Some are OLD and some are NEW by Arjay

Buhat hi shukriya:bb: Karachi mera jana sirf do martba howa pehli barMultan jaty hoy domestic flight karachi sy thi Multan ki dosri bar wapsi per I love Karachi an dreally want to about this city thanks again

**PS: hamary sab sy purany (dad ky zamany ky) parosi ghaliban UP,cp sy hijrat ker ky ay thy on ky 6 bachon main sy 5 ki bahuain or damad Karachi st thy.On ky saly salian dewar nandin jab atty thy tu ham khub hansi mazak kerty on ky talafuz per or woh hamary.**ham ny onhin qaail ker hi liya tha ky lafz Ludo hota hy “LEEEEEEEEEEEEEdo” nahi:hehe:

WAH ! aur aap ko ye bhi credit jataa hai ke aap ne itni mukhtasarr c family ko…itne barre international isue pe convince kar liya :slight_smile:

HUMEIN Multan bohat pasand hai…abhi haal he mein jaane ka ittefaq bhi hua…puray 35 saal baad…jahan woh FORT COLONY abb tukk waisi he hai…phir SHAMS TABREZ pe bhi haazri dee…aur HAFIZ ki factory bhi gaye ke dekhein kiya kamal hai iss halway mein…jo 65 saal se challa aa raha hai…

TO MOURN THE DEAD AT
MARRIOT-ISLAMABAD's

9/20 INCIDENCE

THERE WILL BE NO SUBMISSIONS
ON ENTERTAINMENT
AT THIS THREAD
FOR **
**THREE DAYS

Zindagi Mein Aise Bhi Loge Milte Hein…
(The mega-hit of Nadeem & Shabnam “AINA”)
Ever-green song;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsKm-nvPMAI

“Khamosh Nigahein”
was shot on location in Japan
was though a flop but it’s songs did have an impact
and became popular.
Enjoy this duet between Munawwar Zareef & a Japnese girl
and it does prove that actions speak louder then words!
www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Owuk1xkvOo&feature=related

IF IT’S TUESDAY THIS MUST BE BELGIUM
the movie which had it’s own mood for holiday makers.
You get to see almost all of EUROPE..when you see this movie
starring SUZZANE PLESHETTE;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tsx__rv04yI&feature=related

AND…

SQUASH or any other game…
Too funny…
The TWO Ronnies;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIOMECj0iQ0&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIOMECj0iQ0&feature=related

MEHBOOB’s BLOCKBUSTER OF EARLY SIXTIES
“AAN”
HAD EVERYTHING ONE COULD ASK FOR
IN A MOVIE THOSE DAYS,

IT HAD STORY, WIT, DANCES, SONGS
AND A PICTURE OF THE RAJ ERA OF INDIA.

Starring; Dilip Kumar, Nimmi, Nadra, Premnath and Mukri,
“AAN” ran packed houses at Karachi’s REGAL cinema
for several weeks…

HERE ARE A FEW GREAT MOMENTS WELL SHOWN
THROUGH SONGS & DANCES FROM THE GREAT MOVIE;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHq4ILM5ipU&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVWS-pJTbtw

www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWMqmdPh4sQ&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsGZnzJT5c8&feature=related

ROCK n ROLL
has been the life and soul of 50’s dancing
stages by teens and over the hills like!
Let’s take a look down the memory lane
with the re-cap of some wonderful music
and songs..as infectious as ever.

ROCK n ROLL
The Movie
www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygO0PIcoTeI&feature=related

and

www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXqgO63b59c

and

SIMPLY OUT OF THIS WORLD…
***BEST OF THE REST (1958-60)
***www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0V_wiZdxhI&feature=related

**BLOCKBUSTER MOVIE “BEHAN BHAI”
HAD A BIG CAST…AND KAMAL-HUSNA
EMERGED MOST LIKEABLE & POPULAR.
ENJOY THIS SONG SHOT AT JHEEL PARK,
HILL PARK, CLIFTON BEACH & THE FAMOUS
JEHANGIR KOTHARI DOME DURING LATE SIXTIES;
“HELLO HELLO MR.ABDUL GHANI”

www.youtube.com/watch?v=qttvmGI92Jo

and

***HIMAYAT ALI SHAIER’S MOVIE “LORI” DID FAIRLY WELL
WITH CHILDSTAR RUFI…SHOWING HIS ACTING STINTS.
HIS MOVIE MOM TALAT SIDDIQUI…MOTHER OF ARIFA
SIDDIQUI…WAS A BEAUTIFUL & CHARMING LADY THEN
WHO PAIRED WITH SANTOSH KUMAR…AND THIS ABSOLUTELY
MESMERIZING LORI COMES FROM THE MOVIE ITSELF;
TALAT SIDDIQUI & RUFI ( & SANTOSH);
***www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqnGWqaClCI&feature=related

**FROM THIS THREAD/PLATFORM
I WISH TO EXTEND A VERY HAPPY

E
I
D

ALFITR

TO ALL MY WONDERFUL GS FRIENDS**

**E
N
J
O
Y

THIS MELODIOUS NUMBER BY
THE SARGOSSA BAND**

**W
H
I
C
H

DOES CREATE’ AN AMBIANCE
OF JOY & HAPPINESS;**

www.youtube.com/watch?v=yu54fHII5UA

EID IS A MERRY & BLISSFULL DAY

WHAT MORE GOOD CAN BE TO
BRING SMILES AND LAUGHTER
TO ALL AND SUNDRY…

ENJOY;;;;;

Swear Box
by Two Ronnies;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZK_w1bUpYA&feature=related

==========

VISITING AN OPTICIAN;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIFx_GQIfSk&feature=related

==========

Bring me sunshine;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrlkBmHU-wk&feature=related

“KID GALAHAD”
was a story based on an American boxer.
The movie was released in Karachi in 1968.

It ran packed house at the REX Cinema.

ELVIS PRESLEY was the KID GALAHAD
and this movie had some super hit songs
of those days.

I remember when these songs appeared on’screen…there was loud thumping of feet in the hall with some of the Cantt Public School,
Karachi Grammar and BVS Mama Parsi School students
making Maxican waves..also;

ELVIS–I got Lucky!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fb_7XCpFsw

King of the whole wide world;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvdGCMtmBAE&feature=related

OF THE (Relatively) RECENT BOLLYWOOD MOVIES …
“HUNGAMA”
though a full slapstick comedy and mostly kid stuff.. had the most meaningful song…so beautifully picturized…extricating a comedy of errors…bothl husband and wife (Paresh Rawal) and Shoma Anand…misleading themselves in their own rite…to get a feeling that the husband (and the wife too) are having an affair with someone and how they visualise is…most amazingly picturized by the bloke…the director. Whenever I am in one of those moods…I watch this part of the movie…to get back in my original mood.

***CHEN AAPKO MILA…
www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOJ6dxmUheg&feature=related

AND

RAJENDRE KUMAR
with

SADHNA
created one of the most loved movie
based on the Nawabs of Rajhastan

MERE MEHBOOB
was a super-hit
so was this song;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=BW5dgEDYmzw

DUSHMAN
was a powerful movie
starring Rajesh Khanna and Mumtaz…
and on the more character front of Rajesh,
this dance and song he paired with Bindu
became a very popular one from the movie in early 80’s;
“WADA TERA WADA”
www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_7eZwxYUQE&feature=related

AGHA G.A. GUL’S
NAILA IS TERMED AS THE FIRST FULL LENGTH COLOR
FILM OF PAKISTAN TECHNICALLY.

THIS SCENE BETWEEN SHAMIM ARA (as NAILA)
HAVING TAKEN CYNIDE TO END HER LIFE THAT
SHE HAS BEEN FORCED TO MARRY HER HEART-THROB’s
BROTHER…HAS BEEN TERMED AS THE MOST POWERFUL
ONE…IN THE HISTORY OF MODERN FILMS OF PAKISTAN.

SHAMIM ARA LAMENTS WITH SANTOSH KUMAR
(The alst scene of NAILA)

or CLICK on;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=SVOUhZ2a01c

Thios song of an Indian movie became the song of
the then GRAND-CHILDREN & THEIR NAANIs;
(1969-70)

NAANEE TERI MOORNI KO MORRE LE GA’YE;
www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gv-qpXwC1F0

DIL DIYA DARD LIYA
was a hit movie of late sixties..mostly shot
in Murree at Saigol Lodge.

Here’s an enchanting son by Mehdi hasan
picturized on Mohammad Ali & his leading lady Zeba;
Aie Husn Bemisaal Teri…Kiya Misaal Doun;

or click on;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jh6Mjrqfy4

HASAN TARIQ’
ANJUMAN
created many a ripples through its undaunting success
basically due to the superb performance of RANI…
(She married Hasan Tariq after the movie was completed)

DIL DHARKE…by Runa Laila;

or click on;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pi24NPbz9s

HEERA AUR PATTHAR

HEERA AUR PATTHAR ***under FilmArts of Waheed Murad’s Dad Nisar Murad…was perhaps the 3rd of their production..which had the newly debuted WAHEED MURAD (having done a side role as Sabiha’s son in ‘AULAD’-1961).

Directed by Pervez Malik, HAP became the first ever platinum jubilee (B&W) movie of Pakistan..which was wholly made in Karachi at Saeed A. Haroon’s Eastern Studios and about 65% on location at some guava farms of Malir and nearby Goths..a few odd miles from Karachi Airport.

Starring; Waheed Murad, Zeba, Kamal irani, Ibrahim Nafis, Adeeb, Nimmo her sister Kammo, Nirala, Naz Begum, Agha Jan and some famous regular visitors of Eastern Studios like; Feroze (who wanted to make ASSALAM ALAIKUM which had the famous Salim Shahzad song; Muhabbat Ke Deeay Jala Lo) and two faces I can never forget–seen in many Waheed movies of Karachi–doing something or the other in tidbit roles as badmash aur a friend or someone. I think one’s name was ANSARI ?

HAP covered just about all of Karachi’s serene and quiet areas of those days. From the songs you are to see by clicking the links below, you’ll see the famous musical fountain of Karachi which use to show off beautifully with water sprinkling and music played in front of the then REX cinema near Trinity church…jo ke subb gharatt hogaya Karachi se:(

You can also see the M. A. Jinnah road coming from Jinnah’s mazaar…when it was under construction. Also the National Stadium Karachi where one could just walk-in…(now it’s like you are a thief to even roam around that area:) )

Waheed did some shooting at his father-in-law Hamid Maker’s ‘H.M.SILK MILLS’ at SITE area..also which involved him, Nirala, Ibrahim Nafis and Adeeb.

I remember ALL this by heart and its the first ever time I scribe all this…before my memory gives up the huge data it has stored on GB basis.

The LYARI people had declared HAP as their NATIONAL movie on account of Waheed and his movie-Dad Kamal Irani being donkey cart drivers in that movie and the fantastic donkey cart race Pervez Malik beautifully picturized at Nazar Mohammad Goth-Konkar near Malir farms.

The swinging ROCK song ‘Diwane Ho Ke..Mastane Ho Ke..Aao Manayen Picnic…’ was shot at KARACHI AIRPORT CLUB which still exsists but in horrendous condition now. It is located just adjacent to my UBL’s Airport Main branch at Old-Old Airport.. now VVIP Airport…when you go through Star-Gate.

AIRPORT CLUB had one of the finest New year parties. My cousin Chicco Jehangir..I distinctly remember, danced JIVE there on LIPSTICK ON YOUR COLLAR…once. I was there as we use to regularly visit that club. It has a beautiful ambiance. A huge swimming pool (now filled with sand and rocks:( ) and a Squash Court. You’ll see in one of the links below…the swimming pool and all…when Adeeb is seen spending his rich dad’s money on his friends…and having fun…!:slight_smile:

I saw HEERA AUR PATTHAR…at least 12 times (once a late night show with Ibrahim Nafis and Talat Hussain also..they both were Radio Artiste) at NAZ Cinema, Karachi opp: Nishat Cinema…while NISHAT survives…NAZ died and no thanks to Aslam for selling it off–where now stands NAZ PLAZA…!

HEERA AUR PATTHAR will live forever..for its strong story, melodious songs and superb acting of Waheed & Zeba..et al!

Watch…some popular songs of the movie;

ZEBA-WAHEED (Aaj Mujhe kiya Hua..);

DIWANE HO KE MASTANE HO KE…(ADEEB, FEROZE & OTHERS);

(At Airport Club)

MUJHE AIK LARKI SE PIYAR HOGAYA (NIRALA & NIMMO)

Mujhe Tum Se…MUHABBAT HAI (ZEBA-WAHEED)

GORI SIMTI JAI SHARAM SE (ZEBA-WAHEED)

***Coming up next-------> ‘ARMAAN’ the movie that WAS !

Best,

Raju Jamil***

**ARMAN (1966)

FILMARTS…‘ARMAAN’ was yet another blockbuster–right after HEERA AUR PATTHAR–which also did PLATINUM JUBILEE–at NAZ Cinema, Karachi.**
***The cast was quite an ordinary apart from Waheed Murad and Zeba, most belonged to Radio Pakistan-Karachi and Karachi Stage artiste’ like;
ZAHOOR AHMED (NIAZ of KHUDA KI BASTI) as Waheed’s dad, BIBBO (the famous visitor/betor at Karachi’s famous horse race club), the then charming Rozina..(who married TV star of today…Faysal Qureshi’s uncle Riffat Qureshi later. Her daughter SAIMA made it big in private productions-TV till recently).

Then there was Tarranum…the serious yet not so serious—mid 30’s lady who vanished after appearing in but a dozen+ movies.
NIRALA (real name Muzaffar) having acquired a place in Waheed’s eyes..was again there after HAP..as Waheed’s close friend..pairing with Rozina.

Then it was this bloke called SOHAIL in the movie..who did but two movies—in his career-----for God knows reason–pairing with Tarannum (his only other movie was EID MUBARAK) and it looks like he had some money of his won invested…in EID MUBARAK–that he was given the role of Rukhsana’s husband.

Others in ARMAN included; AGHA SARWAR (my school friend/cricketer; Mubasshir Sajjad’s mamoon…Mubasshir’s wife is the real sis of beautician
Nabila), blokes like Ansari and Sharafat.

Almost ALL the outdoor songs were filmed in MURREE and NATHIAGALI…including the famous ‘BETAB HO UDHHAR TUM…’ at the famous CECIL HOTEL-Murree.
AKELE NA JAANA was filmed at KASHMIR POINT near the famous Church and Park…near Governor’s House.

ZINDAGI APNI THEEH ABB TUKK…was filmed at the outskirts of Mall Road-Murree…down towards Pindi’ Point.

KO KO KORINA was filmed at the EASTERN FILM Studios…where over 80% of the movie was shot in six straight months. I saw the filming of two
scene; Some parts of ‘JUBB PYAR MEIN DOU DIL MILTE HEIN’ and one take of Waheed Murad & Nirala…when Nirala is running away from the
house..ddue to his stupidity and Waheed pursuing him to stay back for the love of Dolly (Rozina)…!

ARMAN was a typical love-story well mixed with slapstick comedy as well as tragedy…WAHEED as AAMIR a son of a rich man in lookout for an
eastern girl as his better-half…and not meeting eye to eye with his dad’s family friend’s daughter…while the widow of the family
friend…dejecting NAJMA (Zeba)..their geometrical family friend’s orphan…at their house being liked by Waheed over her own daughter SEEMA (Taranum)…and so forth on…that Seema already pregnant by her friend SOHAIL…gives birth to the child and Najma (Zeba) sacrifices her
love for the sake of the obligations on her by Begum Saheba.. that she claims the child to be hers..etc etc.

ARMAN had strong music..by Sohail Rana…equally strong direction by Pervez Malik and matchingly wonderful lyrics by Masroor Anwar. The
famous FOUR then–who ruled Karachi Film Industry for a while…were; WAHEED MURAD-PERVEZ MALIK-SOHAIL RANA and MASROOR ANWAR.

SOHAIL..the bloke can be seen in this scene;

***I saw the shoots at Eastern Studios----courtesy Sohail Rana…our family friend…and I almost went in trance when I met WAHEED MURAD first
time ever…him being a close friend and school mate to my first cousin Ayesha’s husband Shamimul Islam at Marie Classo.

I thought this was the first ever film production of Pakistan…where the producer…drove in his car (DATSUN BLUEBIRD) all the way to
Murree from Karachi (at a gas station..scene between Waheed and Nirala …the car can be seen);

***Plus Waheed also used his Caddillac for some powerful scenes…at entrance gate of his OFF: Tariq Road house which is still there…(in fact
me and my cousin..out of sheer craze for Waheed Murad..visited his Tariq Road house and insisted on his servant to call him outside and when
he came…we were sort of spellbound that we couldn’t utter a word…while Waheed smiled and encouraged us to be coherent:) )…that was when ARMAN was in full swing with all shows house full!

***Therefore-------ARMAN’ s most popular song which hit the then charts on radio Pakistan…then…were ;
AKELE NA JAANA (Kashmir Point park area-Murree);

www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IRj5vcbQV4

***then on a more melodious and slapstick note–it was ‘BETAB HO UDHHAR TUM’ (filmed at CECIL HOTEL, Murree);
***http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loNK8gV0sC4
www.youtube.com/watch?v=loNK8gV0sC4

***KOKO KORINA became the SONG of the YEAR (now of DECADES)…it was filmed at Eastern Studios–where they now film adverts (I did ROSE PETAL one there in 2007);

www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjpmvkIDPCU&feature=related

***JUBB PYAR MEI DOU DIL MILTE HEIN…again at Eastern Studios..and interestingly..right after the filming of KOKO KORINA…the next day! with adjustment of set from a club to some gloomy situation and smoke et—but same characters around–including Agha Sarwar!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=4a_teo5sY3U&feature=related

***ZINDAGI APNI THEEH ABB TUKK…was filmed in Murree…near Kashmir Point (Khurshid Shirazee the female singer sang but one para; AIK PAL KI MUSKURAHAT ZINDAGI BHAR KA HAI ROGE…JANE KIYON MUSKURA KAR DIL CHURRA LE TAY HEIN LOGE…that’s it and after that she was never seen or heard of!! the song…therefore—was the only one in her short career in singing!!!) ;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptOGKvXu3HA&feature=related

***AGHA SARWAR did two different roles in ARMAN…one as a guitarist shown in the song KOKO KORINA…and the other as Begum Saheba’s MUNSHI.

He later migrated to London and regularly participated in BBC URDU SERVICE from Bush House, Strand, London.
ARMAN was the arman of almost entire pakistani movie lovers. It is still reckoned as one of the most appealing movie of FILMARTS which had every ingredient required to ensure a reasounding success for a film;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTFTvPU-dvs&feature=related

***HAIL WAHEED MURAD ! for giving us such huge and worthy entertainment which we…do not expect in foreseeable future of Pak Film Industry

Raju Jamil, Karachi
***-------------------

**Next--------> ‘EID MUBARAK’ (Made in Karachi…1967) by F&Y Movies

Re: Some are OLD and some are NEW by Arjay

**Arjay Uncle, **I believe that you’re the best person to answer this question. You mention all these money-raking blockbuster Lahore film productions, but you never mention the short sightedness of the film makers that they NEVER re-invested the film profits in upgrading technical infrastructure e.g. by doing something as rudimentary as buying a fairly-decent 35mm camera which is not as big a deal as it is made out to be. This is atleast oen of the reason why the film industry is such a mess. Even when it was doing well, technically the film productions were stagnant. And when the audience had access to technically superior foreign productions via VCR/DVDs etc. they shifted to them. In the end, its the short sightedness of those glorified film makers and actors of the yore which must be blamed.](IMDb: Ratings, Reviews, and Where to Watch the Best Movies & TV Shows)

MANY MOODS OF;

“CHAN MERE MAKHNA”

***The original song was sung (and acted upon) ***
by Inayat Hussain Bhatti (TV star Wasim Abbas’ dad)
Rani paired with him;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEx19u8IoAE&feature=related

THEN IT WAS SHAZIA MANZOOR WHO REVIVED IT FOR THE MODERN TIMES;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=cV3CdHJk374&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfcvBML6aSo&feature=related

NIRMA also capitalized on this song–suitably;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qs-FNMd5_k4&feature=related

www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDXX2G5o8Yg&feature=related

My dear one…I tend to completely—AGREE with you.

The saddest part of the whole euphoria or black sabbath hitting
the Pakistani_Film Industry is the non-serious atttude demonstrated
by LOLLYWOOD !

Strangely…it was LOLLYWOOD onlt which laid the foundation of the production of some most reckoned movies in Pakistan…and after the shift of its major part to Karachi…where it exceled for a while .. it was again shifted to LOLLYWOOD where…finally…the film industry died after a protracted illness surrounded by BUDDAH GUJJARS and ANWARA and JANO KAPPATIs…that even people like Syed Noor and Jawed Shaikh.. couldn’t revive it.

I am afraid…facts are always BITTER but facts are FACTS! and I do not see an IOTA of hope for the revival of Pakistani Film Industry to the level of our neighbors both sides–India and Iran! PLUS the Indian movies have what our principles and AADASH do not allow and its something good that we do not show or cross boundaries—to extricate anything which in our religion is rejected.

Interestingly I just only saw the subject of a thread on this forum which is so sickening that for a moment…it was hard for me to believe that are the thread inter-actioners…really from Pakistan by even origin…! that free for all discussion is taking place on doing something before marraige!! :lahol:…what next?

There is a certain price one has to pay to remain away from adopting certain assured keys to success–which–do not suit the basic idealogy of the Nation we have been documented as in our constitution.

FILM INDUSTRY in Pakistan…comparatively…to other Nations..cannot excel…come what may!

Khus Rahein…