...Sleeping During Jummah...

I don’t know if I am the only one with this problem but here’s my problem :bummer:

When I go to pray Jummah and the Imam is giving the Khutba, I start dozing off. It is so freaking hard for me to keep my eyes open. I am assuming (and I have heard it from one Imam) that it is due to the peace and tranquility that we experience in the Mosque while listening to the Khutba.

Does anyone else experience this problem?

Re: …Sleeping During Jummah…

do what aunties do. talk to an uncle next to you :blush:

I fall asleep on teh train even though i get a full 10-11 hours the night before :frowning: its the motion i guess that soothes me to sleep … :hinna:

**Khumar **It is Gunnah and haram to talk during Khutba :aj: (I wish we had the maulvi smiley here!) Mujhe apni islaamiyat ka sabaq aaj takk achi tarha yaad hai:

Khutbey k dauran baatein karna naikeeyon ko aisay khaa jaata hai jaisay aag sookhi lakriyon ko :phati:

Sara Motion puts me to sleep too but it’s a little complicated for me :konfused: I can fall asleep while in the front passenger seat of a car but not while in the back because the I get car sick. I can also fall asleep on a plane.

perhaps you should sit more closer

Batameeze :snooty:

jaisay neend say saray sawab bach kay rehtay hain :hoonh:

Re: ...Sleeping During Jummah...

Yea I know what you mean, pal. And this is why some scholars say it's best to keep the khutba short and sweet and to the point so people actually get something out of it other than a 30-minute nap.

wesse think of it… when you are sleeping, you don’t commit a sin.. hence LOGICALLY sleeping is “swab ka kaam”…:phati:

or better yet…go to a uni’s juma :smiley: they keep it nice and short, and they aren’t all oh the hell fire’s gonna eat you alive gaah! the masjid’s khutbas are usually all scare tactics and nothing to tell you how to improve :vivo:

I do…most of the times I am in the 2nd row.

Lekin I try to keep myself up!!! I keep moving so that I stay up. And the things that you can do to keep yourself up (put your arms around your knees etc. is considered against the manners), you can’t do such things :bummer:

Someone please tell that to the Imam :frusty: I love his Khutba and the way he delivers it by real life examples etc. but he doesn’t realize that in downtown, most of us use our hour-long lunch break to attend Jumma. I leave my office at 1:15 and get to the Masjid at 1:30. He sometimes comes late and then finishes his Khutba at 2:10 or 2:15 and then the prayer takes about 5 minutes and by the time I get back in the office, it’s 2:30 or so. Nobody tells me anything because I am not an hourly employee but still!!!

Mashallah :smack:

wth! i do that all the time. banda ab aik hi tarhan to nahin baith sakta na har waqt :rolleyes:

besides not like you’re wearing a skirt :vivo:

try to sit in the front row

I am serious. There are manners that we should follow while listening to the Khutba and this is against those. Some people spread their legs straight across, that’s wrong too. Deewaar k saath taik laga kar bethna, that’s not right either. :phati:

The Imam is standing on that minbar and then I can’t look at him and my neck gets tired :halo: Waisay seriously that will help? I am in the 2nd row usually.

tau tumhe unki gaud mein bhetna hai kya :snooty:

mostly aunties talk, so so do we :S

go with the flowww

It's really not advised to talk during Khutba, you have no idea how big of a sin it is. Imagine you prepare all year for your exam and during your exam you try to cheat and end up failing.

^yea i know

but thn alll thosz aunties n talking u knwo…n we’re upstairs…so its like ok…now wat:aq:

well ok im more matured now tho so :hmmm:

Well, for one thing, your wadu will not remain valid if you fall asleep. Usually its easy to fall asleep when you are too comfortable in a place. Try changing your sitting position that is not cozy. Sit strait up.

I agree. There is no strict hadith where you HAVE to sit a certain way in a masjid.

About the khutba, it might be due to the same thing we hear over and over again instead of current events and what is happening to our muslim brothers/sisters around the world. And plus the khutba does not have to be an hour long. It is always better to keep it short and to the point.

i get lost in my own thoughts during khutba :bummer: