space colonization and religion

Re: space colonization and religion

No, maybe to you religion is simply faith. But for me and many other Muslims and followers of other religions, it's more than just faith. An accountability. For this world and the next. That's why it's more than just faith; it's a reality. For me, the Quran contains evidences, it points to evidences, heck it encourages us to look around us ....to "explore".....and to use our intellect. And looking around, Alhumdolillah, doesn't lead me to feelings of doubt and uncertainty....rather it only reaffirms my belief in Allah and my faith. I believe that it liberates me, sets me free....while for you that equates to being mentally chained and blind.

IMO, I see a mind which is in a state of unrest or plagued by doubts and uncertainties.....as one that is shackled. If one truly believes they are unchained, then being unchained implies liberation ...which should come with greater inner peace/sakoon.

somewhat what i was thinking but you put it in a better way.

My post re chains was in response to ur eaarlier post that being an agnostic or atheist is equiv to bring chained per others beliefs. I was simply stating - not so. That being agnostic or atheist actually opens up THAT persons mind more. He / she becomes more objective.

I am neither agnostic nor atheist. But I respect them fo their independent thinking.

I respect religious folks who r respectful towards other faiths - such as u.

Also, I respectfully disagree with the mixing of Science and Religion. Just as I do wrt Govt and Religion. That may sseem like a rant or flooding to some. So be it.

Ijtehad keh raha tha , we can do this. I asked him despite -60 degree C just daytime temp on planet. He said yes.

Wait a second. Lemme clear somethin' up for ya. Rainy days said that TLK doesn't think much. Philosophy said that TLK thinks more because he isn't chained by dogma. So, she is implying that one who believes in a religion doesn't think as much or as openly. I merely asked Philosophy whether she believes those who don't follow a religious dogma are mentally unchained...when one could still be chained/influenced/limited by societal laws, upbringing, etc. You have misread my post and maybe felt the need to defend Phil when I wasn't even attacking her.

OP himself has brought religion into this colonizing Mars venture.

RV. Now I need to clear something up for you. You and I at times have diammetrically opposite views on issues - mostly related to religion and its role in the public ( as opposed to private) sphere. Personally I like you as a GS poster. Very respectful. Honest. Passionate in what u believe in. No personal attacks. And respecting all faiths.

I have NEVER replied to ANY of ur posts with the intentvto defend another person. When I read ur list, from my POV, the disagreement I had with some of the points u made stood out. And I simply responded.

There really was no ulterior motive such as coming to anyones defense - least of all philosophyyyy, who is never at a loss for words!

So for future reference, know that if I reply to ur post, it is ONLY abt ur posts contents.

Okay, Southie. Thank you for clearing that up.

Now I am confused. I said I respectfully disagree with mixing of religion and science. It is ok to respectfully disagree with OP isn't it?

The comment re if it sounds like a rant or flooding to some so be it was, I am sure you know, was NOT directed at OP or others who just happened to have different POV. It was only directed to those who find any opinion different from theirs a rant. Is all.

You know what is the problem with all the holier than thou people? They automatically assume that one who is asking questions has a low level of belief.

I am surprised that some of us are even implying that one way journey to mars is unislamic. Quran asked to partake in taskheer e Kainaat. How are we planning to do that if we are passing such fatwas?

This same attitude was towards the rulings about living in south or north pole till only few decades ago, and muftis used to yell at the asker about not asking fuzool ke questions. Now we have Muslim communities living pretty much at the border countries of north pole. Similarly we had Malaysian or Indonesian Muslim astronaut who spent many days in the international space station few years ago.

Again, colonization on mars or moon is going to happen, and some younger ones amongst us will witness that in their lifetime. Ignoring that is not going to take the issue away

Aray..Just One point. Jo log Dunya mein reh rahay hain woh kitna Islam/religion follow kar rahay hai that it will be a problem following it on other planets. Pehlay idher to follow kar lein ..waqt aaany peh us ka hall khud Allah Ta'aala Nikaal de ga.

Where there is a Will there is a Way.

I take it that the holier-than-thou remark is directed toward me. Anyhow, I have come across the fatwa websites, but I myself haven’t issued the fatwa. Nor have I implied that a one-way journey is un-Islamic…but yes…I DO see the one-way as being more risky/dangerous. Op, you brought up the five pillars and if you see colonization of Mars as a major hindrance to implementing the 5 pillars…even more so than it is in the case of the north/south pole, …then why be so adamant about it? From the article the planet sounds like a very difficult place to survive in let alone follow the pillars. I understand questioning how the pillars will be followed on another planet, but I find it strange that it should lead to questioning the “concept” of religion. That reads like saying, “If the pillars of Islam cannot be implemented easily on another planet, then maybe that’s a sign the religion is lacking in truth/validity or isn’t necessary or required.” Then does this mean that those religions that are easier to practice on Earth and other planets have greater validity? Even on this planet, principles of Islam are not adhered to even in Muslim nations. And then something like the establishment of a new world order which we hear about these days with greater frequency than the issue of colonizing Mars and which is said to be a system of governance in which all religions will be eradicated…and if that is true…and if the “younger ones” or our children will witness this… then it will be difficult if not impossible to implement 5 pillars of Islam…or the 1 pillar of another religion…or the 10 pillars of another faith on good ole’ planet Earth…let alone Mars. :hehe:

which way will they face when they pray? where would the Qibla be? :konfused:

Simple yar. We will follow the Saudi Schedule :chai:

THANK YOU. now you understand what i have been facing here!!!

hahahaha

....]We said, "Go down, [all of you], as enemies to one another, and you will have upon the earth a place of settlement and provision for a time." 2:36

boss perhaps its time... hmm

Yaraa, what kind of "we’ll see when it happens’ kind of answer is that? Yahan pe bhi bohut achchay musalman hain. Lekin achchay aur kharab musalman tou har waqt main mojood thay aur rahain gay

Well maybe all it means that we can use ijtehaad and reinvent the 5 pillars. I know this sounds ridiculous and totally against the basic faith, but as as someone said that Islam’s ruling are based on the philosophy of ‘changing rules for the changing needs, and unchanging rules for the unchanging needs’. If there is a need to figure out new rules for Saum and Salat, then so be it. If Mars required a different measurement of months, or which way to face for prayers, then that is fine. Faith remains the same, only protocols would change.

If you are stuck at a place where there is no way for you to figure out the direction of qibla, then you can pick any direction. At least that is what I think the ruling is.

I did not get the meaning of the ayat Monk. Please explain further.