so what do you think will happen tomorrow in NA 122?

Re: so what do you think will happen tomorrow in NA 122?

I know some of such people and they actually don't believe (or won't) that MQM did this. MQM is not the only one immune to this. There are also voters who have, as I said, experience from JI and bhutto days and only time would get rid of them. Be it mufahamat or else, many were pissed when imran wasn't forceful about the said terrorism in the past. His pro-taliban views as he did align himself with hamid gul also doesn't endear him.

I see the bigger picture w/o any power to vote, but even I am disturbed by his taliban leanings. He and nawaz vocally gave support to taliban and as many say now that he bails out sharif, he and noon league bailed out kayani for his inaction in North Waziristan.

^ No wonder for Defence Day ceremony at GHQ, both Imran and Nawaz Sharif weren't invited, but Sheikh Rasheed was there. Hahah. But then again Musharraf wasn't invited either (1965 War veteran). It was a very interesting guest list.

But ironically the so called anti Taliban parties turned out to be the real terror groups of Karachi, if the not the actual killers, then certainly the financiers, and abettors of terrorism. And Pakistan public is not stupid, they can see this. Imran even at the height of his rebellions is seen as someone confused and stubborn, but not evil and mulk dushman.

Trust me the way he pissed off the Army during Musharraf's era, and little bit in Kiyani's, they would have shown zero tolerance to him if any remote link with terrorists or extremist agenda was found. He's just incredibly lucky that he has no skeletons in his closet and establishment has next to nothing to blackmail him.

Meanwhile someone has a message for PTIans…
[click below]

But just wait till he’s called a noora, patwari, traitor etc etc.. :smiley:

The pot calling the kettle black! Faisal Qureshi is hardly a stable man himself. Way too sentiMENTAL and excitable

What about his own emotional, over the top, almost xenophobic rant against Saif Ali Khan over a movie…also insulting women along the way!

put in his rightful place by Dawn editor and readers

Faisal Qureshi’s rant targeting Saif Ali Khan is not ‘patriotism’ - Blogs - DAWN.COM

Your post is so same ol' same ol'...

as usual all PTIans attack the person who has any criticism and rip off the character instead of talking about the contents..

Right from top to bottom... alwayz sooo predictable!!

Thank you for proving his point :D

As usual nothing but aaeen baeen shaeen from you.

What about FQ's 'dhulai' by the majority of Dawn readers?

Aaaaaaaannnd you do it again.. congrats pal for being one consistent party mujahid!! :smiley:

Dude answer his substance with the substance, stop assassinating personalities… You aint gona get anything by making personal attacks… :chai:

kissi stable bandey ka view dau gey then I would surely respond. not FQ… the guy is way too emotional (cf. Arnab Goswami..). And I have never approved of abusive language by IK or anyone

74,500 (with all federal and provincial state machinery at their disposal) vs 72,000 votes is not a bad loss by any means. I honestly thought that PTI would get trounced here. Aleem Khan (land mafia etc.) was not a good choice in the end. still it went down to the wire. PTI needs to go back to it’s ideological roots and field clean, educated candidates.

And ‘sentimental’ is not a gaali. Maybe you need to look up the meaning of the word in the dictionary :slight_smile:

See now we are talking. Thats a valid point. Nobody gets these many votes from threatening unlike wut he said. So that makes complete sense. But i do agree with the first half of his statement about how any opposition voice is thrown under the bus time after time which is a proven fact.

Now as per FQ is concerned i'm totally not a fan of him but i wont judge him either way for any criticsm he makes on anyone. Unless he turns out to be a useless politician, now then it'll be entirely different thing

So you think only politicians are accountable, journalists are not! Journalists can criticise anyone without concrete proof! Journalism is a responsible profession. The media shapes public opinion. Most of our self-styled TV anchors and pundits are nothing but sensationalists hankering after ratings. Their content is to some extent agenda-driven. Mubashir Lucman and Hamid Mir are prime examples of that. Yes FQ is right about some PTI supporters being abusive but he cannot generalise all supporters. If you read Dawn there are some very sensible comments from PTI fans frequently urging IK to focus mainly on delivering in KPK

This is true all over the world.

New trend emerging in rural punjab’s politics? According to this article juj belonged to an apolitical family. Three weeks before no one was taking him seriously. Now he has carried out a big upset. Pmln mpa’s from this constituency could not prop up the Pmln candidate. If this trend spreads, it would be positive for punjab’s politics.

NA-144: Rise of independent candidate Juj shows new trends in politics - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Sounds like fantastic news.

Do independent candidates HAVE TO join a party if they win a seat?

I am pretty sure they need to join political parties within a particular period. I am not sure if this holds good for fata members as well or not, or maybe a group is allowed.

The only real development that took place in Karachi under MQM was during Mustafa Kemal, even he has packed his bags, left the party, left the country and hasn’t looked back since. Doesn’t that send any kind of message to an average MQM voter/sympathiser?

Imran’s pro negotiation rhetoric was far more offensive to people of KPK than anyone else. ANP ran a full-fledged narrative against him, but somehow he ended up winning the government there.

Imran can’t speak a word of Pashto. Prior to 2013, his party had no prominent Pakhtoon member (in fact he has far more Karachi based leaders), he did not spend as much time campaigning in KPK as he did in Punjab, but somehow he was still given a ‘chance’ in KPK. Why Karachi/Sindh doesn’t have this tradition of welcoming new beginnings and giving others a ‘chance’ - the fundamental of any democratic political process?

Occasionally you hear from people how there’s still a certain group/generation in Karachi that still holds grudge against Imran Khan because of Miandad vs Imran rivalry – the caricature of Karachi vs Lahore/Punjabi mindset from the era. Even a certain member on here wrote a whole whiny post saying how Karachi folks still haven’t gotten over that perception. They’re still so traumatised by Imran’s certain mannerism and antics from cricketing days. How depressingly petty and sad is that?

MQM won NA-246 with whopping 70k more votes (against PTI's 24K) despite Baldia Town factory and Saulat Mirza episode. Shocking! It is not wrong to suggest that there is a certain subconscious hatred for Imran in Karachi along the ethnic lines that MQM so successfully manages to whip up? For starters only saying that IK is an anti Muhajir Trojan Horse popped up evil Punjabi Army was literally just enough! You can't really blame Imran for not making sense of the nasty ethnic politics of Karachi. It probably is indeed beyond him.

I am not asking MQM to be wiped out from Karachi, but even the mere idea of their voters/supporters ‘punishing’ them doesn’t seem to exist there, and that’s really worrying. Some local level self-reflection and introspection needs to be conducted. Karachi isn’t a Pind, nor typical argument of ‘jahil, rural, dhoti wearing’ folks who know nothing about politics can be applied to them.

true that PMLN used all of its machinery and hardly managed to win but we shd also keep in mind that PTI did not leave any stone unturned either in its won way by selecting aleem khan who used money like anything...i mean anything. it is not like IK selected a candidate with good character who fought within rules. he selected a candidate who is known for his bad reputation, had a lot of money and he used his money and resources as much as he could but still could not win.

there was no naya pakistan in this encounter anywhere. loha lohaay ko kaat raha tha janab.

I doubt that he is “insane” (very mature voice like his usual behavior) and actually, he was gushing in 2013 when Asad Umar came on his program.

Self-destruct at your own peril. The process of self awareness has started and I don’t care if PTI destroys itself as long as it helps democracy.

OMG. OMG. Coup is coming. Coup is coming. Even ECP saying Thank You Raheel Sharif. :rotfl:

**CEC thanks Gen Raheel for assistance in conducting by-polls

Someone please call Pentagon and ask them to save Pakistani jamhooriyat.

Sir mein bhi tau yehi keh raha houn k Aleem Khan is a shady character.

And money was spent from both sides. The only difference is Aleem Khan used his own money while state (federal + provincial) and PML-N machinery did the needful for Ayaz. Given PML-N's past history, I would not be surprised one bit if they literally bought votes or bribed people before the election.

Yes such extravagant spending is wrong (lekin ghee agar seedhi ungli sey na nikley tau ungli kabhi taeri karni parti hai) but sadly that's what election campaigns are now about throughout the world. Look at US & Donald Duck for instance.

And 'naya Pakistan' was a political slogan just like Obama's 'change we can believe in' slogan (all BS imo). This is a kind of political marketing. Do not take them literally :) The fact is major political parties in most countries will have a lot in common (differences are exaggerated to sell their POV) even though they would make the voters believe otherwise by using such popular slogans to woo them.

laikan asif, unglie taeir karnay ka PTI ko nuqsan ho raha hai

PTI slogan naya pakistan was a serious one in the sense that people especially in urban and semi urban centers took it seriously...look what happened to ashraf sohna whom PTI stole from PPP.... he had no character, an esablished lota...imran himself did jalsa in okara but sohna jee kee zamant zabt ho gayee asif. people rejected him and PTI in that constituency BIG TIME.

people in lahore let win shoaib siddiqie of PTI because he is a clean candidate and a hard core simple PTI worker despite the fact that PTI did not invest much into his campaign but aleem khan lost it despite so much efforts....agay app khud hee samigh jayien.