SilverFalcon and CB's Kitchen Experiments .. :lifey:

Folks .. this is a special thread opened to acknowledge Silver Falcon of Kashmir’s and my quest to experiment with cooking … trying out new recipes … :@:

Sharing our failures and successes … :daaghu1:

The fact that brought us together in this mission is that we like to make everything from scratch, without using already made things from the market … for example , Gol gappay … instead of buying the shells from the market , we prefer to make them ourselves and we are still in the quest to get a perfect recipe…

So watch this space … :omg:

Re: SilverFalcon and CB’s Kitchen Experiments .. :lifey:

Errrm i ate chiken biryaani today .. so there goes you, no more of you ..so whose next :stuck_out_tongue:

So here is one tried and tested recipe .... it works wonders with guests and gets prepared in less then 40 minutes !

CHICKEN KASTURI

In a blender put half cup water, two medium sized onions , one teaspoon ginger paste, one teaspoon garlic paste , 6 green chillies, namak , zeera, garam masala and blend it to a very fine paste

in boneless chicken peices add the above mixture and add in half a cup of fresh cream ... mix it all and leave aside for 20 minutes .

after the marination time, in a pot , pour about 6-7 tablespoons of oil and add the marinated chicken and its mixture into the oil.... keep it on high flame for the first 5 minutes , so that the oil gets mixed very nicely into the mixture .....

then lower the flame to the lowest mode and cover the pot and let it cook on steam ... stir every 10 minutes ...

in about 30 minutes , you will notice the chicken is cooked and the oil has come on the top , the gravy is reduced to a thick paste like mix....

Put a koila on fire , and after five minutes of it burning .... put it in a cup and place the cup in the center of the pot .. pour some oil on top of the koila and immediately cover the lid and then after a minute put off the flame but dont uncover .. let it be like that on dam for about 15-20 minutes ..

ready to serve with naan.... its yumilicious ... there is no room for mistake if you follow the recipe as it is ... please do leave your comments of how it turned out ....

My two new friends doing kitchen experiments together! interesting:hmmm:

And what is up with all the guys eating chicken biryani everyday?:aq:

nice thread CB.

Btw, Aisha, I am gona eat chicken biryani today :stuck_out_tongue:

Bacharon ko aur kuch milta nai hai khanay ko ! is liye …

Yes and me and silver are on a mission .. join us in Aisha … or you can be the tester … I worked as a tester in a bakery during school days yaar … it was for 3 months , summer job kind of a thing … and I loved that job !! taste cakes and biscuits and sandwiches and lol .. too much fun !

YaAllah Same:cb: but kamz kam you are not a guy out to get my poor friend CB:(

CB lol sure as I like to cook and taste things alot I will join this mission too and make you proud:cb:

LOL! not your friend CB :slight_smile:

Excellent , Silver Falcon wil be happy to hear that our little group is growing ..:omg:

Aisha , your first mission is to get your mom’s gol gappa recipe … chalo shabash jaldi sai jaao … :omg:

I made them day before yesterday and kuch balooned up and kuch didnt … we are still hunting the exact recipe …

LOL good, I am sure she will be:cb:

Three dubai’ites united:p

Yesh yesh I will ask her for the recipe once I reach home!

CBbbbbsss:hugz:

CB, thanks for the recipe. In usa, yahan par fake koila milta hai...aur uski smell bohot kharab hai...uss mein chemical hota hai..i wish koila from pakistan as its pure koila. Anybody recomend koila brand from usa, so one can use for dum ka qeema, and for above recipe. Gracias.

koila from usa is ok one use for bar b que etc. but in pot??? konsa use karae

Guys , look what I have got for you all .. :cb:

I had a few long time friends over for dinner today … they wanted to eat something light so i decided to make this … offered them roasted bread with pea soup and 6 out of 9 people loved it , the other three liked it …

2 tbsp Olive oil
2 tbsp butter
1 medium onion sliced
1 spoon garlic
2 carrots sliced
1.5 liters vegetable stock
700 grms peas
Salt to taste

Heat oil and then add butter – add onions and fry – then add garlic – then carots – then celery – cook this all for 10 mintues
Add stock and cook for 35 mintues –
Put it all in the blender and strain it.
Put it back in the blender and then add peas and blend . Serve hot

Let me know how it turned out if you guys try as well …

Aray yaar .. thats why i said put the koila in a cup and then place that cup in the center of the pot .. that way your koila wont touch the food and its aroma will get into the food ..

In england as well we get nakli, processed koila ... its alright .. I usually get some koila from the shop at the petrol station ...

So good luck

Whoa! How come I didn’t notice this thread until now!

Thank you CB for dedicating an entire thread to our food quest. The only problem is that up till now we suffered in silence, in our respective kitchens, but now everyone else knows too. Am not sure if this should make me feel good or bad or worse(:

I am definitely going to try your recipe soon enough. But am a bit confused about it’s name. Why is it called kasturi chicken?When there’s no kasturi in it:hmmmm:

Wow, so you know exactly how much of each ingredient you put in there! I just eyeball mine, and everything turns out perfectly…except for the infamous gol gappay. Talking of gol guppas, I was so frustrated/depressed that when the gol guppas refused to rise, I made parathas from the remaining mixture:o
The parathas were very nice:D

Silver Falcon of Kashmir i wish i had your nick

^ Really? And why is that so?:slight_smile: I sometimes wish that I had taken another nick. Mine was inspired by someone else’s(elsewhere)…White Eagle…I liked that and thought I will have something similar. Of course Kashmir was included out of pure chauvinistic patriotism.

reminds me of voltron for some reason.. like theres 5 eagles and ur the silver one and they assemble into one big robot

I am going to begin posting recipes now and will do so with something simple. Also, I always like those recipes which are simpler and do not have complicated steps, or exotic ingredients. Though sometimes I wish I would learn to make something like that too! Anyway, here goes my first recipe.

Chicken Roast

Ingredients:

1 chicken (cut into pieces)
Juice of 2 or 3 lemons (depends on how juicy the lemons are:D...just make sure you don't put too much)
1tbsp. coriander powder
1 tbsp. red pepper powder
black pepper (to taste, I normallly just sprinkle it all over so I don't know how much)
salt to taste
1/2 tsp. garam masala powder
1 or 2 eggs
oil for frying

Method:

1. Marinate the chicken with coriander powder,red pepper powder,black pepper powder,garam masala, salt and lemon juice. For better results put it in the referigerator for 3-4 hours. (you can also marinate it overnight)

2. Beat egg(s) in a bowl. Dip each chicken piece in the egg and deep fry on high heat for one or two minute only and then scoop out the chicken.

*3. Now, put the chicken in a heavy based pan or pot. I normally spread a sheet of aluminium foil in the pot/pan before putting chicken in it. Now cover it with a lid. First you cook it on a slightly high flame for about 5 minutes. Then let it cook on a very slow flame for 45-50 minutes. Don't forget to turn over the chicken's side after 20 odd minutes, so that it gets an even colour on both sides! *

*I know chicken cooks really fast. But the key to this chicken roast is that you have to let it cook on a very slow fire for a long time, so that the chicken is really tender. *

4- Serve hot! You can eat it as a snack or as a side dish or whatever. This tastes equally good with plain rice/biryani/pulao/naan/roti. Don't forget to serve some minty yoghurt chutney with it:)

Chef's Note: Please try not to use any ginger garlic paste in this recipe. Because then it just does not taste the same, and you won't get that 'effect''. I have tried it both ways, and prefer it without ginger garlic paste. Ginger garlic paste,combined with green chillies paste is very good for fried chicken recipe though:D

Okay...here it is. Everyone I know loves it, including me:p

What/who is voltron?

Now that you talk about it, I faintly remeber something like this happening in some cartoon...but not entirely.