Re: so what do you think will happen tomorrow in NA 122?
Predictable outcome for this hotly contested NA-122 seat. Regardless of who won, the by-poll was conducted in a far better manner than the general election in '13. This systemic and gradual change is helping to improve the election process in the country. PTI selected a bad candidate conscious of his battered integrity. Also, while listening to opinions many political analysts they all seemed to indicated that much of the local leaders in Lahore of PTI did not participate as actively, like in the previous election. Although it many not have tipped the balance, this cost them to a significant extent.
For PML-N it gave a moral victory once again to up their rhetoric about ‘free and fair elections’. We know this from the previous JC findings. PTI got a breather in the ECP decision to hold election in this constituency that was conducted in more scrutinized manner and lost. It should accept the result amicably. I think PTI needs to stop this constant threat of street agitation, it will not help them in the long run, and refocus on addressing grievances in parliament for better electoral reforms, laws, bills passed, and more relevant issues that matter to the common man.
very well said especially the quoted part above…laikan PTI and PTIans have become sore losers unfortunately because their leader has this idiotic philosophy “lets not accept defeat” as if he is playing a cricket match…nothing in parliament but always in streets.
The kind of brouhaha anti PTI members made over Aleem Khan’s ‘character’, you would have thought that he would lose by more than 20k votes for something. PMLN with their seven minister campaigning, ads on national TV, 40 MNAs and Prime Minister on streets, they still only managed to scrap victory by 2K votes over a ‘shady character’. That’s shocking, no? If anything Aleem Khan has done much much better than IK himself - if you eliminate the rigging factor from 2013 elections.
Had there been same voters turn out as there was for general elections - who is to say that results may not have been different.
With PA seat in the bag, narrow margin for NA122, and overall more net votes than PMLN - it only shows PTI has some serious chance for 2018 elections in the same constituency. They just need to work on their elections day management.
Right now Dunya News have exposed the Voter List scandal…
As everyone with little knowhow of election process that voter lists get up dated periodically and all politicians specially MNA MPA keep a close eye on it…and keep them updated about it…
Now as per Dunya News, The most educated party had voter lists of year 2012… Do i need to say more…this is what happens when u r arrogant…and think that u r smartest thing around…
matlab they were operating from a 4 yr old voter list now whose mistake is that khan sahib?
and what is new…i tell you what is new ;). Khan sahib announced today that
"PTI had created a cell to investigate the issue of ‘transferred votes’ from the constituency, whose findings will be presented to a “free and fair election commission.”
transferred votes…lol…so it only happened to PTI voters!
challo chaddo jee, koi hor gul karo. Yae banda baz nahieen anay wala. roz koi nawa drama! chalo ronaq lagiee rehtiee hai
He still operates in the sledging mindset that he endured and tbh, promoted himself against aussies in the eighties. He thinks that it is the path of victory. It has worked for PPP and others, so why not him?