Re: Sleeveless clothes...?
^ but thats your own choice...
Re: Sleeveless clothes…?
well if u think guys arent interested in gurl’s wearing sleevless ( minus the fact aunties lookin for their beti k risthas) then how come not every other gurl in Paki is wearing sleevless???i personally luv wearing sleevless but seriously i know a gurl wearing sleevless gets more attention then the other ones beshak if she is not looking pretty…and ofcourse it not allowed in islam…but then i think hum half sleeves bhe tau pehentay hi hain ![]()
Nah man girls who get free with guys get more attention then anyone - guys don't care whether you wear a scarf or sleeveless unless you give them the green signal (not to get in a relationship only but friendship as well or just talk to them) - i have so many friends who wear sleeveless but since they dont guys be completely frank with them the guys stay in limit and all while there was this girl in our school wearing scarf and all the guys used to talk to her because she was frank with them - so your clothes normally dont reflect your character - some can be tom boy-ish even without wearing baggy lose clothes while some are girly even when they wear lose clothes...
and thats what i said - religion factor is not involved in this discussion - religiously socho gi toh adhay say zayada kaam jo hum kartay hai woh mana hai...but loser aunties have this perception kay oyeh hoay sleevless so kharab larki hai - ya dekho baghal kaisay dikhate hai yeh apnay and blah blah...
I know, i mean who is anyone else to tell others what to do and what not to do - its Allah who is watching everyone and knows a persons intentions as well; perhaps thats the reason why these women are still searching for guys and dont get any for their daughters even after they show their images as the perfect working house wives and studious shareef girls at the same time - *the way a person talks shows how they really are no matter how much they try to make a certain image of themselves. * My father doesn't tell me what to wear and what not to wear then who are such low life aunties to tell me what to wear...
Exactly thats what i say! My parents neva told what to wear and what not to wear either.
you are not allowed to wear sleeveless clothes in islam, you are meant to be covered down to the wrists. that means half sleeves are not allowed either and are just as 'bad' as sleeveless.
so people who wear half sleeves and are judging sleeveless wearers, i'm afraid you are exactly the same! so unless you are wearing hijaab and clothes that don't show your female form then we are all wrong in our dress code (me included!)
Only God can judge....
you are not allowed to wear sleeveless clothes in islam, you are meant to be covered down to the wrists. that means half sleeves are not allowed either and are just as 'bad' as sleeveless.
so people who wear half sleeves and are judging sleeveless wearers, i'm afraid you are exactly the same! so unless you are wearing hijaab and clothes that don't show your female form then we are all wrong in our dress code (me included!)
Only God can judge....
^ Exactly! only Allah can Judge who is everyone else to say crap!
ok this is sort of irrelevant but im really confused, being in highschool, I see alot of ways muslim girls try (nd dnt) to stay within their limits. Right now the long tops are in (thnkgod) turtle necks and stuff u kno. but most of the time their tight.. like if its covering ur butt completely can it still be considered wrong if its tight. like not insanely sluttish tight but u kno. is it wrong? and wouldnt wearing sleeveless or half sleeves be almost the same as wearing a really tight sleeved shirt? ![]()
Haha I have your full quote up here but just wanted to say I agree with you. My cousins and I living in America would never dress UnIslamic because we were bought up that way and will stay that way no matter how much we go out with our friends but some of us choose to dress modern,nothing “haraam”(sleevless,see through,etc). I know this one auntie who thought I was very proper because I wore salwar kameez whenever she came over and once she came over and I was wearing jeans and a short shirt but long sleeves. in my mind this was proper because it wasnt sleevless/see through/etc. She gave me her opinion how she didn’t like what I was wearing b/c it was way too modern while she didn’t know but her daughter wore much much worse (tube tops/sleevless/tank tops etc) behind her Mothers back!
That auntie should talk! But MashAllah se the mosque I belong to has modest teens who can dress halal but with style.
've seen plenty of girls dress stylishly but still cover. Its just a choice and preference really, we’re answerable only for our own actions, not what others do.
Some women will go even further and say how other girls dress is the reason that their bfs are cheating on them. ![]()
^ haha - thats right some aunties do say that too...
^ Actually not aunties, i’ve heard that from 20 year ld girls ![]()
Anyway good that u revived it, i always wondered..if short sleeves are “acceptable”, then why not capris or short pants? or calf/knee length skirts? If sleeveless is OK then why not miniskirts/shorts? I mean the logic is there.. if its OK to show ur whole arm, why not half the leg? I mean how is a long tank top OR knee-length skirt really so much worse than wearing jeans/sweats so tight that htey outline everything (nasty!) or showing butt crack?
Is it that its easier to cover up when ur wearing a tank top, in case aunty walks by or u happen to go into the MSA to pray or ur walking into an area where everyone might know u and smack talk? ![]()
well as someone said religiously, even short sleeves aren't allowed and if you can wear those then why not sleeveless? they are just as bad as sleeveless clothes (many girls dont wear sleeveless because they have chubby upper arms or dark arm pits and thats about it)...and if you can wear those then i guess you can wear shorts and micro minis as well :P and anyway agar aaisay baat karen gay toh kapray pehannay ki zaroorat he kya hai huh? aaiween na ghoomay bunday -
sleeveless dont look behuda if you look at it this way, while showing off thighs and all does look indecent..well at least to me.
i dont know about such tight pants and all so you should ask girls who wear such clothes - i do wear capris but not the butt crack showing jeans, woh tum baith kay dhondo interview karnay kay liyeh.
are you mad? why would some one wear such nasty clothes in praying areas? aunties or no aunties i wear shalwar kameez whenever i go to places where there are prayers to be performed - do you go in jeans? :O
in our college, alot of girls go into the MSA wearing watever they wear..have yet to c a girl in miniskirts, but alot of girls wear teeshirts and jeans and regular stuff that wudnt be apprpt to pray in. There's two huge bins full of hijabs and over-dresses and abayas for anyone who wants to pray..i think that's really cool, just by that, it shows that nobodys looking down on u for not wearing an abaya and/or hijab...its a personal choice, at least they're making it easier for u to fulfill ur obligation by being properly covered when praying..
Ahh - many girls in my collage wear head scarfs while underneath they wear the tightest shirts and jeans one ever gets ;S i hate such girls..
Mm i havnt seen many girls like that.. not the out and out "hypocriite" types...in fact i havnt even seen any of those making out in public type hijabis that everyones always talking abt :p
^ oh that i havent seen either but heard a lot about them...some afghani girls used to talk about how their boyfriends did them last night and all themselves but i consider them as drama queens who always want to be the center of attention.
What I find mind boggling is that, here most of us understand and agree that the dress code a lot us sistahs choose to adopt are "unIslamic", yet what is it that stops us from following the Islamic way? Is it unIslamic societal pressure? Cmon sistas, you gotta REPRESENT our beliefs, our infallible Quran and take pride in it. Why don't we ever think of it this way, that by cutting down on these little things, we ultimately will become better Muslims and follow the the Quran instead of sitting here and trying to justify ourselves with what is wrong.
Why are we trying to EXTEND our limitations and justify them, (e.g. "if we wear short sleeves, then why not sleeveless? why not capris?") And who are we to judge that all of these are only the same level of wrong? Maybe they are, maybe they aren't. But why should we give ourselves further benefit of the doubt for someting that we're doing which we acknowledge to be wrong in the first place?
Why don't we instead think from this perspective: "if I wear short sleeves, I'd like to atleast save myself from atleast not showing my legs, or my armpits?" What am i achieving by showing more? Am I becoming closer to my religion? No.
But wait, do I even care at this point? These are the questions we need to ask ourselves.
As far as our lovely aunties are concerned hehe, I know where you're coming from. For her to attack your character is wrong, but for her to try to dissuade you from unIslamic practice (and I hate it when we associate "unIslamic" with "modern"), is not wrong, it's her duty from an Islamic standpoint. But yes, there is a way of conveying the message across in a peaceful manner. Perhaps she should have conveyed it privately to you and we should respect our elders. But to say it disparagingly in front of others, is inappropriate.
Ofcourse Allah is our only judge, but as Muslims we have an obligation to reiterate the message. Our duty as Muslims is to try and guide each other, our fellow brothers and sisters to the right path, but if they choose to be ignorant of the facts stated in the Quran, then to not impose it upon them. The duty has been fulfilled. The choice is a personal one. God bless.
now the real question is, why are you excluding the religious factor ;)
just my two cents, I have never met any girl that looked nice with sleeveless clothes :D
Just my two cents :D
"now the real question is, why are you excluding the religious factor"
i second that.