Some more Truth: Imran Khan

According to Hoodbhoy, Pakistan shouldnt even have nukes. P.s. take it easy, Imran Khan never said anything to Ahmedis.

First of all, where did I say Mahathir was 'my' personal hero? Secondly, did Mahathir (who was not a military dictator) come to power using illegal means, after taking an oath on not to rape the country's constitution? You have serious issues with English comprehension perhaps, please read carefully.

Do you dispute this claim?

Sure, which is why it is imperative to eliminate those forcing any sort of lifestyle on people.

Habib Jalib, the left-wing communist secular-progressive?

So? He may be left or right wing, do I give a rats bottom, NO. Unlike thugs who used both their left and righ hands to wipe dictator's arses, he spent most of his life in jail for beign defiant. His poetry of defiance stands tall even at this hour.

I was referring to Imran as the democrat, not you.

Secondly, the poster was referring to the judiciary, where the parallels between Musharraf and Mahathir, and CJ and the Malaysian equivalent, are pretty strong. Read up here:

1988 Malaysian constitutional crisis - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The point was your talking about ‘secular degenerates’ in the same breath as quoting a proudly secularist/communist/progressive/leftist/etc leader seems pretty oblivious.

While Mahatir may not be perfect (no one is...) the way he revived the Malaysian economy is definitely something to take inspiration from.

Re: Some more Truth: Imran Khan

^ true, however if much of your advocacy has been for judicial independence, and you have been repeatedly claiming that you gave your party its name because you believe in the primacy of justice, your support for someone who is controversial for dismissing judges should atleast be qualified.

oh maaf kar yar…

i said i have a problem with secular degenerates imposing their beliefs using the danda, just like the taliban. I dont have a problem with 'WHAT" they preach, its HOW they preach.

Like Imran or dislike him, agree with his voews or disagree with him, he is a decent person, and what those Ji goons did to him was unacceptable. I know its old news but looking at that picture and looking at the disappointment in Imran's face is truly heartbreaking. In the end he is trying to do what he thinks is best for the nation, and he did not deserve the lameness of those thugs.

^ What about the way the Musharraf Govt handled him, i.e. house arresting him with absolutely no shreds of charges, keeping him in detention prisons for no reason, and do you want me to post a video of the police beating the crap out of his sisters? Furthermore, denying his right to travel to Karachi? That certainly deserves ALOT more condemnation than a minute or two of 'dragging' by JI which is questionable.

that was wrong too. here I saw a picture which made me rather sad and I noted it.

Yeah regardless of whether we completely approve of his political views or not he is someone who is decent and untainted with corruption; someone who has given something back to the country in the form of his many social projects (I don’t need to list them here..). What have Zardari and NS ever given back to Pakistan despite their enormous wealth??

Had IK not entered politics but accepted PCB chairmanship in the past, I am sure some people would have then slated him for taking the easy way out. That world cup debacle of 2007 could have easily happened under IK’s chairmanship and then people would have said why did he have to accept that?..saari mitti paleed kar lee. There is no guarantee that even if Imran took over as PCB chairman now our cricket fortunes would change for the better. He has no magic wand in his hand. A chairman (cf. captain) is only as good as the players that are available to him. The fact of the matter is our current team is not only short on talent but also lacks mental toughness that is needed to win big matches against tough teams on a consistent basis. They even struggled against a weakened Australia team at Dubai/Abu Dhabi recently. I am not sure even a weakened Australia would have lost the 5th ODI if the series was still alive!!

As it is we might not get to see Pakistan winning another world cup in our life time. It is because of IK and a few others that people around the world still regard our cricket and cricketers (even though the current lot are essentially jokers and chokers) with respect.

And if Imran had shunned both politics and cricket and given more priority to his private/family life (I mean he did not really need all this pain, nuisance or hullaballoo. He could have easily commuted back and forth between London and Islamabad/Lahore as he did in the 70s, 80s and early 90s or indulged in some of his favourite hobbies such as hunting and trekking etc.) then everyone would have criticised him for snubbing the nation.

You cannot always win with some impatient and thaali k baigan Pakistanis

And Zardari and Nawaz are ‘successful’ politicians not because of personal charisma or any outstanding qualities or qualifications. Both are of average intellect; both are not graduates of a good institute for a start. PPP is still defined by the legacy of ZAB and NS is banking on the name of his party even though his Muslim League has nothing to do with the parent Muslim League founded by Jinnah. Both Zardari and NS should thank their lucky stars rather than anything-else for being where they are now…so iss khushfehmi se sab bahar niklo. And let’s not forget that both ZAB (though he was talented in his own right..) and NS were nurtured by military dictators.

There was a time when we had outstanding ministers and diplomats like Agha Shahi, Jamshed Marker, Mehboob-ul-Haq etc.; now we have to contend with jokers like Wazi Zafar, Sheikh Rashid, Rehman Malik, Nabeel Gol Matol (err…Gabol…sorry could not resist it!!), Fazlur Rehman’s illiterate brother (forgetting his name) and many pathetic others

While we may disagree with some of IK’s views we should atleast have the decency and commonsense to appreciate what he has done and is still doing in order to bring a meaningful change in the lives of under-privileged Pakistanis

And just because Imran lists Jinnah and Mahatir as his heroes, it should not be taken to mean that he agrees with their every word or deed. Like I do support and admire IK despite having reservations (and I am entitled to..) about some of his political views

^ there is no doubt that IK is much better than NS, Zardari, Altaf, Fazlur Rehman, Qazi etc. I think the reason why people criticize him is for that very reason. He could have been above the gutter, but he chose to wallow with JI and JUI and NS. The same NS that brought up the Sita White stuff is the NS he doesnt dare criticize now.

Political expedience is understandable when you have something to lose, what does he have to lose? Why not craft an independent viewpoint with integrity

Agreed. He should never have been in bed with those guys

I watched that Capital Talk episode (posted below) as well and you very conveniently failed to mention the following:

• Hoodbhoy was the one who provoked Imran and then was like a frightened chicken in desperate need of resuscitation when Imran reacted in anger…Hahahaha. There was no physical contact.
  • Hoodbhoy was speechless when Imran Khan asked him if he was an American/CIA agent?
  • Imran DID CONDEMN suicide bombings. He said something like, “What person in his right mind would not oppose suicide bombings!”
  • Hoodbhoy was right though to point out to Imran that the criminal elements burning down the schools etc. were Taliban not Americans

Mind you Imran Khan is used to bowling bouncers and his bouncers can be played only by MEN like Viv Richards and Gavaskar not by Altaf or smooth talkers like Haider Imam Rizwi who made another pathetic defence…Altaf bhai can only talk on telephone from far away…Hahahahaha

Hoodbhoy is a learned scholar. While Imran was throwing bouncers and feeling up girls in the UK, Hoodbhoy was earning his PhD in physics from MIT. You can't even compare a soft spoken smart person like Hoodbhoy, to this overgrown cricket player Imran who verbally attacked him on the show.

^ Khekeshan, yaar I don't hate Hoodbhoy. We need more and more educated and talented people like him in politics.

Infact I support Pervez Hoodbhoy's understanding of Jinnah etc.

As I said before I don't view everything as a black and white issue. I was only joking...

earning a PHD doesnt mean person has intellect and honor, my ecomonics teacher had a PHD as well but how he got it noone had an idea, mind it it was from a reputable UK institution.

one of our Maths professor was a PHD extremely best on numbers and numbers only, he used to lock his wife at home while coming to university..

a politician or a leader doesnt necesary need a PHD but intellect and vision.

i am frustrated with imran's viewpoint and does it annoy me Yes but does i have lesser respect for him NO i would still prefer him on zardari, nawaz, and altaf.. atleast he tells what he has in his mind without fear of politicial consequences which mean he is confident about his view and belives in himself..

remember we used to label people in 1971 who had an alternate viewpoint and it seem unfortunately they were correct and i pray imran is wrong this time.

in which clip did imran khan attempt to physically attack hoodhbuoy? i watched the whole thing and didnt see it happen

which secular degenerates are trying to impose 'westernization' using the danda?

I think test and others are overexaggerating. The angry exchange in the beginning is what they are referring to. There was certainly no assault or anything like that.

Hoodbhoy even referred to Imran as a friend in the beginning before that angry exchange happened; neither exceeded sensible limits of decency IMO

test: seeing is believing and it was not such an ugly incident as you and others are making it out to be

^ no someone posted what seemed like a link to his blog…

ah… it was in the break:

3. During the break, Hamid Mir asked Imran Khan how exactly he knew I was an American agent. Imran Khan replied that “Pervez’s friend R**** told me”. I told Imran Khan that he was talking nonsense and had gone mad in making such a serious allegation on TV. Imran Khan rose in fury from his chair to hit me. I recalled my boxing days in school and got up too…*

Pervez Hoodhbhoy attacked by Taliban Khan (Imran Khan) Indus Asia Online Journal (iaoj)

edit: its not Pervez Hoodhbuoy’s blog, but someone who is apparently quoting him from a chain email that Pervez Hoodhbuoy wrote.