(One can never forget the song, the melody
and the movie…et al!)

MUFT HUAY BADNAAM;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4CJdGXrK44&feature=related

========

Chall Urr Ja Re Paanchee;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPtDTMhQ3r4

www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_IPDp2ffiA&feature=related

Indian films are not even a patch on iranian films. Iranian films are the best example of how art doesn’t have to cross your religious and moral boundaries to achieve a high stature. Their actresses wear hijaab and they don’t have any vulgarity in their films. Both aesthtically and technically, Iran is far better than the trashy commercial hollywood. Unlike us, iran takes prides in it’s culture and that is reflected in their films which have carved an idenity of their own.

Until and unless pakistani cinmema stops imitatng the crappy bolly films, we cannot excel.

I completely AGREE on the thoughts extricated above on the piousness of IRANIAN film industry.

I saw their CHILDREN OF PARADISE which was nominated for OSCAR...also. The movie was amazing!

Khush Rahein...

Raju Jamil

DETAILED SURMISE ON
MUGHAL-e-AZAM
WILL BE POSTED ON THIS
THREAD BY SUNDAY-12 OCT.

MEANWHILE…
AIK YAAD…
KARACHI KE CINEMA HALLS…

JO AAJ TUKK DIMAGH MEIN GHOOM RAHEE HAI;

-------

NAIEE UMANGOUN…
***AUR NAI TAQAZOUN…NE GHARATT KARDIYA…SUBB KUCH
JO ABB KHAWAB BUN GAYA HAI..!!!

***KIYA BAAT THEEH;

PARADISE, CAPITOL, BAMBINO, SCALA, PRINCE, CAPRI, REX, PALACE, LYRIC, GODEON, RIVOLI, DREAMLAND-DRIVE-IN, NISHAT, NAZ AUR REGAL CINEMA HALLS KI…

***KIYA MAHAULL THAH…
KIYA CHOC BAR ICE CREAM THEEH…
KIYA CINEMA HALL KI AIRCONDITIONING THEEH…
KIYA SCREEN PE MUKHMALL KA PURDAH JHOTA THAH…
KIYA INTERVAL MEIN ‘JAZZ’ ‘JIVE’ AUR ‘MOOG’ MUSIC HOTI THEEH…

KIYA MOVIES HOTI THEEHN…
KIYA VIEWERS HOTE THAY…
KIYA KIYA SHAADIAN HUEE HEIN…CINEMA HALLS MEIN FAMILY KE
SAATH PICTURE DEKHNE KE DAURAAN…

***EXCHANGE OF PHONE NUMBERS SE!
KIYA PURSUKOON MAUHALL THAH PICTURE KE DAURAAN…
KIYA TAALIAN AUR FOOT TAPPING HOTI THEEH..ELVIS, CLIFF AUR JAMES
DEAN KI FLIMS KE DAURAAN…

***SUBB DAFFA HO GAYA…
SUBB FANA’A HO GAYA…
COMMERCIAL SERVICE KI NAZAR-------------:slight_smile:

KEELIK AWN;
Classic Movies

MUGHAL-e-AZAM ( Now a full length color movie )
By Raju Jamil (Published in IMAGES - 2005)

***WHENEVER ONE SPEAKS of grandeur, extravagance and opulence in Indian movies, the name that comes foremost to one’s mind is ‘Mughal-e-Azam” which, after 44 years of its release, has been converted into a full length color film.. the progress of I.T and Science hailed !

There’s something so imposing about the film even now, that all other costume dramas we can think of simple pale in comparison.

“Mughal-e-Azam” can easily be termed as filmmaker K.Asif’s most ambitious venture and his most successful one as well. And look at the man’s track record – in his entire career-span, he made only four films and he is still regarded with more honor and respect than most of the Bollywood filmmakers we have heard of.

I remember being an ardent listener to the discussion between my father (Jamiluddin Aali) and his childhood friend from Dehli…India’s famous film story writer & poet Akhtarul Imaan (Father-in-Law of Amjad Khan a.k.a “Gabbar Singh” of ‘Sholay’ during Akhtar Chacha’s & my dad’s Abu Dhabi visit of mid-eighties for ‘Jashn-e-Qasmi’ during my UAE posting days) that; when K.Asif started work on this magnificent movie, he knew it was going to be one expensive film. And he was prepared to meet all the expenses on his own. But the time-span was something he was absolutely unguarded about. “Mughal-e-Azam” was in the making for 17 long years. It would just be fair to say that more than half of Asif’s career went into the making of one film.

When he conceptualized the movie, his first choice for the role of Shahzada Salim was the legendary actor Chandramohan, who had already proved his versatility in historicals like Sohrab Modi’s “Pukar” and Mehboob Khan’s “Humayun”. But the actor’s untimely demise brought the entire project to a grinding halt.

Asif took a while before deciding upon Dilip Kumar as the next choice, though rumours insist that he had even contemplated signing on Guru Dutt for the role one time.

Dilip Kumar was just the right man to portray the pain and passion of Shahzada Salim effectively to the core. His modulation, nuances and dialogue delivery brought alive the character of one of history’s most ardent lovers. Dilip once stated ( in an interview for Filmfare Magazine ) that the most credible factor about “Mughal-e-Azam” was that despite all the delay, the film still managed to retain its original flavor.

“Mughal-e-Azam” focuses around one of the most legendary love stories of all time – Shahzada Salim (Dilip) and Anarkali (Madhubala). Salim is the son of Emperor Akbar (Prithviraj Kapoor), ruler of India, who falls in love with a courtesan/kaneez to his mom Maharani Jaudabai. Obviously, this is too hard to digest for the Mughal Emperor ( still, in present era, it is heard that such tales shape up at the ends of those in rags-to-riches ) who tries his best to separate them. But nothing can come between the two lovers. When Akbar’s pressure tactics become unbearable for Anarkali, Salim declares war against his own father ( who can forget the famous dialogue of Dilip in that tense situation well delivered…. “Sheikho Ka Dil Koi Hidustan Ka Paya-e-Takht Nahin Hai Jis Pe Zille-Elahi Apna Hukum Chalaein”) BUT, the Emperor’s might is too overpowering for Salim and he loses the battle. Akbar then sentences him to death. True love then gathers eternal proportions when Anarkali decides to renounce her life in order to save her beloved Salim.

My extensive research on this historical beauty extracts that when “Mughal-e-Azam” was being made, the real-life love story of Dilip Kumar and Madhubala was at its peak. That further added to the poignancy of the screen drama. In fact, most people believed that this filmed engraved their love forever, after they tragically broke off a few years later. Even today, one of the most talked about scenes in the film is the one where an emotional Salim ruffles Anarkali’s face with a feather. This has gone down in movie history as one of the most effective love scenes ever picturised.

One of the other highlights of the film was the music composed by Naushad ( also known as Naushad-e-Azam due to his being declared as the Emperor of Music composition after Mughal-e-Azam) and the soul-stirring lyrics penned by Shakil Badayuni. ‘Pyar Kiya Tow Darna Kiya’, the song shot in grand Sheesh Mahal, is as immortal as the film itself. Incidently, then, the song was the only portion shot in color in the entire movie (then…probably, that was the filmmaker’s way of paying a fitting tribute to one of the most romantic songs ever) which has now been digitally converted and re-processed into a full length color film after over three dozen attempts made since 1998.

The dialogues by (Meena Kumari’s husband) Kamal Amrohi are a treat, specially in the face-to-face scenes between the two superstars, Dilip & Prithviraj Kapoor as the later was deliberately given heavier, more verbose lines in keeping with his style and overbearing persona. No other actor could have done as much justice to the character of Shehensha Akbar.

*My good friend Shehla w/o Late Amjad Khan (Gabbar Singh), the eldest daughter of Akhtarul Imaan, during her visit to meet her sister Rakhshinda settled in Abu Dhabi also discussed “Mughal-e-Azam” with me on my infatuation to know more & more about the background of this magic film. Said she; When the film was halfway through, news already out that K.Asif had gone overbudget. But that didn’t make any difference to the maker. At a time (mid-fifties-early sixties) when black-n-white films were not fetching more than Rs. 3 to 4 hundred thousand per territory in the subcontinent. Asif demanded a whopping 1.7 Million..much more than the filmmaker ever expected. Asif’s logic, I presume, was very clear – he had made a film which everyone (including the viewers) associated with it would be proud of for generations. And with the representative of Indian Government recently presenting the DVD of the full fledged color version to our country’s President at Islamabad – Late K.Asif’s action has proved that he has right !
I thought K.Asif could never have thought of repeating the magic of “Mughal-e-Azam” as he did try his hand by making another film on an equally lavish budget, “Love & God”, with Guru Dutt in the lead role. In fact, research claims that he even shot for it. But Dutt’s sudden death forced Asif to reshoot the portions. Asif then signed Sanjeev Kumar which too got stalled due to Asif’s demise followed by Sanjeev’s and Bokadia took over, made it and released it in an unfinished format.

MUGHAL-E-AZAM …..is considered to be one of the most significant films ever made in Indo-Pak subcontinent and the fact not only me but I reckon there are millions who must have watched this movie on an average of at least five times (my viewing count exceeds twenty five) itself is a momentous homage to a man who made less than four films in his entire career and a standing ovation to Dilip Kumar (Yusuf Khan) for his outstanding performance par excellence.***

-end

Some memorable scenes from; Mughal e Azam;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwIKZHzAJmk

(Love scene)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=aplobGY5WGc&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=plsRqFDk-2A

HUM SE JUDA NA HONE
by Seema Ghazal
was Directed by
S. Suleman
for
HUMAYUN SAEED PRODUCTIONS
90% of the serial was recorded
at my friend Shahid’s palatial bungalow
at Phase-VII, DHA, Karachi.

HUGE CAST;
Humayun Saeed, Shagufta Ejaz, Ayesha Khan, Sr.,
Badar Khalil, Saadia Imam, Perveen Akbar, Imtiaz Taj,
Zeba Shehnaz, Salma Afzar, Fakhar Alam, Aijazz Aslam,
Qazi Wajid, Saira Khan (the Lux girl),Sajida Syed,
Yours Sincerely, Jehanzeb Gorchani, Qazi Wajid,
Hina Mairaj, Tabassum Arif…
The serial had every bit of glamour, situations and
melodramatic currents…and it turned out to be a huge
success that Humayun got Lux style award with Saadia
for that serial;

Here is the theme song and some scenes…

HUMSE JUDA NA HONA;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQ2h535QOE8

www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrQAbGaSqmo&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=52ulbqFV3Qo&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=FigqL3nkPqc&feature=related

Paki oldies B&W;
(MEMORABLE SONGS & PICS…)

ADIL (1970)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJrbbXGrYug

***CHATAN (1969)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CSBXEruadg&feature=related

SAZA (1971)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGmOdj5nRiY&feature=related

MAA-BAAP (1973)
(High drama between;

**Waheed Murad-Yusuf Khan & Allaudin)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=sk1jePgOgTM&feature=related

DUNYA RAILGAARI
(The movie which never made it for 48 hours even)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3tOt9mCSM4&feature=related

Sushmita Sen
FELL OFF THE LEDGE AT GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE PARK-SAN FRANCISCO
WHEN SHE WAS SHOOTING THIS SONG.
***THEY HAD TO TAKE A WEEK OFF TO SHOOT THE REST OF THE SONG

www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMwt8q72XT8

THE HAPPY MOMENTS DURING THE NEW YEAR EVE GATHERING
WITH;

Raj kapoor, Nadra, Nargis & others singing;
MURR MURR K NA DEKH;
***(Raj Kapoor’s REMBA SEMBA style in classic when Nadra approaches him for dance)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=zd3AwnQlfoE

AND..

SHAMMI KAPOOR & MUMTAZ in Brahamachari;
(The song and the dance still recapped at mehendis and other functions)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhkVnMIByAA

**ELVIS PRESLEY…in Pakistan (50’s through 60’s)
Elvis Presley regularly visited Pakistan..mainly Karachi during mid-50’s through late 60’s.
His stay always, was a busy one at PALACE, REX & PARADISE cinemas.
I met Elvis for the first ever time on phonograph—or a Record (not money) Changer
via 45 RPMs in 1957..with my cousin and a dear friend..Chicoo Jehangir. Soon, Elvis
LPs starting becoming our close friends also. My dad helped us in introducing them during
his UK and USA visits when I requested him to catch hold of them and bring them to our country.
The HYDN Centre on the then, Elphinston (now Zebbunissa) Street was always an Elvis friend
and helped us a lot to manage Elvis Presley FAN club at Karachi where Farzana Farooqui the eldest
of Mrs. Maryam Farooqui of Happy Home School got to create a large Elvis Fan Club.

The first time I met Elvis Presley in person was at Paradise Cinema (of Danny Mobed) in karachi
when Elvis was there to attend a party at the JAILHOUSE which rocked like anything for us
teenagers then…much so much that our Garden Road Colony buddy Hasan Ali…literally stood up
and joined Elvis and his mates…dance on Jailhouse Rock at the cinema hall amidst a thunder of
claps and deafening whistling sounds.
Jail House Rock..was like this;

or
www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpzV_0l5ILI&feature=related

NEXT time I met Elvis was at the Palace Cinema adjacent to Hotel Metropole-Karachi. That was sometime
in 1960…and Elvis stood like a KING and Creoled with his spanish…with us almost standing and dancing
to the beat…remembered today just like that of yesterday…!
Elvis playing his spanish went on CREOLING like this;

OR
www.youtube.com/watch?v=yA_zS6-dO7Q&feature=related

***Some years later, it was at REX Cinema near the Governor’s House-Karachi that I met Elvis Presley
dressed as an American G.I…with all the hit songs…and since that year & date…I have never
stopped singing or humming..that beautiful song which had some German lines as well…which too have
been hummed without knowing what they really mean…
Elvis and that PUPPET female were glorious in that scene presenting WOODEN HEART to us;

or
www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9NxlkP60oE

***In 1966 I wrote to Elvis Presley a letter and mailed it with no address…just his name and USA.
After 2 months I received a letter from Elvis courtesy of Col. Tom Parker..where Elvis thanked me
for the compliments I had paid to him in my class-X English I knew then..and he also enclosed his
photo with Ann Margaret.
The only 45 RPM which has been fortunately maintained by me of Elvis Presley..which my Dad had brought for
me on one of his USA tours…is that of the song I have immense love for…Hear it;

or
www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4p9USIZ8y0&feature=related

LADIES & GENTLEMEN—BOYS & GIRLS;

WONDERFUL MEMORIES…
OF OUR DAYS AT THE DISCO’s
OF KARACHI LIKE;

“KARACHI DISCOTEK” at Hotel Metropole,
“THE SAMAR” at Hotel Metropole…
“DISCO 2000” at the Beach Luxury Hotel…
“THE HUT” above Zelin’s Coffee House…
“THE HORSESHOE RESTAURANT” on Shaheed e Millat Road,
“THE CABANA” at Midway House Hotel, Airport,
“THE DUG OUT” at Hostelliere De’ France…
“THE NASREEN ROOM” at the then, Intercontinental Hotel (now PC),
“WOODS & CAVES” near M.A. Jinnah Road…

ALL these places had great shows, dance competitions
and live bands from overseas…

THESE NUMBERS ruled the dance floors for FAST
and SLOW dances;

AT THE HOP;
***(for Jive, Rock n Roll dances)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=OauMxtbktrU&feature=related

AND

TEARS ON MY PILLOW;
(for slow-romantic dances)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=4o_CyV1Tjw4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DqUG6YBgLAw

Re: Some are OLD and some are NEW by Arjay

Wonderful stuff you share Mr.Raju. Bundle of thanks

Re: Some are OLD and some are NEW by Arjay

I don’t know yeh sirf mery sath hu raha hy ya kissi or ko bhi masla hy is thread main a ker mery laptop ki bolti band hu jati hy. Kiya buhat heavy thread hony ky sabab tu aysa nahi:kconfused: I can,t hear any video clips:(

Thank you my friend....you are right.....SHARING is something so serene and wonderful ! I strongly believe in that....and do try to extricate items which bear some level of interest...to my readers/viewers.

A lots more interesting on the way...

Khush Rahein...

Raju Jamil

Probably the MEDIA (Sound) box on your LAPTOP needs reconfiguration… PROBABLY!

Wow:)

reconfigurations kaisy keron:konfused: Wow in red boly tu kuch I mean ghalat likh diya kiya:confused:

Bikul bhi nahin …hamari murad thi ki aap jaisi vocal khamosh kaise ho sakti hein..

Kici se apna laptop check karwain…kiyonke inn computers ke bhi utne nakhray ho tey hein jitne pakistani TV stars ke:)

Samjh gai bas ab kahin Humaiyon Saeed mujhy aty jaty Air Port per mil giya na phir dykhna kiya ary hathon lyti hon InshaAllah:wink:

It was in 1982 January
that this shy little thing
visited my UBL Khayyaban-e-Shamsheer branch
Defence Authority Phase-V, Karachi with my buddy
Ghazanfar Ali (now Chief of Indus Vision Network)
when she was visiting our city from Sharjah
where she was filming Ghazanfar’s
DOOSRA KINARA with Javed Sheikh, Shafi Muhammad
and others.

She stayed for lunch at my branch where I talked
about her forthcoming movies of which she
also talked about ANGOOR or ANKUR.
She wasn’t as popular then…the times she later became.

After that 1982 meeting with her…it was in 2006
that I again met her at Bur Juman Dubai by chance
and I must commend her memory that despite my
all hair almost gone and turned white..she recognized
me when I approached her…and spoke so kindly
about that lunch and branch she visited
with Ghazanfar;

Here’s a song and scene of the movie
I forget the name right now…but
find it as one of the best renderation of
Jagjeet ever and that too on such
simple and plain scene where we do not find
the heroine half loaded and amassed with make-up!

Presenting FAROOQ SHEIKH & DEEPTI NAVAL

TUMKO DEKHA TOU KHAYAL AYA

www.youtube.com/watch?v=WNtDuocOlLk

Waise aap ko shayad patta nahin…ke MEIN aur HS abb judah judah hein.
I have no connection–whatsoever with him now.
I have changed my path and way from the road his house is located.
I have refused his three serials which are being recorded at; USA, Turkey and Greece.
I dont know who Humayun Saeed IS?

“THE KING & I” was made in 1960…starring; Yul Brynner & Deboreh Kerr. There have been many re-makes as TV series and serials..most popular being “ANNA & THE KING”.
***Story of an uneducated King of Siam (Thailand now) who hires the services of a widow – English School teacher from England for his 18 children. The story takes different interesting turns.
ROGER & HAMMERSTEIN provided the great background music to the movie which has a few songs and of course this–ever popular DANCE scene between the King and the teacher;
*SHALL WE DANCE (The King & I );Yul Brynner & Deborah Kerr;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=6z4ZWK2ycMQ&feature=email

and then we have;
***BOB HOPE and Ann Bancroft, Sr…singing the most remembered song;
Thanks for the Memories (though Bob was known for his classical humor and adlibs which–so far–no one from Hollywood–has been able to supercede or match;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoIvqoL0s4I&feature=related
BOB’s humor;
(Like Democrats);

www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWpU8sX10_4&feature=related

(Dean-Juliet & Bob);

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V623mMRvCj4&feature=related

(Comedy);

www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1NmffwLCb8&feature=related

Dino martin;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mig2Cr0XX7k&feature=related

Christmas Show;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1388wZscnc&feature=related