What is the most that you have spent on a kids outfit?
I was walking through NM and saw kids cashmere sweaters for 2 year olds. Silk Peacoats for babies. Obviously there is a market for it - otherwise they wouldn’t sell this stuff.
You know they are going to grow out of it in 6 months so what do you? Do still splurge? Tuck them away for the next kid? Or it’s worth having your kid look all GQed out.
Even for special occssions as holidays and weddings - what are you willing to spend? And if you do what do you do with such expensive clothes when they grow out of them?
I find it really wasteful to see kids in expensive clothing.
Once in a while if I really fall in love with an outfit I will do it but for those parents that will only consider Baby Gap or Next or Mexx I have a question.....why not give sadqa in the name of your child instead of spending it on clothing?
Even if you can afford it.....why not put the money to better use?
My baby is still so little (10 months) but i find myself wanting to dress her in cute stuff. I like Gymboree and Gap kids BUT find it wasteful to spend 30 bucks on a dress taht she will only wear twice before she outgrows it. What i like doing is scouring for sales and finding deals that she can either wear now or next year inshaAllah. There are some awesome sales going on now.
I admit, with my eldest daughter, i spent stupid money on clothes for her. And yeah, she quickly outgrew most of the clothes…but if they were clothes that were still practically brand new, i would give them to a friend, donate them to charity, or keep them, in hope of having another girl
With the second, i calmed down, and with the third… … the only really expensive thing he has is something cashmere from Ralph Lauren, and i didn’t buy it, scout’s honour!
I don't have kids yet but I used to buy stuff from baby GAP for my older nephew.. I loved their sweaters and yes they lasted more than then sweaters I bought from Carters or Osh Kosh.. turned out his sweaters were used for his two younger brothers and they still looked as new as before.. I think it was totally worth it. No regrets at all!
I also found out later that you can buy good quality at cheap prices at outlets.. I dont mind driving for an hour to go to outlets where I can get a gap sweater for less than $20 whereas as the same thing is for 30+ at the store in the mall.. not to mention the good use of sales and coupons which requires planning n trips to mall every now and then!
I have two girls so it works well with the hand me downs. (shoes, boots, sweaters). I feel like the are too young and they get their clothes dirty with all the activites that they do. There is no point on buying them luxury type of items when they are going to be putting finger paint on them.
With the formal dresses that they have worn once - I feel bad tossing them into the donation bins.
i sometimes do esp Mexx is my fav one, but only on 50-70% Sale. Also Roots for warms pants. i even bought my daughter Geox boots but she wore them for like 2 winter/fall so money well spent.even though its not wise but once a while esp if u get it on good sale y not? the only thing i learnt never buy on regular price coz once sale season hits u feel lke stupid.
i think u wash it with cold water right away. then press it in a shammy to draw water out. then place it straight on a towel/shammy n let t dry. never hang or put in drier
What is the most that you have spent on a kids outfit?
I was walking through NM and saw kids cashmere sweaters for 2 year olds. Silk Peacoats for babies. Obviously there is a market for it - otherwise they wouldn't sell this stuff.
You know they are going to grow out of it in 6 months so what do you? Do still splurge? Tuck them away for the next kid? Or it's worth having your kid look all GQed out.
Even for special occssions as holidays and weddings - what are you willing to spend? And if you do what do you do with such expensive clothes when they grow out of them?
wellll i dnt totally agree with this theory that kids grow out of it jaldii so cuz of that u shudnt buy expensive stuff for them....cuz like even adults dont carry on wearing same stuff for much longer anyways....so i dnt think that really matters.......however ofcouse one shud never go out of a decent range for any of the materialistic things..............well atleast try not to :D whether for yourself or the baby...
waisai point of thread kiya hai?
To each his own man… discuss kar key eik party will definately feel bad. And its not like the babies even know - mommies enjoy it more then them…
They should have couple of expensive clothes (the one that fit them, I hate it when parents buy their kids 2 sizes large clothes so they last long. Kids look like clowns while dragging those oversize clothes behind them) but for most of the part, they should wear not so expensive clothes. Its not them just growing up, but they dirty their clothes so much .. ink, paint, stains .. sometimes you have no choice but to throw away a perfectly good piece of clothing just because it beyond cleaning now.
Question was what do you do with the pricey baby/kids clothes. Even pricey desi clothes for kids like mini sherwanis etc.
It's a lot of money to give to salvation army.
Do you save it for you next kiddo?
Or do you give to family members?
I have heard of mom even saving them a souviners of their children's childhood.
Resell them on ebay?
^ me too I totally keep Ayman's clothes. I'm a greedy mom I can't seem to give them away!!! or even think of usuing for the next one...
I still go back and smell the clothes I met him in.
I guess for me its the thought that I want him to have the best of everything.
And he looks adorable in them - and we do wear them more then a few times.
There is always a function or two going on -- and I'm a brand whore!!
There I've said it!!!! Brand whore!!! I'm a brandwhore sobbing -- and theatrical exit