees just for the fabric -- this doesnt even include the cost of dying the chiffon dupatta -- plus another 5000 for the stitching. you seriously think someone will do kaam on a bridal jora for 10,000???? i'd like to know who! please, i'd love to shop from them.
so unless you're planning to wear a plain silk jora on your wedding, 20,000 isn't going to cut it.
i'm not saying you can't get a decent jora for 60,000 rupees and up, but you'll still be compromising on the amount of kaam you get. you don't have to pay multiple lakh's for an ideal jora- sure if you go out yourself, you'll probably get the same jora for less- but to assume that its only 20,000 rupees- thats just laughable.
rupay, i'm all for lungi's, girl! in fact, i'm sending you my measurements- you make me one!
actually sgc, there are outfits available for that price range, easily, in bazaars in lahore.
you give them the kapra yourself and they do the kaam.
now quality of the workmanship is ofcourse going to be inferior.
quantity of the kaam will not be very dense as well as the kaam itself ofcourse, is quite tacky, however those dukaans have a lot of customers who keep their business running, too!
i just want to know where people are getting these 20,000 rupee bridal joras from!
My sister just got married last month in Pakistan. SHe went to Anarkali, chose a design and had the shop wala do the same thing in different colors/kapra. Her wedding dress came out to be about 28,000 Rs. I could be biased since she is my sister, but everyone who saw her wedding pics here, was stunned and asked where she got the gharara from. Her valima lehenga was the same way. It did not cost much (i dont know how much it was), but it LOOKED great. The colors, the kaam everything.
That being said, i am certainly not saying people shouldnt spend money when they have it. Everyone has the right to spend their money as they wish. Its ridiculous to say that because you can afford a 4000 dollar lehanga, you shouldnt buy it and instead give to charity.
lol hahhaa :D it was so true but yet so funny where u talk bout what they would do with thousands of dollars :D
dukh thi rag per haath ragdiya tumne ;)
Mainay kia kaha? :( I was just trying to explain WHY people get all riled up about it :(
ira, i'd love to see a picture of your sister's outfits! they do sound fabulous, and clearly, i stand corrected re: 20,000 rupee outfits from lahore, but based on my karachi experience, it didn't seem like a reasonable price point for a bridal gharara.
b2b, as you said- its possible but you'll be compromising on the overall quality. as with everything, you get what you pay for :)
I agree with rupsyhalwa and if u don't want a lunghi I will be willing to start a business selling bright red shamu satin lehngas with gold gota kinari since even 20000 rs is pricey for thousands of people. I will be selling these outfits for 1000 rs. So for those people that think spending thousands on a wedding dress is a waste, I will be expecting your business. Thank you and come again.
bohat mehengai hai vaise.
i rembr this summer, just to get a nice lawn suit made (fabric, stitching, laces) was costing about 4-5k per suit!
sumo, make me a half dozen for 800 pls.
i want to make some profit reselling for 1000rs myself.
I agree with rupsyhalwa and if u don't want a lunghi I will be willing to start a business selling bright red shamu satin lehngas with gold gota kinari since even 20000 rs is pricey for thousands of people. I will be selling these outfits for 1000 rs. So for those people that think spending thousands on a wedding dress is a waste, I will be expecting your business. Thank you and come again.
Oiy! U r infringing upon my sales pitch! However, i like your idea, perhaps we can combine skills and go for bright red shamu satin LUNGHI's instead of lehnga's and go into partnership. Since lunghi's need hardly any stitching, we can bring down the price to 500 rupees (tho not my designer variety, of course).
BRING ON THE LUNGHI REVOLUTION, SISTERS!!!
I don't judge anyone who wants a wedding dress that is on the expensive side. As long as it doesn't put too much pressure on the family and it is within your socioeconomic status it's fine.
I have a few friends who bought expensive dresses and it was more based on style, fabric, work and quality rather than money.
I see no fault in wanting designer wear as long the money is not carelessly spent.
But this started on the topic of budget and has escalated to people's sense of value. We are not to judge a persons value system by their choice of wedding dress but rather by their ethical values and everyday lifestyle.
^lol and we already have b2b as a customer!
bohat mehengai hai vaise. i rembr this summer, just to get a nice lawn suit made (fabric, stitching, laces) was costing about 4-5k per suit!
VAAT!!
I remember in 07 i got some pretty fancy heavy outfits for 5K each. but that was thanks to my MIL's bargaining skills (she got me a 14K saree for 7, how awesome is that!) but then again those outfits have really not so great quality :(
Well here I go again. Anyways, people living in Pakistan who can afford a 4,000 dollar jora usually are snobby and if they are not they do some type of dishonest work. I know this because my sisters friend who moved from Pakistan to America told us all about it and I asked my Mom and she said most of it was true. I mean, not all rich Pakistani people are bad, but most are dishonest. My sisters friend's dad had a chance to get rich by being promoted in his company but his boss told him he had to come to his pffice and meet his new team. When he went into the office they were all drinking and talking about some party where a "hot" gorl danced for them (all this in in Pk..tsk tsk) I am no one to judge but they pushed it when they told my friends sisters dad to drink a glass of alcohol. When he refused they told him again and again to do it then they said "Kya yeh promotion nahi chahiye?" And when he said not if he had to drink alcohol, they kicked him out of the office and told him he was ruide for not accepting! Rude for upholding morals and being a true Muslim. Khair, he is now in the US thanks to his bro and a better person than those in that ofice in PK. In my opinion, if you pay 4,000 dollars for an outfit you could be putting that money to better use by buying something that will get more use than a dress most girls wear only once or twice. Also, the money goes to some designer who will get richer and think they are worth it. I would use 4,000 dollars to get myself a down payment on a house I plan to live in for atleast 8 or more years and a down payment on a car. Just my opinion..
Ooooh, Lordie...
Well here I go again. Anyways, people living in Pakistan who can afford a 4,000 dollar jora usually are snobby and if they are not they do some type of dishonest work. I know this because my sisters friend who moved from Pakistan to America told us all about it and I asked my Mom and she said most of it was true. I mean, not all rich Pakistani people are bad, but most are dishonest. My sisters friend's dad had a chance to get rich by being promoted in his company but his boss told him he had to come to his pffice and meet his new team. When he went into the office they were all drinking and talking about some party where a "hot" gorl danced for them (all this in in Pk..tsk tsk) I am no one to judge but they pushed it when they told my friends sisters dad to drink a glass of alcohol. When he refused they told him again and again to do it then they said "Kya yeh promotion nahi chahiye?" And when he said not if he had to drink alcohol, they kicked him out of the office and told him he was ruide for not accepting! Rude for upholding morals and being a true Muslim. Khair, he is now in the US thanks to his bro and a better person than those in that ofice in PK. In my opinion, if you pay 4,000 dollars for an outfit you could be putting that money to better use by buying something that will get more use than a dress most girls wear only once or twice. Also, the money goes to some designer who will get richer and think they are worth it. I would use 4,000 dollars to get myself a down payment on a house I plan to live in for atleast 8 or more years and a down payment on a car. Just my opinion..
Hadn't even read this so here I go...
This is generalizing and it is a very ignorant thing to do. It is like saying all chinese people smell like fish or all black people are poor. No, all pakistanis in pak that can purchase a dress over $4k are not snobby or have 'haram ka paisa' and I'm just one example of that myself. We lived in pakistan for a few years, my parents still live there and neither are we snobby, nor do we have illegitimate money. We could have spent over 4k on each day's dress but we chose not to.
When someone spends 4k on a dress, yes ofcourse that money could have been spent somewhere else. Then again the $5 latte I purchase from starbucks is money I could have used to buy a homeless person a gyro on the street. Needless to say, someone that is spending 4k on a dress probably has more money left over to spend on a house, car, or whatever else. Maybe, they arent even looking to buy a house or car so for them this purchase makes sense.
Yes I agree with you that 4k could go a long way (atleast not in NY) but 4k could go a long way in a lot of places around the world. But think of someone who is very unfortunate; someone who cant afford the luxuries in life that you can. For that girl, the money you spend on your wedding dress may be something she would use to purchase her entire dowry with. Does that mean you should go out and buy a bright red shamu satin gota kinari lehnga for Rs.1k as your wedding dress?
I'm not here to judge. In my opinion the best way to spend money is to keep yourself and others around you happy and also give charity. Just remember anything you are spending is probably extravagant to thousands of others. Then again for thousands others you are probably poor. Just count your blessings and worry about how you spend your own money and by you i don't just mean phooljari, I mean anyone that is reading this reply.
bright red shamu satin gota kinari lehnga
:CareBear: luv it!
^^^^^^ ^^^^ thats a great idea....... i will get a long shirt even if its not in fashion..... i just love the look of it.......
me too i just really love them, im getting married next year so i dont know if it will still be in fashion but i dont really care im getting one
i dont really agree with spending alot of money on wedding jora if you can get a nice good quality one cheaper then why not? but it does depend on your style i suppose. what is the average price for a lengha nowadays in lahore? not to heavy... ive already pictured my wedding lengha in my head so i might get it made but that depends on the costings>
But this started on the topic of budget and has escalated to people's sense of value. We are not to judge a persons value system by their choice of wedding dress but rather by their ethical values and everyday lifestyle.
Twinklee has hit upon the crux of this debate.
Wow! How did you get it for that cheap? Was it made in PK? With the price my Mom paid for my dress I am not going to just keep it in my closet. I am going to wear it to my brothers wedding and to my best cousins wedding. Then I am going to make another jora out of it. Not sure how or what but I'll think of something later.
yes it is made in pak...was in dec 07 in pak. I got a pic from the net...gave them the pic n told them the colors and how it shuld be..it was a darzi in ichra who made my lehnga...it looks pretty gud..now cant wait to wear it..