Re: so what do you think will happen tomorrow in NA 122?
Okara was a contest between pmln and independent. How many votes did PPP get there? Historically this has been a PPP seat (rao sikandar), the previous MNA (till 2013) was from the party as well. PPP was the runner up in 2013.
Between disgruntled PMLN member and PMLN...
Btw IK did huge jalsa, got an electable, Ashraf Sohna... And what happened??? "Something" got fortified??? Despite IK's huge Jalsa!!! What does that tell us???
LAHORE: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Punjab organiser Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar said on Sunday night that the defeat of his party’s candidate in the NA-122 by-election by a ‘small margin’ of about 4,000 votes was not a defeat by just the rival candidate but the entire might and resources of federal and Punjab governments.
“I have congratulated party workers for their great work in the election campaign,” he said.
It was thought that the voters’ turnout would be high because of the hype created for the by-election, but the results showed that only about 41 per cent voters exercised their right to franchise.
Chaudhry Sarwar said the by-elections were far more different than the general elections and the incumbent government always had an edge. He said the government not only activated all its departments but also threatened Railways employees that they would be ousted from their houses if they voted against the PML-N candidate.
He acknowledged that the by-election was held in a peaceful manner under the supervision of the Election Commission of Pakistan. He also said that the ECP had made good arrangements. “The PTI now wants to do politics on issues, instead of confrontation,” he said, adding that the elections in Pakistan must now be held in a free, fair and transparent manner.
PTI’s central information secretary Naeem-ul-Haq said the cumbersome electoral system was responsible for the low voter turnout, while the party’s central organiser Jahangir Tareen said the game was not over yet.
PTI Chairman Imran Khan did not say anything on Sunday.
When are they going to have the guts to congratulate the winner whole-heartedly? :)
They can't. For PTI/IK/Youthia everything is personal. Beside, congratulating him means accepting defeat & partly that lives on negative politic can't afford to do that.
Did you miss the maturity train?
Aleem Khan was heavily 'disliked' outside PTI circles. Even within PTI, he did not enjoy unanimous support. In Ayaz Sadiq's own words, he was a 'lame horse'.
So a lame horse was able to squeeze the race so tight that Ayaz Sadiq won by a whimper, despite having entire provincial and federal machinery at his beck and call. Its an electoral win for PMLN, but gives further credence to the notion that 2013 elections were rigged. Kulsoom Nawaz's nephew lost in the provincial seat, so that is a fairly square slap to family politics, and as rightly mentioned above, its a warning sign for PMLN.
PTI has always expected an immediate turn around in the public sentiment, but now I guess they will realize that change will be gradual. Since 2010, sentiments have been shifting gradually, and if PMLN continues the next 2 years the way it has run affairs since 2013, they will see their support erode further in Punjab and elsewhere.
Its an electoral win for PMLN, but gives further credence to the notion that 2013 elections were rigged. Kulsoom Nawaz's nephew lost in the provincial seat, so that is a fairly square slap to family politics, and as rightly mentioned above, its a warning sign for PMLN.
Yes, b/c elections are always rigged when you lose, but when you win its b/c elections were fair. Btw, PMLN has incumbency factor maybe that has something to do with why they lost some seats & not b/c previous elections were rigged.
Rigging is always a factor in Pakistani elections. Our EC is broken, and doesnt want to fix itself. Even when PTI wins, rigging happens. Its up to a fair EC to determine who rigged, in whose favor, and how.
PMLN did have the incumbency factor, plus govt machinery.....but the fact remains that they won it by a hair against a candidate who lacked unanimous support even within his own party.
It is not obsession, it is analysis of the demise of your beloved party which you are so embarrassed to talk about. Once Punjab and lahore was a stronghold of PPP, where are they now. During the 1970 election I was living in this constituency and we had the leader of JI Maulana Mohammed Tufail standing on this seat and he was routed by PPP by a margin I think of around 25K votes. Still think this is irrelevant. Dream on.
Even at the age of 60 plus IK is looking quite handsome here. Whether one agrees or disagrees with some of his views, personality tau hai Sir. He has maintained himself quite well one must say. Look at Jahangir Khan for instance. He was supremely fit during his playing days but has put on too much weight now.
**Moral of the result of election in NA-122:
"yeh Qaum Khotay Khatee Hai Aur Khotay Hee Chuntee Hai"**
you have absolutely no right to insult PTI voters like this. They may be eating khotay but you cant insult them for choosing PTI candidate in provincial assembly election.
agreed... they simply cant accept the defeat and they have polluted the whole society with a lot of hatred. their leader Khan sahib promotes, nurturers and practices this hatred based politics and uses dirty language.
Even at the age of 60 plus IK is looking quite handsome here. Whether one agrees or disagrees with some of his views, personality tau hai Sir. He has maintained himself quite well one must say. Look at Jahangir Khan for instance. He was supremely fit during his playing days but has put on too much weight now.
yes one has to agree..handsome and fit man. hero hai!
Between disgruntled PMLN member and PMLN...
Btw IK did huge jalsa, got an electable, Ashraf Sohna... And what happened??? "Something" got fortified??? Despite IK's huge Jalsa!!! What does that tell us???
The thing is that a 'disgruntled' PMLN person won against an official 'PMLN' person also tells something. Some of these candidates in rural areas have their own standing.
agreed... they simply cant accept the defeat and they have polluted the whole society with a lot of hatred. their leader Khan sahib promotes, nurturers and practices this hatred based politics and uses dirty language.
I do not approve of bad language but labelling every PTI supporter as an abuser or bad loser is also not right. There are many sane people who support PTI who are just fed up with all the corruption and mismanagement of status quo parties. There are trolls or emotionally charged people in every party.
The thing is that a 'disgruntled' PMLN person won against an official 'PMLN' person also tells something. Some of these candidates in rural areas have their own standing.
that is exactly what I have been saying for so long about the rural politics which is over 70% of punjab politics. Bradari system, connections work there and not exactly the party affiliation. Whichever party has more "electable candidates" in the rural villages will win
I do not approve of bad language but labelling every PTI supporter as an abuser or bad loser is also not right. There are many sane people who support PTI who are just fed up with all the corruption and mismanagement of status quo parties. There are trolls or emotionally charged people in every party.
agreed...but PTI has a higher % of such trolls (in my opinion)..maybe because they are more active on the net. and yes,** from Ist tier** of the leadership, IK has been the most vulgar vocally.... PTI 2nd tier is actually very sophisticated (asad umar, shafqat mahmood etc)
Sir, I was one of the first people to congratulate PML-N on this forum.
I have no time for abusive trolls either and IK does need to tone down his language a touch..
Imran Khan @ImranKhanPTI 1h1 hour ago
We are investigating the number of PTI votes thrown out of NA122 at the last minute & will then approach the ECP.
714 retweets 1,151 favorites
PTI Retweeted
2/2 We will learn from our mistakes & counter those rigging tactics by PMLN that we were not prepared for again.
669 retweets 1,035 favorites
PTI Retweeted
This is a moral victory for PTI - successfully challenging PMLN with its govt power & provincial EC. This election will strengthen PTI. 1/2