4000?? my wedding dress was only 1,000 and to us we felt that was expensive but of course no one makes shaadi dresses for 500 dollars anymore..my poor mom went practically bankrupt after my wedding..for 4,0o0 I wouldn’t spend it on clothes but a down payment on a nice car and house!!!
4000$ is really a bit much..my was for abt 450$!..:shoaby:i dont understand those girls who spend lakhs rupees on their shaadi johra just for wearing it once for few hours…its a waste of money spending too much
Re: BRIDAL PICS.
^ they usually have plenty of money leftover too, so i think its all relative.
lol^ sgc..this thread is a riot! what part of "looking for more options" is synonymous with "i am going to buy it" ??
anyway..i was told $4000 by Fahad himself. I dont know why these designers are always giving away different prices to different people!
spending tht much on one johra is much..if they have plenty of money...the cud give some of it in charity ya kisi ghareeb ki shaadi ka kharcha utha le rather then making such expensive clothes.
to each her own - in my opinion, its not cool to generalize that people who spend $4000 on a dress, don't give to the less fortunate etc.
^true...unfortunately..i think this topic has been discussed to death....
^ lol, i know! :p
sooooo if i wuld ask fahad hussayn now for a dress... what would he charge me 4000$ or 2,50,000 lakhs (about 3000$) ....or does ist just depend on his mood ?! hahahaha
this a big gap....
Wow! How did you get it for that cheap? Was it made in PK?
With the price my Mom paid for my dress I am not going to just keep it in my closet. I am going to wear it to my brothers wedding and to my best cousins wedding. Then I am going to make another jora out of it. Not sure how or what but I’ll think of something later.
spending tht much on one johra is much..if they have plenty of money...the cud give some of it in charity ya kisi ghareeb ki shaadi ka kharcha utha le rather then making such expensive clothes.
In your opinion, if a girl spends lakhs on her wedding dress and also gives to charity/helps other girls get married, would it then be ok to spend the lakhs on their wedding dress? Agreed, that people that don't have the means to do so, shouldn't purchase an expensive dress by taking a loan or giving their parents a lot of stress but for those families who can easily spend $5k on one dress and it makes them happy, then it is upto them. For someone poor, even a wedding dress for $500 will be extremely expensive. For a person making $1billion, a $5k wedding dress would be extremely cheap. Everything is relative and I don't think we should tell someone how much they should spending on anything, it is their money let them do what they want, no reason to give them a guilt trip. Personally, I don't like it when people bring up this whole charity issue it's as if people automatically assume that someone that spends $10k on a wedding dress doesn't give charity and someone who spends $500 does give charity or doesn't have means to do so. Everyone should give to charity what they please and I don't see how charity is relevant with how much one should spend on their wedding dress. Just my two cents and I don't mean to put you on the spot.
to each her own - in my opinion, its not cool to generalize that people who spend $4000 on a dress, don't give to the less fortunate etc.
Well here I go again. Anyways, people living in Pakistan who can afford a 4,000 dollar jora usually are snobby and if they are not they do some type of dishonest work. I know this because my sisters friend who moved from Pakistan to America told us all about it and I asked my Mom and she said most of it was true. I mean, not all rich Pakistani people are bad, but most are dishonest. My sisters friend's dad had a chance to get rich by being promoted in his company but his boss told him he had to come to his pffice and meet his new team. When he went into the office they were all drinking and talking about some party where a "hot" gorl danced for them (all this in in Pk..tsk tsk) I am no one to judge but they pushed it when they told my friends sisters dad to drink a glass of alcohol. When he refused they told him again and again to do it then they said "Kya yeh promotion nahi chahiye?" And when he said not if he had to drink alcohol, they kicked him out of the office and told him he was ruide for not accepting! Rude for upholding morals and being a true Muslim. Khair, he is now in the US thanks to his bro and a better person than those in that ofice in PK. In my opinion, if you pay 4,000 dollars for an outfit you could be putting that money to better use by buying something that will get more use than a dress most girls wear only once or twice. Also, the money goes to some designer who will get richer and think they are worth it. I would use 4,000 dollars to get myself a down payment on a house I plan to live in for atleast 8 or more years and a down payment on a car. Just my opinion..
of course its upto to her how much she can/will afford for her bridal dress.
u know it is said....if u gonna arrange a "big" wedding u should also arrange wedding for a poor family....
^ ive heard the same things
well my thing is that i want a nice dress n alhumdulilah i could afford it
but i would also rather that i get my dress made within a good amount of money n spend the rest in sumthin more useful becuz after all ill wear the dress once maybe twice
im sure all brides want to look amazing on there wedding day but in my opinion i dont find it necessary to go desginer
i mean these designers get kaam walay n darzis to make there designs its not like they sit n make it themselves by hand....
ahhhhh if you talk about charity!!......IMO a better charity option is to put a poor kid thru college, so he/she can at least become capable of taking care of themselves...and be proud of arranging for their own weddings. Money doesnt grow on trees, at least not for us, nor do we wish our wishes to be granted by a rich genie...
we all work, and none of our hard earned money has been made thru our bosses forcing alcohol down our throats. We, and our spouses work extra hours to make our dreams come true...whether they are mediocre or extravagant!!
^ ive heard the same things well my thing is that i want a nice dress n alhumdulilah i could afford it but i would also rather that i get my dress made within a good amount of money n spend the rest in sumthin more useful becuz after all ill wear the dress once maybe twice im sure all brides want to look amazing on there wedding day but in my opinion i dont find it necessary to go desginer i mean these designers get kaam walay n darzis to make there designs its not like they sit n make it themselves by hand....
eyelashes..the difference between an architect and a construction worker....is they all have their designated jobs based on skills and abilities...
an architect sees a vision and the construction worker makes it happen...they cant work without each other...consider getting a custom made home...you hire an architect...you pay him/her to design a house for you.....the extra costs are shared by the material used and of course the labor!
same formula, different products.
also..girls when you say you ll be wearing the outfit once or twice....what do you do with the pictures?? are they only good for viewing once or twice??
Alhamdollilah, I work for my money and I saved money for my wedding dress and no I don't feel guilty spending what I did on it. But in the same breath I also thank Allah for making me capable of doing this and so I pay back for those who can't. I don't want to get all preachy preachy but if you follow (The Noble Quran, 3:180), it Clearly states that Allah (swt) wants us to be balanced spenders not too cheap and not too extravagant. If it is within your means - you should.
i really dont think its that big of a deal if someone wants to spend tons of money on their wedding dress. If they can afford to do so its good for them. I know personally i have a budget and i wont spend alot of money on mine but im not going to lie if i had access to a lot of money, i probably would too. And i think most ppl would do the same.... (not all i said most).
I dont think ppl need to take out loans or go broke for a wedding outfit...
Ppl need to remember there will always be somone more well off than u, and someone who makes alot less than you. To someone who earns less than you, what you do on ur wedding might seem like excess too....
Its a wedding! :)
Re: Split debate-Spending thousands on a wedding dress
[mod] The discussion on whether you should spend thousands on your wedding dress or not is moved here so don't go and start flooding in Bridal Pics again. Thanks. [/mod]
ahhhhh if you talk about charity!!......IMO a better charity option is to put a poor kid thru college, so he/she can at least become capable of taking care of themselves...and be proud of arranging for their own weddings.
That's actually a very very awesome idea.