so what do you think will happen tomorrow in NA 122?

Re: so what do you think will happen tomorrow in NA 122?

This judge or who ever he was was popular in Okara due to his philanthropic work. This guy beat his successor by double the lead, which is quite telling. If Pti had grabbed him we would have seen an additional seat for them. Anyways PPP got 4300 votes from the constituency which used to be considered a strong seat for them in the (not so distant) past.

Independent candidate clinches NA-144 - The Express Tribune

the words of IK lost their meaning after giving ticket to Aleem Khan
PTI is now bad than PML N , full of dirty people leading from the front

Murtaza Ali Shah ‏@MurtazaGeoNews](https://twitter.com/MurtazaGeoNews)19 hours ago
Imtiaz Alam tells @HamidMirGEO](https://twitter.com/HamidMirGEO) that he has never seen so much money being spent in Lahore/Okara, every ECP law broken by pti](https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash) pmln](https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMLN?src=hash)

Khasiani billi…

We were not prepared for PML-N rigging tactics again: Imran - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

The guy needs to move on. :smack:

Sometimes it looks like that IK is on payroll of NS, and his job is to create delusions and make sure NS dont get a worthy competitor…

that is what i was afraid of.. that he will not show the sportsman spirit and will cast doubt and ignite his supporters. all of his demands were met but he is still not happy. no election in pakistan can be 100% crystal clean but everyone was on board that this particular election was as clean as it can get in given circumstances…laikan khan sahib showed his color again

for the past two and a half years he has been saying that Ayaz Sadiq had stolen the seat through 50,000 fake votes… if that was true, aleem khan shd have won by 30K or more… he is living in a bubble. his team did a great job, made PMLN work hard to win the seat and he shd move on and focus on some real stuff.

This is exactly why Imran is needed in Pakistani politics. He introduces debates and exposes flaws that either his critics have no idea about or simply don’t want to talk about.

Yes, it is due to Imran’s belligerent and tireless campaigning that no on the day rigging took place in NA246 and NA122. This is one of his biggest services to Pakistan democracy. But what about issues of sophisticated pre-poll rigging? Yes, this is essentially what he’s talking about – pre poll rigging (if you know what the means). Are you really that naïve and ignorant that you think concept of pre poll rigging simply does not exist in Pakistan? Some people simply don’t understand the depth and breadth of this curse called rigging, and just wants to pounce on Imran for sake of it.

Imran haters have reduced themselves down to blatant and opportunistic hypocrites. On one hand you want him to stay in the ‘system’, expose its flaws and work from within. But on one hand his critics cry blue murder when God forbids he takes a stance against the system which is so open to abuse. Everyone knows Pakistani electoral system is rotten to the core, it is so open to abuse, yet you don’t want Imran to talk about it. Why such hypocrisy, confusion and double standards? No wonder there’s polarisation and ‘hatred’ in the society because majority of Imran critics rather attack and discredit him, then reason with what he says. Why should his mindless critics be ‘respected’ when they come up with shallow opposition like this?

As with why Aleem Khan didn’t get 30k votes. What a ridiculous statement. Do you know that it was a by-elections where turnout was almost 30% less than General Elections? But more importantly, what happened to Aleem Khan being so hated, and then how come he only lost by 2.5k votes? How about status quo supporters answer this question for a start.

Maybe it is time to finally understand that Pakistani democracy is not threatened if someone paints COAS’ picture behind his truck, Pakistani democracy had actually suffered from inception because of moral bankruptcy and ignorance where people know the system is flawed, but they refuse to acknowledge it or fix it because it’s Pakistan and things are supposed to be rotten and broken. So anyone who doesn’t make ‘peace’ with this reality is a madman – and that madman is currently Imran Khan. Maybe we need few more of these madmen to bring change in Pakistan, clearly one is not enough.

Imran Khan haters who were convinced that no “dhandhleeeee” took place in four constituencies, and abused and thrashed IK for going to the court should be the last people on earth to give verdict whether any pre-poll rigging took place or not. That’s simply not your job. If we go by your logic no rigging ever took place in NA122, Kh. Saad’s constituency to begin with. Tribunal’s decision has to be a Jewish conspiracy, if not that, then it is a case of GHQ doing black magic on judges.

I wonder what the coup calling crying wolves have to say about yesterday's election. A by elections, yes a freaking by elections was followed by the entire nation as if it was World Cup cricket match going till the last over. A good day for democracy? Of course. Any appreciation for 'bloody civilian' who installed this passionate interest and following for democratic process? Perhaps not. Right?

So the crying wolves only badmouth Army and come up with GHQ conspiracies when PTI is popular and winning, when they lose, the victory truly and wholly belongs to amazing PMLN/PPP/MQM.

As with Imran - shame on you dude. The Jews, GHQ, ISI, MI6, Taliban, Queen, Mossad, CIA support you but they can't make you win a freaking constituency? The Jewish lobby certainly needs to pull their socks up. Imran's lack of success if seriously damaging their international fame of being so efficient.

a party in govt wins by a margin smaller than main elections (2013) in its own garh, and we thought PMLN was making Lahore a piece of jannat with metros?

Isn't this how imran behaved in his cricketing days? To him, it is victory or nothing as he says about his cricketing days.

We are also talking about the same Imran who is responsible for bringing neutral umpires in cricket. That's a more apt analogy in regards to Pakistan politics and his role, plus his attitude and the sense of mission/vision.

PMLN is not perfect, but Lahore has been transformed since the Sharif's came to power.

This is why PML wins, against Pti corrupt looter candidates.

It is a misconception that Lahore is a 'garh' of any particular party. It may be a strong hold of PMLN at the moment, but this constituency was considered PPP stronghold previously, and now PTI has managed to get 72k votes. If you add PP145, and NA122, PTI all together has bagged more votes than PMLN in the same constituency.

Historically, Lahore has always welcomed political competition. Look at Karachi NA246 - MQM killing of 250 people in Baldia Town factory, their target killers' arrest and confessions, plus truth of Salaut Mirza's, yet there was no apparent dent in MQM's vote bank, in fact they won by massive, and simply inflated margin. But the trend was opposite in Lahore, PTI bags PA seat against NS' nephew and PMLN seeing reduction in its vote bank despite the narrow win for NA seat.

However in Lahore, PTI's so called 'corrupt' candidate made PMLN ministers, MNAs, Prime Minister beg for every vote. 2k lead is more worrisome for PMLN than PTI. Besides, can anyone really say that Imran of all the people lost to Ayaz Sadiq by 9k votes in2013 when he couldn't win against 'shady' Aleem Khan by 3k votes?

Anyway, but that's the major difference between Lahore and Karachi politics. Lahories have traditionally appreciated popular opposition and competition. From founding fathers to dictators to democrats to religious parties, everyone has enjoyed a spell of grass root support here on the basis of ideologies, promises and performances, and one of the massive reason for this is a total absence of ethnic slogans. All kinds of politics sell in Lahore other than politics of ethnicity and language!

Lahore is to Pakistan politics, what Lords is to cricket. Home of competition and prestige.

60% of your electorate is classified as youth and the number is increasing every passing day. So good luck getting rid of this 'hatred' in society when so called educated, 'grown up' and wise people refer to 60% of your population as 'Youthias'. These youth is not just the present and but the future of your country, so perfect strategy pushing them against the wall, and hoping they would forgive you.

I agree with Kalasra that Imran voters and supporters are largely young, they are new to politics, but they are so fed up yet ironically they are so hopeful of a greater good at the same time.. For sake of that young vote bank, Imran cannot just give up, go low key and start 'sophisticated' board room politics of neither here nor there that has no impact. We have already seen how the vacuum instantly got filled with Gen Raheel's popularity after Imran's decision's to remain low key after dharna. Those who abuse youth for being politically charged up, they didn't like this phenomena either, or did they? So they would have problem with youth either way.

The kind of sectarian crap has engulfed Arab states, Pakistan should be lucky that your youth is fully engaged with mainstream political process instead of clinging to extreme ideologies.

I would like to see what miracles and progress Pakistan can achieve by a demotivated, uninspired and hopeless youth which is over 60% of your population.

If I were at Imran's position, I can guarantee that I would be more scared of disappointing those young hopes, and the consequences it would have on national psyche than worrying about my own defeat. I bet he fears this this too. Perhaps that's the reason why he doesn't give up and always gives his supporters something to think about, something to keep fighting for, something to keep aiming for. I don't think there's anything wrong with this. It keeps your young generation engaged with the system.

One has to nothing to do with the other.

Btw, if imran khan spent as much time on karachi / sindh as punjab then it would pay dividends as well. Aril alvi did pick up a seat where he had none before, but keep going like this and you won't have even that the next time around.

PS I don't fault him since the path to PMship lies through punjab and you can only keep reham in loadshedding for so long.. :D

LOL @ all the PTIans who go out of their PJs crazily when a court decision comes in their favor or if they win anywhere.. And if they lose they still find a reason to blame someone.. you gottaaa luv their painful moaning when they try to divert the attention.. :D

To me, any bi-election doesnt mean anything much. Its not changing the equation either way. So who cares!! The focus should still be on the basic issues of public which are still far behind.

Keep going like this? Alvi seems quite popular in his constituency, and very engaged. Karachi seems to have some serious class divides and class animosity, and I don't think he has any chance of winning outside of posh areas even on merit. I have seen PTI Karachi supporters getting far more abused and ridiculed for being 'burgers' in their own city, in comparison to their Lahore/Islamabad counterparts.

I remember how MQM made militant fun of Imran Ismail's affluent background when he was campaigning for NA-246. It was seen as such a dirty and criminal thing. The bitter fact is your posh pies like Arif Alvi, Naz Baloch, Ali Zaidi, Imran Ismail, Faisal Wawda ain't getting any votes in Karachi outside of usual 'posh' areas since they have no ethnic or lingual chip on their shoulder to whip up passionate support which is essential for Sindh politics - urban or rural.

The kind of violence and ethnic mud slinging erupts in Karachi (yes with whole rangers operation too), I don't blame PTI for not spending as much time there. Even Asad Umar - Karachi born and bred - seems quite lost when it comes to Karachi politics.

Besides this whole logic of Karachi me aana he Altaf bhai ko kuch nahi kehna, Sindh me aana he tou Bhutto ko kuch nahi kehna greatly restricts one's freedom to do heartfelt and strong opposition.

I don't blame Imran for not enjoying doing politics there. If you can't criticise the leadership without inviting bloodshed then what's the point. Might as well don't bother. You can stand in the middle of Model Town Lahore, take the piss out of Sharif brothers, and chances are no one will lose their leg or limb. They might unleash Parvez Rasheed on you later but that's about it - well most of the time.

And yes, way to PM's house goes through Punjab.

PS: Karachi walas or people of Sindh needs to get over this self important attitude that they will be doing some ehsaan on others if they vote for a non ethnic, non traditional third party. If PPP/MQM formula works for you, then good, stick to it.

I'm from Punjab, Lahore and even if there's no PTI on the scene, I would always encourage and enjoy political competitions there. Maybe I'm biased but all open political competition is one of the many things that make Lahore such an exciting and very likable city, and no I'm not just talking about PTI here, I'm referencing history in this case, and I would really like this tradition to continue even when PTI is in power.

Yup, In NAYA Pakistan there is no room for congratulating the winner from opposite party. Ofcourse the legacy parties dont follow it either but PTI was the one with higher hopes of breaking the barriers and setting a positive trend. But i guess the “status quo” within this party is more powerful than the actual brain which is there but totally in minority.

Let the types of Jahangir tareen and Sheikh Rasheed rule…

https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xat1/v/t1.0-9/11219016_1207856879256730_5113462411966475218_n.jpg?oh=c069f3dfc9b13a9a9ab0801a061bc049&oe=56CB4046

We won’t. Karachi is god’s gift to Pakistan ! :snooty:

PS MQM has done more work for karachi than PPP has or probably ever will for interior Sindh. Perhaps people have had experience in the past where JI and PPP were elected from karachi pre-MQM. We all know the rural-urban politics game that Bhutto promoted, but to give a clue about JI, there is a joke that the JI representative only spoke once in the national assembly and it was to ask to crack open a window for air. Muhajirs / karachi were the last one to jump on the ethnic bandwagon when Pakistaniyat didn’t work out.

MQM is a recorder holder in killing more people in one go than Taliban. The number of innocent people they had killed in Baldia Town factory is twice the number of children Taliban killed in APS attack. And people still went out in massive numbers to vote for them? We aren’t talking about some politically incorrect or messed up views here. These are real and prolonged acts of terrorism by party that claimed to be liberal and secular.

If all those horrifying, absolutely harrowing accounts of terrorism from MQM’s target killers did not make any dent in MQM’s vote bank, I fail to see exactly what PTI or Imran can possibly do to woo people of Karachi from such constituencies which are considered ‘real Karachi’? All it takes it MQM to howl that Punjabi establishment is trying to finish off the Muhajir qoum through Imran, and its game over for PTI, MQM retains the votes and the support. How can PTI counter this ethnic blockade?

It is a disgustingly embarrassing and sad situation.

Muhajir community and Sindhis carry a very heavy baggage of past, there is such a deep sense of self consuming suspicion and mistrust of ‘outsiders’, that I firmly believe that it is beyond PTI to either make sense of the situation and achieve any real breakthrough there. A seat or some support here and there will continue, though.

There had always been political competition on various levels in both KPK and Punjab when Imran was still in his cricket kit.