Some questions

Are all my actions, my birth, my death, my fate, my reward and punishment - all pre-decided? What am I doing running around then? Where does my free will fit in?

He created all the souls, he created good and evil, so if someone is evil, how is that his fault? What would he be punished for - if it was his fate to do evil and this is what he was made for?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZE1Kke82Z38 [first 4 mins]

The issue of evil and good and proof of God [and also that of freewill] is discussed here;

[Nature of Belief]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxCTAzvDWfQ [audio file]

http://www.lecture-transcripts.com/2…of-belief.html [text format of the same lecture, no Q&A]

Re: Some questions

So I was talking to this mufti, a young looking guy, just looking at his face would comfort you. You'd probably wanna forget all the hate and bloodshed around you. I asked him,

What am I here for?
What is my purpose?
What if what I blv in is incorrect?
Me asking these questions, does it make me a weak muslim? Does it take me away from Islam.... (and I asked whole bunch of stupid questions).

He looks at me.... He read some versus and some ahadith... he told me, "asking questions" is good but don't let those questions astray you from the right path... he told me that Allah SWT said that a momin is that who asks and investigates and spreads... It is Shaitan (Devil) who can lead you astray with some questions that you may think were unanswered.

Point is: Strive to seek the knowledge and understanding is permissible in Islam... And "Jaanwar" (I just hope you change this nick and not call a noble creature something else - I mean I just feel wrong calling you JAANWAR" - :P ) , your questions are extremely logical and normal. I had those questions, I still have them, some are answered , some are still pending. Advise is to keep looking for an answer and seek refuge from Allah SWT only.

SargeCandy, atleast for me, it wasn't a Fatwa... I think we're debating on this same thing in other threads too. Whatever you're saying is just not for me. It doesn't make sense to me.

Why do I go to someone for my salvation who's deeds are unknown to me? so here's the situation;

"Peer Sahab" tells me to be pious and pray namaz and teaches me islam = I'm down with that
I ask "Peer Sahab" to make dua for me for me to be pious or for any Jaiz thing = Makes perfect sense to me.
"Peer sahab" asks me to call myself his "Murshid" - I'm so not down with that.
I ask "Peer Sahab" to ask Allah SWT to forgive me? = Not down with that, Peer Sahab should've been thinking about his own salvation
I go to a "Dead" person because he was "known" to be pious in his life and ask that DEAD person to help me get certain things, or to ask him to make dua for me?? = FORGET THAT... He's DEAD, he can't even help himself now, how is he going to help me?

Yaara point is: we take these "Peeri Faqeeri" so far that it falls under wrong and extremely dangerous side of things.

Peace hasanhere

I actually agree with SargeCandy ... however, I don't agree with his approach, it was too heavy to take on.

InshaAllah all the things you have problems with can easily be explained or clarified, but this is not the thread for it.

Having a spiritual guide, a teacher, a mentor, a Shaykh, a murshid whatever title you use ... there is a place for it in Islam. The dabba pir syndrome in Pakistani circles can easily be rooted out if you know what a real pir does.

Please understand that I have no problem with above bolded quote. But I do have problem (an opinion) when people ask a PEER and/or Murshid and/or WALI to save them, to help them. They can only make DUA for you, nothing else is in their hands. "THE SOURCE" of all things is ALLAH SWT and if someone claims otherwise, like SargeCandy, then I'd have really hard time digesting it.

Do we commit evil acts because of Satan's misguidance or is it our own evil part?

That is discussed here;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZE1Kke82Z38

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EGQz1…eature=related

[Nature of Belief]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxCTAzvDWfQ [audio file]](http://www.youtube.com/user/TheInnerStruggle#p/u/7/fxCTAzvDWfQ)

http://www.lecture-transcripts.com/2…of-belief.html [text format of the same lecture, no Q&A]

To my understanding answer to your query regarding our existence is....."sorting".

and by sorting i mean ALLAH SWT sees that who deserves Jannah and who dont by putting us in several problems/test/azmaish during our lifetime in this world and wanted to see who asks HIM SWT for the help. when ALLAH SWT first created Prophet Adam AS, he as every other living being to bow him cuz he is "Asraful Maklook". but Iblees denied cuz he thought i am made up of fire so i am superior than someone who is made with the "Mitti".

even though ALLAH SWT banish iblees from Jannah, but then iblees asked ALLAH SWT to grant him time till the day of judgement to prove that we human dont deserve jannah. and his very first target was Prophet Adam. who refused to listen to him, so then he moved to His AS better, Eve AS....and i hope rest is we all know.

Jaanwar

I want you to have a look at this link…and suggest that listen to Track 4 Amman: The Coherence of Islam and even other tracks if want to but track 4 really addresses your questions. These are replies to commonly asked questions by Shaylh Nuh Ha Meem Keller, a very knowledgeable scholar.
Shaykh Nuh Keller - Home Page

Since Allah knows everything, from the beginning till the end, didn’t he already know this would happen? That hazrat adam will eat the forbidden fruit, iblees would act as he did, hazrat adam would be expelled from jannah? creation of the universe? Was every single bit pre-planned, or everything was a surprise for him? and creation of everything was a reaction instead of an action?

Isn’t it beneath him to put humans through such immense unimaginable torture?

Thank you hareem. I would listen to it today inshalah.

Shahmeer - thank you brother I appreciate your input, but please stop posting hundreds of link here. I am pretty sure I won't be able to go through all of them anyway. Plus, I can always use google myself. I am looking for conclusions based on the piles and piles of information (true and false) circulating everywhere.

Thank you hasan, much appreciated :k: I don’t mind you calling me Jaanwar :hehe:

I am just hoping that I will find some answers from people who have done their bit of research and study. Everyone has been very helpful.

Well to begin with, if you had looked more closely, they are just two distinct links.

I have gone through the piles of information on this subject and could have posted all of that but I provided you with the link which I though was a concise reply to your first question [and they aren't very long either].

Yes you could have used google yourself but doubt you search would have directed you here.

You still have the choice to follow Allah's commandments or Shaitans misguidance. It is not like shatan will hold your hand and take you to rob the bank.
Or shatan will hold your hand and will make you push that nuclear attack button.

Bear in mind im just giving you information, i am in no way trying to change ur beliefs.

Yaar most people ask for Hadith and Quranic reference and I can give those to prove the validity of Aulia-Karam.

No Peer will make u mureed. until you go and insist on it again and again, and then also if he sees something inside you, then he will make u his mureed.

The peer who is elevated to the status of murshid is done by ALLAH only and thus only he is given enough powers, not ever peer can be murshid. This means he is very close to ALLAH thats why he is made murshid and thats why he is definitely closer to ALLAH than us.

But definitely if the peer who is murshid makes a mistake, then his mureeds are also stuck with it, but this is ALLAH's wisdom that HE doesnt choose weak persons as peers and then as murshid so the humanity doesnt suffer because of him instead he invokes the word of ALLAH in them.

I can give a very simple example for dead people:

Hazrat Muhammad (SAW) has asked us to send salam on graves when entering graveyard,
"asslam o alikum warakhmatullah-a-wa-barakatuhu aye ehlal kaboor"

So why should we send salam to a grave with nobody inside it ? i hope u get my point. I can give more examples if you want.

1 - You can't change my beliefs even if you'd try to. People have tried but I guess I'm not "GUIDED" yet.
2 - I never questioned validity of Awlia-e-Karaam.
3 - Peeri-Mureedi doesn't make sense to me. Period.
4- And that "PEER" tells you that he's closer to Allah than you? WOW, I'd like to see that PEER who claims he's better than you and he knows it. Last time I checked, this "Betterness" is b'w that PEER and ALLAH SWT.. not you and him.
5 - "PEER" makes a mistake and his 100's of mureed gets punished? defeats the purpose of one of Allah's great names (AL-Hakam - The JUDGE or *[FONT=Verdana,Arial]AL-'ADL * [FONT=Verdana,Arial]The Just, The Equitable) - Naodubillah
6 - meaning of sending "SALAM" to people in grave is to send them PEACE and mercy of ALLAH SWT to them. I never questioned and have any issues with people making DUA for DEAD... Asking the "DEAD" to make dua is the issue. BODY is dead, consciousness is alive. They can hear you (probably), see you, but can't do anything for you... "TIME IS UP" for them to do anything for you or even for themselves. They've done their job in this world.

It seems we may be talking about same thing, but to the level you're taking this PEERI-MURSHID thing is beyond me. I know you quoted some versus in some of your previous threads and claimed that ALLAH wants us to go to HIM through his "Wali-Allah's". Some of the versus didn't even mean what you claimed they meant. Or I guess I'm very ignorant of all things.

My entire concern is that, never bow down to anyone but Allah, and never ask anyone for anything Except Allah. You can go to peers and murshids or molvi for guidence/knowledge, just dont ask them to help you. Asking them to help you or to do something for you, is not what a muslim, who only submitted to ALLAH, should do.

Call me “Salafi” , Call me “Wahabbi”, call me “munafiq”.. but this is what I blv. and what I said in my above post. Please quote versus from quran and hadith about asking Awlia-e-karam for help. and I’ll try to investigate.. maybe its time for me to change :slight_smile:

Jaanwar... do u really think us mere humans are capable of answering these questions?

My husband does the same to me.. asks me the EXACT same questions.. and im left baffled... and i say "i dont know... "

for me, i dont even know why there is religion... what is the basis of it. But i still pray, I still believe, its comforting... hence I do.

But really... if i had the answers, which i wish i did, one day... i'd be a very very happy person

In Koran its said,
"Your helpers are Almighty Allah and His Rasool and those Muslims who perform Salaah and give alms and make Ruku" (5:55,Koran)

Holy Quran says (summary relating to Sahaba Karam and Aulia-Karam etc is):

"Verily, ALLAH helps them and Jibril and Saaleh Mumineen and then angels are helpers". ( Surah Al-Tehreem: ayat 4)

The Holy Prophet (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) has stated, "There are certain of Allah's servants that have been set aside to fulfil the necessities of the people. People will call to them in their times of need. They are protected from the punishment of Almighty Allah". (Jame Saghir)

ALLAH says about his servants (Aulia-Karam) in surah Al-Kahf: (18:28)

"Stay tenaciously in the companionship of those who remember their Lord morning and evening, ardently seeking His pleasure, (keen on the glimpse of His sight and eagerly aspiring to glance at His radiant Countenance). Your (affectionate and caring) looks must not but focus them. Do you seek the charisma of the worldly life (shifting your attention away from these self-denying devotees)? And (also) do not follow him whose heart We have made neglectful of Our remembrance and who follows but the urge of his (ill-commanding self) and his case has exceeded all bounds. "

"He whom Allah, guides is rightly guided; but he whom Allah leaves to stray,- for him wilt thou find no protector (murshid) to lead him to the Right Way". (Quran 18:17)

I have mentioned these before also :

Hazrat Saad Bin Abe Waqas (r.a.) has narrated that, Once Prophet Mohammed (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) said that

"Allah (GOD) alleviates the nations but through His devotees friends".

In this Hadith which is narrated by Hazrat Saad Bin Abe Waqas (r.a.), Prophet Mohammed (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) has defined that Allah helps the nation as a sum or individually only because of His friends which are Aulia Akram (Saints).

Hazrat Eabad (r.a.) has narrated that once Prophet Mohammed (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) said that

" In MY (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) nation there are forty Abdals (devotees) because of whom the system of the world exists. Cause of them rainfalls and due to them you are helped."

Hazrat Annas (r.a.) narrates that once Prophet Mohammed (sallal laahu alaihi wasallam) said that
"This world will not remain vacant from forty Abdals (devotees). Those who will be from the grandsons and nation of Hazrat Abraham (a.s.) and due to them you will be helped."

Then there are others also :

‘Allama Sa’eedi and ‘Allama ‘Abd al-Hakim Sharf Qadri write:

“It is better that help is sought directly from Allah, most High, and through the waseela of the anbiya or awliya. If an individual seeks help from the anbiya or awliya by means of achieving help from Allah, most High, the person is not committing kufr.”

[Sharh Muslim, ‘Allama Sa’idi, Nidaa-e-Ya Muhammad, page 30 by ‘Allama Sharf Qadri]

Shaykh al-‘Alawi al-Maliki, the mufti of Makka writes:

“When we ask help from the anbiya and awliya, as a means, it is through their supplication (du’a) that they help us. Take for example the Day of Judgment when the umma will benefit from our Prophet, (May Allah bless him and grant him peace). This is called asking for help through the anbiya and awliya and likewise to ask them to make du'a for us can be called help or istishfah or tawasul.

[Ziyarat of the Grave, page 213, by the mufti of Makka, ‘Allama Shaykh Muhammad al-‘Alawi al-Maliki al-Makki]

If we commit sins due to Satan's misguidance, who's resposible for his sin?